DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites Formula II in which the phenyl groups attached to the nitrogen atoms each contain substituents of RI to RV. Claim 7 recites RI to RV are each independently as defined in connection with Formula I in claim 1, and claim 1 recites RI to RV are each independently selected from specific groups. Given that two RI, two RII, two RIII, two RIV, and two RV are present but given that RI to RV are each independently selected from specific groups, it is not clear whether the first RI to RV must be identical to or may be different from the second RI to RV, respectively. For example, it is not clear whether each instance of RI must be identical or if each RI may be different.
Formula II:
For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the first RI to RV may be different from the second RI to RV, respectively.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As discussed above with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claim 7, it is not clear whether the first RI to RV must be identical to or may be different from the second RI to RV, respectively. If the first RI to RV may be different from the second RI to RV, respectively, then claim 7 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
However, if the first RI to RV must be identical to the second RI to RV, respectively, then claim 7 further limits the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being as being anticipated by Kim (US 2021/0403489 A1).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-14, and 17-18, Kim teaches an organic light emitting device having improved driving voltage, light efficiency, and service life characteristics by including a compound represented by Formula 1 (abstract). Kim teaches examples of such devices including Example 16 which includes a substrate, an anode, a hole injection layer, two hole transport layers, a light emitting layer including a host and Compound 2 as a dopant, an electron injecting and transporting layer, and a cathode (structure on page 90; Table 1 on page 94; ¶ [0350]-[0354]). Compound 2 is reproduced below in comparison to the claimed Formula I.
2:
I:
F:
Compound 2 reads on the claimed Formula I wherein:
Both T groups are R1 and both V groups are hydrogen (claim 3);
RI, RII, RIV, RV, RVI, RVII, RIX, and RX are each hydrogen, and RIII and RVIII are R1 (claims 2 and 6-7);
R1 consists of a structure of Formula F;
n at each occurrence is an integer of 4 or 5;
R6 is at each occurrence hydrogen, a C1 alkyl (methyl), or a C4 alkyl (t-butyl) (claim 4); and
RXI is a C1 alkyl (methyl) (claim 9).
Kim teaches alternative compounds represented by Formula 1 including the compound below on page 13.
Kim’s compound:
Kim’s compound reads on the claimed Formula I in the same way as described above with respect to claim 1 except wherein R6 is at each occurrence hydrogen or a C1 alkyl (methyl) (claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0403489 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches Compound 2 as described above with respect to claim 1.
2:
1:
Compound 2 fails to read on the claimed Formula I wherein RIII is selected from one of hydrogen, Me, tBu, and Ph. However, Kim teaches in Formula 1 that n3 may be 0, r3 may be 1, and R3 may be an alkyl group such as t-butyl (¶ [0009]-[0016] and [0048]). Kim teaches examples of such compounds (as shown in the compound below on page 8) wherein n3 is 0, r3 is 1, and R3 is a t-butyl group.
Kim’s compound:
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the substituent
with a t-butyl substituent
as shown in Kim’s compound on pg. 8, because Kim teaches the n3 may be selected as 0, r3 may be selected as 1, and R3 may be selected as t-butyl. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as the dopant in the light emitting layer of the device of Kim and possess the benefits taught by Kim. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
The resulting modified Compound 2 reads on the claimed Formula I wherein RI, RII, RIII, and RIV are each hydrogen or tBu.
Contact Information
/BRAELYN R WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1786