DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Claim Status
Claims 1-14 are currently pending. Claims 1; and 11 have been amended. No claims have been canceled, and no new claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1; and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first dam wall and the second dam wall" in line 39. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the first dam wall and the second dam wall" in line 39 will be interpreted to read as "a first dam wall and a second dam wall".
B. Claim 13, which depends from Claim 11, recites the limitation "a first dam wall” in line 4 and “a second dam wall" in line 6. There is unclear to the examiner. For examination purposes, and consistency with Claim 11, "a first dam wall” in line 4 and “a second dam wall" in line 6 will be interpreted to read as "the first dam wall” and “the second dam wall", respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10; 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 2021/0184139 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Zhang) in view of Byun et al (US 2019/0006442 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Byun) and LENG et al (CN 107706220 B-prior art of record with English translation and original provided, hereafter Leng).
Re claim 1, Zhang discloses in FIGS. 1-3 a display device, comprising:
a substrate layer (flexible substrate 4/5/6; [0033]);
a thin-film transistor layer (layers 7/8/9/10/11/12/13/15/16; [0033]) provided on the substrate layer (flexible substrate 4/5/6; [0033]) and including an inorganic insulating film (7; [0035]);
a light-emitting-element layer (layers 17/19/20; [0034]) provided on the thin-film transistor layer (layers 7/8/9/10/11/12/13/15/16) and including a plurality of first electrodes (17 of each sub-pixel; [0034]), a plurality of light-emitting functional layers (19 of each sub-pixel; [0034]), and a second electrode (20 for each sub-pixel; [0034]) stacked on top of one another in this stated order (17/19/20), each of the plurality of first electrodes (17) and each of the plurality of light-emitting functional layers (19) corresponding to one of a plurality of sub-pixels ([0029] and [0034]) included in a display region (1; [0029]);
a frame region (area beyond 1) provided around the display region (1);
a terminal unit (at 3; [0030]) provided to an end portion (FIG. 2) of the frame region (area beyond 1);
a folding portion (2; [0029]) provided between the display region (1) and the terminal unit (at 3) to extend in a direction (laterally in FIG. 3);
a slit (trench 26; [0036]) included in the inorganic insulating film (7) and provided to the folding portion (2) to extend in the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends;
a filling organic film (14; [0039]-[0040]) provided to the folding portion (2) to fill the slit (trench 26);
a plurality of routed wires (24; [0040]) provided on the filling organic film (14) to extend in the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends; and
a reinforcing resin film (PI 25; [0041]) provided in the folding portion (2), being provided on the plurality of routed wires (24), and extending in the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends, wherein:
the reinforcing resin film (PI 25) has an upper surface (curved plane) extending in a direction (into the page in FIG. 3) intersecting (crossing) with the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends, which is greater (wider) than a width (extension) of an upper surface (top plane) of the filling resin film (14), and extending in the direction (into the page in FIG. 3) intersecting (crossing) with the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends.
Zhang fails to disclose a resin substrate layer; the second electrode (20) being provided in common among the plurality of sub-pixels (of display region 1); a filling resin film provided to the folding portion to fill the slit; the plurality of routed wires (24) provided to extend in parallel with one another in the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends; the reinforcing resin film (PI 25) being shaped into a strip; the reinforcing resin film is provided with a first dam wall toward the display region, the first dam wall being in contact with the reinforcing resin film and extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends, and the reinforcing resin film (PI 25) is further provided with a second dam wall toward the terminal unit, the second dam wall being in contact with the reinforcing resin film (PI 25) and extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends, the reinforcing resin film (PI 25) has an upper surface an entirety of which is lower than upper surfaces of the first and second dam walls, and a distance between the first dam wall and the second dam wall, and extending in a direction intersecting with the direction in which the folding portion extends, is greater than a width of an upper surface of the filling resin film.
However,
A. Byun discloses in FIGS. 1 and 5-6 a display device, comprising: a resin substrate layer (PI 100; [0069]); a second electrode (230; [0082]) being provided in common ([0082]) among a plurality of sub-pixels ([0082]); a filling resin film (PI 113; [0077]) provided to fill a slit (113H; [0091]); and a plurality of routed wires (81; [0047]) provided to extend in parallel (side-by-side) with one another (each other) in a direction (longitudinally in FIG. 1) in which a folding portion (BA; [0047]) extends.
And,
B. Leng discloses in FIGS. 4-5 a display device, comprising: a reinforcing resin film (61; page 5, paragraphs 1-3 of the translation) being shaped into a strip (as in FIG. 4), wherein the reinforcing resin film (61) has an upper surface (top horizontal plane) an entirety (all) of which is lower than (below) upper surfaces (top horizontal planes) of first (left) and second (right) dam walls (71; page 5, paragraphs 1-2 of the translation).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Zhang by using the PI substrate, the common second electrode, and the PI filling resin of Byun for the substrate, second electrode, and the filling organic film of Zhang, to impart specific mechanical characteristics (e.g. degree of flexibility and/or impermeability) to the substrate and filling resin, and to reduce the contact resistance of the second electrode by having an integral structure; and
It would be further obvious to add the first and second dams and to use the reinforcing resin film shape as disclosed by Leng, such that the reinforcing resin film being shaped into a strip, wherein the reinforcing resin film is provided with a first dam wall toward the display region, the first dam wall being in contact with the reinforcing resin film and extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends, and the reinforcing resin film is further provided with a second dam wall toward the terminal unit, the second dam wall being in contact with the reinforcing resin film and extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends, and the reinforcing resin film has an upper surface an entirety of which is lower than upper surfaces of the first and second dam walls, such that a distance between the first dam wall and the second dam wall, and extending in a direction intersecting with the direction in which the folding portion extends, is greater than a width of an upper surface of the filling resin film, to provide thicknesses and elastic moduli of the reinforcing resin film according to bending forces applied in an actual situation. For example, a fragile region of the routed wires is designed to be thicker, and a strong region of the routed wires is designed to be thinner. Correspondingly, heights of the first dam and the second dam can be decided according to the thickness of the reinforcing resin film (Yan; [0044]); and providing the reinforcing resin film relative to the heights of the first dam and the second dam to concentrate it with adequate thickness to provide routing wire breaking stress relief (Leng; page 5, paragraphs 2-3 of the translation).
Re claim 3, Zhang and Byun disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display region (Zhang: 1) is provided with a plurality of display wires (Byun: DL; [0027]) extending in parallel with one another in the direction (X) in which the folding portion (BA) extends, the terminal unit (40; [0031]) includes a plurality of terminals (41) arranged in the direction (X) in which the folding portion (BA) extends, and each of the plurality of routed wires (81) is electrically connected (Byun: FIG.1): to a corresponding one of the plurality of display wires (DL) toward the display region (1), and to a corresponding one of the plurality of terminals (41) toward the terminal unit (40), as would be part of the flexible display properties discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 4, Zhang discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a sealing film provided (encapsulation layer 21/23/22; [0034]) to cover the light-emitting-element layer (layers 17/19/20), and including a first inorganic sealing film (21; [0034]), an organic sealing film (23; [0034]), and a second inorganic sealing film (22; [0034]) stacked on top of one another in this stated order (21/23/22), wherein the reinforcing resin film (PI 25) is formed of a same material (PI; [0041]), and in a same layer (simultaneously with; [0041]), as the organic sealing film (23).
Re claim 10, Zhang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting functional layers (19) is an organic electroluminescence layer ([0034]).
Re claim 11, Zhang discloses in FIGS. 1-3 a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
forming, on an organic substrate layer, a thin-film transistor layer including an inorganic insulating film (see claim 1);
forming, on the thin-film transistor layer, a light-emitting element layer including a plurality of first electrodes, a plurality of light-emitting functional layers, and a second electrode stacked on top of one another in this stated order, each of the plurality of first electrodes and each of the plurality of light-emitting functional layers corresponding to one of a plurality of sub-pixels included in a display region, and the second electrode being provided in common among the plurality of sub-pixels (see claim 1); and
forming, on the light-emitting element layer, a sealing film including a first inorganic sealing film, an organic sealing film, and a second inorganic sealing film stacked on top of one another in this stated order (see claim 4),
the display device including:
a frame region provided around the display region, a terminal unit provided to an end portion of the frame region (see claim 1),
a folding portion provided between the display region and the terminal unit to extend in a direction (see claim 1),
wherein forming the thin-film transistor layer comprises:
forming a slit provided to the folding portion to extend in the direction in which the folding portion extends (see claim 1),
forming a filling organic film to fill the slit (see claim 1), and
forming a plurality of routed wires provided on the filling resin film to extend in the direction in which the folding portion extends (see claim 1),
wherein, forming the sealing film comprises forming a reinforcing resin film on the plurality of routed wires (see claims 1 and 4), and
the reinforcing resin film (PI 25) has an upper surface (curved plane) extending in a direction (into the page in FIG. 3) intersecting (crossing) with the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends, which is greater (wider) than a width (extension) of an upper surface (top plane) of the filling resin film (14), and extending in the direction (into the page in FIG. 3) intersecting (crossing) with the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends.
Zhang fails to disclose a resin substrate layer; a first frame dam wall provided in the frame region, surrounding the display region, and shaped into a frame to overlap with a peripheral end portion of the organic sealing film, and a second frame dam wall shaped into a frame and provided around the first frame dam wall; a filling resin; the plurality of routed wires provided to extend in parallel with one another in the direction in which the folding portion extends; wherein forming the thin-film transistor layer and forming the light-emitting element layer comprise forming a folding dam wall shaped into a rectangular frame having a pair of long sides extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends, the long sides sandwiching the folding portion; and wherein, when the organic sealing film is formed in an interior of the first frame dam wall, forming the sealing film comprises forming the reinforcing resin film on the plurality of routed wires behind the folding dam wall, the reinforcing resin film being shaped into a strip such that the reinforcing resin film has an upper surface an entirety of which is lower than an upper surface of the folding dam wall, and wherein a distance between a first dam wall and a second dam wall, and extending in a direction intersecting with the direction in which the folding portion extends, is greater than a width of an upper surface of the filling resin film, and extending in the direction intersecting with the direction in which the folding portion extends.
However,
A. Byun discloses in FIGS. 1 and 5-6 a display device, comprising: a resin substrate layer (PI 100; [0069]); a second electrode (230; [0082]) being provided in common ([0082]) among a plurality of sub-pixels ([0082]); a filling resin film (PI 113; [0077]) provided to fill a slit (113H; [0091]); a plurality of routed wires (81; [0047]) provided to extend in parallel (side-by-side) with one another (each other) in a direction (longitudinally in FIG. 1) in which a folding portion (BA; [0047]) extends; a first frame dam wall (340; [0103]) provided in a frame region (PA; [0029]), surrounding a display region (DA; [0103]), and shaped into a frame (entirely surround; [0103]); and a second frame dam wall (350; [0103]) shaped into a frame (entirely surround; [0103]) and provided around (beyond) the first frame dam wall (340).
And,
B. Leng discloses in FIGS. 4-5 a display device, comprising: a reinforcing resin film (61; page 5, paragraphs 1-3 of the translation) being shaped into a strip (as in FIG. 4), wherein the reinforcing resin film (61) has an upper surface (top horizontal plane) an entirety (all) of which is lower than (below) upper surfaces (top horizontal planes) of first (left) and second (right) dam walls (71; page 5, paragraphs 1-2 of the translation), where the first and second dam walls (left/right 71) form a folding dam.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang by using the PI substrate, the common second electrode, and the PI filling resin of Byun for the substrate, second electrode, and the filling organic film of Zhang, to impart specific mechanical characteristics (e.g. degree of flexibility and/or impermeability) to the substrate and filling resin, and to reduce the contact resistance of the second electrode by having an integral structure; further using the first and second frame dams around the display as disclosed by Byun to prevent an edge tail of the organic sealing film (Byun; [0103]); and
It would be further obvious to add the first and second dams and to use the reinforcing resin film shape as disclosed by Leng, such that the reinforcing resin film being shaped into a strip, wherein the reinforcing resin film is further provided with a first dam wall toward the display region, the first dam wall being in contact with the reinforcing resin film and extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends, and the reinforcing resin film is further provided with a second dam wall toward the terminal unit, the second dam wall being in contact with the reinforcing resin film and extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends, and the reinforcing resin film has an upper surface an entirety of which is lower than upper surfaces of the first and second dam walls, such that a distance between the first dam wall and the second dam wall, and extending in a direction intersecting with the direction in which the folding portion extends, is greater than a width of an upper surface of the filling resin film, to provide thicknesses and elastic moduli of the reinforcing resin film according to bending forces applied in an actual situation. For example, a fragile region of the routed wires is designed to be thicker, and a strong region of the routed wires is designed to be thinner. Correspondingly, heights of the first dam and the second dam can be decided according to the thickness of the reinforcing resin film (Yan; [0044]); and providing the reinforcing resin film relative to the heights of the first dam and the second dam to concentrate it with adequate thickness to provide routing wire breaking stress relief (Leng; page 5, paragraphs 2-3 of the translation).
Therfore, the structure of Zhang and Byun and Leng would disclose the limitations of a resin substrate layer; a first frame dam wall provided in the frame region, surrounding the display region, and shaped into a frame to overlap with a peripheral end portion of the organic sealing film, and a second frame dam wall shaped into a frame and provided around the first frame dam wall; a filling resin; the plurality of routed wires provided to extend in parallel with one another in the direction in which the folding portion extends; wherein forming the thin-film transistor layer and forming the light-emitting element layer comprise forming a folding dam wall shaped into a rectangular frame having a pair of long sides extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends, the long sides sandwiching the folding portion; and wherein, when the organic sealing film is formed in an interior of the first frame dam wall, forming the sealing film comprises forming the reinforcing resin film on the plurality of routed wires behind the folding dam wall, the reinforcing resin film being shaped into a strip such that the reinforcing resin film has an upper surface an entirety of which is lower than an upper surface of the folding dam wall, and wherein a distance between the first dam wall and the second dam wall, and extending in a direction intersecting with the direction in which the folding portion extends, is greater than a width of an upper surface of the filling resin film, and extending in the direction intersecting with the direction in which the folding portion extends.
Re claim 12, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the organic sealing film (23) and the reinforcing resin film (25) are formed of a same material (PI; [0041]) by ink-jet printing ([0041]).
Re claim 14, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting functional layers is an organic electroluminescence layer (see claim 10).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Byun and Leng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of BANG et al (US 2020/0381653 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Bang).
Re claim 2, Zhang and Byun and Leng disclose the display device according to claim 1.
But, fail to disclose wherein the first dam wall (of Leng) and the second dam wall (of Leng) have opposing ends connected together, and are shaped into a single frame to form a folding dam wall.
However,
Bang discloses in FIG. 15 (with references to FIG. 5) a display device, comprising: a first dam wall (111a; [0165] and [0201]) and a second dam wall (111b; [0166] and [0201]) have opposing ends (inner wall bottoms) connected together (by 111d; [0171] and [0201]), and are shaped into a single frame (integral structure) to form a dam wall (111a/111d/111b).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Zhang and Byun and Leng by adding the connection portion of Bang to the first and second dam walls of Leng, such that the first dam wall and the second dam wall have opposing ends connected together and are shaped into a single frame to form a folding dam wall, providing an organic buffer layer for precisely locating the reinforcing resin film.
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Byun and Leng as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of YAN et al (US 2021/0336213 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Yan).
Re claim 5, Zhang discloses the display device according to claim 4.
But, fails to disclose the display device further comprising: a first frame dam wall provided in the frame region, surrounding the display region, and shaped into a frame to overlap with a peripheral end portion of the organic sealing film; and a second frame dam wall shaped into a frame and provided around the first frame dam wall, wherein the first dam wall (of Leng) and the second dam wall (of Leng) are formed of a same material, and in a same layer, as the first frame dam wall and the second frame dam wall.
However,
A. Byun discloses a first frame dam wall (340; [0103]) provided in a frame region (PA; [0029]), surrounding a display region (DA; [0103]), and shaped into a frame (entirely surround; [0103]); and a second frame dam wall (350; [0103]) shaped into a frame (entirely surround; [0103]) and provided around (beyond) the first frame dam wall (340).
And,
B. Yan discloses in FIG. 3 a first frame dam wall (rightmost 309; [0039]) provided in a frame region (beyond 305; [0034]), and shaped to overlap (common vertical plane) with a peripheral end portion (tip) of the organic sealing film (311; [0034]), wherein the first dam wall (right 309 of 307) and the second dam wall (left 309 of 307) are formed of a same material as ([0034] and [0036]), and in a same layer as ([0034] and [0036]), the first frame dam wall (rightmost 309).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the structure of Zhang by adding the first dam frame of Yan and the second dam frame of Byun, such that a first frame dam wall is provided in the frame region, surrounding the display region, and shaped into a frame to overlap with a peripheral end portion of the organic sealing film; and a second frame dam wall shaped into a frame is provided around the first frame dam wall, using the first dam wall and the second dam wall are formed of a same material, and in a same layer of Yan, such that the first dam wall and the second dam wall are formed of a same material, and in a same layer as the first frame dam wall and the second frame dam wall, minimizing types of materials, to prevent an edge tail of the organic sealing film (Byun; [0103]), where heights of the first dam and the second dam can be decided according to the thickness of the reinforcing resin film for specific protection against bending forces on wires in the folding portion (Yan; [0037] and [0044]).
Re claim 9, Zhang and Byun and Yan disclose the display device according to claim 5, wherein, between the second frame dam wall (Byun: 350) and the first dam wall (Yan: right 309), the first inorganic sealing film (Byun: 410; [0084]) is in contact with (physically touching) the inorganic insulating film (Byun: 110; [0085] and [0107]) as part of the specific protection against bending forces on wires in the folding portion (Yan); and preventing an edge tail of the organic sealing film (Byun) as discussed for claim 5.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Byun and Leng and Yan as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lee et al (US 2020/0279871 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Lee).
Re claim 6, Zhang discloses the display device according to claim 5, wherein the thin-film transistor layer (layers 7/8/9/10/11/12/13/15/16) further includes a planarization resin film (PI 16; [0008] and [0033]) provided toward the light-emitting-element layer (layers 17/19/20), the light-emitting-element layer (layers 17/19/20) further includes an edge cover (18; [0034]) provided, between the plurality of first electrodes (17 of each sub-pixel) and the plurality of light-emitting functional layers (19 of each sub-pixel), in common among (for all) the plurality of sub-pixels to cover a peripheral end portion (left/right edges) of each (all) of the plurality of first electrodes (17 of each sub-pixel).
But, fails to disclose wherein and each of the first frame dam wall, the second frame dam wall, the first dam wall, and the second dam wall includes: a lower resin layer formed of a same material, and in a same layer, as the planarization resin film (PI 16), and an upper resin layer stacked on the lower resin layer and formed of a same material, and in a same layer, as the edge cover (18).
However,
Lee discloses in FIGS. 1 and 3 a display device, comprising: a lower resin layer (PMMA; [0095]) formed of as a planarization resin film (142; [0095]), and an upper resin layer (PI; [0097]) stacked on the lower resin layer (PMMA) and formed as an edge cover (150).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lower and upper resin layers of Lee are used by Zhang and Byun and Leng and Yan, each of the first frame dam wall (Yan/Byun), the second frame dam wall (Byun: 350), the first dam wall (Yan: right 309), and the second dam wall (Yan: left 309) includes: a lower resin layer (Lee: PMMA; [0095]) formed of a same material (Yan: [0039]), and in a same layer ([0039]), as the planarization resin film (Lee: 142), and an upper resin layer (Lee: PMMA; [0097]) stacked on the lower resin layer (PMMA) and formed of a same material (Yan: [0037]), and in a same layer ([0037]), as the edge cover (150), which reduces cost of materials (Yan; [0039]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Byun and Leng and Yan and Lee as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of BANG et al (US 2020/0381653 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Bang).
Re claims 7 and 8, Lee and Yan and Leng and Bang disclose the display device according to claim 6, further comprising a base resin film (Bang: 111d; see claim 2) provided between the plurality of routed wires (Zhang: 24) and the reinforcing resin film (Zhang: PI 25), and formed of a same material (Bang: [0171] and [0182]), and in a same layer, as the planarization resin film (Bang: 111; [0171] and [0182]); and the base resin film (111d) is thinner than ([0174]) the planarization resin film (111), as would part of the organic buffer layer discussed for claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Byun and Leng as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of YUN et al (US 2020/0127231 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Yun).
Re claim 13, Zhang and Byun and Leng disclose the method according to claim 11.
But, fail to disclose the method further comprising: after forming the sealing film (Zhang: 21/23/22), emitting a laser beam to cut the resin substrate layer (Zhang: 4/5/6 modified by Byun: 100), and to remove a pair of short side portions of the folding dam wall (Leng: right/left 71), to form:
the first dam wall (Leng: right 71) provided in contact with the reinforcing resin film (Zhang: PI 25) toward the display region (Zhang: 1), and extending in the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends, and
the second dam wall (Leng: left 71) provided in contact with (physically touching) the reinforcing resin film (PI 25) toward the terminal unit (Zhang: at 3), and extending in the direction (laterally) in which the folding portion (2) extends.
However,
Yun discloses in FIGS. 5A-5E a method of manufacturing a display device, comprising: a laser cutting step (FIG. 5E; [0062]) after a sealing film (140; [0032]) forming step (FIGS. 5A-5B; [0057]), the laser cutting step emitting a laser beam to, and cutting, a resin substrate layer (PI 101; [0054]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Zhang and Byun and Leng by using the laser cutting step after forming the sealing film emitting a laser beam to cut the resin substrate layer, and to remove a pair of short side portions of the folding dam wall, to form: the first dam wall provided in contact with the reinforcing resin film toward the display region, and extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends; and the second dam wall provided in contact with the reinforcing resin film toward the terminal unit, and extending in the direction in which the folding portion extends, for forming specific protection against bending forces on wires in the folding portion (Yan; [0037]); and preventing an edge tail of the organic sealing film (Byun; [0103]) as discussed for claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892