Claims 35, 37-41, 43, 45-49, 51, 53 and 55-58 are pending.
Claims 1-34, 36,42,44,50,52, and 54 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 4, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 35, 37-41, 43, 45-49, 51, 53 and 55-58 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35,37,43,45, 51, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as
Luo et al, US 20220322464 A1, in view of Tsai et al, US 20210076404 A1.
Regarding claim 35, Lou discloses a method performed by a first radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communications network([0103] IAB-node 1 handover happens,
a source donor CU needs to send context information of the IAB-node 1), the method comprising
transmitting a message, to a second network node, related to handover or cell reselection of a migrating node([0105] [0108] FIG. 6 Source donor CU transmits a handover request message to a target donor CU, the handover request message carries information of the migrating IAB-node 1. The identity of the IAB DU includes at least one of: a DU identity of a migrating node (for example, IAB node 1) or a DU identity of a downstream node (for example, IAB-node 3) of the migrating node.),
wherein the message comprises data associated with the migrating node and data related to one or more other nodes directly and indirectly served by the migrating node([0106] FIG. 6 The information of the IAB-node 1 may include at least one of: identity information of the IAB-node 1, context information of a backhaul channel of the IAB-node 1, context information of a UE served by the IAB node 1 or context information of a downstream IAB-node (for example, IAB-node 3) of the IAB-node 1.);
wherein the first radio network node is a source Integrated access backhaul (IAB) donor central unit and the second radio network node is a target IAB donor central unit([0103] The IAB node
1 handover happens, a source donor CU needs to send context information of the IAB-node 1 to a target donor CU.),
wherein the migrating node is an IAB node and the one or more other nodes are one or more other IAB nodes([0140] The source CU may also send the identity information of the downstream IAB
DU to the downstream IAB node. The migrating IAB-node continues to serve the downstream IAB-node, for the downstream IAB-node.),
Lou does not disclose and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes.
However, Tsai does disclose and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes([0039] UE3 would first transmit to IAB-3a regular BSR which indicates the quantity of predictive data to be transmitted. In response to transmitting the UL grant, IAB-3 would transmit to IAB-2a preemptive BSR indicating the quantity of data to be expected from UE3. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou with and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes as taught by Tsai. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the signaling overhead associated with transmitting the predictive data. (Tsai, [0049]).
Regarding claim 37, Lou discloses the method wherein the data comprises contexts of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes([0091],[0103],[0106] [0140] There are lines that
correspond to context. "The information of the IAB-node includes at least one of: identity information of the IAB-node, context information of a backhaul channel of the IAB-node, context information of a UE served by the IAB-node or context information of a downstream IAB-node of the IAB-node. The IAB node 3 is a child node of the IAB-node 1. When the IAB-node 1 handover happens, a source donor CU needs to send context information of the IAB-node 1 to a target donor CU. The information of the IAB node 1 may include at least one of: identity information of the IAB-node 1, context information of a backhaul channel of the IAB-node 1, context information of a UE served by the IAB-node 1 or context information of a downstream IAB-node (for example, IAB-node 3) of the IAB-node 1. The migrating IAB node continues to serve the downstream IAB-node, for the downstream IAB-node.).
Regarding claim 43, Lou discloses a method performed by a second radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communications network([0103] IAB-node 1 handover happens,
a source donor CU needs to send context information of the IAB-node 1.), the method comprising
receiving from a first radio network node, a message related to handover or cell reselection of a migrating node([0105] FIG. 6 Source donor CU transmits a handover request message to a target donor CU, the handover request message carries information of the migrating IAB-node 1.),
wherein the message comprises data associated with the migrating node and data related to one or more other nodes directly and indirectly served by the migrating node([0106] FIG. 6 The
information of the IAB-node 1 may include at least one of: identity information of the IAB-node 1, context information of a backhaul channel of the IAB-node 1, context information of a UE served by the IAB node 1 or context information of a downstream IAB-node (for example, IAB-node 3) of the IAB-node 1.),
wherein the first radio network node is a source Integrated access backhaul (IAB) donor central unit and the second radio network node is a target IAB donor central unit([0103] The IAB node
1 handover happens, a source donor CU needs to send context information of the IAB-node 1 to a target donor CU.),
Luo does not disclose and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes.
However, Tsai does disclose and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes ([0039] UE3 would first transmit to IAB-3a regular BSR which indicates the quantity of predictive data to be transmitted. In response to transmitting the UL grant, IAB-3 would transmit to IAB-2a preemptive BSR indicating the quantity of data to be expected from UE3. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou with and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes as taught by Tsai. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the signaling overhead associated with transmitting the predictive data. (Tsai, [0049]).
Regarding claim 45, Lou discloses the method wherein the data comprises contexts of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes([0140] The migrating IAB-node continues to serve the downstream IAB-node, for the downstream IAB-node.).
Regarding claim 51, Lou discloses a first radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communications network([0103] IAB-node 1 handover happens, a source donor CU needs to
send context information of the IAB-node 1),
wherein the first radio network node is configured to transmit a message related to handover or cell reselection of a migrating node to a second radio network node([0105] FIG. 6 Source donor CU
transmits a handover request message to a target donor CU, the handover request message carries
information of the migrating IAB-node 1.),
wherein the message comprises data associated with the migrating node and data related to one or more other nodes directly or indirectly served by the migrating node([0106] FIG. 6 The
information of the IAB-node 1 may include at least one of: identity information of the IAB-node 1, context information of a backhaul channel of the IAB-node 1, context information of a UE served by the IAB node 1 or context information of a downstream IAB-node (for example, IAB-node 3) of the IAB-node 1.),
wherein the first radio network node is a source Integrated access backhaul (IAB) donor central unit and the second radio network node is a target IAB donor central unit([0103] The IAB node
1 handover happens, a source donor CU needs to send context information of the IAB-node 1 to a target donor CU.),
wherein the migrating node is an IAB node and the one or more other nodes are one or more other IAB nodes([0140] The source CU may also send the identity information of the downstream IAB DU to the downstream IAB node. The migrating IAB-node continues to serve the downstream IAB-node, for the downstream IAB-node.),
Lou does not disclose and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes.
However, Tsai does disclose and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes([0039] UE3 would first transmit to IAB-3a regular BSR which indicates the quantity of predictive data to be transmitted. In response to transmitting the UL grant, IAB-3 would transmit to IAB-2a preemptive BSR indicating the quantity of data to be expected from UE3. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou with and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes as taught by Tsai. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the signaling overhead associated with transmitting the predictive data. (Tsai, [0049]).
Regarding claim 53, Lou discloses a second radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communications network([0103] IAB-node 1 handover happens, a source donor CU needs to send context information of the IAB-node 1),
wherein the second radio network node is configured to receive from a first radio network node, a message related to handover or cell reselection of a migrating node([0105] FIG. 6 Source
donor CU transmits a handover request message to a target donor CU, the handover request message
carries information of the migrating IAB-node 1.),
wherein the message comprises data associated with the migrating node and data related to one or more other nodes directly and indirectly served by the migrating node([0106] FIG. 6 The
information of the IAB-node 1 may include at least one of: identity information of the IAB-node 1, context information of a backhaul channel of the IAB-node 1, context information of a UE served by the IAB node 1 or context information of a downstream IAB-node (for example, IAB-node 3) of the IAB-node 1.),
wherein the first radio network node is a source Integrated access backhaul (IAB) donor central unit and the second radio network node is a target IAB donor central unit ([0103] The IAB node 1 handover happens, a source donor CU needs to send context information of the IAB-node 1 to a target donor CU.),
Luo does not disclose and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes.
However, Tsai does disclose and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes([0039] UE3 would first transmit to IAB-3a regular BSR which indicates the quantity of predictive data to be transmitted. In response to transmitting the UL grant, IAB-3 would transmit to IAB-2a preemptive BSR indicating the quantity of data to be expected from UE3. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou with and wherein the data related to the one or more other nodes indicates a quantity for each of one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes as taught by Tsai. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the signaling overhead associated with transmitting the predictive data. (Tsai, [0049]).
Claims 38-40 and 46-49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Luo et al,
US 20220322464 A1., in view of Tsai et al, US 20210076404 A1, and in further view of Centonza et al, US 20140206361 A1.
Regarding claim 38, Lou and Tsai do not disclose the method further comprising receiving from the second radio network node, an indication indicating whether handover is confirmed or not.
However, Centonza does disclose the method further comprising receiving from the second radio network node, an indication indicating whether handover is confirmed or not([0092] [0093]
[0094] The source eNB decides whether to handover the connection to another eNB or not. DL data
arriving at the source eNB for the user equipment are then forwarded to the new target eNB. The user
equipment are synchronized and a handover confirm message (step 11 of FIG. 15) is received by the
target eNB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou and Tsai with the method further comprising
receiving from the second radio network node, an indication indicating whether handover is confirmed or not as taught by Centonza. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an efficient
means of mapping bearers in a heterogeneous network. (Centonza, [0007]).
Regarding claim 39, Lou and Tsai do not disclose the method wherein the indication indicates whether the handover or cell reselection of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes has been accepted or not, respectively.
However, Centonza does disclose the method wherein the indication indicates whether the handover or cell reselection of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes has been accepted or not, respectively([0095] The source may either cancel the handover (and possibly try
another candidate target) or accept it and handover the user equipment to the target.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou and Tsai with the method wherein the indication indicates whether the handover or cell reselection of the migrating node and/or the one or
more other nodes has been accepted or not, respectively as taught by Centonza. The motivation for
doing so would be to provide an efficient means of mapping bearers in a heterogeneous network.
(Centonza, [0007])..
Regarding claim 40, Lou and Tsai do not disclose the method wherein the received indication is comprised in a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message and the transmitted message comprises a HANDOVER REQUEST message.
However, Centonza does disclose the method wherein the received indication is comprised in a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message and the transmitted message comprises a HANDOVER REQUEST message ([0147-0148] The sender may provide the list of bearers to be admitted in the X2
HANDOVER REQUEST messages. When an X2 HANDOVER REQUESTACKNOWLEDGE message is received.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou and Tsai with the method wherein the received indication is comprised in a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message and the transmitted message comprises a HANDOVER REQUEST message as taught by Centonza. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an efficient means of mapping bearers in a heterogeneous network. (Centonza, [0007]).
Regarding claim 46, Lou and Tsai do not disclose the method further comprising performing admission control to determine whether to accept or not the handover or cell reselection of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes.
However, Centonza does disclose the method further comprising performing admission control to determine whether to accept or not the handover or cell reselection of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes ([0142] The target eNB receives a HANDOVER REQUEST message, it
performs admission control and if it may admit one or more of the data radio bearers comprised in the
request.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou and Tsai with the method further comprising
performing admission control to determine whether to accept or not the handover or cell reselection
of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes as taught by Centonza. The motivation for
doing so would be to provide an efficient means of mapping bearers in a heterogeneous network.
(Centonza, [0007]).
Regarding claim 47, Lou and Tsai do not disclose the method further comprising transmitting to the first radio network node, an indication indicating whether handover is confirmed or not.
However, Centonza does disclose the method further comprising transmitting to the first radio network node, an indication indicating whether handover is confirmed or not ([0092] [0093] [0094]
The source eNB decides whether to handover the connection to another eNB or not. DL data arriving at the source eNB for the user equipment are then forwarded to the new target eNB. The user equipment is synchronized and a handover confirm message (step 11 of FIG. 15) is received by the target eNB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou and Tsai with the method further comprising
transmitting to the first radio network node, an indication indicating whether handover is confirmed
or not as taught by Centonza. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an efficient means of
mapping bearers in a heterogeneous network. (Centonza, [0007]).
Regarding claim 48, Lou and Tsai do not disclose the method wherein the transmitted indication indicates whether the handover or cell reselection of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes has been accepted or not, respectively.
However, Centonza does disclose the method wherein the transmitted indication indicates whether the handover or cell reselection of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes has been accepted or not, respectively ([0095] The source may either cancel the handover (and possibly try another candidate target) or accept it and handover the user equipment to the target.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou and Tsai with the method wherein the
transmitted indication indicates whether the handover or cell reselection of the migrating node
and/or the one or more other nodes has been accepted or not, respectively as taught by Centonza. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an efficient means of mapping bearers in a heterogeneous network. (Centonza, [0007]).
Regarding claim 49, Lou and Tsai do not disclose the method wherein the transmitted indication is comprised in a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message and the received message comprises a HANDOVER REQUEST message.
However, Centonza does disclose the method wherein the transmitted indication is comprised in a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message and the received message comprises a HANDOVER REQUEST message([0142] The target eNB receives a HANDOVER REQUEST message, and if it may admit one or more of the data radio bearers comprised in the request, it sends a HANDOVER REQUESTACKNOWLEDGE message over X2 towards the source eNB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou and Tsai with the method wherein the
transmitted indication is comprised in a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message and the
received message comprises a HANDOVER REQUEST message as taught by Centonza. The motivation
for doing so would be to provide an efficient means of mapping bearers in a heterogeneous network. (Centonza, [0007]).
Claims 41 and 55-58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Luo et al, US
20220322464 A1., in view of Tsai et al, US 20210076404 A1, in view of Centonza et al, US
20140206361 A1, and in further view of Diao et al, US 20220369190 A1.
Regarding claim 41, Lou, Tsai, and Centonza do not disclose the method further comprising handling a handover process of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes based on the received indication.
However, Diao does disclose the method further comprising handling a handover process of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes based on the received indication ([0094]
[0097] Receiving, by a target donor, message from IAB node, wherein the originating donor is communicatively coupled to the migrating IAB node and a plurality of nodes, and wherein the plurality of nodes comprise at least one user equipment (UE) that is downstream of the migrating IAB node. The method of solution B3, the message from source donor to IAB node, wherein the message comprises inter-donor handover indication or parent node inter-donor handover indication.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou, Tsai, and Centonza with the method further
comprising handling a handover process of the migrating node and/or the one or more other nodes
based on the received indication as taught by Diao. The motivation for doing so would be to enable
the support and capability of integrated access and backhaul (IAB) links. (Diao, [0015]).
Regarding claim 55, Lou, Tsai, and Centonza do not disclose the second/first (as cited in claim 58) radio network node wherein the one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes comprise user plane (UP) resources required to serve the one or more other nodes, the UP resources comprising one or more of the following:data radio bearers (DRBs) (no citation required limitation is optional );quality-of-service (QoS) flows(no citation required limitation is optional );packet data unit (PDU) sessions(no citation required limitation is optional ); andbackhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channels.
However, Diao does disclose the second/first (as cited in claim 58) radio network node wherein the one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes comprise user plane (UP) resources required to serve the one or more other nodes, the UP resources comprising one or more of the following; andbackhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channels([0082] a backhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channel configuration, a backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) address, one or more IP addresses, an IP address of the target donor, IP addresses used in a control plane domain, or IP addresses used in a user plane domain.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou, Tsai, and Centonza with the second/first (as cited in claim 58) radio network node wherein the one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes comprise user plane (UP) resources required to serve the one or more other nodes, the UP resources comprising one or more of the following; andbackhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channels as taught by Diao. The motivation for doing so would be to enable
the support and capability of integrated access and backhaul (IAB) links. (Diao, [0015]).
Regarding claims 56 and 57, Lou, Tsai, and Centonza do not disclose the method wherein the one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes comprise user plane (UP) resources required to serve the one or more other nodes, the UP resources comprising one or more of the following:data radio bearers (DRBs)(no citation required limitation is optional );quality-of-service (QoS) flows(no citation required limitation is optional );packet data unit (PDU) sessions(no citation required limitation is optional ); andbackhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channels.
However, Diao does disclose the method wherein the one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes comprise user plane (UP) resources required to serve the one or more other nodes, the UP resources comprising one or more of the following: andbackhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channels([0082] a backhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channel configuration, a backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) address, one or more IP addresses, an IP address of the target donor, IP addresses used in a control plane domain, or IP addresses used in a user plane domain.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lou, Tsai, and Centonza with the second radio network node of claim 53, wherein the one or more resources required to serve the one or more other nodes comprise user plane (UP) resources required to serve the one or more other nodes, the UP resources comprising one or more of the following; andbackhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channels as taught by Diao. The motivation for doing so would be to enable
the support and capability of integrated access and backhaul (IAB) links. (Diao, [0015]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419