DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 05/01/2026 claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 1-5, 7, and 10-14 were amended by incorporating new limitations not previously presented. Claims 1 and 8-9 were amended to correct antecedent basis issues objected to in the Office Action dated 02/02/2026. Claims 15 and 16 are new. Claims 1 and 10 are independent.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 05/01/2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 1 and 10 under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe ‘929 and Watanabe ‘105 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of a newly applied prior art reference in combination with a new consideration of the previously applied references below. The applicant’s amendments to the claims introduce new limitations which change the scope of the claims and therefore a new consideration and search has been performed in view of these amendments.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The drawing objection and the claim objections are withdrawn due to the amendments.
This Office Action is made Final due to the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-11, 13, and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claimed “pack resistance and the SOC” would be interpreted as “pack resistance or SOC” below because the specification consistently describes two alternative ways to determine available power: using a pack resistance-available power lookup table or using an SOC-available power lookup table. The disclosure does not describe using a single lookup table that requires both pack resistance and SOC together as inputs. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (USPGPN 20200303929, identified in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)), hereinafter Watanabe ‘929, in view of Hayashida et al. (USPGPN 20140139149), and further in view of Watanabe et al. (USPGPN 20200169105), hereinafter Watanabe ‘105.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 10, Watanabe ‘929 teaches an apparatus and method for controlling a power of a parallel multi pack module (Fig. 1; a control system 100 for controlling a power of a power supply system 1000).
Watanabe ‘929 teaches first to nth sensor circuits respectively configured to measure operation characteristic values including measured current values of first to nth battery packs that are included in the parallel multi pack module and connected to each other in parallel (Fig. 1; battery management units (BMUs) 12 configured to measure operation characteristic values including measured current values of power supply units (PSUs) 10 that are included in the power supply system 1000 and each connected to each other in parallel).
Watanabe ‘929 teaches a power management circuit configured to control a power consumed in a load or a power provided to the parallel multi pack module by a charging device to correspond to a total power of the parallel multi pack module (Fig. 1; a system controller 160 configured to control power discharged to the power system ES (i.e., consumed in a load; see ¶[15]) or a power provided to the power system 1000 by a power conditioner 140 to correspond to a total power of the power system ES).
Watanabe ‘929 teaches a multi pack management circuit operatively coupled to the first to nth sensor circuits and the power management circuit (Fig. 1; a master battery management unit (M-BMU) 120 operatively coupled to the BMUs 12 and the system controller 160).
Watanabe ‘929 teaches for each of the first to nth battery packs, determine one of a pack resistance and a state of charge (SOC) of a respective battery pack based on the operational characteristic value received from a corresponding one of the first to nth sensor circuits (Fig. 1; ¶[12]; the internal resistances and the SOC of each respective battery pack is determined from a corresponding BMU 12).
Watanabe ‘929 teaches wherein the multi pack management circuit is configured to determine a minimum available power from the available powers of the first to nth battery packs (Fig. 1; ¶[49]; the M-BMU 120 is configured to determine a min(SOP) for each PSU 10 based on the operation characteristic values of the PSUs 10 received from the BMUs 12).
Watanabe ‘929 teaches determine the total power of the parallel multi pack module from the minimum available power (Fig. 1; ¶[49]; a total power SOP for the power system 1000 is determined from the min(SOP)).
Watanabe ‘929 teaches transmit the total power of the parallel multi pack module to the power management circuit (Fig. 1; transmit the total power SOP to the system controller 160).
However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach determine an available power of the respective battery pack corresponding to the one of the pack resistance and the SOC of the respective battery pack from a look-up table storing predetermined correspondence between the available power and the one of the pack resistance and the SOC for the respective battery pack; and determine a total power from a ratio of a summed current value to a maximum current value among the measured current values of the first to nth battery packs.
Hayashida teaches determine an available power of the respective battery pack corresponding to the one of the pack resistance and the SOC of the respective battery pack from a look-up table storing predetermined correspondence between the available power and the one of the pack resistance and the SOC for the respective battery pack (¶[48]; Table 1; a resistance-available power lookup table).
A look-up table is a database structure that replaces complex computations or logic with a direct search. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hayashida’s resistance-available power lookup table to Watanabe ‘929’s power system. The advantage of this being “the power supply device can detect failure of the device based on the estimated standardized available output power of the battery, it is possible to detect failure of the device without delay and to improve the safety” (see ¶[20] of Hayashida).
However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach determine a total power from a ratio of a summed current value to a maximum current value among the measured current values of the first to nth battery packs.
Watanabe ‘105 teaches determining a total power from a ratio of a summed current value to a maximum current value among the measured current values of the first to nth battery packs (¶[31]; system SOP = minimum rack SOP * (total rack current/maximum rack current)).
Total power can be determined by scaling the peak combined output. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Watanabe ‘105’s ratio calculation method to Watanabe ‘929’s power system in order to have a parallel battery power system that prevents the battery pack with the highest current from exceeding safety limits. The advantage of this being a storage power system may continue stable operation in the event one of the battery pack’s does not operate accordingly (see ¶[08] in Watanabe ‘105).
With respect to dependent claims 2 and 11, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 10, respectively. Further, Watanabe ‘929 teaches determine pack resistances of the first to nth battery packs, respectively, from the measured current values and the measured voltage values of the first to nth battery packs (¶[12]; an internal resistance is determined for each PSU 10 which is understood to be determined from the measured current and voltage values of each PSU 10).
Watanabe ‘929 teaches determine a minimum value among the available powers as the minimum available power (¶[49]; a minimum SOP).
However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach the remaining limitations of claims 2 and 11.
Hayashida teaches predetermined correspondence between the available power and the one of the pack resistance and the SOC for the respective battery pack stored in the look-up table is predetermined one-to-one correspondence between the available power and the pack resistance for the respective battery pack (Table 1; a resistance-available power lookup table with one-to-one correspondence).
Hayashida teaches the multi pack management circuit is further configured to, for each of the first to nth battery packs: determine the pack resistance of the respective battery pack based on the measured current value and the measured voltage value of the respective battery pack (It is well known that resistance is determined from measured current and a measured voltage value).
Hayashida teaches determine the available power of the respective battery pack corresponding to the pack resistance of the respective battery pack from the look-up table for the respective battery pack (Table 1; the available power is determined from the resistance from the look-up table).
A look-up table is a database structure that replaces complex computations or logic with a direct search. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hayashida’s resistance-available power lookup table to Watanabe ‘929’s power system. The advantage of this being “the power supply device can detect failure of the device based on the estimated standardized available output power of the battery, it is possible to detect failure of the device without delay and to improve the safety” (see ¶[20] of Hayashida).
With respect to dependent claims 4 and 13, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 10, respectively. Further, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the multi pack management circuit is further configured to, for each of the first to nth battery packs: determine the SOC of the respective battery pack based on the operation characteristic value of the respective battery pack received from the corresponding one of the first to nth sensor circuits (¶[12]; SOC is determined for each PSU 10 which is understood to be determined from the characteristics of each PSU 10 received by its respective BMU 12).
However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach the remaining limitations of claims 4 and 133.
Hayashida teaches the predetermined correspondence between the available power and the one of the pack resistance and the SOC for the respective battery pack stored in the look-up table is predetermined one-to-one correspondence between the available power and the SOC for the respective battery pack (Table 1; a resistance-available power lookup table with one-to-one correspondence).
Hayashida teaches determine the available power of the respective battery pack corresponding to the SOC of the respective battery pack from the look-up table for the respective battery pack (¶[50-51]; the available power is determined corresponding to the predetermined SOC range).
A look-up table is a database structure that replaces complex computations or logic with a direct search. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hayashida’s resistance-available power lookup table to Watanabe ‘929’s power system. The advantage of this being “the power supply device can detect failure of the device based on the estimated standardized available output power of the battery, it is possible to detect failure of the device without delay and to improve the safety” (see ¶[20] of Hayashida).
With respect to dependent claims 5 and 14, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 10, respectively. However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claims 5 and 14.
Watanabe ‘105 teaches wherein the multi pack management circuit is configured to calculate the total power (Ptotal) of the parallel multi pack module using the following equation: P total=min(P pack,k)*I total/max(I pack,k), wherein k is an integer from 1 to n; min(Ppack,k) corresponds to a minimum available power among the available powers of the first to nth battery packs; Itotal corresponds to a summed current value for the measured current values of the first to nth battery packs; and max(Ipack,k) corresponds to a maximum current value among the measured current values of the first to nth battery packs (¶[31]; system SOP = minimum rack SOP * (total rack current/maximum rack current)).
Calculating total power from available powers is done to determine the combined capacity, output limits, and consumption rate of a system. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Watanabe ‘105’s ratio calculation method to Watanabe ‘929’s power system in order to have a parallel battery power system that prevents the battery pack with the highest current from exceeding safety limits. The advantage of this being a storage power system may continue stable operation in the event one of the battery pack’s does not operate accordingly (see ¶[08] in Watanabe ‘105).
With respect to claim 6, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach a communication circuit interposed between the multi pack management circuit and the power management circuit.
Considering MPEP 2144.04 II. B. (below), the multi pack management circuit and the power management circuit as taught by Watanabe ‘929 do not require a communication circuit interposed in between to allow for communication to happen between these. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to not include a communication circuit interposed between the multi pack management circuit and the power management circuit, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art.
MPEP 2144.04 II. B. Omission of an Element with Retention of the Element's Function Is an Indicium of Nonobviousness
Note that the omission of an element and retention of its function is an indicium of nonobviousness. In re Edge, 359 F.2d 896, 149 USPQ 556 (CCPA 1966) (Claims at issue were directed to a printed sheet having a thin layer of erasable metal bonded directly to the sheet wherein said thin layer obscured the original print until removal by erasure. The prior art disclosed a similar printed sheet which further comprised an intermediate transparent and erasure-proof protecting layer which prevented erasure of the printing when the top layer was erased. The claims were found nonobvious over the prior art because although the transparent layer of the prior art was eliminated, the function of the transparent layer was retained since appellant’s metal layer could be erased without erasing the printed indicia.).
With respect to claim 7, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 7.
Hayashida teaches wherein the battery module is mounted to an electric-driven vehicle, and the power management circuit is included in a control system of the electric-driven vehicle (Figs. 6-7).
A power management circuit is the “brain” of the battery pack which continuously monitors and operates the battery pack of an electric vehicle. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Hayashida’s EV power management circuit to Watanabe ‘929’s power system. The advantage of this being reducing battery deterioration and increasing the battery lives of the electric vehicle by proper management of the available power (see ¶[05] of Hayashida).
With respect to claim 8, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Watanabe ‘929 teaches a battery management system, comprising the apparatus for controlling power of a parallel multi pack module (Fig. 1; the system illustrated).
With respect to claim 9, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 9.
Hayashida teaches an electric driving mechanism, comprising the apparatus for controlling power of the parallel multi pack module (Figs. 6-7).
A power management circuit is the “brain” of the battery pack which continuously monitors and operates the battery pack of an electric vehicle. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Hayashida’s EV power management circuit to Watanabe ‘929’s power system. The advantage of this being reducing battery deterioration and increasing the battery lives of the electric vehicle by proper management of the available power (see ¶[05] of Hayashida).
With respect to dependent claims 15 and 16, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 10 and 1, respectively. Watanabe ‘929 teaches the operational characteristic values include a temperature of each of the first to nth battery packs (¶[12]; temperature for each battery pack is measured).
However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach the remaining limitations of claims 15 and 16.
Hayashida teaches the multi pack management circuit is further configured to identify the look-up table among a plurality of look-up tables for the respective battery pack based on the temperature of the respective battery pack, the plurality of look-up tables storing one-to-one correspondence between the available power and the one of the pack resistance and the SOC respectively at different temperatures of the respective battery pack (¶[48]; Table 1; a plurality of look-up tables represented by the columns based on temperature storing the one-to-one relationship between resistance and available power).
A look-up table is a database structure that replaces complex computations or logic with a direct search. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hayashida’s resistance-available power lookup table to Watanabe ‘929’s power system. The advantage of this being “the power supply device can detect failure of the device based on the estimated standardized available output power of the battery, it is possible to detect failure of the device without delay and to improve the safety” (see ¶[20] of Hayashida).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe ‘929, Hayashida, and Watanabe ‘105, and further in view of Tomura et al. (USPGPN 20100153038).
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 12, Watanabe ‘929 teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 11, respectively. However, Watanabe ‘929 fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claims 3 and 12.
Tomura teaches periodically receive the measured voltage value and the measured current value of the respective battery pack from a corresponding one of the first to nth sensor circuits (Figs. 1 and 5; sensors 20/30/40 periodically (e.g., every predetermined arithmetic period; see ¶[115]) measure voltage and current of secondary battery 10).
Tomura teaches determine an average ratio of a voltage change to a current change calculated from the measured current values and the measured voltage values of the respective battery pack based on a linear regression analysis as the pack resistance of the respective battery pack (¶[50]; resistance is determined by means of a linear regression analysis by the measured current and voltage values of the battery pack in which one of ordinary skill understands is done so by determining the ratio of a voltage change to a current change).
Linear regression is used to model the relationship between a continuous outcome and one or more predictors (e.g., y = mx + b). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Tomura’s linear regression calculation method to Watanabe ‘929’s power system in order to have a parallel battery power system that prevents the battery pack with the highest current from exceeding safety limits by considering the resistance values of the battery packs calculated using a linear regression method. The advantage of this is that it allows dynamic estimation of an internal state of the secondary battery, prevents degrading of estimation accuracy due to an influence by changes in parameter value corresponding to changes in battery state when parameter identification in a battery model equation is performed, and ensures an estimation accuracy of the battery model corresponding to secular change of the battery. (see ¶[13] in Tomura).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following have been identified in the IDS and/or Foreign Office Actions however were not used for citation purposes.
US-2020185944 teaches limiting power over time so no single battery can deliver excessive current.
US-20190067758 (corresponding to KR-20180114156) teaches measuring the internal resistance of each individual battery in order to identify the low resistance battery.
US-2018026311 teaches adding resistance to a cell with the lowest internal resistance thereby limiting current.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859