SDETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Baumann does not teach “the central part being made from a lightweight material” as recited in claim 14. Applicant asserts that the lightweight material in the present invention is understood as materials having a density of less than 3.9 g/cm3 (last paragraph of page 2 of the originally filed specification). Applicant states that Baumann does not discuss the central part material. Applicant submits that the low weight in Baumann is achieved through form-complementary tank design, not through material selection for the central part.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. While claims are interpreted in light of the specification, the specification is not read into the claims. During patent examination, claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. Claim 14 does not define what’s “lightweight material” let alone the “density of less than 3.9 g/cm3 as disclosed in the specification. Accordingly, interpreting the “lightweight” as claimed as a material having “density of less than 3.9 g/ cm3” would be reading the specification into the claims, which is improper. Such interpretation is also the opposite of “broadest reasonable interpretation.” The term “lightweight” is a relative term that can be interpreted broadly, and under broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner interprets the material used for the central part of Baumann as a material having “lightweight” since the fastener 18 can support the “central part” in addition to all other components of the electrical appliance 10. Therefore, the examiner maintains Baumann teaches “the central part being made from a lightweight material” as recited in claim 14.
Applicant also argues that Baumann does not teach a support frame as claimed in claim 16. Applicant asserts that Baumann only disclose fastening means 18.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive. In the present invention, support frame 33 has two longitudinal supports 34 and two transverse supports 35, as seen in FIG 1. Similarly, in Baumann, the electrical appliance 10 is supported by two fasteners 18 and two transverse supports 19, as shown in FIG. 2. Accordingly, Baumann teaches the limitations of claim 16.
Drawings objection is hereby withdrawn as a result of the explanation and the amendment filed on 12/19/2025.
Drawings
The drawings received on 12/19/2022 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-17, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumann et al. (WO 2018/184775 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Baumann et al., hereinafter referred to as “Baumann,” teaches an electrical appliance 10 (FIGs. 2-4) for connection to a high voltage (“connection to a high voltage” para. [0003]), the electrical appliance comprising:
an active part 22 (FIG. 3) having a magnetizable core 23 and a winding assembly 25 and or 26 enclosing a core portion 24 of said core, said winding assembly having windings (“windings” para. [0044]) that are inductively coupled to one another (para. [0046]); and
a tank 12 to be filled with an insulating fluid (para. [0041]) and completely enclosing said active part, said tank having two end casings 16 and 17 and a central part 14 and or 15 disposed between said end casings (para. [0044]);
said active part being mechanically connected to said tank only at said end casings, and said end casings being supported on a fastener 18 (para. [0044]); and
said central part being made from a lightweight material.
With respect to claim 15, Baumann teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 14, wherein said fastener comprises a support frame (para. [0044]). The fastener 18 support the appliance. Therefore, the fastener 18 is proper to interpret as “support frame” as claimed.
With respect to claim 16, Baumann teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 15, wherein said support frame has two longitudinal supports (two supports at left and right) and two transverse supports 19 extending between said longitudinal supports, and wherein each of said end casings is supported on a respective one of said transverse supports (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 17, Baumann teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 14, wherein said core has two mutually parallel core limbs 24 (para. [0047]) that are each enclosed by a winding assembly 25 and 26, and said core limbs are connected to one another by a lower yoke (“lower yoke” para. [0050]) and an upper yoke 29.
With respect to claim 23, Baumann teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 14, wherein said end casings are box-shaped casings (para. [0009]).
With respect to claim 24, Baumann teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 14, wherein said end casings have a shape that is complementary to a portion of said active part lying opposite thereof (para. [0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Dierstein (U.S. Patent No. 3,011,139).
With respect to claim 18, Baumann teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 17. Baumann does not expressly teach said lower yoke and said upper yoke are in each case connected to said lower and upper end casings by way of spacers, and wherein said spacers are disposed in an interior of the respective said end casing.
Dierstein teaches an electrical appliance (Fig. 5), wherein said lower yoke (bottom yoke) and said upper yoke (top yoke) are in each case connected to said lower and upper end casings 34 by way of spacers 2a (annotated Fig. 5), and wherein said spacers are disposed in an interior of the respective said end casing (col. 4, lines 51-55).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the spacer as taught by Dierstein to the electrical appliance of Baumann to provide the required insulation or isolation between different parts of the electrical appliance.
With respect to claim 19, Baumann in view of Dierstein teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 18, wherein each spacer is connected to a fastening plate 19 disposed outside the respective said end casing (Baumann, para. [0044]). The combination would result in the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 20, Baumann in view of Dierstein teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 19, wherein each fastening plate is connected to said fastener (Baumann, para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 25, Baumann teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 14. Baumann does not expressly teach at least one of said end casings is formed with at least one of a viewing window or a hand opening.
Dierstein teaches an electrical appliance (Fig. 5), wherein at least one of said end casings 34 is formed with at least one of a viewing window 25 or a hand opening (col. 4, lines 57-49). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the window as taught by Dierstein to the electrical appliance of Baumann to provide visual inspection capability of the integrity of the appliance components.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumann, as applied to claim 14 above, in view of Hanov (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0271070 A1).
With respect to claim 21, Baumann teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 14. Baumann does not expressly teach said end casings are formed of a metal or a metal alloy.
Hanov teaches an electrical appliance (FIG 1), wherein said end casings 12 and 12a (annotated FIG 1) are formed of a metal or a metal alloy (paras. [0034] and [0035]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the steel casings as taught by Hanov to the electrical appliance of Baumann to improve mechanical strength for stabilizing the magnetizable core (para. [0012]).
With respect to claim 22, Baumann in view of Hanov teaches the electrical appliance according to claim 21, wherein said end casings are formed of steel (Hanov, paras. [0034]-[0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stefanutti et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0186524 A1) teaches the features of claim 16.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837