DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13-16, and 18- 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ishikawa (US 2017/0316940) in view of Xiao (US 2013/0323435).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa discloses a method for producing a layer covering first surfaces of a front face of a structure and leaving second surfaces of the front face uncovered, the first surfaces and the second surfaces having different inclinations (Figs. 10, 11; [0005], [0114]-[0116]), the method comprising at least one sequence of forming an initial layer by plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) on the front face of the structure , the sequence comprising a plurality of cycles, each cycle comprising at least ([0070]; Table 1): one injection of a first precursor in a reaction chamber of a reactor containing the structure ([0065]; Tables 1 and 8), one injection of a second precursor in the reaction chamber and the formation in the reaction chamber of a plasma, called deposition plasms ([0065]; note: N2; NH3) , so as to form at each cycle, on said first and second surfaces of the structure, a film forming a portion of said initial layer ([0114]-[0116]; Fig. 1; note: (53)) , wherein: the at least one injection of the first precursor and the at least one injection of the second precursor are carried out at a deposition temperature Tcycle (Table 1) ; the method comprises at least one step of exposing the initial layer, formed or undergoing formation by PEALD, to a plasma, called densification plasma, during which a non-zero polarization is applied to the structure so as to give a favored direction to an ion flow generated by the densification plasma, this favored direction being oriented such that at least one superficial portion of the initial layer, deposited or undergoing formation by PEALD, ([0046], [0061], [0116]) has: first regions, covering the first surfaces of the structure, the first regions being exposed to the ion flow of the densification plasma, second regions, covering the second surfaces of the structure the second regions being not exposed to the ion flow of the densification plasma ([0116]; note: 53a), the densification plasma, at least the polarization, being configured such that the exposure to the ion flow of the densification plasma makes the material of the first regions more resistant to etching than the material of the second regions ([0046]-[0051]; [0116]) , the method also comprises, coming from the at least one step of exposing to the densification plasma of the initial layer, formed or undergoing formation by PEALD, at least one selective etching step of the second regions vis- a-vis the first regions, such that after etching, the initial layer covers the first surfaces of the front face of the structure by leaving the second surfaces uncovered ([0116]).
Ishikawa does not disclose that Tcycle being less than 80 °C.
Xiao however discloses Tcycle being less than 80 °C ([0053]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ishikawa with Xiao to have Tcycle being less than 80 °C for the purpose of deposit high density materials (Xiao, [0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa discloses wherein the step of exposing the initial layer to the densification plasma is carried out at each cycle of the sequence of forming the initial layer by PEALD, the deposition plasma being the densification plasma ([0061]; [0114]- [0116]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Ishikawa does not disclose herein the at least one step of exposing the initial layer to the densification plasma is only carried out during last NB cycles of the sequence of forming the initial layer by PEALD, during the last NB cycles, the deposition plasma being the densification plasma, the total number of cycles of the sequence being equal to NA+NB, NA and NB =1.
Ishikawa however discloses that the plasma can be applied during or after deposition of the film ([0046]). Ishikawa further discloses that plasma can be adjusted to obtain a desired layer structure ([0048]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the deposition parameters to be in the claimed range for the purpose of obtaining a desired layer structure (Ishikawa, [0048]).
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the at least one step of exposing the initial layer to the densification plasma is carried out only after the sequence of forming the initial layer by PEALD.
Ishikawa however discloses that the plasma can be applied during or after deposition of the film ([0046]). Ishikawa further discloses that plasma can be adjusted to obtain a desired layer structure ([0048]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the deposition parameters to have the at least one step of exposing the initial layer to the densification plasma is carried out only after the sequence of forming the initial layer by PEALD for the purpose of obtaining a desired layer structure (Ishikawa, [0048]).
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa discloses a plurality of sequences, each sequence comprising NB steps of exposing the initial layer to the densification plasma, NB being a non-zero integer ([0114]-[0116]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Xiao a discloses wherein the at least one injection of the first precursor and said at least one injection of the second precursor out at a temperature Tcycle equal to ambient temperature ([0053]).
Regarding claim 13, Ishikawa discloses wherein during the formation of the densification plasma, pressure is less than or equal to 80 mTorr (Table 4).
Regarding claim 14, Ishikawa discloses wherein the polarization is applied with a polarization power Pbias less than or equal to 150 Watts ([0070] Table 1).
Regarding claim 15, Ishikawa discloses wherein the first regions exposed to the densification plasma and the second regions not exposed to the densification plasma differ by at least one of the following parameters: a density of the film or an impurity rate ([0046]-[0051]; Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 16, Ishikawa discloses wherein the initial layer is made or is nitride- or oxide-based ([0114]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 18, Ishikawa discloses wherein the first precursor comprises one of the following materials: aluminum (Al), titanium (Ti), tantalum (Ta), silicon (Si), hafnium (Hf), zirconium (Zr), copper (Cu), ruthenium (Ru), lanthanum (La), yttrium (Y) ([0114]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 19, Ishikawa discloses wherein at least certain first and second surfaces together form a right angle ([0114]-[0116]; Fig.11).
Regarding claim 20, Ishikawa does not disclose wherein at least certain first and second surfaces do not together form a right angle and wherein a rear face of the structure extends into a plane, a perpendicular to this plane being inclined, with respect to the favored direction of the ion flow.
Ishikawa however discloses that the direction of surfaces can be varied (Figs. 8 and 9; [0048]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have at least certain first and second surfaces do not together form a right angle and wherein a rear face of the structure extends into a plane, a perpendicular to this plane being inclined, with respect to the favored direction of the ion flow for the purpose of fabrication a film with directionality of film properties (Ishikawa, [0050]).
Regarding claim 21, Ishikawa discloses wherein the total number N of cycles of said sequence is greater or equal to 15 ([0114]-[0116]).
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa in view of Xiao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jia (US 2018/0350587).
Regarding claim 17, Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the initial layer comprises sulfide.
Jia however discloses wherein the initial layer comprises sulfide ([0058]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ishikawa with Jia to have the initial layer comprising sulfide for the purpose of depositing metal oxide thin films (Jia, Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 13-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891