Response to Arguments
Regarding Specification:
Applicant has submitted an amended abstract which complies with MPEP 608.01(b). Examiner objection to the application abstract is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding Claim Objections:
Applicant has amended claim 40 to depend on claim 35 rather than claim 41 and canceled claim 48. Examiner hereby withdraws objections to both claims 40 and 48.
Regarding first argument:
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 35 with elements of now canceled claims 2, 3 and 36, 37 respectively. Applicant argues in substance that prior art fails to disclose elements of claims 2 and 3 and combination of elements cited in 103 rejection also fails to disclose elements of amended independent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the prior art the PUSCH message is associated with the RRC message, as one of ordinary skill in the art would know the RRC message is a core message from the control plane and the PUSCH message is the physical channel used to transmit the RRC message. The PUSCH message is comprised of 3 bits associated with the RRC message as described in the prior art as well as the claim language, as currently written. Furthermore, the update action is described in [¶0191] “a UE may receive a configuration, such as whether to use the header of an SDAP layer device or the function of the SDAP layer device, through an RRC message, for each PDCP layer device, for each bearer, or for each logical channel. If the SDAP header is configured, the UE may be indicated to update or reconfigure mapping information between a QoS flow and a data bearer for the uplink and downlink” for at least these reasons, the rejection is proper and thus has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-15, 17, 35-41, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 20200358557 A1) hereafter Park.
Regarding Claim 1:
Park Discloses:
A method ([¶0007] a method ) performed by a wireless device, the method comprising: receiving, from the network node,([¶0191] UE may receive a configuration) a first message comprising a 3 bit indicator associated with a first number of Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, repetitions to be used by the wireless device for a first instance of a PUSCH transmission;([¶0100] DCI format 0_1 may be used as DCI for non-fallback for scheduling PUSCH, and CRC may be scrambled using C-RNTI. DCI format 0_1, in which CRC is scrambled using C-RNTI, may include, for example, the information shown in <Table 7> below. [Table 7] Carrier indicator - 0 or 3 bits) the first message further comprising a radio resource control, RRC, message associated with an RRC configuration; storing the 3 bit indicator associated with the RRC configuration. ([¶0182] The base station may configure the number of repetitive transmissions of the PUSCH, for example, pdsch-AggregationFactor in PUSCH-Config, via a higher layer such as RRC, [¶0215] The in-sequence delivery function may include a function of receiving segments stored in a buffer or segments to be received later,) receiving a second message comprising a 2 bit indicator for determining a second number of PUSCH repetitions to be used by the wireless device for one or more subsequent instances of the PUSCH transmission based on said second number of PUSCH repetitions;([¶0100] DCI format 0_1 may be used as DCI for non-fallback for scheduling PUSCH, and CRC may be scrambled using C-RNTI. DCI format 0_1, in which CRC is scrambled using C-RNTI, may include, for example, the information shown in <Table 7> below. [Table 7] Bandwidth part indicator - 0, 1 or 2 bits) applying a zero-bit padding to the 2 bit indicator to obtain an updated 3 bit indicator used to communicate from a physical layer to higher layers the second number of PUSCH repetitions to be used;([¶0394] the reception device 2200 may pre-store information about the parameters used by the transmission device 2100 for padding zero bits. Accordingly, the rate de-matching unit 2220 may determine the positions where the zero bits are padded in the LDPC codeword and insert an LLR value corresponding to the shortened zero bits at the corresponding position.) updating the RRC configuration by replacing the 3 bit indicator associated with the first message with the updated 3 bit indicator. ([¶0086] The base station may preconfigure one or more bandwidth parts for the UE via higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling), and may perform indication using a method for mapping the configuration-switching indication 4-15 to one of the bandwidth part configurations preconfigured by the base station. For example, the indicator of the log 2N bit may select and indicate one of the N preconfigured bandwidth parts. <Table 3> below shows an example in which configuration information for a bandwidth part is indicated using a 2-bit indicator. [¶0191] a UE may receive a configuration, such as whether to use the header of an SDAP layer device or the function of the SDAP layer device, through an RRC message, for each PDCP layer device, for each bearer, or for each logical channel. If the SDAP header is configured, the UE may be indicated to update or reconfigure mapping information between a QoS flow and a data bearer for the uplink and downlink ) and sending the one or more subsequent PUSCH transmissions based on the second number of PUSCH repetitions. ([¶0182] the PUSCH scheduled by DCI may be repeatedly transmitted in a number of slots that is the same as the number of consecutive repetition transmissions.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
further comprising: storing the updated RRC configuration, wherein the storing steps are performed by a higher layer. ([¶0182] The base station may configure the number of repetitive transmissions of the PUSCH, for example, pdsch-AggregationFactor in PUSCH-Config, via a higher layer such as RRC, [¶0215] The in-sequence delivery function may include a function of receiving segments stored in a buffer or segments to be received later)
Regarding Claim 5:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
further comprising: replacing the 3 bit indicator stored in the higher layer configuration with the updated 3 bit indicator resulting from applying the zero-bit padding, wherein the step of applying the zero-bit padding is performed by a physical layer. ([¶0087] The configuration-switching indication 4-15 for the bandwidth part illustrated in FIG. 4 may be transmitted from the base station to the UE, in a format of medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling or L1 signaling (e.g., common DCI, group-common DCI, UE-specific DCI). [¶0191] the UE may be indicated to update or reconfigure mapping information)
Regarding Claim 6.
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein replacing the 3 bit indicator stored in the higher layer configuration with the updated 3 bit indicator resulting from applying the zero-bit padding in the physical layer comprises: applying a zero-bit padding at the physical layer to obtain an updated 3 bit indicator to communicate to higher layers the second number of PUSCH repetitions to be used, receiving, by the higher layer, the updated 3 bit indicator; and storing, by the higher layer, the updated 3 bit indicator in the configuration. ([0072] the base station may configure initial BWP (first BWP) for the UE via RRC signaling [¶0088] According to the configuration-switching indication 4-15 for the bandwidth part described in FIG. 4, the time point from which the bandwidth part activation is applied will be described below. That is, a time point from which the configuration switching is applied may be configured according to a predetermined value (for example, slot N(≥1) after reception of the configuration-switching indication), may be configured by the base station via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) to the UE, or may be transmitted as part of the content of the configuration-switching indication 4-15.)
Regarding Claim 7:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein applying the zero-bit padding comprises adding a 0 bit in front of the 2 bit indicator associated to the second message. ([¶0394] the reception device 2200 may pre-store information about the parameters used by the transmission device 2100 for padding zero bits. Accordingly, the rate de-matching unit 2220 may determine the positions where the zero bits are padded in the LDPC codeword and insert an LLR value corresponding to the shortened zero bits at the corresponding position.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein applying the zero-bit padding comprises setting a most significant bit to zero. ([¶0107] one bit may be added to the very first part (MSB) of the frequency domain resource assignment information in DCI, and the case in which the corresponding bit is 0 indicates that resource type 0 is used and the case in which the corresponding bit is 1 indicates that resource type 1 is used.)
Regarding Claim 9:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the second message comprises a downlink control information (DCI) message. ([¶0087] The configuration-switching indication 4-15 for the bandwidth part illustrated in FIG. 4 may be transmitted from the base station to the UE, in a format of medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling or L1 signaling (e.g., common DCI, group-common DCI, UE-specific DCI).)
Regarding Claim 10:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the DCI message comprises an acknowledgement message or a fallback indicator message. ([¶0095] The UE may monitor a DCI format for fallback and a DCI format for non-fallback for PUSCH or PDSCH. The DCI format for fallback may be configured by fixed fields pre-defined between the base station and the UE, and the DCI format for non-fallback may include a configurable field.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the first message is received via Layer 2/Layer 3, L2/L3, signaling and the second message is received via Layer 1, L1, signaling. ([¶0072] the base station may configure initial BWP (first BWP) for the UE via RRC signaling [¶0087] The configuration-switching indication 4-15 for the bandwidth part illustrated in FIG. 4 may be transmitted from the base station to the UE, in a format of medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling or L1 signaling (e.g., common DCI, group-common DCI, UE-specific DCI).)
Regarding Claim 13:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein a set of values based on the first number of repetitions is defined, wherein the set of values comprises at least a first value associated with the first number of repetitions, and the method further comprises selecting a second value associated with the second number of repetitions from the set of values. ([¶0180] In case that the number of repetitive transmissions is set, the PDSCH scheduled by DCI may be repeatedly transmitted in a number of slots that is the same as the number of consecutive repetition transmissions (indicated by reference numeral 1405). All PDSCHs that are repeatedly transmitted may receive allocation of the same time resource in a slot, and the allocation corresponds to the OFDM symbol start position 7-00 and length 7-05 in one slot indicated by DCI, as shown in FIG. 7. In addition, it may be assumed that the same transport block is transmitted to all PDSCHs that are repeatedly transmitted. The UE may expect that the repeatedly transmitted PDSCH is transmitted via only a single layer. In addition, the RV of the repeatedly transmitted PDSCH may be determined according to the RV value indicated by the DCI scheduling the PDSCH and the index of the repeatedly transmitted PDSCH, as shown in the table below. [¶0181] In the above table, n may indicate an index for each PDSCH within the number of repetitive transmissions determined by the higher layer (indicated by reference numerals 1410 and 1415).)
Regarding Claim 14:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the second value associated with the second number of repetitions is larger than the first value associated with the first number of repetitions. ([¶0182] the PUSCH scheduled by DCI may be repeatedly transmitted in a number of slots that is the same as the number of consecutive repetition transmissions. All PUSCHs that are repeatedly transmitted may receive allocation of the same time resource in a slot, and the allocation corresponds to the OFDM symbol start position 7-00 and length 7-05 in one slot indicated by DCI. In addition, it may be assumed that the same transport block is transmitted to all repeatedly transmitted PUSCHs. [¶0183] According to certain embodiments, if the PUSCH repetitive transmission is performed based on the configured grant, the RV sequence of the repeatedly transmitted PUSCH may be indicated via the higher layer configuration by the base station, and the corresponding RV sequence may be one of, for example, {0, 2, 3, 1}, {0, 3, 0, 3}, and {0, 0, 0, 0}.)
Regarding Claim 15:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the second value associated with the second number of repetitions is smaller than the first value associated with the first number of repetitions. ([¶0182] the PUSCH scheduled by DCI may be repeatedly transmitted in a number of slots that is the same as the number of consecutive repetition transmissions. All PUSCHs that are repeatedly transmitted may receive allocation of the same time resource in a slot, and the allocation corresponds to the OFDM symbol start position 7-00 and length 7-05 in one slot indicated by DCI. In addition, it may be assumed that the same transport block is transmitted to all repeatedly transmitted PUSCHs. [¶0183] According to certain embodiments, if the PUSCH repetitive transmission is performed based on the configured grant, the RV sequence of the repeatedly transmitted PUSCH may be indicated via the higher layer configuration by the base station, and the corresponding RV sequence may be one of, for example, {0, 2, 3, 1}, {0, 3, 0, 3}, and {0, 0, 0, 0}.)
Regarding Claim 17:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the first instance of the PUSCH transmission and the subsequent instances on the PUSCH transmission comprises periodic PUSCH transmissions, and wherein the periodic PUSCH transmissions are on preconfigured uplink resources, PURs. ([¶0182] the same PUSCH repetitive transmission may be supported in order to improve the reliability of PUSCH reception. The base station may configure the number of repetitive transmissions of the PUSCH, for example, pdsch-AggregationFactor in PUSCH-Config, via a higher layer such as RRC, and in case that the number of repetitive transmissions is set, the PUSCH scheduled by DCI may be repeatedly transmitted in a number of slots that is the same as the number of consecutive repetition transmissions. All PUSCHs that are repeatedly transmitted may receive allocation of the same time resource in a slot)
Regarding Claim 35:
Park Discloses:
A method ([¶0007] a method ) performed by a network node, the method comprising: transmitting, to a wireless device, ([¶0009] transmitting, to a terminal) a first message comprising a 3 bit indicator associated with a first number of Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, repetitions to be used by the wireless device for a first instance of a PUSCH transmission; ([¶0100] DCI format 0_1 may be used as DCI for non-fallback for scheduling PUSCH, and CRC may be scrambled using C-RNTI. DCI format 0_1, in which CRC is scrambled using C-RNTI, may include, for example, the information shown in <Table 7> below. [Table 7] Carrier indicator - 0 or 3 bits) the first message further comprising a radio resource control, RRC, message associated with an RRC configuration; ([¶0182] The base station may configure the number of repetitive transmissions of the PUSCH, for example, pdsch-AggregationFactor in PUSCH-Config, via a higher layer such as RRC, [¶0215] The in-sequence delivery function may include a function of receiving segments stored in a buffer or segments to be received later) transmitting, to the wireless device, ([¶0009] transmitting, to a terminal) a second message comprising a 2 bit indicator for determining a second number of PUSCH repetitions to be used by the wireless device for one or more subsequent instances of the PUSCH transmission based on said second number of PUSCH repetitions; ([¶0100] DCI format 0_1 may be used as DCI for non-fallback for scheduling PUSCH, and CRC may be scrambled using C-RNTI. DCI format 0_1, in which CRC is scrambled using C-RNTI, may include, for example, the information shown in <Table 7> below. [Table 7] Carrier indicator - 0 or 3 bits) updating the RRC configuration by replacing the 3 bit indicator associated with the first message with the updated 3 bit indicator; storing the updated RRC configuration; ([¶0086] The base station may preconfigure one or more bandwidth parts for the UE via higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling), and may perform indication using a method for mapping the configuration-switching indication 4-15 to one of the bandwidth part configurations preconfigured by the base station. For example, the indicator of the log 2N bit may select and indicate one of the N preconfigured bandwidth parts. <Table 3> below shows an example in which configuration information for a bandwidth part is indicated using a 2-bit indicator. [¶0215] The in-sequence delivery function may include a function of receiving segments stored in a buffer or segments to be received later [¶0191] a UE may receive a configuration, such as whether to use the header of an SDAP layer device or the function of the SDAP layer device, through an RRC message, for each PDCP layer device, for each bearer, or for each logical channel. If the SDAP header is configured, the UE may be indicated to update or reconfigure mapping information between a QoS flow and a data bearer for the uplink and downlink) transmitting, to the wireless device, ([¶0009] transmitting, to a terminal) and receiving, from the wireless device, the one or more subsequent PUSCH transmissions based on the second number of PUSCH repetitions. ([¶0240] transmitted from a UE to a base station using an uplink data channel of a physical layer)
Regarding Claim 38:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
further comprising: replacing, in a configuration, the 3 bit indicator with the updated 3 bit indicator resulting from applying the zero-bit padding. ([¶0087] The configuration-switching indication 4-15 for the bandwidth part illustrated in FIG. 4 may be transmitted from the base station to the UE, in a format of medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling or L1 signaling (e.g., common DCI, group-common DCI, UE-specific DCI). [¶0191] the UE may be indicated to update or reconfigure mapping information)
Regarding Claim 39:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the second message comprises a downlink control information, DCI, message. ([¶0087] The configuration-switching indication 4-15 for the bandwidth part illustrated in FIG. 4 may be transmitted from the base station to the UE, in a format of medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling or L1 signaling (e.g., common DCI, group-common DCI, UE-specific DCI).)
Regarding Claim 40:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the DCI message comprises an acknowledgement message or a fallback indicator message. ([¶0095] The UE may monitor a DCI format for fallback and a DCI format for non-fallback for PUSCH or PDSCH. The DCI format for fallback may be configured by fixed fields pre-defined between the base station and the UE, and the DCI format for non-fallback may include a configurable field.)
Regarding Claim 41:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the first message is transmitted via Layer 2/Layer 3, L2/L3, signaling and the second message is transmitted via Layer 1, L1, signaling. ([¶0072] the base station may configure initial BWP (first BWP) for the UE via RRC signaling [¶0087] The configuration-switching indication 4-15 for the bandwidth part illustrated in FIG. 4 may be transmitted from the base station to the UE, in a format of medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling or L1 signaling (e.g., common DCI, group-common DCI, UE-specific DCI).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 16, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of 3GPP hereafter 3GPP.
Regarding Claim 12:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the 2 bit indicator in the second message is comprised by the following sets of values ([¶0086] The base station may preconfigure one or more bandwidth parts for the UE via higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling), and may perform indication using a method for mapping the configuration-switching indication 4-15 to one of the bandwidth part configurations preconfigured by the base station. For example, the indicator of the log 2N bit may select and indicate one of the N preconfigured bandwidth parts. <Table 3> below shows an example in which configuration information for a bandwidth part is indicated using a 2-bit indicator.)
Park does not disclose:
{1, 2, 4, 8}, or {1, 4, 8, 16}, or {1, 4, 16, 32}
3GPP discloses:
{1, 2, 4, 8}, or {1, 4, 8, 16}, or {1, 4, 16, 32} ([Pg 27, Table 8-2b] Nrep column)
Regarding Claim 16:
Park discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the first number of repetitions or the second number of repetitions ([¶0086] The base station may preconfigure one or more bandwidth parts for the UE via higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling), and may perform indication using a method for mapping the configuration-switching indication 4-15 to one of the bandwidth part configurations preconfigured by the base station. For example, the indicator of the log 2N bit may select and indicate one of the N preconfigured bandwidth parts. <Table 3> below shows an example in which configuration information for a bandwidth part is indicated using a 2-bit indicator.) is one of
Park does not disclose:
is one of 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, and 32.
3GPP discloses:
is one of 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, and 32. ([¶Table 16.5.1.1-3])
Park and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park to implement a preconfigured set of values to be used for repetitions of PUSCH transmissions as taught by 3GPP in order to improve uplink (UL) transmission efficiency(Instant Application [¶0002]).
Regarding Claim 42:
Park discloses:
wherein the 2 bit indicator in the second message is comprised by the following sets of values ([¶0086] The base station may preconfigure one or more bandwidth parts for the UE via higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling), and may perform indication using a method for mapping the configuration-switching indication 4-15 to one of the bandwidth part configurations preconfigured by the base station. For example, the indicator of the log 2N bit may select and indicate one of the N preconfigured bandwidth parts. <Table 3> below shows an example in which configuration information for a bandwidth part is indicated using a 2-bit indicator.)
Park does not disclose:
{1, 2, 4, 8}, or {1, 4, 8, 16}, or {1, 4, 16, 32}
3GPP discloses:
{1, 2, 4, 8}, or {1, 4, 8, 16}, or {1, 4, 16, 32} ([Pg 27, Table 8-2b] Nrep column)
Park and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park to implement a preconfigured set of values to be used for repetitions of PUSCH transmissions as taught by 3GPP in order to improve uplink (UL) transmission efficiency(Instant Application [¶0002]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463