DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 11-14 and 16-19 are pending and under examination.
Claims 1-10 and 15 have been canceled.
Response to Amendment
New 112(a) rejection(s) have been set forth based on the claim amendments.
In view of the amended claims and remarks received on 08/19/2026, the prior art rejection over Dupont has been modified to address the amended claims (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupont et al. (US 2005/0013739; already of record – hereinafter “Dupont”) in view of Massey et al. (WO 2017/188915A1; already of record; where US 2020/0330629 is used as the corresponding document – hereinafter “Massey”), and Boschert (US 2011/0260077 – hereinafter “Boschert”).
Regarding claim 11, Dupont disclose an automatic analyzer (Dupont; figs. 1 & 2, #100, #200, [0041, 0078]) comprising:
an analysis module that analyzes a specimen (Dupont; figs. 1 & 2, #18, #218, [0059, 0078]); and
a supply system that supplies a liquid to the analysis module (Dupont; figs. 1 & 2, #23, #223, [0041, 0061]), wherein the supply system includes:
a buffer tank that temporarily stores the liquid supplied from the outside of the analyzer (Dupont; figs. 1 & 2, #14, “E”, [0041, 0057, 0066]);
a supply channel through which the liquid in the buffer tank is sent to the analysis module (Dupont; figs. 1 & 2, #15, #251, #252, #253, [0059, 0066, 0074-0077]);
a liquid feeding pump that feeds the liquid in the buffer tank (Dupont disclose a recirculation pump 13 connected to recirculation loop 17; figs. 1 & 2, #13, #17, #217, [0058, 0066]. The examiner notes fig. 1 of Dupont shows two pumps as reference character 13. A pump connected to the outlet of the degassing module 11 and a pump connected to the recirculation loop 17 and check valve 22. See paragraph [0058] of Dupont “the storage tank 14 is in fluid communication with the inlet of the UV treatment module 9 to cause the water in the final purification section to flow in a loop (the recirculation loop 17 integrates the storage tank 14), thanks in particular to a recirculation pump 13 and a check valve 22 … The pump 13 also provides the vacuum pump function necessary for operation of the degassing module 11”);
a circulation channel through which the liquid discharged from the liquid feeding pump is returned to the buffer tank (Dupont disclose liquid is discharged from feeding pump 13 and returned to the buffer tank 14 through recirculation loop 17/217, figs. 1 & 2, #17, #217, [0058, 0066]);
a sterilization unit that sterilizes the liquid in the supply system (Dupont; figs 1 & 2, “D”, [0056, 0067-0071]);
a control unit that controls an operation of each device in the supply system (Dupont; fig. 2, #254, [0033-0035, 0078, 0080-0081]); and
the control unit drives the sterilization unit in the case where the liquid is supplied to the buffer tank from the outside of the analyzer (Dupont disclose water is supplied from the outside via solenoid valve 1; fig. 1, #1, [0041], and a control unit 254 for controlling the sterilization and purification of the water supplied to the buffer tank 14; figs. 2, #254, “D”, [0033-0035, 0067-0068, 0078, 0080-0081]),
wherein the circulation channel returns a part of the liquid that is branched from the supply channel and is discharged from the liquid feeding pump to the buffer tank (Dupont disclose recirculation channel 17/217 returns part of the liquid that is branched from the supply channels 251/253 and is discharged from the recirculation pump 13 to the buffer tank 14; figs. 1 & 2, #13, #17, #217, #251, #253, [0058, 0074-0077]), and
wherein the sterilization unit sterilizes the liquid that flows on the upstream side relative to a branch unit of the supply channel and the circulation channel in the supply channel (Dupont disclose sterilization unit “D” sterilizes liquid that flows on the upstream side relative to a branch unit 217/251 and 217/253 of the supply channel 251 and 253 and the circulation channel 217 in the supply channel 251/253; fig. 2, [0074-0077]), and
wherein the sterilization unit comprises an ultraviolet light source (Dupont; fig. 1, #9, [0056-0058]).
Dupont does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit adjusts the liquid feeding speed of the liquid feeding pump on the basis of an operation of the sterilization unit such that at a timing when the sterilization unit is not operated a discharge amount of the liquid feeding pump is increased to increase the liquid feeding speed, and at a timing when the sterilization unit is operated the discharge amount of the liquid feeding pump is decreased to decrease the liquid feeding speed.
However, Massey teach the analogous art of a sterilization unit that sterilizes liquid in a supply system (Massey teach UV disinfectant system 106 comprising an inflow port 113; figs. 11, 12 & 13, [0057]), a liquid feeding pump that feeds the liquid (Massey teach liquid to be treated is pumped into the chamber 112 through inflow port 113; figs. 11 & 13, #161, [0057, 0064]), and a control unit that controls an operation of each device (Massey; fig. 13, #175, [0064]), wherein the control unit adjusts the liquid feeding speed of the liquid feeding pump on the basis of an operation of the sterilization unit such that at a timing when the sterilization unit is not operated a discharge amount of the liquid feeding pump is increased to increase the liquid feeding speed (Massey teach terminating power to sterilization bulbs when the liquid flow meter measure no flow; [0010, 0066]. In other words, upon restarting flow of the liquid (i.e. increasing the liquid feeding speed), the sterilization bulb would be powered off until a set point flow condition is detected), and at a timing when the sterilization unit is operated the discharge amount of the liquid feeding pump is decreased to decrease the liquid feeding speed (Massey teach a remote user interface to control an operation of the UV disinfectant system comprising changing a speed of operation of the pump to increase or decrease a flow rate of the liquid pumped through the chamber while the sterilization unit is operated; [0010, 0066, 0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the control, liquid feeding pump, and sterilization unit of Dupont to be configured such that the control unit adjusts the liquid feeding speed of the liquid feeding pump on the basis of an operation of the sterilization unit such that at a timing when the sterilization unit is not operated a discharge amount of the liquid feeding pump is increased to increase the liquid feeding speed, as taught by Massey, because Massey teach controlling the system using various set point parameters allows an operator to define desired operational criteria and prevent thermal damage to components of the system (Massey; [0074]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Dupont and Massey teach controlling a sterilization unit and modifying various parameters to adapt the water at the outlet to a desired requirement.
Modified Dupont does not teach the control unit directly adjusts the liquid feeding speed of the liquid feeding pump based on whether the ultraviolet light source is on or off, independently of any liquid temperature measurement.
However, Boschert teach the analogous art of a supply system that supplies a liquid (Boschert; fig. 1, #100, [0025]), comprising a buffer tank that temporarily stores the liquid (Boschert; fig. 1, #15, [0025]), a liquid feeding pump that feeds the liquid (Boschert; fig. 1, #20, [0027]), a sterilization unit that sterilizes the liquid in the supply system (Boschert; fig. 1, #30, [0028]), and a control unit that controls operation of each device in the supply system (Boschert; fig. 1, #99, [0030]), wherein the control unit directly adjusts the liquid feeding speed of the liquid feeding pump based on whether the ultraviolet light source is on or off, independently of any liquid temperature measurement (Boschert disclose power control section 99 is in electrical connection with pumping section 20 and sterilizing section 30 to provide power needed for operation of those sections. Power control section 99 includes user-interface or user-controls such as on-off switches or buttons for either or both pumping section 20 and sterilizing section 30; pump speed controls for regulating the speed with which liquid is cycled from the buffer tank 15 through disinfecting section 60 and back to buffer tank 15, timers for allowing a user to set one or more desired times, recurrent times, or lengths of time for the operation of pumping section 20 or sterilization section 30, or both; [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the control unit of modified Dupont with the control unit configured to directly adjust the liquid feeding speed of the liquid feeding pump based on whether the ultraviolet light source is on or off, independently of any liquid temperature measurement, as taught by Boschert, because Boschert teach controlling the speed and UV light source independent of temperature allows the liquid to be disinfected on a routine basis to kill micro-organisms or other contaminants within the liquid; [0028, 0030]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Dupont and Boschert both teach sterilization of liquid in a reservoir through a return channel.
Regarding claim 12, modified Dupont teach the automatic analyzer according to claim 11 above, wherein the control unit drives the sterilization unit in the case where the liquid is supplied to the analysis module from the buffer tank (Dupont; fig. 2, [0033-0035, 0077-0078, 0080-0081]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Dupont teach the automatic analyzer according to claim 11, wherein the control unit drives the sterilization unit when a start-up operation of the automatic analyzer is performed (Dupont disclose “the electronic controls of the analyzer means and the purification means are functionally interconnected … the analyzer means and the purification means include a common control unit adapted to control and monitor the analyzer means and the purification means simultaneously”; fig. 2, [0033-0035, 0077-0078, 0080-0081]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Dupont teach the automatic analyzer according to claim 11 above, wherein the control unit drives the sterilization unit when a shutdown operation of the automatic analyzer is performed (Dupont disclose “the electronic controls of the analyzer means and the purification means are functionally interconnected … the analyzer means and the purification means include a common control unit adapted to control and monitor the analyzer means and the purification means simultaneously”; fig. 2, [0033-0035, 0077-0078, 0080-0081]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Dupont teach the automatic analyzer according to claim 11 above, further comprising a cleanliness measurement unit that measures the cleanliness of the liquid, wherein the control unit controls an operation of the sterilization unit on the basis of the cleanliness of the liquid measured by the cleanliness measurement unit (Dupont disclose a sensor for measuring conductivity of the water functionally connected to the control unit 254 which determines the purity of the water; [0081]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Dupont teach the automatic analyzer according to claim 11 above, further comprising a liquid temperature measurement unit that measures the temperature of the liquid (Dupont disclose a sensor for measuring temperature of the water functionally connected to the control unit 254 which determines the purity of the water; [0081]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Dupont teach the automatic analyzer according to claim 11 above, wherein the control unit operates the sterilization unit when a specific operation is detected in the analysis module (Dupont disclose the control units of the analyzer means and the purification means are functionally interconnected to enable feedback from the control unit of the analyzer means to the control unit of the water purification means; [0034]. Electronic control unit 254 for the modules A-D of the water treatment system, which is functionally connected to a central unit 255 of the analyzer system 218 of the analyzer 200; [0078]. The central unit 255 of the analyzer 200 can operate on the water treatment system 223 via the control unit 254 and modify various parameters thereof to adapt the water at the outlet of the unit D to its requirements in real time; [0080]).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupont in view of Massey, and Boschert, and further in view of Takahashi (US 2016/0377586; already of record – hereinafter “Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 19, modified Dupont teach the automatic analyzer according to claim 11 above, wherein the branch unit is directly connected to the analysis module (Dupont teach a distributor connecting the branch unit to the analysis module 18; figs 1 & 2, [0059]).
Modified Dupont does not teach the branch unit is directly connected to the analysis module via a solenoid valve.
However, Takahashi teach the analogous art of supplying liquid that flows through a supply channel connect to an analysis module (Takahashi teach a water tank 1 connected to a hardness measurement cell 2 via line 11; fig. 1, [0132]), wherein the supply liquid is connected to the analysis module via solenoid valve (Takahashi teach solenoid valve 5 between the water tank 1 and hardness measurement cell 2; fig. 1, [0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the distributor of modified Dupont with a solenoid valve, as taught by Takashi, because Takahashi teach the solenoid valve is may be controlled by a sensor based on the detection amount of liquid (Takahashi; [0132]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Dupont and Takahashi teach liquid storage tanks connected to analysis units via a channel.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed on 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are towards the amended claims and do not apply to the current grounds of rejection. However, because the examiner is using the same prior art in the rejection, then the examiner will address applicant’s remarks in order to promote compact prosecution.
Applicants argue on pages 5-7 of their remarks that neither Dupont or Massey disclose the amended limitation “wherein the sterilization unit comprises an ultraviolet light source, and the control unit directly adjusts the liquid feeding speed of the liquid feeding pump based on whether the ultraviolet light source is on or off, independently of any liquid temperature measurement”. The examiner agrees with applicant’s arguments and has therefore modified the prior art rejection over Dupont in view of Boschert for teaching the amended limitations of claim 11. Boschert teach a power control section 99 is in electrical connection with pumping section 20 and sterilizing section 30 to provide power needed for operation of those sections. Power control section 99 includes user-interface or user-controls such as on-off switches or buttons for either or both pumping section 20 and sterilizing section 30; pump speed controls for regulating the speed with which liquid is cycled from holding section 15 through disinfecting section 60 and back to holding section 15; timers for allowing a user to set one or more desired times, recurrent times, or lengths of time for the operation of pumping section 20 or sterilizing section 30, or both.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798