DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 25, 27 have been amended. Claim 2 has been cancelled. The status of claims 1, 3-11, 25-33 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that ZHOU ‘455 fails to disclose or suggest “wherein configuring the wireless device to generate measurement reports based on the TRP- specific reference signal transmitted by the second TRP that serves the multiple-TRP cell comprises configuring the wireless device to generate a measurement report in response to occurrence of an entering condition when a difference between _a signal power of the TRP- specific reference signal and a signal power of a multiple-TRP reference signal associated with the multiple-TRP cell rises above a first threshold.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because ZHOU ‘455 substantially discloses the Applicant claim invention. In particular broadly discloses the handover from cells of multiple TRPs to another cell or target cell of the multiple-TRPs based on implicitly comparison of the measured signal qualities or signal strengths.
It is clear there is difference between the measured signal strengths of the serving TRP/cell and the target TRP triggers the handover of the UE accordingly.
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments stated above, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because ZHOU discloses when there is a change in the measured metrics with respect to the one or more cells, the UE may send reports relating to RSRP, SINR and RSRQ and movement of the UE (section 0106, 0108).
The measurements that are generated by the UE for handoff purposes are based on timing reference signals received from TRPs or cells of the TRPs (i.e., serving cell/TRP and target TRP/cells or neighbor cells).
In view of the above reasoning, the Examiner respectfully submits that ZHOU ‘455 discloses the functional equivalent of “wherein configuring the wireless device to generate measurement reports based on the TRP- specific reference signal transmitted by the second TRP that serves the multiple-TRP cell comprises configuring the wireless device to generate a measurement report (see, the UE measures SSBs 832 transmitted by one or more cells/TRPs (e.g., from the candidate set of the cells/TRPs associated with the set of candidate PCIs, section 0118-0124, 0091-0092-measurements of signal quality of signals received from nearby cells for the UE, noted: measurements for each candidate TRP, section 0099-0100); in response to occurrence of an entering condition (see, change in the measured metrics (e.g., RSRP, SINR and RSRQ), section 0106) when a difference between _a signal power of the TRP- specific reference signal and a signal power of a multiple-TRP reference signal associated with the multiple-TRP cell (see, when there is a change in the measured metrics with respect to the one or more cells, the UE may send reports relating to RSRP, SINR and RSRQ and movement of the UE (section 0106, 0108, noted: the measurements are based on timing reference signals from the bot the serving cells/TRP and neighbor TRPs/cells, section 0091-0092, 0101) rises above a first threshold (noted: the measurement is continuous process implicitly in the sense the UE detects a change in the metrics, signal strength exceeding a quality (i.e., threshold) triggers handover, section 0057-0058, 0106, 0108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11, 25-26, 29-32, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al (US 2021/0337455 A1, Provisional Application No. 63/015,365, filed on April 24, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), ZHOU ‘455 discloses a method (see, multi-cell operation in which the UE moves from one cells or TRP to a candidate TRP/cells based on channel conditions, the base station identifies the best candidate cells for the UE, 0089- 0091) of operating a network node (fig. 1, see, base station 118 coupled to UE 106, section 0036-0039, see, a base station which is configured to serve cells or configured with deployed TRPs, section 0033-0034), comprising: establishing a connection (fig. 1 to fig. 2, see, connection or communication between the UE and the base station, section 0053-0056) to a wireless device (fig. 1, UE 106 coupled to the base station in the RAN 104, section 0036-0039) from a first transmission/reception point, TRP (fig. 5, multicell operation, section 0085-0086, fig. 6, the UE is served by a set of TRPs (TRP 604a, TRP 604b, TRP 604c and TRP 604d), section 0096-0099, see, the UE may concurrently connect to several cells and/or several transmission and reception points (TRPs), section 0033-0035), that serves a multiple-TRP cell (see, the base station configures a UE with a set of candidate PCIS and/or TRPS that are candidates for serving the UE, the UE reports signal measurements to the base station, section 00033-034); and configuring the wireless device to generate measurement reports (see, the base station may select a subset of the candidate PCIs/TRPS and send indication of this subset to the UE, signal measurement made and reported by the UE, section 0034-0035, noted: mobility measurements/measurement reports, section 0091-0092) based on a TRP-specific reference signal (see, metrics for one or more of RSRP, SINR or reference signal received quality for each serving TRP, each candidate TRP or group of TRPs, section 0095-0100) transmitted by a second TRP (see, candidate set of cells/TRPs, section 108, 0110) that serves the multiple-TRP cell (see, the UE measures SSBs 832 transmitted by one or more cells/TRPs (e.g., from the candidate set of the cells/TRPs associated with the set of candidate PCIs, section 0118-0124, 0091-0092-measurements of signal quality of signals received from nearby cells for the UE, noted: measurements for each candidate TRP, section 0099-0100); wherein configuring the wireless device to generate measurement reports based on the TRP-specific reference signal transmitted by the second TRP that serves the multiple-TRP cell (see, decision by serving cell to change to the changing subset for a UE is made based on measurements (L1 metrics for each serving TRP and each candidate TRP or other group of TRPs, RSRP, SINR or RSRQ,) made by the UE, section 0099-0100) comprises configuring the wireless device to generate a measurement report in response to occurrence of an entering condition when a difference between a signal power of the TRP-specific reference signal and a signal power of a multiple-TRP reference signal associated with the multiple-TRP cell rises above a first threshold (see, the UE receives a handover command based on the signal strength quality of the neighboring cell exceeds that of the serving cells, section 0057-0058).
Regarding claim 4, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 2, wherein each of the TRP-specific reference signal and the multiple-TRP reference signal comprises a synchronization signal (see, the UE measures the SSBs transmitted by one or more cells/TRPs (e.g., from the candidate set of cells/TRPs associated with the set of candidate PCIs) , measurement reports based on timing reference, section 0117-0124), and wherein each of the signal power of the TRP-specific reference signal and the signal power of the multiple-TRP reference signal comprises a synchronization signal (see, the UE measures the SSBs transmitted by one or more cells/TRPs (e.g., from the candidate set of cells/TRPs associated with the set of candidate PCIs) , measurement reports based on timing reference, section 0117-0124) received signal reference power, SS-RSRP (see, decision by serving cell to change to the changing subset for a UE is made based on measurements (L1 metrics for each serving TRP and each candidate TRP or other group of TRPs, RSRP, SINR or RSRQ,) made by the UE, section 0099-0100).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the multiple-TRP reference signal associated with the multiple-TRP cell comprises a composite signal generated by a plurality of TRPs that serve the multiple-TRP cell (see, unified signals transmitted by the base stations 210, 212 and 214/216 or TRPs to the UE, section 0058, 0085, 0091-0092-signal quality measurements based on signals received from nearby cells by the UE, 0099-01000).
Regarding claim 7, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a measurement report from the wireless device (see, L3 mobility measurements where the UE is served by multiple cells and/or TRPs, measured metrics made and reported by the UE, section 0098-0100, section 0108-0112); and initiating a multiple-TRP mobility procedure for the wireless device in response to the measurement report (see, the base station/serving cell may change the set of candidate cells/TRPs and/or serving cells/TRPs for UE, based on movement of the UE, change in channel conditions, section 0107-0110).
Regarding claim 8, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 7, wherein initiating the multiple-TRP mobility procedure comprises adding or removing a secondary sector carrier (noted: the each TRP communicates on same or different carrier frequency, section 0038, 0080, 0085, hence removing of PCIs associated with TRPs means removing of the frequency carrier) between the wireless device and the second TRP in response to the measurement report (see, the change in the measured metrics with respect to one or more of the TRPs, the service cell can may send an indication of the change (e.g., identifying any PCIs that have been added or removed from the subset to the UE), section0089-0090, 0098-0102).
Regarding claim 9, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: maintaining a connection (see, the UE may maintain communication with one or more neighboring cells, and when the signal quality of the neighboring cell exceeds that from serving cells, handover is undertaken by the UE to the target cell, section 0056-0057) between the multiple-TRP cell and the wireless device until the occurrence of a layer 3 handover of the wireless device to a neighboring cell (see, L3 mobility measurements, section 0110, change of the PCIs/TRPs based on measurement report, section 0106-0108, 0185, 0122-0123, 0133-0136).
Regarding claim 10, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the TRP-specific reference signal transmitted by the second TRP (see, SSB transmitted by TRP or timing reference of L3 mobility measurement with respect to PCIs associated with candidate sets of cells/TRPs, section 0108-0111,section 0092-0095) is associated with a TRP-specific cell served by the second TRP (see, the measurement reports based on UE measurements of signal quality/signal strength of signals (timing reference of a cell) received from nearby cells (i.e., PCell, SCell or different PCell), section 0089-0093).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the wireless device to generate measurement reports based on the TRP-specific reference signal transmitted by the second TRP that serves the multiple-TRP cell (see, the UE measures the SSBs transmitted by one or more cells/TRPs (e.g., from the candidate set of cells/TRPs associated with the set of candidate PCIs) , measurement reports based on timing reference, section 0117-0124) comprises configuring the wireless device with a list of physical cell identifiers (PCI) and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSB) associated with of cells for which generation of measurement reports should be triggered (see, the base station may select a subset of the candidate PCIs/TRPs and send indication of this subset to the UE, signal measurement made and reported by the UE, section 0034-0035, noted: mobility measurements/measurement reports, section 0091-0092).
Regarding claim 25 (Currently Amended), ZHOU ‘455 discloses a method (see, the UE measures of received signal strengths of the cells/PCIs of the cells TRPs, section 0033-0035) of operating a wireless device (fig. 1, UE 106 coupled to the base station in the RAN 104, section 0036-0039, the UE may concurrently connect to several cells and/or transmission and reception points (TRPs), section 0033-0034), comprising: establishing a connection (fig. 1 to fig. 2, see, connection or communication between the UE and the base station, section 0053-0056, , the UE may concurrently connect to several cells and/or transmission and reception points (TRPs), section 0033-0034) to a first transmission/reception point, TRP (fig. 6, the UE is served by a set of TRPs (TRP 604a, TRP 604b, TRP 604c and TRP 604d), section 0096-0099, see, the UE may concurrently connect to several cells and/or several transmission and reception points (TRPs), section 0033-0035), that serves a multiple-TRP cell (see, the base station configures a UE with a set of candidate PCIS and/or TRPS that are candidates for serving the UE, the UE reports signal measurements to the base station, section 00033-034); and generating a measurement report (see, the base station may select a subset of the candidate PCIs/TRPS and send indication of this subset to the UE, signal measurement made and reported by the UE, section 0034-0035, noted: mobility measurements/measurement reports, section 0091-0092) based on a TRP-specific reference signal (see, metrics for one or more of RSRP, SINR or reference signal received quality for each service TRP, each candidate TRP or group of TRPs, section 0095-0100) transmitted by a second TRP that serves the multiple-TRP cell (see, the UE measures SSBs 832 transmitted by one or more cells/TRPs (e.g., from the candidate set of the cells/TRPs associated with the set of candidate PCIs, section 0118-0124, 0091-0092-measurements of signal quality of signals received from nearby cells for the UE, noted: measurements for each candidate TRP, section 0099-0100); wherein the method is further comprises generating a measurement report in response to occurrence of an entering condition (see, change in the measured metrics (e.g., RSRP, SINR and RSRQ), section 0106) when a difference between the signal power of the TRP-specific reference signal and a signal power of the multiple-TRP reference signal (see, when there is a change in the measured metrics with respect to the one or more cells, the UE may send reports relating to RSRP, SINR and RSRQ and movement of the UE (section 0106, 0108, noted: the measurements are based on timing reference signals from the bot the serving cells/TRP and neighbor TRPs/cells, section 0091-0092, 0101) rises above a first threshold (noted: the measurement is continuous process in the sense the UE detects a change in the metrics, signal strength exceeding a quality (i.e., threshold), section 0057-0058, 0106, 0108).
Regarding claim 26, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 25, wherein the wireless device is configured to generate measurement report (see, decision by serving cell to change to the changing subset for a UE is made based on measurements (L1 metrics for each serving TRP and each candidate TRP or other group of TRPs, RSRP, SINR or RSRQ,) made by the UE, section 0099-0100) based on a comparison of a signal power of the TRP-specific reference signal transmitted by the second TRP that serves the multiple-TRP cell and a signal power of a multiple-TRP reference signal associated with the multiple-TRP cell (see, implicit signal quality/signal strength of signals received from nearby cells, identify the best candidate cells for the UE, section 0034-0035, 0090-0092) .
Regarding claim 29, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 25, further comprising: transmitting a measurement report from the wireless device to the first TRP (see, the UE measures SSBs transmitted by one or more cell/TRPs, the base station may elect to change one or more of the candidate se of cells/TRPs in relation handover operation of the UE, section 0122-0136); and receiving a command from the TRP initiating a multiple-TRP mobility procedure for the wireless device in response to the measurement report (see, the UE receives a handover command based on the signal strength quality of the neighboring cell exceeds that of the serving cells, section 0057-0058).
Regarding claim 30, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 29, wherein the multiple-TRP mobility procedure comprises adding or removing a secondary sector carrier (noted: the each TRP communicates on same or different carrier frequency, section 0038, 0080, 0085, hence removing of PCIs associated with TRPs means removing of the frequency carrier) between the wireless device and the second TRP in response to the measurement report (see, the change in the measured metrics with respect to one or more of the TRPs, the service cell can may send an indication of the change (e.g., identifying any PCIs that have been added or removed from the subset to the UE), section0089-0090, 0098-0102).
Regarding claim 31, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 25, further comprising: maintaining a connection (see, the UE may maintain communication with one or more neighboring cells, and when the signal quality of the neighboring cell exceeds that from serving cells, handover is undertaken by the UE to the target cell, section 0056-0057) between the multiple-TRP cell and the wireless device until the occurrence of a layer 3 handover of the wireless device to a neighboring cell (see, L3 mobility measurements, section 0110, change of the PCIs/TRPs based on measurement report, section 0106-0108, 0185, 0122-0123, 0133-0136).
Regarding claim 32, ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 26, wherein the multiple-TRP reference signal associated with the multiple-TRP cell comprises a composite signal generated by a plurality of TRPs that serve the multiple-TRP cell (see, unified signals transmitted by the base stations 210, 212 and 214/216 or TRPs to the UE, section 0058, 0085, 0091-0092-signal quality measurements based on signals received from nearby cells by the UE, 0099-01000).
Regarding claim 33 (Currently Amended), ZHOU ‘455 discloses the method of claim 25, wherein the wireless device is configured to generate measurement reports based on the TRP-specific reference signal transmitted by the second TRP that serves the multiple-TRP cell based on a list of physical cell identifiers (PCI) (see, the UE measures the SSBs transmitted by one or more cells/TRPs (e.g., from the candidate set of cells/TRPs associated with the set of candidate PCIs) , measurement reports based on timing reference, section 0117-0124), and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSBS) associated with cells for which generation of measurement reports should be triggered (see, the base station may select a subset of the candidate PCIs/TRPs and send indication of this subset to the UE, signal measurement made and reported by the UE, section 0034-0035, noted: mobility measurements/measurement reports, section 0091-0092).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 3, 6, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al (US 2021/0337455 A1, Provisional Application No. 63/015,365, filed on April 24, 2020) in view of Deenoo et al (US 2023/0276320, PCT: March 27, 2019).
ZHOU ‘455 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the wireless device to generate measurement reports based on the TRP-specific reference signal further comprises configuring the wireless device to generate a measurement report in response to occurrence of a leaving condition when the difference between the signal power of the TRP-specific reference signal and the signal power of the multiple-TRP reference signal associated with the multiple-TRP cell drops below a second threshold.
Regarding claim 6, the method of claim 5, wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are different levels.
Regarding claim 27 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 25, wherein the wireless device is configured to generate a measurement report in response to occurrence of a leaving condition when a difference between the signal power of the TRP-specific reference signal and the signal power of the multiple-TRP reference signal drops below a second threshold.
Regarding claim 28, the method of claim 27, wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are different levels.
However, Deenoo et al (US 2023/0276320 A1) from a similar field of endeavor (see, enhanced mobility or conditional handover based on measurement qualities in terms of RSRP, RSRQ and SINR, section 0104-0106, see, multiple cells satisfy trigger conditions section 0107) discloses: Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the wireless device to generate measurement reports based on the TRP-specific reference signal (see, multiple cells satisfy trigger conditions section 0107) further comprises configuring the wireless device to generate a measurement report in response to occurrence of a leaving condition (see, trigger conditions when the measurement quality of the target cell is better than that of the serving cell in term of first threshold or second threshold relating to RSRP, RSRQ and SINR, section 105-0107) when the difference between the signal power of the TRP-specific reference signal and the signal power of the multiple-TRP reference signal associated with the multiple-TRP cell drops below a second threshold (see, trigger conditions when the measurement quality of the target cell is better than that of the serving cell in term of first threshold or second threshold relating to RSRP, RSRQ and SINR, section 105-0107).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the mobility-based measurement in which measurement is uses to select the PCI from a set of candidate PCIs and TRPs/cells of ZHOU ‘455 with the enhanced mobility in wireless system where the UE/WTRU is handed over from a serving cell to a target cells based on the target cell having the highest signal quality by a threshold amount as taught by Deenoo ‘678. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on a received reconfiguration message.
Regarding claim 27 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 25, wherein the wireless device is configured to generate a measurement report in response to occurrence of a leaving condition when a difference between the signal power of the TRP-specific reference signal and the signal power of the multiple-TRP reference signal drops below a second threshold (see, trigger conditions when the measurement quality of the target cell is better than that of the serving cell in term of first threshold or second threshold relating to RSRP, RSRQ and SINR, section 105-0107).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the mobility-based measurement in which measurement is uses to select the PCI from a set of candidate PCIs and TRPs/cells of ZHOU ‘455 with the enhanced mobility in wireless system where the UE/WTRU is handed over from a serving cell to a target cells based on the target cell having the highest signal quality by a threshold amount as taught by Deenoo ‘678. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on a received reconfiguration message.
Regarding claims 6, 28, the method of claim 5, wherein the first threshold (see, thresholds, the candidate cell /target cell that has a RSRP or RSRQ value that exceeds that of the serving cell by a threshold amount, section 0096-0097, 0104) and the second threshold are different levels (see, candidate cell having the highest SNIR, higher RSRQ, section 0105-0106, noted: candidate cells having good beams with SSB whose RSPR is above a threshold, section 0107).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the mobility-based measurement in which measurement is uses to select the PCI from a set of candidate PCIs and TRPs/cells of ZHOU ‘455 with the enhanced mobility in wireless system where the UE/WTRU is handed over from a serving cell to a target cells based on the target cell having the highest signal quality by a threshold amount as taught by Deenoo ‘678. The motivation would have been to provide conditional handover based on a received reconfiguration message.
Conclusion
14. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473