DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 USC 101
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/22/2025, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-14 has been withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 USC 112
The amendment to claim 1 overcomes the rejection under 35 USC 112(b), therefore the rejection of claim 1 and claims depending therefrom has been withdrawn.
The amendment to claim 5 overcomes the rejection under 35 USC 112(b), therefore the rejection of claim 5 has been withdrawn.
The amendment to claim 9 overcomes the rejection under 35 USC 112(b), therefore the rejection of claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Since claim 13 has been cancelled, the rejections of claim 13 are no longer are applicable.
Rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because Gonin teaches matching the at least one selected part with other parts of the plurality of time-resolved spectra to find similar parts corresponding to other events int eh plurality of events.” See [088] and [0098], for example, which teaches that the filter definition comprises at least one region of interest (ROI). And an ROI is a set of data points within the continuous data array corresponding to a TOF segment (mass spectrum, [0099]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonin, et. al. (US 20170110305 A1, see IDS filed 05/01/2024), hereinafter Gonin.
Regarding claim 1, a computer-implemented method for generating event-averaged and time-resolved spectra (Abstract, [0001] electronic data acquisition system for processing signals), from a plurality of time-resolved spectra of charged particles emitted from a surface of a sample (Abstract, [0001]), at which surface an event is repeated cyclically ([0040]-[0044], [0013], [0035], [0046], [0080]), wherein the plurality of time-resolved spectra are obtained with a charged particle analyser (mass analyzer/mass spectrometer, [0001]), the method comprising the steps of
receiving, from the charged particle analyser, the plurality of time-resolved spectra covering a plurality of events, wherein a time between events adjacent in time defines a time period, and wherein each of the plurality of time-resolved spectra comprises information on a distribution of charged particles as a function of a physical property for an interval of magnitudes for the physical property ([0064]-[0070], [0078-[0080] teaches mass spectra (mass-to-charge ratio) obtained from the mass analyzer, with events occurring in the spectra. The samples are measured through time such that the events inherently occur at certain times and have a time period between them.),
obtaining at least one selected part of the series of the plurality of time-resolved spectra, wherein the at least one selected part comprises spectra from at least a part of the interval of magnitudes for the physical property and a part of a time period when the event takes place ([0088]-[0099]),
matching the at least one selected part with other parts of the plurality of time-resolved spectra to find similar parts corresponding to other events in the plurality of events, and thereby determining points in time for the other events in the plurality of events ([0069], [0100]-[0103]), and
generating the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra of the event based on the plurality of time-resolved spectra and the determined points in time ([0083], [0091], [0106]), and
determining, based on the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra, a response at the surface of the sample to the event ([0113] classifier module).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the at least one selected part is obtained based on data input by a user ([0048], [0084], [0103], [0119]).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the at least one selected part is obtained during reception of the plurality of time-resolved spectra, wherein the matching is started during reception of the plurality of time- resolved spectra and wherein the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra is generated during reception of the plurality of time-resolved spectra (continuous, real-time processing, and real-time analysis that is simultaneous to the continuous acquisition of TOF extractions [0069], [0084]).
Regarding claim 6, also comprising the step of sending out control signals for controlling a cycling of the events ([0040], [0046], [0123]).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the control signals control at least one of: a gas mixture at the surface, a gas pressure at the surface, a temperature at the surface, an electromagnetic field at the surface, an optical field incident on the surface and a gas temperature at the surface ([0123], [0040], [0046] ionization laser changes electromagnetic field at surface of sample).
Regarding claim 14, a non-transitory computer program for generating the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra, comprising instructions which, when executed by at least one processor in a computer cause the computer to carry out the method according to claim 1 (electronic data acquisition system for processing signals and hardware/external computing unit, [0001], [0064]-[0067], [0071], [0118]-[0121]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonin (US 20170110305 A1) in view of Angelosante, et. al. (US 20170212042 A1, see IDS 05/01/2024), hereinafter Angelosante.
Regarding claim 4, Gonin does not explicitly teach wherein the generation of the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra is ended when an end condition is fulfilled, wherein the end condition is one of: reception of an end input signal, and a signal quality measure of the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra being better than a predetermined value.
Angelosante teaches wherein the generation of the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra is ended when an end condition is fulfilled, wherein the end condition is one of: reception of an end input signal, and a signal quality measure of the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra being better than a predetermined value ([0023] teaches the raw data is averaged data by weights such that the averaged data has a maximal signal-to-noise ratio and contain no artifacts. Then the pre-processing step finishes).
Angelosante modifies Gonin by suggesting averaging to achieve a maximal signal-to-noise ratio and no artifacts as a condition to finish pre-processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Angelosante because doing so allows for an improved quality of the signal-to-noise ratio (Angelosante, [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Gonin does not teach wherein the generation of the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra is ended when an end condition is fulfilled, wherein the end condition is that a signal-to-noise ratio is above a predetermined threshold.
Angelosante teaches wherein the generation of the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra is ended when an end condition is fulfilled, wherein the end condition is that a signal-to-noise ratio is above a predetermined threshold ([0023] teaches the raw data is averaged data by weights such that the averaged data has a maximal signal-to-noise ratio and contain no artifacts. Then the pre-processing step finishes).
Angelosante modifies Gonin by suggesting averaging to achieve a maximal signal-to-noise ratio and no artifacts as a condition to finish pre-processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Angelosante because doing so allows for an improved quality of the signal-to-noise ratio (Angelosante, [0023]).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonin (US 20170110305 A1) in view of Manjunatha, et. al. (Power Efficient Sum of Absolute Difference Algorithms for video Compression. IOSR Journal of VLSI and Signal Processing. Volume 1, Issue 6 (Mar. – Apr. 2013), PP 10-18).
Regarding claim 8, Gonin teaches wherein the plurality of time-resolved spectra comprises a plurality of data points ([0098]), and wherein the matching is performed by utilizing logical criterion ([0093]-[0103]).
Gonin does not explicitly teach wherein the matching is performed by subtracting the data in each data point in the at least one selected part from the data in corresponding data points in other parts of the plurality of time-resolved spectra and adding the differences, to obtain a result as a function of point in time for the other part of the plurality of time-resolved spectra, and determining the points in time for the other events by finding minima in the obtained result, however, Manjunatha teaches that this is a common signal processing operation.
Manjunatha teaches subtracting the data in each data point in the at least one selected part from the data in corresponding data points in other parts and adding the differences, to obtain a result, and finding minima in the obtained result (SAD Algorithm, see V on pgs. 14-15).
Manjunatha modifies Gonin by suggesting using the well-known SAD algorithm to perform matching on the time-resolved spectra and datapoints of Gonin to achieve determining the points in time for the other events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Manjunatha because the SAD algorithm is a well-known algorithm that allows for measuring similarity of data (Manjunatha, pgs. 14-15).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonin (US 20170110305 A1) in view of Manjunatha, et. al. (Power Efficient Sum of Absolute Difference Algorithms for video Compression. IOSR Journal of VLSI and Signal Processing. Volume 1, Issue 6 (Mar. – Apr. 2013), PP 10-18), further in view of Celin, et. al. ("A Novel Method for ECG Classification Using Polynomial Based Curve Fitting," 2019 IEEE International Conference on Electrical, Computer and Communication Technologies (ICECCT), Coimbatore, India, 2019, pp. 1-9, doi: 10.1109/ICECCT.2019.8869195.)
Regarding claim 9, Gonin teaches wherein the matching is performed by utilizing logical criterion ([0093]-[0103]).
Gonin does not explicitly teach wherein the matching comprises fitting a polynomial to the sum of the differences between the other parts of the plurality of time-resolved spectra and the at least one selected part to obtain the points in time for the other events.
Manjunatha teaches taking a sum of the difference between one part and other parts.
Celin teaches fitting a polynomial (Abstract).
Manjunatha and Celin modify the combination by suggesting taking a sum of the difference between one part and other parts of the time-resolved spectra of Gonin and fitting a polynomial to this data in order to determine points in time for the other events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Celin because polynomial fitting allows for obtaining features for classification (Celin, Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Gonin teaches wherein events are used in the generation of the event-averaged and time-resolved spectra only if the minima for the events are below a predetermined threshold ([0089]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonin (US 20170110305 A1) in view of Turin ("An introduction to matched filters," in IRE Transactions on Information Theory, vol. 6, no. 3, pp. 311-329, June 1960, doi: 10.1109/TIT.1960.1057571.)
Regarding claim 11, Gonin teaches wherein the matching is performed by utilizing logical criterion ([0093]-[0103]).
Gonin does not explicitly teach wherein the matching is performed by convolution of the at least one selected part with other parts of the plurality of time-resolved spectra, to obtain a result as a function of point in time for the other part of the plurality of time-resolved spectra, and determining the points in time for the other events by finding maxima in the obtained result.
Turin teaches wherein the matching is performed by convolution of the at least one selected part with other parts of the plurality of time-resolved spectra, to obtain a result ().
Turin modifies Gonin by suggesting the matching occurs by performing convolution on theat least one selected part with the other parts of the plurality of time-resolved spectra of Gonin and findng the maxima in order to find the matching event and corresponding time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Turin because taking the convolution and finding the maxima is a well-known method (matched filter) of correlating a known template signal with an unknown signal to detect the presence of the template int he unknown signal.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonin (US 20170110305 A1) in view of Turin ("An introduction to matched filters," in IRE Transactions on Information Theory, vol. 6, no. 3, pp. 311-329, June 1960, doi: 10.1109/TIT.1960.1057571.), further in view of Celin, et. al. ("A Novel Method for ECG Classification Using Polynomial Based Curve Fitting," 2019 IEEE International Conference on Electrical, Computer and Communication Technologies (ICECCT), Coimbatore, India, 2019, pp. 1-9, doi: 10.1109/ICECCT.2019.8869195.).
Regarding claim 12, Gonin teaches wherein the matching is performed by utilizing logical criterion ([0093]-[0103]).
Gonin does not explicitly teach fitting a polynomial to a convolution of the at least one selected part with other parts of the plurality of time-resolved spectra to obtain the result.
Turin and Celin modify the combination by suggesting taking a convolution between one part and other parts of the time-resolved spectra of Gonin and fitting a polynomial to this data in order to determine points in time for the other events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Celin because polynomial fitting allows for obtaining features for classification (Celin, Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAURA E TANDY
Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/ROBERT H KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2881