DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 10/16/2025.
Claims 44-63 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choe et al. (US 2023/0052766 A1) in view of Cui et al. (US 2015/0312776 A1) hereinafter “Choe” and “Cui” respectively.
Regarding Claim 44, Choe teaches A method of a supervising device (Choe: paragraphs 0199, 0224 & Fig. 13, OAM or O&M (Operations, Administration, and Maintenance)) of enabling mitigation of radio traffic overload in at least one radio cell among a group of radio cells (Choe: paragraphs 0192, 0200-0208 & Figs. 12-13, load balancing between cells (based on indicated overload)), comprising:
acquiring a radio traffic capacity utilization metric of each of the group of radio cells (Choe: paragraph 0193 & Fig. 12, coverage/capacity related parameter indicating current load in the cell and in the adjacent cells; see also paragraphs 0207-0216, indicated available capacity or cell capacity of each respective cell);
acquiring a proposed measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraph 0223 & Fig. 13, load balancing related request indicating a proposed change of the mobility setting);
determining, based on the acquired radio traffic capacity utilization metrics and the acquired proposed measures to be taken (Choe: paragraphs 0212 & 0220, handover based on load and available capacity for load balancing), a selected measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0220-0222, load balancing action and/or cell reselection); and
instructing the device serving said at least one radio cell to apply the selected measure for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0222-0223, handover procedure and/or cell reselection to a target cell based on load balancing action).
Choe fails to explicitly teach a supervising device acquiring one or more proposed measures from a device serving at least one radio cell and from a device serving at least one of its neighbouring radio cells in the group. However, Cui from an analogous art similarly teaches a network management device obtaining cell characteristic data associated with a service access point and a neighbor access point to improve handover (HO)/cell reselection decisions, increase load balancing performance and/or reduce call drop rate (Cui: paragraphs 0036-0037 & Fig. 3B; see also paragraph 0033, access points indicate cell characteristic data including resource status, overload, and/or traffic load).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choe to include obtaining characteristic data between multiple base stations as taught by Cui so as to further select optimized resources to mitigate interference and/or overload between devices.
Regarding Claim 45, Choe teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches sending a request, to the device serving said at least one radio cell and to the device serving said at least one neighbouring cell for the proposed measure to be taken (Choe: paragraphs 0217 & 0223, sending load reports when the reporting node detects crossing of cell load thresholds); and
receiving, in response to the sent requests, the proposed measure to be taken from each of the devices (Choe: paragraph 0223, proposed change indicating difference (delta) between the current and the new values of the handover trigger).
Regarding Claim 46, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the request sent to the device serving said at least one radio cell and to the device serving said at least one neighbouring cell for the proposed measure to be taken comprises one or more of: a unique identifier of the device serving the cell indicated to be subjected to the radio traffic, a description of a radio traffic overload event occurring including time when the event is predicted to occur, severity and duration of the radio traffic overload event occurring, an indication of which slice or slices will experience the radio traffic overload event, one or more channels that will experience the overload event, and an indication of whether the radio traffic overload event occurs in downlink, uplink or both (Choe: paragraph 0217-0222, event-triggered load reports when the reporting node detects crossing of cell load threshold).
Regarding Claim 47, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches selecting, from the proposed measures, the measure which mitigates the radio traffic overload in said at least one radio cell the most, while not causing radio traffic load in said at least one neighbouring radio cell to increase, as indicated by the acquired radio traffic capacity utilization metric of each of the group of radio cells (Choe: paragraph 0184-0192 & Figs. 12-13, optimizing and/or load balancing based on available capacity, thus teaching a scenario in which traffic load to a neighboring cell is not increased).
Regarding Claim 48, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the determining of the selected measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell is based on machine learning (Choe: paragraph 0174 & Fig. 12, self-configuration/self-optimization).
Regarding Claim 49, Choe teaches A method of a device (Choe: paragraph 0067 & Fig. 1, base station) serving at least one radio cell of enabling mitigation of radio traffic overload in said at least one radio cell among a group of radio cells (Choe: paragraphs 0192, 0200-0208 & Figs. 12-13, load balancing between cells (based on indicated overload)), comprising:
receiving, from a supervising device (Choe: paragraphs 0199, 0224 & Fig. 13, OAM or O&M (Operations, Administration, and Maintenance)), a request for a proposed measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraph 0223 & Fig. 13, load balancing related request indicating a proposed change of the mobility setting);
acquiring a radio traffic capacity utilization metric of at least one neighbouring radio cell (Choe: paragraph 0193 & Fig. 12, coverage/capacity related parameter indicating current load in the cell and in the adjacent cells; see also paragraphs 0207-0216, indicated available capacity or cell capacity of each respective cell);
acquiring a proposed measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraph 0223 & Fig. 13, load balancing related request indicating a proposed change of the mobility setting);
determining, a measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0220-0222, load balancing action and/or cell reselection);
determining, based on the acquired radio traffic capacity utilization metric, the acquired proposed measure to be taken for the at least one neighbouring cell and the determined measure to be taken for said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0212 & 0220, handover based on load and available capacity for load balancing), a selected measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0220-0222, load balancing action and/or cell reselection); and
applying the selected measure for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0222-0223, handover procedure and/or cell reselection to a target cell based on load balancing action).
Choe fails to explicitly teach a supervising device acquiring one or more proposed measures from a device serving at least one radio cell and from a device serving at least one of its neighbouring radio cells in the group. However, Cui from an analogous art similarly teaches a network management device obtaining cell characteristic data associated with a service access point and a neighbor access point to improve handover (HO)/cell reselection decisions, increase load balancing performance and/or reduce call drop rate (Cui: paragraphs 0036-0037 & Fig. 3B; see also paragraph 0033, access points indicate cell characteristic data including resource status, overload, and/or traffic load).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choe to include obtaining characteristic data between multiple base stations as taught by Cui so as to further select optimized resources to mitigate interference and/or overload between devices.
Regarding Claim 50, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches sending a request, to the device serving said at least one neighbouring cell for the proposed measure to be taken (Choe: paragraphs 0217 & 0223, sending load reports when the reporting node detects crossing of cell load thresholds); and
receiving, in response to the sent request, the proposed measure to be taken from the device (Choe: paragraph 0223, proposed change indicating difference (delta) between the current and the new values of the handover trigger).
Regarding Claim 51, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the request received from the supervising device and sent to the device serving said at least one neighbouring cell comprises one or more of: a unique identifier of the device serving the cell indicated to be subjected to the radio traffic, a description of a radio traffic overload event occurring including time when the event is predicted to occur, severity and duration of the radio traffic overload event occurring, an indication of which slice or slices will experience the radio traffic overload event, one or more channels that will experience the overload event, and an indication of whether the radio traffic overload event occurs in downlink, uplink or both (Choe: paragraph 0217-0222, event-triggered load reports when the reporting node detects crossing of cell load threshold).
Regarding Claim 52, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches selecting, from the proposed measures and the determined measure, the measure which mitigates the radio traffic overload in said at least one radio cell the most, while not causing radio traffic load in said at least one neighbouring radio cell to increase, as indicated by the acquired radio traffic capacity utilization metric of each of the group of radio cells (Choe: paragraph 0184-0192 & Figs. 12-13, optimizing and/or load balancing based on available capacity, thus teaching a scenario in which traffic load to a neighboring cell is not increased).
Regarding Claim 53, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the determining of the measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell and/or the determining of the selected measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell is based on machine learning (Choe: paragraph 0174 & Fig. 12, self-configuration/self-optimization).
Regarding Claim 54, Choe teaches A supervising device (Choe: paragraphs 0199, 0224 & Fig. 13, OAM or O&M (Operations, Administration, and Maintenance)) configured to enable mitigation of radio traffic overload in at least one radio cell among a group of radio cells (Choe: paragraphs 0192, 0200-0208 & Figs. 12-13, load balancing between cells (based on indicated overload)), the supervising device comprising a processing unit and a memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processing unit (Choe: paragraph 0199 & Fig. 13, necessary processing and/or memory components), whereby the supervising device is configured to:
acquire a radio traffic capacity utilization metric of each of the group of radio cells (Choe: paragraph 0193 & Fig. 12, coverage/capacity related parameter indicating current load in the cell and in the adjacent cells; see also paragraphs 0207-0216, indicated available capacity or cell capacity of each respective cell);
acquire a proposed measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraph 0223 & Fig. 13, load balancing related request indicating a proposed change of the mobility setting);
determine, based on the acquired radio traffic capacity utilization metrics and the acquired proposed measures to be taken (Choe: paragraphs 0212 & 0220, handover based on load and available capacity for load balancing), a selected measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0220-0222, load balancing action and/or cell reselection); and
instruct the device serving said at least one radio cell to apply the selected measure for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0222-0223, handover procedure and/or cell reselection to a target cell based on load balancing action).
Choe fails to explicitly teach a supervising device acquiring one or more proposed measures from a device serving at least one radio cell and from a device serving at least one of its neighbouring radio cells in the group. However, Cui from an analogous art similarly teaches a network management device obtaining cell characteristic data associated with a service access point and a neighbor access point to improve handover (HO)/cell reselection decisions, increase load balancing performance and/or reduce call drop rate (Cui: paragraphs 0036-0037 & Fig. 3B; see also paragraph 0033, access points indicate cell characteristic data including resource status, overload, and/or traffic load).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choe to include obtaining characteristic data between multiple base stations as taught by Cui so as to further select optimized resources to mitigate interference and/or overload between devices.
Regarding Claim 55, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches send a request, to the device serving said at least one radio cell and to the device serving said at least one neighbouring cell for the proposed measure to be taken (Choe: paragraphs 0217 & 0223, sending load reports when the reporting node detects crossing of cell load thresholds); and
receive, in response to the sent requests, the proposed measure to be taken from each of the devices (Choe: paragraph 0223, proposed change indicating difference (delta) between the current and the new values of the handover trigger).
Regarding Claim 56, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the request sent to the device serving said at least one radio cell and to the device serving said at least one neighbouring cell for the proposed measure to be taken is configured to comprise one or more of: a unique identifier of the device serving the cell indicated to be subjected to the radio traffic, a description of a radio traffic overload event occurring including time when the event is predicted to occur, severity and duration of the radio traffic overload event occurring, an indication of which slice or slices will experience the radio traffic overload event, one or more channels that will experience the overload event, and an indication of whether the radio traffic overload event occurs in downlink, uplink or both (Choe: paragraph 0217-0222, event-triggered load reports when the reporting node detects crossing of cell load threshold).
Regarding Claim 57, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches detect from the acquired radio traffic capacity utilization metrics that a radio traffic overload event is indicated to occur in said at least one radio cell among the group of radio cells (Choe: paragraphs 0217 & 0223, sending load reports when the reporting node detects crossing of cell load thresholds);
Regarding Claim 58, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches select, from the proposed measures, the measure which mitigates the radio traffic overload in said at least one radio cell the most, while not causing radio traffic load in said at least one neighbouring radio cell to increase, as indicated by the acquired radio traffic capacity utilization metric of each of the group of radio cells (Choe: paragraph 0184-0192 & Figs. 12-13, optimizing and/or load balancing based on available capacity, thus teaching a scenario in which traffic load to a neighboring cell is not increased).
Regarding Claim 59, Choe teaches A device (Choe: paragraph 0067 & Fig. 1, base station) serving at least one radio cell being configured to enable mitigation of radio traffic overload in said at least one radio cell among a group of radio cells (Choe: paragraphs 0192, 0200-0208 & Figs. 12-13, load balancing between cells (based on indicated overload)), the device comprising a processing unit (Choe: paragraph 0101 & Fig. 4, processor) and a memory (Choe: paragraph 0101 & Fig. 4, memory), said memory containing instructions executable by said processing unit (Choe: paragraph 0101 & Fig. 4, software code to control processor), whereby the device is configured to:
receive, from a supervising device (Choe: paragraphs 0199, 0224 & Fig. 13, OAM or O&M (Operations, Administration, and Maintenance)), a request for a proposed measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraph 0223 & Fig. 13, load balancing related request indicating a proposed change of the mobility setting);
acquire a radio traffic capacity utilization metric of at least one neighbouring radio cell (Choe: paragraph 0193 & Fig. 12, coverage/capacity related parameter indicating current load in the cell and in the adjacent cells; see also paragraphs 0207-0216, indicated available capacity or cell capacity of each respective cell);
acquire a proposed measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraph 0223 & Fig. 13, load balancing related request indicating a proposed change of the mobility setting);
determine, a measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0220-0222, load balancing action and/or cell reselection);
determine, based on the acquired radio traffic capacity utilization metric, the acquired proposed measure to be taken for the at least one neighbouring cell and the determined measure to be taken for said at least one radio cell(Choe: paragraphs 0212 & 0220, handover based on load and available capacity for load balancing), a selected measure to be taken for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0220-0222, load balancing action and/or cell reselection); and to
apply the selected measure for mitigating radio traffic overload of said at least one radio cell (Choe: paragraphs 0222-0223, handover procedure and/or cell reselection to a target cell based on load balancing action).
Choe fails to explicitly teach a supervising device acquiring one or more proposed measures from a device serving at least one radio cell and from a device serving at least one of its neighbouring radio cells in the group. However, Cui from an analogous art similarly teaches a network management device obtaining cell characteristic data associated with a service access point and a neighbor access point to improve handover (HO)/cell reselection decisions, increase load balancing performance and/or reduce call drop rate (Cui: paragraphs 0036-0037 & Fig. 3B; see also paragraph 0033, access points indicate cell characteristic data including resource status, overload, and/or traffic load).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choe to include obtaining characteristic data between multiple base stations as taught by Cui so as to further select optimized resources to mitigate interference and/or overload between devices.
Regarding Claim 60, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches acquire a confirmation from the supervising device that the determined selected measure to be taken should be applied (Choe: paragraph 0224, HO and/or reselection parameters allowed by the OAM).
Regarding Claim 61, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches send a request, to the device serving said at least one neighbouring cell for the proposed measure to be taken (Choe: paragraphs 0217 & 0223, sending load reports when the reporting node detects crossing of cell load thresholds); and
receive, in response to the sent request, the proposed measure to be taken from the device (Choe: paragraph 0223, proposed change indicating difference (delta) between the current and the new values of the handover trigger).
Regarding Claim 62, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the request received from the supervising device and sent to the device serving said at least one neighbouring cell is configured to comprise one or more of: a unique identifier of the device serving the cell indicated to be subjected to the radio traffic, a description of a radio traffic overload event occurring including time when the event is predicted to occur, severity and duration of the radio traffic overload event occurring, an indication of which slice or slices will experience the radio traffic overload event, one or more channels that will experience the overload event, and an indication of whether the radio traffic overload event occurs in downlink, uplink or both (Choe: paragraph 0217-0222, event-triggered load reports when the reporting node detects crossing of cell load threshold).
Regarding Claim 63, Choe-Cui teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches select, from the proposed measures and the determined measure, the measure which mitigates the radio traffic overload in said at least one radio cell the most, while not causing radio traffic load in said at least one neighbouring radio cell to increase, as indicated by the acquired radio traffic capacity utilization metric of each of the group of radio cells (Choe: paragraph 0184-0192 & Figs. 12-13, optimizing and/or load balancing based on available capacity, thus teaching a scenario in which traffic load to a neighboring cell is not increased).
Response to Amendment
Regarding claims 44-48 and 54-58, in light of Applicant's amendments to further recite "acquiring one or more proposed measures…" previous rejection under 35 USC § 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 44, 49, 54 and 59 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463