DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed on 11/10/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2, 36, 39, and 74 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al., (CN111147194 A), the rejection of claims 4-6, 9-11, 14, 20-21, 31, and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al., (CN111147194 A) in view of Gong et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0112959 A1), and the rejection of claims 17-19, 23, 26-27, 30, 32, and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al., (CN111147194 A), and Gong et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0112959 A1), in view of (3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #102-e, eMeeting, August 17th – 28th, 2020, R1-2006919, Agenda Item: 8.12.2, Source: Ericsson, Title: Mechanisms to improve reliability for RRC_Connected UEs receiving PTM transmission, hereinafter Document Ericsson) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the non-final rejection dated 08/08/2025 has overcome. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Zhou et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0115228 A1), and also further rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as given below.
3. The rejections of claims 21 and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) overcomes in view of appropriate amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 36, 39, and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al., (CN111147194 A), in view of Zhou et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0115228 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, (Previously Presented) Guo discloses a method performed by a terminal device, comprising: (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000)
receiving a multicast traffic (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054], and paragraph [0095] disclose multicast) and/or a unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) from a network node; (Guo, Abstract, receiving end device is being interpreted as network node, Fig. 3, paragraph [0064] network side device is a network node, such as a network side device (such as TRP, base station device, and a roadside device, Fig. 9(b) gNB is a network node)
transmitting feedback (Guo, paragraphs [0074]-[0075] receiving end (i.e. gNB/BS/eNB/TRP or network node transmits or provide feedback. The feedback information includes only of ACK and NACK, paragraph [0078] sending the feedback information, paragraph [0081] receiving end device transmits feedback information, and paragraphs [0091]-[0092]) for the multicast traffic (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054], and paragraph [0095] disclose multicast) and/or the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) to the network node (Guo, Abstract, receiving end device is being interpreted as network node, Fig. 3, paragraph [0064] network side device is a network node, such as a network side device (such as TRP, base station device, and a roadside device, Fig. 9(b) gNB is a network node), according to a feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs), codebook carries or has feedback information)
Guo does not explicitly disclose following:
wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic.
However, Guo in view of Zhou disclose following:
wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic. (Zhou, paragraphs [0045], and [0464] HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook is generated based on the one of the information on unicast, groupcast or broadcast. The groupcast is being interpreted as multicast, paragraph [0295] discloses dedicated to a cast type (i.e. groupcast/broadcast/unicast), paragraph [0469] discloses enable the HARQ-ACK codebook for groupcast which is multicast. At various instances, see paragraphs [0023]-[0025], and [0039], and [0472], the reference explicitly discloses Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook which is HARQ-ACK semi-static codebook, paragraphs [0015], [0018], [0474] discloses dynamic codebook, and Type-2 HARQ ACK codebook which is HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook, paragraphs [0023]-[0025], [0039], [0042] and various other passages disclose semi-static codebook which is a Type-1 HARQ ACK codebook, see paragraph [0472], Figs. 1-6 illustrate and describe based-codebook feedback)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Zhou so that wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic be included in a method performed by a terminal device. The motivation to combine the teachings Zhou would enable to select feedback codebook type based on cast type (i.e. groupcast (multicast) or unicast. Further it would support independent deployment of multicast. (Zhou, paragraphs [0002]-[0054])
Regarding Claim 2, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs), codebook caries or has feedback information) type (Guo, paragraph [0112] discloses semi-static, and dynamic codebook which are codebook types) and the second feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) type (Guo, paragraph [0112] discloses semi-static, and dynamic codebook which are codebook types) are both dynamic feedback codebook types (Guo, Fig. 5, paragraph [0102] The use of a dynamic codebook greatly reduce the length of feedback information, thereby saving signaling overhead); or (Note: optional limitation, the “or” is an optional limitation below)
wherein at least one of the first feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) type and the second feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) type (Guo, paragraph [0112] discloses semi-static, and dynamic codebook which are codebook types) is a semi-static feedback codebook type (Guo, paragraph [0112] discloses a dynamic codebook and a static codebook be used to send feedback information).
Claim 3. (Cancelled)
Regarding Claim 36, (Previously Presented) Guo discloses a terminal device, comprising: (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000)
one or more processors; (Guo, Fig. 3, paragraph [0062] the user equipment 300 includes one processing circuit or multiple processing circuits (processor/processors) and
one or more memories comprising computer program codes, (Guo, Abstract, computer readable storage medium, and paragraphs [0002], [0019]-[0020], computer readable storage medium, executable computer instructions is executed by a computer)
the one or more memories and the computer program codes configured to (Guo, Abstract, computer readable storage medium, and paragraphs [0002], [0019]-[0020], computer readable storage medium, executable computer instructions is executed by a computer), with the one or more processors (Guo, Fig. 3, paragraph [0062] the user equipment 300 includes one processing circuit or multiple processing circuits (processor/processors), cause the terminal device at least to: (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000)
receive a multicast traffic (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054], and paragraph [0095] disclose multicast) and/or a unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) from a network node (Guo, Abstract, receiving end device is being interpreted as network node, Fig. 3, paragraph [0064] network side device is a network node, such as a network side device (such as TRP, base station device, and a roadside device, Fig. 9(b) gNB is a network node); and
transmit feedback for the multicast traffic (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054], and paragraph [0095] disclose multicast) and/or the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast, optional limitation) to the network node (Guo, Abstract, receiving end device is being interpreted as network node, Fig. 3, paragraph [0064] network side device is a network node, such as a network side device (such as TRP, base station device, and a roadside device, Fig. 9(b) gNB is a network node), according to a feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)),
Guo does not explicitly disclose following:
wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic.
However, Guo in view of Zhou disclose following:
wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic. (Zhou, paragraphs [0045], and [0464] HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook is generated based on the one of the information on unicast, groupcast or broadcast. The groupcast is being interpreted as multicast, paragraph [0295] discloses dedicated to a cast type (i.e. groupcast/broadcast/unicast), paragraph [0469] discloses enable the HARQ-ACK codebook for groupcast which is multicast. At various instances, see paragraphs [0023]-[0025], and [0039], and [0472], the reference explicitly discloses Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook which is HARQ-ACK semi-static codebook, paragraphs [0015], [0018], [0474] discloses dynamic codebook, and Type-2 HARQ ACK codebook which is HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook, paragraphs [0023]-[0025], [0039], [0042] and various other passages disclose semi-static codebook which is a Type-1 HARQ ACK codebook, see paragraph [0472], Figs. 1-6 illustrate and describe based-codebook feedback)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Zhou so that wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic be included in a terminal device. The motivation to combine the teachings Zhou would enable to select feedback codebook type based on cast type (i.e. groupcast (multicast) or unicast. Further it would support independent deployment of multicast. (Zhou, paragraphs [0002]-[0054])
Claims 37-38. (Cancelled)
Regarding Claim 39, (Previously Presented) Guo discloses a method performed by a network node, comprising: (Guo, Abstract, receiving end device is being interpreted as network node, Fig. 3, paragraph [0064] network side device is a network node, such as a network side device (such as TRP, base station device, and a roadside device, Fig. 9(b) gNB is a network node)
transmitting a multicast traffic (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054], and paragraph [0095] disclose multicast) and/or a unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) to a terminal device (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000); and
receiving feedback for the multicast traffic (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054], and paragraph [0095] disclose multicast) and/or the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) from the terminal device (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000), according to a feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)),
Guo does not explicitly disclose following:
wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic.
However, Guo in view of Zhou disclose following:
wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic. (Zhou, paragraphs [0045], and [0464] HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook is generated based on the one of the information on unicast, groupcast or broadcast. The groupcast is being interpreted as multicast, paragraph [0295] discloses dedicated to a cast type (i.e. groupcast/broadcast/unicast), paragraph [0469] discloses enable the HARQ-ACK codebook for groupcast which is multicast. At various instances, see paragraphs [0023]-[0025], and [0039], and [0472], the reference explicitly discloses Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook which is HARQ-ACK semi-static codebook, paragraphs [0015], [0018], [0474] discloses dynamic codebook, and Type-2 HARQ ACK codebook which is HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook, paragraphs [0023]-[0025], [0039], [0042] and various other passages disclose semi-static codebook which is a Type-1 HARQ ACK codebook, see paragraph [0472], Figs. 1-6 illustrate and describe based-codebook feedback)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Zhou so that wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic be included in a method performed by a network node. The motivation to combine the teachings Zhou would enable to select feedback codebook type based on cast type (i.e. groupcast (multicast) or unicast. Further it would support independent deployment of multicast. (Zhou, paragraphs [0002]-[0054])
Claims 40-73. (Cancelled)
Regarding Claim 74, (Previously Presented) Guo discloses a network node, comprising: (Guo, Abstract, receiving end device is being interpreted as network node, Fig. 3, paragraph [0064] network side device is a network node, such as a network side device (such as TRP, base station device, and a roadside device, Fig. 9(b) gNB is a network node)
one or more processors; (Guo, Fig. 9b, gNB has one or more processors) and
one or more memories and the computer program codes configured to, with the one or more processors (Guo, Fig. 9b, gNB has one or more processors), cause the network node at least to: (Guo, Abstract, receiving end device is being interpreted as network node, Fig. 3, paragraph [0064] network side device is a network node, such as a network side device (such as TRP, base station device, and a roadside device, Fig. 9(b) gNB is a network node)
transmit a multicast traffic (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054], and paragraph [0095] disclose multicast) and/or a unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) to a terminal device (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000); and
receive feedback for the multicast traffic (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054], and paragraph [0095] disclose multicast) and/or the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) from the terminal device (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000), according to a feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)), wherein the feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) and/or a second feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) type for the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast).
Guo does not explicitly disclose following:
wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic.
However, Guo in view of Zhou disclose following:
wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic. (Zhou, paragraphs [0045], and [0464] HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook is generated based on the one of the information on unicast, groupcast or broadcast. The groupcast is being interpreted as multicast, paragraph [0295] discloses dedicated to a cast type (i.e. groupcast/broadcast/unicast), paragraph [0469] discloses enable the HARQ-ACK codebook for groupcast which is multicast. At various instances, see paragraphs [0023]-[0025], and [0039], and [0472], the reference explicitly discloses Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook which is HARQ-ACK semi-static codebook, paragraphs [0015], [0018], [0474] discloses dynamic codebook, and Type-2 HARQ ACK codebook which is HARQ-ACK dynamic codebook, paragraphs [0023]-[0025], [0039], [0042] and various other passages disclose semi-static codebook which is a Type-1 HARQ ACK codebook, see paragraph [0472], Figs. 1-6 illustrate and describe based-codebook feedback)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Zhou so that wherein the feedback codebook is based at least in part on a first feedback codebook type for the multicast traffic and/or a second feedback codebook type for the unicast traffic be included in a network node. The motivation to combine the teachings Zhou would enable to select feedback codebook type based on cast type (i.e. groupcast (multicast) or unicast. Further it would support independent deployment of multicast. (Zhou, paragraphs [0002]-[0054])
Claims 75-92. (Cancelled)
8. Claims 4-6, 9-11, 14, 17-19, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al., (CN111147194 A), and Zhou et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0115228 A1), in view of Khoshnevisan et al., (Pub. No.: US 2021/0258998 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs))
Guo, and Zhou do not explicitly disclose following:
includes a first set of bits and/or a second set of bits, and wherein the first set of bits include one or more feedback bits determined for the multicast traffic (according to the first feedback codebook type, and the second set of bits include one or more feedback bits determined for the unicast traffic according to the second feedback codebook type.
However, Guo, and Zhou in view of Khoshnevisan disclose following:
includes a first set of bits and/or a second set of bits, and wherein the first set of bits include one or more feedback bits determined for the multicast traffic (according to the first feedback codebook type, and the second set of bits include one or more feedback bits determined for the unicast traffic according to the second feedback codebook type. (Khoshnevisan, Abstract, UE generates one or more feedback bits of a HARQ feedback codebook, Figs. 16-25 disclose generate a set of feedback bits, Fig. 18 illustrate at step 1815: generate a set of feedback bits, the set of feedback bits including a first feedback bit and a second feedback bit, at step 1820: assign the first feedback bit in an acknowledgement codebook, and the second feedback bit in the acknowledgement. Paragraph [0152] discloses a first HARQ feedback codebook (e.g. a Type-1 HARQ-ACK or feedback codebook, or semi-static codebook type). Further, it discloses: generate second codebook (e.g. a Type-2 HARQ feedback codebook, or dynamic codebook type. Paragraph [0037] discloses the set of feedback bits including a first feedback bit and a second feedback bit. Similar information be found in paragraphs [0208]-[0209], [0236]-[0237], [0245]-[0247], [0254]-[0256], [0259]-[0262])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo, and Zhou before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Khoshnevisan so that includes a first set of bits and/or a second set of bits, and wherein the first set of bits include one or more feedback bits determined for the multicast traffic according to the first feedback codebook type, and the second set of bits include one or more feedback bits determined for the unicast traffic according to the second feedback codebook type be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan would provide HARQ feedback while maintain low signaling overhead. Further, it would include HARQ feedback bits for the multicast/unicast traffic. It improves efficiency for high reliability and low latency operations. (Khoshnevisan, Abstract, paragraphs [0006], [0036]-[0037], [0056]-[0058] [0065]-[0067], and [0152])
Regarding Claim 5, (Original) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein the first set of bits and/or the second set of bits are located in the feedback codebook according to a first criterion. (Guo, paragraph [0112] discloses a dynamic codebook and a static codebook are first feedback codebook type and second feedback codebook type)
Regarding Claim 6, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the first criterion includes that:
all feedback bits of transmissions at a first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) precede all feedback bits of transmissions at a second carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 2 which is a second carrier), wherein an index of the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) is smaller than an index of the second carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 2 which is a second carrier); or
wherein the first criterion includes that:
a feedback bit of a multicast (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) transmission at a first slot (Guo, Fig. 6, paragraph [0103] the time span of codebook includes three time slot numbered n-3, n-2 and n-1, and the frequency span of the codebook includes three carriers numbered 1, 2, and 3) of a first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) follows a feedback bit of a unicast transmission (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) at the first slot (Guo, Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) of the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier); or
wherein the first criterion includes that:
a feedback bit of a multicast transmission (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) at a first slot (Guo, Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) of a first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) precedes a feedback bit of a unicast transmission (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) at the first slot (Guo, Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) of the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier).
Regarding Claim 9, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according claim 5, wherein the first criterion includes that:
all feedback bits of transmissions at a first slot (Guo, Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) of a first carrier precede all feedback bits of the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier), wherein an index of the first slot (Guo, Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) is smaller than an index of the second slot (Guo, Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) .
Regarding Claim 10, (Original) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 6, wherein the first criterion further includes that:
all feedback bits of multicast transmissions (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) at the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) follow all feedback bits of unicast transmission (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) at the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier).
Regarding Claim 11, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the first criterion includes that:
all feedback bits of multicast transmissions (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) at a first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) precede all feedback bits at the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier), while following all feedback bits of transmissions at a third carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 3 which is a third carrier), wherein an index of the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) is larger than an index of the third carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 3 which is a third carrier); or
wherein the first criterion includes that:
all feedback bits of multicast transmissions (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) precede all feedback bits of unicast transmissions (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast); or
wherein the first criterion includes that:
all feedback bits of multicast transmissions (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) follow all feedback bits.
Regarding Claim 14, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the first criterion further includes that:
all feedback bits of multicast transmissions (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) at a first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) precede all feedback bits at a second carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 2 which is a second carrier), wherein an index of the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) is smaller than an index of the second carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 2 which is a second carrier); and/or
a feedback bit of a multicast transmission (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) at a first slot (Guo Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) of a first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier) precedes a feedback bit of a multicast transmission (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) at a second slot (Guo Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) of the first carrier (Guo, Fig. 7, paragraph [0105] discloses carrier 1 which is a first carrier), wherein an index of the first slot (Guo Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]), is smaller than an index of the second slot (Guo Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]).
Regarding Claim 17, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) has a same number of one or more feedback bits as a semi-static feedback codebook which is determined for the multicast traffic or the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast/unicast).
Regarding Claim 18, (Original) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 17, wherein the one or more feedback bits are located in the feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) according to a second criterion.
Regarding Claim 19, (Original) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 18, wherein the second criterion includes that:
a feedback bit of a multicast transmission (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast is located in the feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) according to a slot (Guo Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) and a carrier which are corresponding to the multicast transmission (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast); and/or
a feedback bit of a unicast transmission (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) is located in the feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) according to a slot (Guo Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) and a carrier which are corresponding to the unicast transmission (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast).
Regarding Claim 31, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) is constructed by concatenating codebooks separately constructed for the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) and the multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast).
Regarding Claim 33, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Khoshnevisan disclose the method according to claim 31, wherein the feedback includes a first codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) for the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) followed by a second codebook for the multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast); or
wherein the second codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) includes one or more feedback bits, and a position of each of the one or more feedback bits is based at least in part on a total number of feedback bits in the first codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)).
9. Claims 20-21, 23, 26-27, 30, 32, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al., (CN111147194 A), Zhou et al., (Pub. No.: US 2023/0115228 A1), and Gong et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0112959 A1), in view of Yeo et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0106566 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, (Original) The combination of Guo, and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein when the multicast (Guo, Fig. 2b, paragraph [0054] discloses multicast, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) traffic, the method further comprises:
is used to indicate that the multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast).
Guo and Zhou do not disclose following:
is scheduled at a physical carrier
determining a virtual carrier index associated with a physical carrier index of the physical carrier, wherein the virtual carrier index is used to indicate is treated as being scheduled at a virtual carrier associated with the physical carrier
However, Guo and Zhou in view of Gong disclose following:
is scheduled at a physical carrier (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691)
determining a virtual carrier index associated with a physical carrier index of the physical carrier, wherein the virtual carrier index is used to indicate is treated as being scheduled at a virtual carrier associated with the physical carrier. (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo and Zhou before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Gong so that is scheduled at a physical carrier, determining a virtual carrier index associated with a physical carrier index of the physical carrier, wherein the virtual carrier index is used to indicate is treated as being scheduled at a virtual carrier associated with the physical carrier be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Gong would increase the effective bandwidth available to a given UE. It would enable to assign indexes for physical carrier, and virtual carriers respectively. (Gong, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0033])
Guo, Zhou, and Gong do not explicitly disclose following:
by a group-radio network temporary identifier, G-RNTI,
However, Guo, Zhou, and Gong in view of Yeo disclose following:
by a group-radio network temporary identifier, G-RNTI, (Yeo, paragraphs [0091], and [0118] disclose G-RNTI)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo, Zhou, and Gong before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Yeo so that by a group-radio network temporary identifier, G-RNTI be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Yeo would enable scheduling at the physical carriers by different G-RNTIs. Further, it would efficiently perform communication. (Yeo, paragraphs [0002]-[0010], [0091], and [0118])
Regarding Claim 21, (Currently Amended) The combination of Guo, Zhou, Gong, and Yeo disclose the method according to claim 20, wherein the virtual carrier index (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses virtual component carrier 692 to which index is assigned) is corresponding to the G-RNTI and configured by radio resource control signaling from the network node (Guo, Abstract, receiving end device is being interpreted as network node, Fig. 3, paragraph [0064] network side device is a network node, paragraph [0093] network node, such as a network side device (such as TRP, base station device) and a roadside device, Fig. 9(b) gNB is a network node); or
wherein the virtual carrier index is determined according to one of the following criteria:
the virtual carrier index is larger than all physical carrier indexes;
the virtual carrier index is smaller than all physical carrier indexes; (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information)
the virtual carrier index is larger than the associated physical carrier index, and smaller than other physical carrier indexes which are larger than the associated physical carrier index; (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information) and
the virtual carrier index is smaller than the associated physical carrier index, and larger than other physical carrier indexes which are smaller than the associated physical carrier index. (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information)
Regarding Claim 23, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein when multicast traffics (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) are scheduled for the terminal device (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000) at two or more physical carriers, each of the two or more physical carriers is associated with a physical carrier index and a virtual carrier index, and wherein for a physical carrier index larger than another physical carrier index, its associated virtual carrier index is larger than another virtual carrier index associated with the another physical carrier index; (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information) or
when one or more other multicast traffics (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) are also scheduled at the physical carrier by different G-RNTIs (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraph [0091], [0118] discloses G-RNTI), the physical carrier index of the physical carrier is also associated with one or more other virtual carrier indexes (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information) corresponding to the one or more other multicast traffics (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast), and wherein for a multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) scheduled by a G-RNTI smaller than another G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraph [0091], [0118] discloses G-RNTI), the corresponding virtual carrier index is smaller than another virtual carrier index corresponding to another multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) scheduled by the another G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraph [0091], [0118] discloses G-RNTI); or
wherein when the virtual carrier index is the same as the associated physical carrier index, each slot (Guo Fig. 6, paragraph [0103]) at the virtual carrier has a virtual slot number associated with a physical slot number of a corresponding slot at the physical carrier (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information).
Guo, and Khoshnevisan do not explicitly disclose following:
at two or more physical carriers, each of the two or more physical carriers is associated with a physical carrier index and a virtual carrier index, and wherein for a physical carrier index larger than another physical carrier index, its associated virtual carrier index is larger than another virtual carrier index associated with the another physical carrier index;
the physical carrier index of the physical carrier is also associated with one or more other virtual carrier indexes, the corresponding virtual carrier index is smaller than another virtual carrier index
wherein when the virtual carrier index is the same as the associated physical carrier index, at the virtual carrier has a virtual slot number associated with a physical slot number of a corresponding slot at the physical carrier
are also scheduled at the physical carrier by different G-RNTIs, scheduled by a G-RNTI smaller than another G-RNTI, scheduled by the another G-RNTI
However, Guo, and Khoshnevisan in view of Gong disclose following:
at two or more physical carriers, each of the two or more physical carriers is associated with a physical carrier index and a virtual carrier index, and wherein for a physical carrier index larger than another physical carrier index, its associated virtual carrier index is larger than another virtual carrier index associated with the another physical carrier index; (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information)
the physical carrier index of the physical carrier is also associated with one or more other virtual carrier indexes, the corresponding virtual carrier index is smaller than another virtual carrier index (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information)
wherein when the virtual carrier index is the same as the associated physical carrier index, at the virtual carrier has a virtual slot number associated with a physical slot number of a corresponding slot at the physical carrier (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo, and Khoshnevisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Gong so that at two or more physical carriers, each of the two or more physical carriers is associated with a physical carrier index and a virtual carrier index, and wherein for a physical carrier index larger than another physical carrier index, its associated virtual carrier index is larger than another virtual carrier index associated with the another physical carrier index; the physical carrier index of the physical carrier is also associated with one or more other virtual carrier indexes, the corresponding virtual carrier index is smaller than another virtual carrier index, wherein when the virtual carrier index is the same as the associated physical carrier index, at the virtual carrier has a virtual slot number associated with a physical slot number of a corresponding slot at the physical carrier be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Gong would increase the effective bandwidth available to a given UE. It would enable to assign indexes for physical carrier, and virtual carriers respectively. (Gong, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0033]))
Guo, Khoshnevisan, and Gong do not explicitly disclose following:
are also scheduled at the physical carrier by different G-RNTIs, scheduled by a G-RNTI smaller than another G-RNTI, scheduled by the another G-RNTI
However, Guo, Khoshnevisan, and Gong in view of Yeo disclose following:
are also scheduled at the physical carrier by different G-RNTIs, scheduled by a G-RNTI smaller than another G-RNTI, scheduled by the another G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraph [0091], [0118] discloses G-RNTI)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Guo, Khoshnevisan, and Gong before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Yeo so that are also scheduled at the physical carrier by different G-RNTIs, scheduled by a G-RNTI smaller than another G-RNTI, scheduled by the another G-RNTI be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Yeo would enable scheduling at the physical carriers by different G-RNTIs. Further, it would efficiently perform communication. (Yeo, paragraphs [0002]-[0010], [0091], and [0118])
Regarding Claim 26, (Currently Amended) The combination of Guo, Zhou, Gong, and Yeo disclose the method according to claim 23, wherein the virtual slot number is determined according to one of the following criteria: (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information, paragraphs [0053], and [0073] disclose slot/mini-slot)
the virtual slot number is larger than all physical slot numbers; (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information, paragraphs [0053], and [0073] disclose slot/mini-slot)
the virtual slot number is smaller than all physical slot numbers; (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information, paragraphs [0053], and [0073] disclose slot/mini-slot)
the virtual slot number is larger than the associated physical slot number, and smaller than other physical slot numbers which are larger than the associated physical slot number; (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information, paragraphs [0053], and [0073] disclose slot/mini-slot) and
the virtual slot number is smaller than the associated physical slot number, and larger than other physical slot numbers which are smaller than the associated physical slot number. (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information, paragraphs [0053], and [0073] disclose slot/mini-slot)
Regarding Claim 27, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, Gong, and Yeo disclose the method according to claim 23, wherein when there are two or more virtual carriers associated with a same physical carrier, for a virtual carrier scheduled with a G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraph [0091], [0118] discloses G-RNTI) smaller than another G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraph [0091], [0118] discloses G-RNTI), its virtual slot number is smaller than a virtual slot number of another virtual carrier (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information, paragraphs [0053], and [0073] disclose slot/mini-slot) scheduled with the another G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraph [0091], [0118] discloses G-RNTI); or
wherein when frequency division multiplexing, FDM, between the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) and the multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) in a same slot is not supported by the terminal device (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000), the virtual slot number is the same as its associated physical slot number (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information, paragraphs [0053], and [0073] disclose slot/mini-slot); or
wherein when FDM between different multicast traffics (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) in a same slot is not supported by the terminal device (Guo, Abstract, user equipment is a terminal device, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0060]-[0062] user equipment 300, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0124]-[0125] user equipment 1000), different virtual carriers associated with the different multicast traffics (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) have a same virtual slot number for the same slot (Gong, paragraphs [0053], and [0073] disclose slot / mini-slot).
Regarding Claim 30, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, Gong, and Yeo disclose the method according to claim 23, wherein when concurrent (Gong, paragraph [0058], [0073] simultaneous is concurrent) reception of both the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) and the multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) or both the multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) and another multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) is not supported by the terminal device in a same slot, the virtual carrier index is the same as its associated physical carrier index (Gong, Fig. 6, paragraph [0064] discloses physical component carrier 691 and virtual component carrier 692, it is also evident through various other figures and passages. The paragraph [0050] discloses that the physical component and the virtual component be assigned different carrier indices. Assignments of carrier indices to physical/virtual component carriers be a priori information, paragraphs [0053], and [0073] disclose slot/mini-slot).
Regarding Claim 32, (Original) The combination of Guo, Zhou, Gong, and Yeo disclose the method according to claim 31, wherein the concatenation (Yeo, paragraph [0184] discloses concatenation) of the codebooks (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) separately constructed for the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) and the multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) is based at least in part on a comparison between a cell-radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI (Yeo, paragraph [0181] discloses C-RNTI), associated with the unicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses unicast) and a G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraphs [0091], [0118] disclose G-RNTI) associated with the multicast traffic (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast).
Regarding Claim 35, (Previously Presented) The combination of Guo, Zhou, Gong, and Yeo disclose the method according to claim 31, wherein when two or more codebooks (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) for multicast traffics (Guo, paragraph [0095] discloses multicast) are concatenated in the feedback codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)), a codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) associated with a G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraphs [0091], [0118] disclose G-RNTI) smaller than another G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraphs [0091], [0118] disclose G-RNTI) precedes another codebook (Guo, paragraph [0082] CBG includes one or more codebooks (CBs)) associated with the another G-RNTI (Yeo, Fig. 11, paragraphs [0091], [0118] disclose G-RNTI).
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) Papasakellariou, (Pub. No.: US 2022/0272740 A), The reference discloses Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook, and Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook. The reference also discloses unicast, and multicast communications.
(b) Khoshnevisan et al., (Pub. No.: US 2021/0111835 A1), The reference discloses information related to the application disclosure. The reference discloses unicast, and multicast. In addition to it the reference discloses semi-static codebook for unicast, multicast.
(c) Takeda et al., (Pub. No.: US 2021/0204097 A1, paragraph [0090] discloses that UE 115 may maintain separate HARQ-ACK codebooks for multicast and unicast feedback.
(d) Zhou et al., (CN118381589 (A)), The reference discloses information related to the application disclosure. Abstract: first HARQ-ACK feedback information, second HARQ-ACK feedback information, paragraph [0542] generate different HARQ-ACK codebooks based on one of the different pieces of information unicast/multicast/broadcast, paragraph [0547] enable the HARQ-ACK codebook for multicast, paragraph [0587] service type is unicast or multicast, HARQ-ACK feedback type 1, service type is multicast feedback type 2, the paragraphs [0591]-[0594], [0597], and [0609] also have related information to codebook types, and service types: multicast/unicast.
(e) Khoshnevisan et al., (WO 2020/264450 A1), The reference discloses Type 1 codebook (semi-static), and dynamic codebook (Type-2) respectively through paragraphs [0076], [0078]-[0079], [0082], [0104]-[0106], and [0129]-[0130].
(f) Khoshnevisan et al., (Pub. No.: US 2022/0167326 A1), The reference discloses semi-static, and dynamic HARQ codebook.
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472