Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 21-26 and 54 are pending.
Applicant’s election of (A) SO1861 as the species of saponin, (B) EGF as the first binding molecule, (C) an antibody as the second binding molecule, (D) a ligand for binding to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule in the reply filed on January 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 21-26 and 54, drawn to a therapeutic combination comprising:(a) a first pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising a first binding molecule comprising a first binding region for binding to a first binding site of a cell-surface molecule and the conjugate comprising at least one saponin covalently bound to said first binding molecule, wherein the saponin is a monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside; and (b) a second pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising a second binding molecule different from the first binding molecule, the second binding molecule comprising a second binding region different from the first binding region, the second binding region for binding to a second binding site of said cell-surface molecule different from the first binding site of said cell-surface molecule, and the conjugate comprising an effector molecule covalently bound to said second binding molecule, wherein the first pharmaceutical composition and the second pharmaceutical composition optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent that read on (A) SO1861 as the species of saponin, (B) EGF as the first binding molecule, (C) an antibody as the second binding molecule, (D) a ligand for binding to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule are being acted upon in this Office Action.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 6, 2026 and December 26, 2023 have been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informality: “-” should be deleted.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
A. “the at least one saponin is any one or more of” should have been “the at least one saponin is any one of”.
B. “a saponin derivative based thereon, or any of their stereoisomers and/or any combination thereof” should have been “a saponin derivative, a stereoisomer, or a combination thereof”.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informality: the claim uses theabbreviation EMCH without first defining it. To clarify the claim, applicant should first spell out thefull term before using an abbreviation. Given the subject matter of the specification, theexaminer presumes that "EMCH" stands for ε-maleimidocaproic acid hydrazide". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 8 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the saponin" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending claim 4 to recite “…the at least one saponin…” and deleting “preferably” would obviate this rejection.
Claims 8, 9, 26 recite a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Note the explanation given by the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031, 2033 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), as to where broad language is followed by "such as" and then narrow language. The Board stated that this can render a claim indefinite by raising a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Note also, for example, the decisions of Ex parte Steigewald, 131 USPQ 74 (Bd. App. 1961); Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ 38 (Bd. App. 1948); and Ex parte Hasche, 86 USPQ 481 (Bd. App. 1949).
In this case:
claims 8, 9, 26 recite the broad limitation of “comprises”, and the claim also recites “consists” which is a narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 17 recites the broad limitation of “Quillaja bark saponin”, and the claim also recites
“dipsacoside B, saikosaponin A, saikosaponin D, macranthoidin A, esculentoside A, phytolaccagenin, aescinate, AS6.2, NP-005236, AMA-1, AMR, alpha-Hederin, NP-012672, NP-017777, NP-017778, NP- 017774, NP-018110, NP-017772, NP-018109, NP-017888, NP-017889, NP-018108, SA1641,AE X55, NP-017674, NP-017810, AG1, NP-003881, NP-017676, NP-017677, NP-017706, NP-017705, NP-017773, NP-017775, SA1657, AG2, SO1861, GE1741, SO1542, SO1584, SO1658, SO1674, SO1832, S01862, SO1904, QS-7, QS1861, QS-7 api, QS1862, QS-17, QS-18, QS-21A-apio, QS-21 A-xylo, QS-21 B-apio, QS-21 B-xylo, beta-Aescin, Aescin la, Teaseed saponin I, Teaseedsaponin J, Assamsaponin F, Digitonin, Primula acid 1 and AS64R”, which are narrow limitations in the same claim.
Claim rejections under - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 21-26 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Written Description Guidelines for examination of patent applications indicates, “the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical characteristics and/or other chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” (see MPEP 2163).
Claim 1 encompasses a therapeutic combination comprising:
(a) a first pharmaceutical composition comprising any conjugate comprising any first binding molecule comprising a first binding region for binding to any first binding site of any cell-surface molecule and the conjugate comprising at least one of any saponin covalently bound to said first binding molecule, wherein the saponin is a monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside; and
(b) a second pharmaceutical composition comprising any conjugate comprising any second binding molecule different from the first binding molecule, the second binding molecule comprising a second binding region different from the first binding region, the second binding region for binding to any second binding site of said cell-surface molecule different from the first binding site of said cell-surface molecule, and the conjugate comprising an effector molecule covalently bound to said second binding molecule,
Wherein the first pharmaceutical composition and the second pharmaceutical composition optionally further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent.
Claim 2 encompasses a pharmaceutical composition comprising:
- any conjugate comprising any first binding molecule comprising any first binding region for binding to any first binding site of any cell-surface molecule and the conjugate comprising at least one saponin covalently bound to said first binding molecule, wherein the saponin is a triterpenoid saponin of the monodesmosidic type or the bidesmosidic type; and
- any conjugate comprising any second binding molecule different from said first binding molecule, the second binding molecule comprising any second binding region different from said first binding region, the second binding region for binding to any second binding site of said cell-surface molecule different from said first binding site of said cell-surface molecule, and the conjugate comprising any effector molecule covalently bound to said second binding molecule, and optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent.
Claim 3 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding molecule is a first proteinaceous binding molecule or a first non-proteinaceous ligand comprising the first binding region for binding to the first binding site of the cell-surface molecule, and/or wherein the second binding molecule is a second proteinaceous binding molecule or a second non- proteinaceous ligand comprising the second binding region for binding to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule.
Claim 4 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding molecule is a first proteinaceous binding molecule and wherein the saponin is covalently bound to an amino acid residue of the first binding molecule, preferably via a linker.
Claim 5 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding site is a first epitope of said cell-surface molecule such as any cell-surface receptor and wherein the second binding site is a second epitope of said, same, cell-surface molecule, wherein the second epitope is different from the first epitope.
Claim 6 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene saponin.
Claim 8 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region of the first binding molecule comprises or consists of any ligand for binding to the first binding site of the cell-surface molecule such as EGF, or
wherein the first binding region of the first binding molecule comprises or consists of an immunoglobulin or at least one binding fragment or binding domain of said immunoglobulin comprising the first binding region for binding to the first binding site of the cell-surface molecule, and/or
wherein the second binding region of the second binding molecule comprises or consists of a ligand for binding to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule, or
wherein the second binding region of the second binding molecule comprises or consists of an immunoglobulin or at least one binding fragment or binding domain of said immunoglobulin comprising the second binding region for binding to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule.
Claim 9 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region of the first binding molecule comprises or consists of a monoclonal antibody, a single-domain antibody, at least one VHH domain, at least one VH domain, a variable heavy chain new antigen receptor (VNAR) domain, a Fab, an scFv, an Fv, a dAb, an F(ab)2, or a Fcab fragment, and/or
wherein the second binding region of the second binding molecule comprises or consists of a monoclonal antibody, a single-domain antibody, at least one VHH domain, at least one VH domain, a variable heavy chain new antigen receptor (VNAR) domain, a Fab, an scFv, an Fv, a dAb, an F(ab)2, or a Fcab fragment.
Claim 11 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region and the second binding region are selected to simultaneously bind the same cell-surface molecule at the first binding site and at the second binding site.
Claim 12 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region is selected to bind to the first binding site of the cell-surface molecule without competing for the binding of the second binding region to the second binding site of the same cell-surface molecule, and wherein the second binding region is selected to bind to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule without competing for the binding of the first binding region to the first binding site of the same cell-surface molecule.
Claim 13 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene saponin belonging to the type of a 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C23, the saponin comprising a first saccharide chain at the C3beta-OH group of the saponin, the first saccharide chain optionally comprising a glucuronic acid moiety, and the saponin comprising a second saccharide chain linked to C28 of the saponin and comprising or consisting of a monosaccharide or a linear or branched oligosaccharide wherein optionally at least one saccharide moiety of the second saccharide chain comprises at least one acetyl group, for example 1, 2, 3 or 4 acetyl groups.
Claim 14 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is a saponin isolated from any one or more of a Gypsophila species, a Saponaria species, an Agrostemma species and a Quillaja species.
Claim 17 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is any one or more of: Quillaja bark saponin, dipsacoside B, saikosaponin A, saikosaponin D, macranthoidin A, esculentoside A, phytolaccagenin, aescinate, AS6.2, NP-005236, AMA-1, AMR, alpha-Hederin, NP-012672, NP-017777, NP-017778, NP- 017774, NP-018110, NP-017772, NP-018109, NP-017888, NP-017889, NP-018108, SA1641,AE X55, NP-017674, NP-017810, AG1, NP-003881, NP-017676, NP-017677, NP-017706, NP-017705, NP- 017773, NP-017775, SA1657, AG2, SO1861, GE1741, SO1542, SO1584, SO1658, SO1674, SO1832, S01862, SO1904, QS-7, QS1861, QS-7 api, QS1862, QS-17, QS-18, QS-21 A-apio, QS-21 A-xylo, QS-21 B-apio, QS-21 B-xylo, beta-Aescin, Aescin la, Teaseed saponin I, Teaseedsaponin J, Assamsaponin F, Digitonin, Primula acid 1 and AS64R, or a saponin derivative based thereon, or any of their stereoisomers and/or any combinations thereof.
Claim 21 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside belonging to the type of a 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C23 of the aglycone core structure of the saponin, wherein the saponin is covalently bound to the first binding molecule, via an aldehyde function in the saponin via at least one linker.
Claim 22 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 21, wherein the aldehyde function in position C23 of the aglycone core structure of the at least one saponin is covalently bound to linker EMCH, which linker is covalently bound via a thio-ether bond to a sulfhydryl group in the first binding molecule.
Claim 23 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside belonging to the type of a 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C23 of the aglycone core structure of the saponin and comprising a glucuronic acid unit in a first saccharide chain at the C3beta- OH group of the aglycone core structure of the saponin, wherein the saponin is covalently bound to an amino-acid residue of the first binding molecule via the carboxyl group of the glucuronic acid unit in the first saccharide chain.
Claim 24 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 23, wherein the at least one saponin comprises a glucuronic acid unit in its first saccharide chain at the C3beta-OH group of the aglycone core structure of the at least one saponin, wherein the glucuronic acid unit is covalently bound to linker 1-[Bis(dimethylamino)methylene]-1H-1,2,3-triazolo[4,5-b]pyridinium 3-oxid hexafluorophosphate (HATU), wherein the linker is covalently bound via an amide bond to an amine group in the first binding molecule.
Claim 25 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the cell-surface molecule is a cell-surface receptor.
Claim 26 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region of the first binding molecule and the second binding region of the second binding molecule comprise or consist of an antibody or a cell-surface molecule binding fragment thereof or cell-surface molecule binding domain(s) thereof and/or comprise or consist of a ligand for binding to the cell-surface molecule, with the proviso that the first binding region and the second binding region are different and with the proviso that the first binding site and the second binding site are different.
Claim 54 encompasses a kit comprising the therapeutic combination of claim 1, and instructions for use.
Regarding “binding molecule”, the specification define as follow:
[0039] The term “binding molecule” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a molecule capable of specifically binding to another molecule such as a cell-surface molecule, e.g. a cell-surface receptor. Typical binding molecules are peptides, proteins, non-protein molecules, cell-surface receptor ligands, protein ligands, that can bind to e.g. a protein, a lipid, a (poly)saccharide, such as a cell-surface receptor or a cell-surface molecule. “Specifically binding” here refers to specific and selective binding with higher affinity than non-specific background binding.
Regarding “binding region”, the specification define as follow:
[0020] The term “binding region” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a part of a molecule or (a) chemical group(s) of a molecule or a(n) (linear or non-linear) amino-acid sequence of a protein or peptide and the like, that has the capacity to bind to a binding partner molecule. A typical binding region are the CDR loops of an immunoglobulin. A typical binding region of a protein is or are loop(s) of amino-acid residues comprised by said protein and capable of specifically binding to the binding site on a binding partner molecule such as a protein, cell-surface receptor, etc.
Regarding “binding site”, the specification define as follow:
[0021] The term “binding site” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a region on a macromolecule such as a protein, for example a cell-surface molecule such as a cell-surface receptor, that binds to another molecule such as a protein, for example a ligand, with specificity.
Regarding “cell-surface molecule”, the specification define as follow:
[0022] The term “cell-surface molecule” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a molecule that is present and exposed at the outside surface of a cell such as a blood cell or an organ cell, such as a mammalian cell, such as a human cell. Typically, a cell-surface molecule is a protein such as a receptor, or a lipid molecule or a polysaccharide.
Regarding “mono-desmosidic saponin”, the specification define as follow:
[0026] The term “mono-desmosidic saponin” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a triterpenoid saponin containing a single saccharide chain bound to the aglycone core, wherein the saccharide chain consists of one or more saccharide moieties.
Regarding “bi-desmosidic saponin”, the specification define as follow:
[0027] The term “bi-desmosidic saponin” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a triterpenoid saponin containing two saccharide chains bound to the aglycone core, wherein each of the two saccharide chains consists of one or more saccharide moieties.
Regarding “triterpenoid saponin”, the specification define as follow:
[0028] The term “triterpenoid saponin” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a saponin having a triterpenoid-type of aglycone core structure. The triterpenoid saponin differs from a saponin based on a steroid glycoside such as sapogenol in that such saponin comprising steroid glycoside has a steroid core structure, and the triterpenoid saponin differs from a saponin based on an alkaloid glycoside such as tomatidine in that such saponin comprising alkaloid glycoside has a alkaloid core structure.
Regarding “saponin”, the specification define as follow:
[0023] The term “saponin” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a group of amphipathic glycosides which comprise one or more hydrophilic glycone moieties combined with a lipophilic aglycone core which is a sapogenin. The saponin may be naturally occurring or synthetic (i.e. non-naturally occurring). The term “saponin” includes naturally-occurring saponins, derivatives of naturally-occurring saponins as well as saponins synthesized de novo through chemical and/or biotechnological synthesis routes. Saponin has a triterpene backbone, which is a pentacyclic C30 terpene skeleton, also referred to as sapogenin or aglycone. Within the context of the invention saponin is not considered an effector molecule nor an effector moiety in the conjugates according to the invention. Thus, in conjugates comprising a saponin and an effector moiety, the effector moiety is a different molecule than the conjugated saponin.
Regarding “effector molecule”, the specification define as follow:
[0033] The term “effector molecule”, or “effector moiety” when referring to the effector molecule as part of e.g. a covalent conjugate, has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a molecule that can selectively bind to for example any one or more of the target molecules: a protein, a peptide, a carbohydrate, a saccharide such as a glycan, a (phospho)lipid, a nucleic acid such as DNA, RNA, an enzyme, and regulates the biological activity of such one or more target molecule(s). In the conjugate of the invention the effector moiety for example exerts its effect in the cytosol, in the cell nucleus, is delivered intracellularly in the endosome and/or lysosome, and/or is active after exiting or escaping the endosomal-lysosomal pathway. The effector molecule is for example a molecule selected from any one or more of a small molecule such as a drug molecule, a toxin such as a protein toxin, an oligonucleotide such as a BNA, a Xeno nucleic acid or an siRNA, an enzyme, a peptide, a protein, or an active fragment or an active domain thereof, or any combination thereof. Thus, for example, an effector molecule or an effector moiety is a molecule or moiety selected from any one or more of a small molecule such as a drug molecule, a toxin such as a protein toxin, an oligonucleotide such as a BNA, a Xeno nucleic acid or an siRNA, an enzyme, a peptide, a protein, or any combination thereof, that can selectively bind to any one or more of the target molecules: a protein, a peptide, a carbohydrate, a saccharide such as a glycan, a (phospho)lipid, a nucleic acid such as DNA, RNA, an enzyme, and that upon binding to the target molecule regulates the biological activity of such one or more target molecule(s). For example, an effector moiety is a toxin or an active toxic fragment thereof or an active toxic derivative or an active toxic domain thereof. Typically, an effector molecule can exert a biological effect inside a cell such as a mammalian cell such as a human cell, such as in the cytosol of said cell. An effector molecule or moiety of the invention is thus any substance that affects the metabolism of a cell by interaction with an intracellular effector molecule target, wherein this effector molecule target is any molecule or structure inside cells excluding the lumen of compartments and vesicles of the endocytic and recycling pathway but including the membranes of these compartments and vesicles. Said structures inside cells thus include the nucleus, mitochondria, chloroplasts, endoplasmic reticulum, Golgi apparatus, other transport vesicles, the inner part of the plasma membrane and the cytosol. Typical effector molecules are thus drug molecules, an enzyme, plasmid DNA, toxins such as toxins comprised by antibody-drug conjugates (ADCs), oligonucleotides such as siRNA, BNA, nucleic acids comprised by an antibody-oligonucleotide conjugate (AOC). For example, an effector molecule is a molecule which can act as a ligand that can increase or decrease (intracellular) enzyme activity, gene expression, or cell signaling. In the context of the invention, an effector molecule or effector moiety when the effector molecule is part of a conjugate, is not a saponin, and is not a cell-surface molecule binding molecule such as an antibody such as an sdAb. Typically, an effector moiety comprised by the conjugate exerts its therapeutic (for example toxic, enzymatic, inhibitory, gene silencing, etc.) effect in the cytosol and/or in the cell nucleus. Typically, the effector moiety is delivered intracellularly in the endosome and/or in the lysosome, and typically the effector moiety is active after exiting or escaping the endosomal-lysosomal pathway.
Thus, the claim encompasses 1) a broad genus of first and second cell-surface binding molecules that are different; 2) a broad genus of effector moieties; and 3) a broad genus of saponins. Given BRI, cell-surface molecule binding molecules or effector moieties could be small molecules, peptides, proteins, antibodies (or fragment thereof), ligand, engineered receptors, and various types of nucleic acids etc. These compounds vary significantly, have different structures, physical, and chemical properties, function through different mechanisms. In addition a cell-surface molecule encompasses any possible molecule occurs in any cell-surface which may be cell-type specific or not. The combinations of a first cell-surface molecule targeting molecule conjugated to any possible saponin, e.g., monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside from any one or more Gypsophila species, Saponaria species, Agrostemma species and Quillaja species and a second cell-surface binding molecule different from the first cell-surface binding molecule conjugated to any one or more effector moiety are even more complex. These claims lack written description because the specification lacks a representative number of species that satisfies the entirety of the genus.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include "level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention."
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the
Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus.
Vas-Gath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991), makes clear that: "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Gath at page 1116.).
Given that the structures and properties of the encompassed combination of first cell-surface binding molecules conjugated to any saponin and second cell-surface binding molecules conjugated to any effector moieties vary significantly, one of ordinary skilled in the art would not be able to readily visualize or recognize the combination of conjugates with all possible combinations of cell-surface binding molecules, saponins and effector moieties. One of ordinary skilled in the art would not be able to predict the function and activity of all possible combinations of first conjugate comprising any cell-surface binding molecules covalently linked to saponins and second conjugate comprising any cell surface molecules covalently linked to any effector moieties.
The specification discloses just saponin SO1861, a triterpenoid saponin from the common soapwort Saponaria officinalis, which is a member of the Caryophyllaceae family, See para. [0157].
However, the synthesis methods described in the specification would not be able to make all possible conjugates encompassed by the claim.
The state of the prior art teaches that saponin represents a heterogenous phytochemicals with different structures and properties.
For example, Fuchs (Fuchs et al., Biomedicines, 5(14): 1-25, 2017; PTO 1449) teaches that saponins represent a wide spectrum in the field of secondary plant compounds and are subdivided into two groups, the steroid saponins and triterpenoid saponins, even including steroid alkaloid saponins (page 2, para. 3). The wide range of structural variation options, both in the aglycone and sugar moieties explains the variety of different saponins with diverse effects (page 2, para. 5). For example, only saponins of a certain electrophoretic mobility are able to enhance the endosomal escape (page 8, para. 2). In addition, the enhancing effect of saponin (SA1641) on a targeted toxin is clathrin- and actin-dependent. Six inhibitory agents that are known to inhibit either clathrin-mediated endocytosis, GTPase activity of dynamin-2, actin-polymerization, endosomal acidification, or caveolae-dependent endocytosis were tested. Inhibition of clathrin-mediated endocytosis, actin-polymerization, and endosomal acidification blocked the enhancer effect of Saponinum album (page 12, para. 2).
Likewise, Barr (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews 32: 247-271, 1998; PTO 892) teaches that saponins have different molecular weight, different adjuvant activity, different toxicity, and different structures (Table1, and § 3. Structural and functional analysis of purified Quillaias saponins).
Bhargava et al (Molecular Oncology 11: 1527-1543, 2017; PTO 1449) teaches that effect by endosomal escape enhancers saponin depends on the cell line, the targeting moiety, target receptor expression, and the structure of the enhancer, see p. 1539, right col.
In view of above, however, the specification exemplifies conjugates comprising only pertuzumab and trastuzumab that bind to human HER2, cetuximab and matuzumab that bind to human EGFR, EGF ligand (elected species), VHH 7D12 comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 and VHH 9G8 comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2. These two single domain antibodies bind to domain III, compete for EGF binding to just human EGFR. In addition 7D12 compete for binding of either cetuximab or matuzumab (9G8); only one type of saponin (SO1861, the elected species); and two effector moieties (saporin and dianthin toxin). The specification discloses:
Example 1. 1T2C, Non-Competing HER2 Targeting
[0147] SO1861-EMCH was conjugated via cysteine residues (Cys) to pertuzumab, with a DAR 4, (pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4. Pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 50 pM trastuzumab-saporin (trastuzumab conjugated to the protein toxin, saporin, with a DAR4). Pertuzumab and Trastuzumab recognize and bind human HER2 at different epitopes (non-competing). Targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed strong cell killing at low and high concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 (SK-BR-3: IC50=0.5 nM; FIG. 2A) whereas equivalent concentrations pertuzumab, pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9 or pertuzumab+50 pM trastuzumab-saporin could not induce any cell killing activity in HER2 expressing cells. When we compare these data with the combination of Trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4+50 pM trastuzumab-saporin we observe that at high concentrations Trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9, cell killing activity is reduced due to competition of both trastuzumab antibody conjugates for binding the HER2 receptor. In MDA-MB-468 cells (no HER2 expression) no cell killing was observed (MDA-MB-468: IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 2B) for any of the treatments.
[0148] All this shows that the use of two different antibodies recognizing the same receptor but binding at different epitopes (different binding sites), effectively induce cell killing at low and high concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 in combination with a fixed low concentration (50 pM) of trastuzumab-saporin in high HER2 expressing cells, but not in cells that do not express HER2. Thus, the use of the combination of both conjugates according to the invention omits competition for receptor binding and reveals activity at low and higher concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4.
[0149] Next, trastuzumab-saporin was titrated on a fixed concentration of 2.5 nM and 75 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 and targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and HER2 non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed efficient cell killing at low concentrations trastuzumab-saporin in combination with 2.5 nM, or 75 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 in SK-BR-3 (HER2.sup.++; IC50=0.5 pM; FIG. 3A), whereas Trastuzumab-saporin or Trastuzumab-saporin+2.5 nM or 75 nM pertuzumab showed only at high concentrations cell killing in SK-BR-3 cells (IC50>1000 pM; FIG. 3A). When these data is compared with the combination of trastuzumab-saporin+2.5 nM or 75 nM trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9, cell killing activity was strongly reduced when combined with 75 nM trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9. In MDA-MB-468 cells (HER2.sup.−) no cell killing was observed for any of the treatments (MDA-MB-468: IC50>10.000 pM; FIG. 3B).
[0150] All this shows that the combination of low concentrations of trastuzumab-saporin+2.5 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or 75 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 induce effective cell killing in high HER2 expressing cells. Thus, the use of the combination of both conjugates according to the invention omits competition for receptor binding and reveals effective cell killing at low and higher concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4.
Example 2. 1T2C, Non-Competing HER2 Targeting
[0151] Next, pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 50 pM pertuzumab-dianthin (pertuzumab conjugated to the protein toxin, dianthin, with a DAR4). Targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed strong cell killing at low concentrations of trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 (SK-BR-3: IC50<0.1 nM; FIG. 4A). At higher concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 cell killing activity was reduced whereas higher concentrations of trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 were still effective. Equivalent concentrations pertuzumab, pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9 or pertuzumab+50 pM pertuzumab-dianthin were not effective in HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3: IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 4A). In MDA-MB-468 cells (HER2.sup.−) no cell killing was observed (MDA-MB-468: IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 4B) for any of the treatments.
[0152] All this shows that the use of two different antibodies recognizing the same receptor but bind at a different epitopes, effectively induce cell killing at low and higher concentrations of trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 in combination with a fixed low concentration (50 pM) of pertuzumab-dianthin in high HER2 expressing cells.
[0153] Next, pertuzumab-dianthin was titrated on a fixed concentration of 2.5 nM and 25 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 and targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed efficient cell killing of SK-BR-3 cells (HER2.sup.++) at low concentrations pertuzumab-dianthin in combination with 2.5 nM, trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or 2.5 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 (IC50=0.5 pM; IC50=0.5 pM, resp. FIG. 5A), whereas pertuzumab-dianthin+25 nM trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 showed more efficient cell killing compared to the combination of pertuzumab-dianthin+25 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4. Equivalent concentrations of pertuzumab-dianthin or pertuzumab-dianthin+25 nM pertuzumab showed only at high concentrations some slight cell killing activity in SK-BR-3 cells (IC50>10.000 pM; FIG. 5A). In MDA-MB-468 cells (HER2.sup.−) no cell killing was observed for any of the treatments (MDA-MB-468: IC50>10.000 pM; FIG. 5B).
[0154] All this shows that the combination according to the invention omits receptor competition, revealing very effective endosomal escape and cytoplasmic toxin delivery resulting in very efficient and selective tumor cell killing.
Example 3. 1T2C, Non-Competing EGFR Targeting
[0155] SO1861-EMCH was conjugated via cysteine residues (Cys) to matuzumab, with a DAR 3,3, (matuzumab-SO1861). Matuzumab-SO1861 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 10 pM cetuximab-saporin (cetuximab conjugated to the protein toxin, saporin, with a DAR4) or 10 pM EGFdianthin (recombinant toxin fusion protein). Matuzumab recognizes and binds human EGFR at a different epitope compared to cetuximab and EGF, whereas Cetuximab and EGF compete for binding the EGFR receptor. Targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on EGFR expressing cells (A431, EGFR.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (A2058, EGFR.sup.−) was determined. This revealed strong cell killing at low and higher concentrations of matuzumab-(SO1861)+10 pM cetuximab-saporin or 10 pM EGFdianthin in A431 cells (IC50=2 nM; FIG. 6A) whereas equivalent concentrations matuzumab, matuzumab-SO1861, matuzumab+10 pM cetuximab-saporin or matuzumab+10 pM EGFdianthin could not induce any cell killing activity in A431 cells (IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 6A). When we compare these data with the combination of cetuximab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4+10 pM cetuximab-saporin or cetuximab-SO1861+10 pM EGF-dianthin we observe that at higher concentrations Cetuximab-SO1861, cell killing activity is reduced due to competition of both cetuximab conjugate and EGF for binding the EGFR receptor. In A2058 cells (EGFR.sup.−) no cell killing was observed (IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 6B) for any of the treatments. All this shows that the use of two different antibodies or antibody/ligand combinations recognizing the same receptor but bind at different epitopes, effectively induces cell killing in EGFR.sup.++ expressing cells at low and high concentrations of matuzumab-SO1861 in combination with a fixed low concentration (10 pM) of cetuximab-saporin or EGFdianthin. Thus the use of the combination according to the invention omits competition for receptor binding and reveals very effective endosomal escape and cytoplasmic toxin delivery resulting in efficient and selective tumor cell killing.
[0156] Next, cetuximab-saporin was titrated on a fixed concentration of 10 nM and 75 nM matuzumab-SO1861 and targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on EGFR expressing cells (A431, EGFR.sup.++) was determined. This revealed that, 10 nM and 75 nM matuzumab-SO1861 in combination with low concentrations cetuximab-saporin induced efficient cell killing in EGFR expressing cells (A431: 1050=0.5 pM; FIG. 7A), whereas cetuximab-saporin or cetuximab-saporin+10 nM or 75 nM matuzumab showed only at high concentrations cell killing (1050=1000 pM FIG. 3A). When we compared these data with the combination of cetuximab-saporin+10 nM and 75 nM cetuximab-SO1861, cell killing activity was reduced with increased concentrations of cetuximab-SO1861. In A2058 cells (EGFR.sup.−) no cell killing was observed (A2058: IC50 >1000 pM; FIG. 7B). All this shows that the combination according to the invention omits receptor competition, revealing very effective endosomal escape and cytoplasmic toxin delivery resulting in very efficient and selective tumor cell killing.
SO1861-EMCH Synthesis
[0159] To SO1861 (121 mg, 0.065 mmol) and EMCH.TFA (110 mg, 0.325 mmol) was added methanol (extra dry, 3.00 mL) and TFA (0.020 mL, 0.260 mmol). The reaction mixture stirred at room temperature. After 1.5 hours the reaction mixture was subjected to preparative MP-LC..sup.1 Fractions corresponding to the product were immediately pooled together, frozen and lyophilized overnight to give the title compound (120 mg, 90%) as a white fluffy solid. Purity based on LC-MS 96%.
[0160] LRMS (m/z): 2069 [M-1].sup.1−
[0161] LC-MS r.t. (min): 1.08.sup.4
mAb-SO1861 Synthesis
To Matuzumab freshly prepared TCEP solution (1.00 mg/ml, 1.971 mole equivalents, 2.80×10.sup.−5 mmol) was added. The reaction mixture was vortexed briefly then incubated for 90 minutes at 20° C. with roller-mixing. After incubation (prior to addition of SO1861-EMCH), a 0.5 mg (0.101 ml) aliquot of Matuzumab-SH was removed and purified by gel filtration using zeba spin desalting column eluting into TBS pH 7.5. This aliquot was characterised by UV-vis analysis and Ellman's assay. To the bulk Matuzumab-SH was added an aliquot of freshly prepared SO1861-EMCH solution (2.00 mg/ml, 8 mole equivalents, 8.54×10.sup.−5 mmol, 0.089 ml), the mixture vortexed briefly then incubated for 120 minutes at 20° C. Besides the conjugation reaction, two aliquots of desalted Matuzumab-SH (0.10 mg, 0.022 ml, 6.70×10.sup.−7 mmol) were reacted with NEM (8.00 equivalents, 5.36×10.sup.−6 mmol, 0.67 pg, 2.7 μl of a 0.25 mg/ml solution) or TBS pH 7.5 buffer (2.7 μl) for 120 minutes at 20° C., as positive and negative controls, respectively. After incubation (prior to addition of NEM), a ca. 60 pg (0.020 ml) aliquot of Matuzumab-SO1861 mixture was removed and characterised by Ellman's assay alongside positive and negative controls to obtain SO1861 incorporation. To the bulk Matuzumab-SO1861 mixture was added an aliquot of freshly prepared NEM solution (0.25 mg/ml, 5 mole equivalents, 5.34×10.sup.−5 mmol, 0.007 mg) to quench the reaction. The conjugate was purified by zeba 40K MWCO spin column eluting with DPBS pH 7.5 to give purified Matuzumab-SO1861 conjugate. The product was normalized to 2.0 mg/ml and filtered to 0.2 μm, to afford Matuzumab-SO1861 (total yield=1.10 mg, 52%, Matuzumab:SO1861-EMCH=3.3).
[0162] Similar procedures were followed to produce pertuzumab-SO1861 (DAR4), cetuximab-SO1861 (DAR4), trastuzumab-SO1861 (DAR4)
Pertuzumab-Dianthin Synthesis
[0163] Dianthin-Cys (17.0 ml, ˜9.6 mg) was concentrated by ultrafiltration using a vivaspin T15 filter tube (3,000 g, 20° C., 10 minutes). The resulting 3.25 ml aliquot was gel filtered using zeba 10 ml spin columns eluting with TBS pH 7.5.
[0164] Pertuzumab (0.30 ml, ˜10 mg) was diluted to 10 mg/ml with DPBS pH 7.5, desalted via zeba 5 ml spin column eluting with DPBS pH 7.5 and normalised to 2.50 mg/ml. To an aliquot of Pert (5.00 mg, 3.30×10.sup.−5 mmol, 2.593 mg/ml) was added an aliquot of freshly prepared SMCC solution (1.00 mg/ml, 4.20 mole equivalents, 13.9×10.sup.−5 mmol) in DMSO, the mixture vortexed briefly then incubated for 60 minutes at 20° C. with roller-mixing. After, the reaction was quenched by the addition of an aliquot of a freshly prepared glycine solution (2.0 mg/ml, 5.0 mole equivalents, 69.5×10.sup.−5 mmol) in DPBS pH 7.5. Pert-SMCC (4.27 mg, 2.80×10.sup.−5 mmol, 1.514 mg/ml) was obtained after gel filtration using a zeba 10 ml spin column eluting with TBS pH 7.5.
[0165] To Dianthin-Cys (7.54 mg, 25.3×10.sup.−5 mmol, 2.258 mg/ml) was added an aliquot of freshly prepared TCEP solution (1.00 mg/ml, 0.5 mole equivalents, 12.6×10.sup.−5 mmol) in TBS pH 7.5, the mixture briefly vortexed then incubated for 60 minutes at 20° C. with roller-mixing. After, Dianthin-SH (6.0 mg, 20.2×10.sup.−5 mmol, 1.722 mg/ml, Dianthin:SH=1.1) was obtained by gel filtration using a zeba 10 ml spin column eluting with TBS pH 7.5.
[0166] To the bulk Pert-SMCC was added the aliquot of Dianthin-SH (7.20 mole equivalents), the mixture vortexed briefly then incubated overnight at 20° C. After ca. 16 hours, the reaction was quenched by the addition of an aliquot of freshly prepared NEM solution (2.50 mg/ml, 5.0 mole equivalents, 101×10.sup.−5 mmol) in TBS pH 7.5. The reaction mixture was filtered to 0.45 μm and then concentrated to <2 ml by ultrafiltration using a vivaspin T15 filter tube (3,000 g, 20° C., 15 minutes). The conjugate was purified by gel filtration using a 1.6×35 cm Superdex 200PG column eluting with DPBS pH 7.5.
Example 4. SO1861+EGFR/HER2/CD71 Targeted mAb
[0169] SO1861 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 10 pM CD71-saporin (DAR4), 10 pM cetuximab-saporin (DAR4), 10 pM matuzumab-dianthin (DAR4), 10 pM pertuzumab-saporin (DAR4), 10 pM or 50 pM pertuzumab-saporin (DAR4) and 50 pM trastuzumab-saporin (DAR4) and targeted protein toxin-mediated cell killing on A431 (EGFR.sup.++/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) and A2058 (EGFR.sup.−/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) was determined. In A431 cells (EGFR.sup.++/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) this revealed cell killing activity for all EGFR targeted antibody-toxins (10 pM cetuximab-saporin, and 10 pM matuzumab-dianthin) as well as 10 pM CD71-saporin and 50 pM pertuzumab-saporin at SO1861: IC50=200 nM, whereas 50 pM trastuzumab or 10 pM pertuzumab-saporin showed activity at IC50=250 nM and IC50=300 nM, respectively (FIG. 8A), In A2058 cells (EGFR.sup.−/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) the EGFR targeted antibody-toxins (10 pM cetuximab-saporin, and 10 pM matuzumab-dianthin) were not active but 10 pM CD71mab-saporin, 10 or 50 pM Pertuzumab-saporin and 50 pM trastuzumab-saporin all showed activity at SO1861: IC50=200 nM (FIG. 8B).
However, the specification does not describe the structure, e.g., amino acid sequences of the first binding molecules that encompassed any and all peptides, proteins, non-protein molecules, cell-surface receptor ligands, protein ligands (claims 1, 54), any proteinaceous binding molecule or any non-proteinaceous ligand (claim 2) or any ligand, any ligand such as EGF (claim 8) wherein the undisclosed first binding molecule can bind to any and all cell-surface molecule, any cell-surface molecule is any cell-surface receptor or different epitope of the same undisclosed cell-surface receptor (claim 5) conjugated to any saponin from any monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or any bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside via a linker (claim 3) in combination with any second binding molecule that different from the first binding molecule, wherein the second binding molecule comprising any and all peptides, proteins, non-protein molecules, cell-surface receptor ligands, protein ligands, that can bind to any cell-surface molecule, e.g., any cell-surface receptor of the same but different epitope (claim 5) conjugated to any effector molecule, e.g., a protein, a peptide, a carbohydrate, a saccharide such as a glycan, a (phospho)lipid, a nucleic acid such as DNA, RNA, an enzyme, toxin and regulates the biological activity of such one or more target molecule(s). One of skill in the art cannot visualize or recognize member of the genus of first and second conjugates encompassed by claims.
Even assuming the first binding molecule and second binding molecule comprise an immunoglobulin (claim 8) or antibody such as any monoclonal antibody, a single-domain antibody, at least one VHH domain, at least one VH domain, a variable heavy chain new antigen receptor (VNAR) domain, a Fab, an scFv, an Fv, a dAb, an F(ab)2, or a Fcab fragment (claim 9), the specification discloses VHH 7D12 comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 and VHH 9G8 comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2. These two single domain antibodies bind to domain III of human EGFR, and compete with EGF (elected species) for binding to human EGFR. In addition, VHH 7D12 competes for binding of either cetuximab (anti-EGFR) or matuzumab (9G8). The specification also discloses pertuzumab and trastuzumab that bind to human HER2.
However, specification does not describe the structure, e.g., amino acid sequences of the heavy chain variable region and the light chain variable regions of all possible antibodies that correlated with binding to any and all cell surface molecules (claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 26, 54), any region of any cell surface receptor (claims 5, 25), or any different first and second binding sites (aka different epitope) of the cell-surface molecules simultaneously (claim 11), wherein the first binding region is selected to bind to the undisclosed first binding site of the cell-surface molecule without competing for binding of the second binding region to the second binding site (epitope) of the same-surface molecule (claim 12) or different epitopes (different first and second binding site of the same surface molecule (claim 26). There are no limitation on the structure of the first and second antibodies or ligand, and the binding sites (epitope) to which the first and second antibodies or ligands bind.
The specification does not describe a representative number of species of the first and second conjugates falling within the scope of the genus or structure common to the members of the genus so the one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus of the actual claimed conjugates themselves in combination.
An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products – “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
It is known in the art that antibodies have a large repertoire of distinct structures and that a huge variety of antibodies can be made to bind to a single epitope.
For example, Lloyd et al. taught that hundreds of functional antibody fragments can be isolated from an antibody library that bind to the same antigen wherein these antibodies have distinct heavy and light chain sequences (Lloyd et al. Protein Engineering, Design & Selection 22:159-168, 2009; PTO 892; see, e.g., Discussion).
Similarly, Edwards et al., (J Mol Biol. 334(1): 103-118, 2003; PTO 892), found that over 1000 antibodies, all different in amino acid sequence, were generated to a single protein; 568 different amino acid sequences identified for the V(H) CDR3 domains of these antibodies (Abstract).
Poosarla et al (Biotechn. Bioeng. 114(6): 1331-1342, 2017; PTO 892) teach substantial diversity in designed mAbs (sharing less than 75% sequence similarity to all existing natural antibody sequences) that bind to the same 12-mer peptide, binding to different epitopes on the same peptide. Said reference further teaches “most B-cell epitopes... in nature consist of residues from different regions of the sequence and are discontinuous...de novo antibody designs against discontinuous epitopes present additional challenges...". (See entire reference.)
Regarding antibody drug conjugate, the state of the prior art is such that the location or site of conjugation on the drug and the antibody affect conjugate stability, and pharmacokinetics of antibody drug conjugates.
For example, Strop et al (Chemistry and Biology 20: 161-167, 2013; PTO 892) teach drug position can have a significant effect on linker stability and antibody pharmacokinetics. The site of conjugation on the drug and antibody can influence ADC properties differently in mice and rats, highlighting potential pitfalls of examining efficacy in mouse xenograft models and toxicity in rats or nonhuman primates, see abstract, p 166, p. 168 right col, in particular.
Nejadmoghaddam (Avicenna Journal of Medical Biotechnology 2(1): 3-23, 2019; PTO 892) discusses major obstacles of antibody-drug conjugates include off-target toxicity, tumor marker selection, antibody specificity, adequately affinity and receptor-mediated internalization are major aspects of choice, cytotoxic payload (e.g., up to 7 drugs per antibody), cytotoxic payload linkage strategy, aqueous solubility, non-immunogenic and stability in storage and bloodstream, see entire document, abstract, p. 15, in particular.
Regarding derivatives based on any one or more saponin (claim 17), the specification does not describe the chemical structures of any such derivatives, including derivative of SO1861 (elected species). One of ordinary skilled would not be able to readily visualize or recognize any of the undisclosed derivatives conjugated to any first cell-surface binding molecule in combination with any second cell-surface binding molecules conjugate to any effector molecule. One of ordinary skilled in the art would not expect that all conjugates encompassed by claims will function in a given or predictable manner as the examples shown in the specification, e.g. enhance killing of targeted cells.
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddles v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483. In Fiddles v. Baird, claims directed to mammalian FGF’s were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Therefore, only (1) a therapeutic combination comprising:
(a) a first pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising a first antibody that binds to domain III of human EGFR wherein the first antibody is an anti-EGFR antibody comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 or matuzumab, wherein the first antibody is covalently linked to at least one saponin SO1861 and wherein the first antibody does not compete for binding with the second antibody matuzumab or cetuximab or EGF that binds to human EGFR; and
(b) a second pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising a second antibody that binds to the extracellular domain of human EGFR wherein the second antibody comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 or pertuzumab or cetuximab, wherein the second antibody is conjugated to an effector, wherein the second antibody does not compete for binding to the EGFR with the first anti-EGFR antibody and wherein the effector is saporin or dianthin,
(2) a first pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising (a) a first antibody that binds to human HER2 wherein the antibody is covalently bound to at least one saponin SO1861; and (b) a second pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising a second antibody that binds to human HER2, wherein the second antibody is conjugated to an effector molecule, wherein the first or second antibody is pertuzumab or trastuzumab, wherein the effector is saporin or dianthin and wherein the first antibody and second antibody binds to different epitope of the same human HER2 for saponin mediated endosomal escape of targeted toxin, and
(3) a kit comprising the therapeutic combination above and instructions for use, but not the full breadth of the claims meets the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph.
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. § 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 21-26 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for only (1) a therapeutic combination comprising:
(a) a first pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising a first antibody that binds to domain III of human EGFR wherein the first antibody is an anti-EGFR antibody comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 or matuzumab, wherein the first antibody is covalently linked to at least one saponin SO1861 and wherein the first antibody does not compete for binding with the second antibody matuzumab or cetuximab or EGF that binds to human EGFR; and
(b) a second pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising a second antibody that binds to the extracellular domain of human EGFR wherein the second antibody comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 or pertuzumab or cetuximab, wherein the second antibody is conjugated to an effector, wherein the second antibody does not compete for binding to the EGFR with the first anti-EGFR antibody and wherein the effector is saporin or dianthin, (2) a first pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising (a) a first antibody that binds to human HER2 wherein the antibody is covalently bound to at least one saponin SO1861; and (b) a second pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising a second antibody that binds to human HER2, wherein the second antibody is conjugated to an effector molecule, wherein the first or second antibody is pertuzumab or trastuzumab, wherein the effector is saporin or dianthin and wherein the first antibody and second antibody binds to different epitope of the same human HER2 for saponin mediated endosomal escape of targeted toxin, and (3) a kit comprising the therapeutic combination above and instructions for use, does not reasonably provide enablement for any therapeutic combination as set forth in claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 21-26 and 54. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(a)). These factors include, but are not limited to: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. . In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Claim 1 encompasses a therapeutic combination comprising:
(a) a first pharmaceutical composition comprising any conjugate comprising any first binding molecule comprising a first binding region for binding to any first binding site of any cell-surface molecule and the conjugate comprising at least one of any saponin covalently bound to said first binding molecule, wherein the saponin is a monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside; and
(b) a second pharmaceutical composition comprising any conjugate comprising any second binding molecule different from the first binding molecule, the second binding molecule comprising a second binding region different from the first binding region, the second binding region for binding to any second binding site of said cell-surface molecule different from the first binding site of said cell-surface molecule, and the conjugate comprising an effector molecule covalently bound to said second binding molecule,
Wherein the first pharmaceutical composition and the second pharmaceutical composition optionally further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent.
Claim 2 encompasses a pharmaceutical composition comprising:
- any conjugate comprising any first binding molecule comprising any first binding region for binding to any first binding site of any cell-surface molecule and the conjugate comprising at least one saponin covalently bound to said first binding molecule, wherein the saponin is a triterpenoid saponin of the monodesmosidic type or the bidesmosidic type; and
- any conjugate comprising any second binding molecule different from said first binding molecule, the second binding molecule comprising any second binding region different from said first binding region, the second binding region for binding to any second binding site of said cell-surface molecule different from said first binding site of said cell-surface molecule, and the conjugate comprising any effector molecule covalently bound to said second binding molecule, and optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent.
Claim 3 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding molecule is a first proteinaceous binding molecule or a first non-proteinaceous ligand comprising the first binding region for binding to the first binding site of the cell-surface molecule, and/or wherein the second binding molecule is a second proteinaceous binding molecule or a second non- proteinaceous ligand comprising the second binding region for binding to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule.
Claim 4 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding molecule is a first proteinaceous binding molecule and wherein the saponin is covalently bound to an amino acid residue of the first binding molecule, preferably via a linker.
Claim 5 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding site is a first epitope of said cell-surface molecule such as any cell-surface receptor and wherein the second binding site is a second epitope of said, same, cell-surface molecule, wherein the second epitope is different from the first epitope.
Claim 6 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene saponin.
Claim 8 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region of the first binding molecule comprises or consists of any ligand for binding to the first binding site of the cell-surface molecule such as EGF, or
wherein the first binding region of the first binding molecule comprises or consists of an immunoglobulin or at least one binding fragment or binding domain of said immunoglobulin comprising the first binding region for binding to the first binding site of the cell-surface molecule, and/or
wherein the second binding region of the second binding molecule comprises or consists of a ligand for binding to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule, or
wherein the second binding region of the second binding molecule comprises or consists of an immunoglobulin or at least one binding fragment or binding domain of said immunoglobulin comprising the second binding region for binding to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule.
Claim 9 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region of the first binding molecule comprises or consists of a monoclonal antibody, a single-domain antibody, at least one VHH domain, at least one VH domain, a variable heavy chain new antigen receptor (VNAR) domain, a Fab, an scFv, an Fv, a dAb, an F(ab)2, or a Fcab fragment, and/or
wherein the second binding region of the second binding molecule comprises or consists of a monoclonal antibody, a single-domain antibody, at least one VHH domain, at least one VH domain, a variable heavy chain new antigen receptor (VNAR) domain, a Fab, an scFv, an Fv, a dAb, an F(ab)2, or a Fcab fragment.
Claim 11 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region and the second binding region are selected to simultaneously bind the same cell-surface molecule at the first binding site and at the second binding site.
Claim 12 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region is selected to bind to the first binding site of the cell-surface molecule without competing for the binding of the second binding region to the second binding site of the same cell-surface molecule, and wherein the second binding region is selected to bind to the second binding site of the cell-surface molecule without competing for the binding of the first binding region to the first binding site of the same cell-surface molecule.
Claim 13 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene saponin belonging to the type of a 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C23, the saponin comprising a first saccharide chain at the C3beta-OH group of the saponin, the first saccharide chain optionally comprising a glucuronic acid moiety, and the saponin comprising a second saccharide chain linked to C28 of the saponin and comprising or consisting of a monosaccharide or a linear or branched oligosaccharide wherein optionally at least one saccharide moiety of the second saccharide chain comprises at least one acetyl group, for example 1, 2, 3 or 4 acetyl groups.
Claim 14 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is a saponin isolated from any one or more of a Gypsophila species, a Saponaria species, an Agrostemma species and a Quillaja species.
Claim 17 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is any one or more of: Quillaja bark saponin, dipsacoside B, saikosaponin A, saikosaponin D, macranthoidin A, esculentoside A, phytolaccagenin, aescinate, AS6.2, NP-005236, AMA-1, AMR, alpha-Hederin, NP-012672, NP-017777, NP-017778, NP- 017774, NP-018110, NP-017772, NP-018109, NP-017888, NP-017889, NP-018108, SA1641,AE X55, NP-017674, NP-017810, AG1, NP-003881, NP-017676, NP-017677, NP-017706, NP-017705, NP- 017773, NP-017775, SA1657, AG2, SO1861, GE1741, SO1542, SO1584, SO1658, SO1674, SO1832, S01862, SO1904, QS-7, QS1861, QS-7 api, QS1862, QS-17, QS-18, QS-21 A-apio, QS-21 A-xylo, QS-21 B-apio, QS-21 B-xylo, beta-Aescin, Aescin la, Teaseed saponin I, Teaseedsaponin J, Assamsaponin F, Digitonin, Primula acid 1 and AS64R, or a saponin derivative based thereon, or any of their stereoisomers and/or any combinations thereof.
Claim 21 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside belonging to the type of a 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C23 of the aglycone core structure of the saponin, wherein the saponin is covalently bound to the first binding molecule, via an aldehyde function in the saponin via at least one linker.
Claim 22 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 21, wherein the aldehyde function in position C23 of the aglycone core structure of the at least one saponin is covalently bound to linker EMCH, which linker is covalently bound via a thio-ether bond to a sulfhydryl group in the first binding molecule.
Claim 23 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside belonging to the type of a 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C23 of the aglycone core structure of the saponin and comprising a glucuronic acid unit in a first saccharide chain at the C3beta- OH group of the aglycone core structure of the saponin, wherein the saponin is covalently bound to an amino-acid residue of the first binding molecule via the carboxyl group of the glucuronic acid unit in the first saccharide chain.
Claim 24 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 23, wherein the at least one saponin comprises a glucuronic acid unit in its first saccharide chain at the C3beta-OH group of the aglycone core structure of the at least one saponin, wherein the glucuronic acid unit is covalently bound to linker 1-[Bis(dimethylamino)methylene]-1H-1,2,3-triazolo[4,5-b]pyridinium 3-oxid hexafluorophosphate (HATU), wherein the linker is covalently bound via an amide bond to an amine group in the first binding molecule.
Claim 25 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the cell-surface molecule is a cell-surface receptor.
Claim 26 encompasses the therapeutic combination of claim 1, wherein the first binding region of the first binding molecule and the second binding region of the second binding molecule comprise or consist of an antibody or a cell-surface molecule binding fragment thereof or cell-surface molecule binding domain(s) thereof and/or comprise or consist of a ligand for binding to the cell-surface molecule, with the proviso that the first binding region and the second binding region are different and with the proviso that the first binding site and the second binding site are different.
Claim 54 encompasses a kit comprising the therapeutic combination of claim 1, and instructions for use.
Regarding “binding molecule”, the specification define as follow:
[0039] The term “binding molecule” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a molecule capable of specifically binding to another molecule such as a cell-surface molecule, e.g. a cell-surface receptor. Typical binding molecules are peptides, proteins, non-protein molecules, cell-surface receptor ligands, protein ligands, that can bind to e.g. a protein, a lipid, a (poly)saccharide, such as a cell-surface receptor or a cell-surface molecule. “Specifically binding” here refers to specific and selective binding with higher affinity than non-specific background binding.
Regarding “binding region”, the specification define as follow:
[0020] The term “binding region” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a part of a molecule or (a) chemical group(s) of a molecule or a(n) (linear or non-linear) amino-acid sequence of a protein or peptide and the like, that has the capacity to bind to a binding partner molecule. A typical binding region are the CDR loops of an immunoglobulin. A typical binding region of a protein is or are loop(s) of amino-acid residues comprised by said protein and capable of specifically binding to the binding site on a binding partner molecule such as a protein, cell-surface receptor, etc.
Regarding “binding site”, the specification define as follow:
[0021] The term “binding site” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a region on a macromolecule such as a protein, for example a cell-surface molecule such as a cell-surface receptor, that binds to another molecule such as a protein, for example a ligand, with specificity.
Regarding “cell-surface molecule”, the specification define as follow:
[0022] The term “cell-surface molecule” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a molecule that is present and exposed at the outside surface of a cell such as a blood cell or an organ cell, such as a mammalian cell, such as a human cell. Typically, a cell-surface molecule is a protein such as a receptor, or a lipid molecule or a polysaccharide.
Regarding “mono-desmosidic saponin”, the specification define as follow:
[0026] The term “mono-desmosidic saponin” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a triterpenoid saponin containing a single saccharide chain bound to the aglycone core, wherein the saccharide chain consists of one or more saccharide moieties.
Regarding “bi-desmosidic saponin”, the specification define as follow:
[0027] The term “bi-desmosidic saponin” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a triterpenoid saponin containing two saccharide chains bound to the aglycone core, wherein each of the two saccharide chains consists of one or more saccharide moieties.
Regarding “triterpenoid saponin”, the specification define as follow:
[0028] The term “triterpenoid saponin” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a saponin having a triterpenoid-type of aglycone core structure. The triterpenoid saponin differs from a saponin based on a steroid glycoside such as sapogenol in that such saponin comprising steroid glycoside has a steroid core structure, and the triterpenoid saponin differs from a saponin based on an alkaloid glycoside such as tomatidine in that such saponin comprising alkaloid glycoside has a alkaloid core structure.
Regarding “saponin”, the specification define as follow:
[0023] The term “saponin” has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a group of amphipathic glycosides which comprise one or more hydrophilic glycone moieties combined with a lipophilic aglycone core which is a sapogenin. The saponin may be naturally occurring or synthetic (i.e. non-naturally occurring). The term “saponin” includes naturally-occurring saponins, derivatives of naturally-occurring saponins as well as saponins synthesized de novo through chemical and/or biotechnological synthesis routes. Saponin has a triterpene backbone, which is a pentacyclic C30 terpene skeleton, also referred to as sapogenin or aglycone. Within the context of the invention saponin is not considered an effector molecule nor an effector moiety in the conjugates according to the invention. Thus, in conjugates comprising a saponin and an effector moiety, the effector moiety is a different molecule than the conjugated saponin.
Regarding “effector molecule”, the specification define as follow:
[0033] The term “effector molecule”, or “effector moiety” when referring to the effector molecule as part of e.g. a covalent conjugate, has its regular scientific meaning and here refers to a molecule that can selectively bind to for example any one or more of the target molecules: a protein, a peptide, a carbohydrate, a saccharide such as a glycan, a (phospho)lipid, a nucleic acid such as DNA, RNA, an enzyme, and regulates the biological activity of such one or more target molecule(s). In the conjugate of the invention the effector moiety for example exerts its effect in the cytosol, in the cell nucleus, is delivered intracellularly in the endosome and/or lysosome, and/or is active after exiting or escaping the endosomal-lysosomal pathway. The effector molecule is for example a molecule selected from any one or more of a small molecule such as a drug molecule, a toxin such as a protein toxin, an oligonucleotide such as a BNA, a Xeno nucleic acid or an siRNA, an enzyme, a peptide, a protein, or an active fragment or an active domain thereof, or any combination thereof. Thus, for example, an effector molecule or an effector moiety is a molecule or moiety selected from any one or more of a small molecule such as a drug molecule, a toxin such as a protein toxin, an oligonucleotide such as a BNA, a Xeno nucleic acid or an siRNA, an enzyme, a peptide, a protein, or any combination thereof, that can selectively bind to any one or more of the target molecules: a protein, a peptide, a carbohydrate, a saccharide such as a glycan, a (phospho)lipid, a nucleic acid such as DNA, RNA, an enzyme, and that upon binding to the target molecule regulates the biological activity of such one or more target molecule(s). For example, an effector moiety is a toxin or an active toxic fragment thereof or an active toxic derivative or an active toxic domain thereof. Typically, an effector molecule can exert a biological effect inside a cell such as a mammalian cell such as a human cell, such as in the cytosol of said cell. An effector molecule or moiety of the invention is thus any substance that affects the metabolism of a cell by interaction with an intracellular effector molecule target, wherein this effector molecule target is any molecule or structure inside cells excluding the lumen of compartments and vesicles of the endocytic and recycling pathway but including the membranes of these compartments and vesicles. Said structures inside cells thus include the nucleus, mitochondria, chloroplasts, endoplasmic reticulum, Golgi apparatus, other transport vesicles, the inner part of the plasma membrane and the cytosol. Typical effector molecules are thus drug molecules, an enzyme, plasmid DNA, toxins such as toxins comprised by antibody-drug conjugates (ADCs), oligonucleotides such as siRNA, BNA, nucleic acids comprised by an antibody-oligonucleotide conjugate (AOC). For example, an effector molecule is a molecule which can act as a ligand that can increase or decrease (intracellular) enzyme activity, gene expression, or cell signaling. In the context of the invention, an effector molecule or effector moiety when the effector molecule is part of a conjugate, is not a saponin, and is not a cell-surface molecule binding molecule such as an antibody such as an sdAb. Typically, an effector moiety comprised by the conjugate exerts its therapeutic (for example toxic, enzymatic, inhibitory, gene silencing, etc.) effect in the cytosol and/or in the cell nucleus. Typically, the effector moiety is delivered intracellularly in the endosome and/or in the lysosome, and typically the effector moiety is active after exiting or escaping the endosomal-lysosomal pathway.
The specification exemplifies just saponin SO1861 purified by Analyticon Discovery GmbH from raw plant extract obtained from Saponaria officinalis. See para. [0157].
Example 1. 1T2C, Non-Competing HER2 Targeting
[0147] SO1861-EMCH was conjugated via cysteine residues (Cys) to pertuzumab, with a DAR 4, (pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4. Pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 50 pM trastuzumab-saporin (trastuzumab conjugated to the protein toxin, saporin, with a DAR4). Pertuzumab and Trastuzumab recognize and bind human HER2 at different epitopes (non-competing). Targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed strong cell killing at low and high concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 (SK-BR-3: IC50=0.5 nM; FIG. 2A) whereas equivalent concentrations pertuzumab, pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9 or pertuzumab+50 pM trastuzumab-saporin could not induce any cell killing activity in HER2 expressing cells. When we compare these data with the combination of Trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4+50 pM trastuzumab-saporin we observe that at high concentrations Trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9, cell killing activity is reduced due to competition of both trastuzumab antibody conjugates for binding the HER2 receptor. In MDA-MB-468 cells (no HER2 expression) no cell killing was observed (MDA-MB-468: IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 2B) for any of the treatments.
[0148] All this shows that the use of two different antibodies recognizing the same receptor but binding at different epitopes (different binding sites), effectively induce cell killing at low and high concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 in combination with a fixed low concentration (50 pM) of trastuzumab-saporin in high HER2 expressing cells, but not in cells that do not express HER2. Thus, the use of the combination of both conjugates according to the invention omits competition for receptor binding and reveals activity at low and higher concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4.
[0149] Next, trastuzumab-saporin was titrated on a fixed concentration of 2.5 nM and 75 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 and targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and HER2 non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed efficient cell killing at low concentrations trastuzumab-saporin in combination with 2.5 nM, or 75 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 in SK-BR-3 (HER2.sup.++; IC50=0.5 pM; FIG. 3A), whereas Trastuzumab-saporin or Trastuzumab-saporin+2.5 nM or 75 nM pertuzumab showed only at high concentrations cell killing in SK-BR-3 cells (IC50>1000 pM; FIG. 3A). When these data is compared with the combination of trastuzumab-saporin+2.5 nM or 75 nM trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9, cell killing activity was strongly reduced when combined with 75 nM trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9. In MDA-MB-468 cells (HER2.sup.−) no cell killing was observed for any of the treatments (MDA-MB-468: IC50>10.000 pM; FIG. 3B).
[0150] All this shows that the combination of low concentrations of trastuzumab-saporin+2.5 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or 75 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 induce effective cell killing in high HER2 expressing cells. Thus, the use of the combination of both conjugates according to the invention omits competition for receptor binding and reveals effective cell killing at low and higher concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4.
Example 2. 1T2C, Non-Competing HER2 Targeting
[0151] Next, pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 50 pM pertuzumab-dianthin (pertuzumab conjugated to the protein toxin, dianthin, with a DAR4). Targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed strong cell killing at low concentrations of trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 (SK-BR-3: IC50<0.1 nM; FIG. 4A). At higher concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 cell killing activity was reduced whereas higher concentrations of trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 were still effective. Equivalent concentrations pertuzumab, pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9 or pertuzumab+50 pM pertuzumab-dianthin were not effective in HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3: IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 4A). In MDA-MB-468 cells (HER2.sup.−) no cell killing was observed (MDA-MB-468: IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 4B) for any of the treatments.
[0152] All this shows that the use of two different antibodies recognizing the same receptor but bind at a different epitopes, effectively induce cell killing at low and higher concentrations of trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 in combination with a fixed low concentration (50 pM) of pertuzumab-dianthin in high HER2 expressing cells.
[0153] Next, pertuzumab-dianthin was titrated on a fixed concentration of 2.5 nM and 25 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 and targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed efficient cell killing of SK-BR-3 cells (HER2.sup.++) at low concentrations pertuzumab-dianthin in combination with 2.5 nM, trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or 2.5 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 (IC50=0.5 pM; IC50=0.5 pM, resp. FIG. 5A), whereas pertuzumab-dianthin+25 nM trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 showed more efficient cell killing compared to the combination of pertuzumab-dianthin+25 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4. Equivalent concentrations of pertuzumab-dianthin or pertuzumab-dianthin+25 nM pertuzumab showed only at high concentrations some slight cell killing activity in SK-BR-3 cells (IC50>10.000 pM; FIG. 5A). In MDA-MB-468 cells (HER2.sup.−) no cell killing was observed for any of the treatments (MDA-MB-468: IC50>10.000 pM; FIG. 5B).
[0154] All this shows that the combination according to the invention omits receptor competition, revealing very effective endosomal escape and cytoplasmic toxin delivery resulting in very efficient and selective tumor cell killing.
Example 3. 1T2C, Non-Competing EGFR Targeting
[0155] SO1861-EMCH was conjugated via cysteine residues (Cys) to matuzumab, with a DAR 3,3, (matuzumab-SO1861). Matuzumab-SO1861 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 10 pM cetuximab-saporin (cetuximab conjugated to the protein toxin, saporin, with a DAR4) or 10 pM EGFdianthin (recombinant toxin fusion protein). Matuzumab recognizes and binds human EGFR at a different epitope compared to cetuximab and EGF, whereas Cetuximab and EGF compete for binding the EGFR receptor. Targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on EGFR expressing cells (A431, EGFR.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (A2058, EGFR.sup.−) was determined. This revealed strong cell killing at low and higher concentrations of matuzumab-(SO1861)+10 pM cetuximab-saporin or 10 pM EGFdianthin in A431 cells (IC50=2 nM; FIG. 6A) whereas equivalent concentrations matuzumab, matuzumab-SO1861, matuzumab+10 pM cetuximab-saporin or matuzumab+10 pM EGFdianthin could not induce any cell killing activity in A431 cells (IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 6A). When we compare these data with the combination of cetuximab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4+10 pM cetuximab-saporin or cetuximab-SO1861+10 pM EGF-dianthin we observe that at higher concentrations Cetuximab-SO1861, cell killing activity is reduced due to competition of both cetuximab conjugate and EGF for binding the EGFR receptor. In A2058 cells (EGFR.sup.−) no cell killing was observed (IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 6B) for any of the treatments. All this shows that the use of two different antibodies or antibody/ligand combinations recognizing the same receptor but bind at different epitopes, effectively induces cell killing in EGFR.sup.++ expressing cells at low and high concentrations of matuzumab-SO1861 in combination with a fixed low concentration (10 pM) of cetuximab-saporin or EGFdianthin. Thus the use of the combination according to the invention omits competition for receptor binding and reveals very effective endosomal escape and cytoplasmic toxin delivery resulting in efficient and selective tumor cell killing.
[0156] Next, cetuximab-saporin was titrated on a fixed concentration of 10 nM and 75 nM matuzumab-SO1861 and targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on EGFR expressing cells (A431, EGFR.sup.++) was determined. This revealed that, 10 nM and 75 nM matuzumab-SO1861 in combination with low concentrations cetuximab-saporin induced efficient cell killing in EGFR expressing cells (A431: 1050=0.5 pM; FIG. 7A), whereas cetuximab-saporin or cetuximab-saporin+10 nM or 75 nM matuzumab showed only at high concentrations cell killing (1050=1000 pM FIG. 3A). When we compared these data with the combination of cetuximab-saporin+10 nM and 75 nM cetuximab-SO1861, cell killing activity was reduced with increased concentrations of cetuximab-SO1861. In A2058 cells (EGFR.sup.−) no cell killing was observed (A2058: IC50 >1000 pM; FIG. 7B). All this shows that the combination according to the invention omits receptor competition, revealing very effective endosomal escape and cytoplasmic toxin delivery resulting in very efficient and selective tumor cell killing.
SO1861-EMCH Synthesis
[0159] To SO1861 (121 mg, 0.065 mmol) and EMCH.TFA (110 mg, 0.325 mmol) was added methanol (extra dry, 3.00 mL) and TFA (0.020 mL, 0.260 mmol). The reaction mixture stirred at room temperature. After 1.5 hours the reaction mixture was subjected to preparative MP-LC..sup.1 Fractions corresponding to the product were immediately pooled together, frozen and lyophilized overnight to give the title compound (120 mg, 90%) as a white fluffy solid. Purity based on LC-MS 96%.
[0160] LRMS (m/z): 2069 [M-1].sup.1−
[0161] LC-MS r.t. (min): 1.08.sup.4
mAb-SO1861 Synthesis
To Matuzumab freshly prepared TCEP solution (1.00 mg/ml, 1.971 mole equivalents, 2.80×10.sup.−5 mmol) was added. The reaction mixture was vortexed briefly then incubated for 90 minutes at 20° C. with roller-mixing. After incubation (prior to addition of SO1861-EMCH), a 0.5 mg (0.101 ml) aliquot of Matuzumab-SH was removed and purified by gel filtration using zeba spin desalting column eluting into TBS pH 7.5. This aliquot was characterised by UV-vis analysis and Ellman's assay. To the bulk Matuzumab-SH was added an aliquot of freshly prepared SO1861-EMCH solution (2.00 mg/ml, 8 mole equivalents, 8.54×10.sup.−5 mmol, 0.089 ml), the mixture vortexed briefly then incubated for 120 minutes at 20° C. Besides the conjugation reaction, two aliquots of desalted Matuzumab-SH (0.10 mg, 0.022 ml, 6.70×10.sup.−7 mmol) were reacted with NEM (8.00 equivalents, 5.36×10.sup.−6 mmol, 0.67 pg, 2.7 μl of a 0.25 mg/ml solution) or TBS pH 7.5 buffer (2.7 μl) for 120 minutes at 20° C., as positive and negative controls, respectively. After incubation (prior to addition of NEM), a ca. 60 pg (0.020 ml) aliquot of Matuzumab-SO1861 mixture was removed and characterised by Ellman's assay alongside positive and negative controls to obtain SO1861 incorporation. To the bulk Matuzumab-SO1861 mixture was added an aliquot of freshly prepared NEM solution (0.25 mg/ml, 5 mole equivalents, 5.34×10.sup.−5 mmol, 0.007 mg) to quench the reaction. The conjugate was purified by zeba 40K MWCO spin column eluting with DPBS pH 7.5 to give purified Matuzumab-SO1861 conjugate. The product was normalised to 2.0 mg/ml and filtered to 0.2 μm, to afford Matuzumab-SO1861 (total yield=1.10 mg, 52%, Matuzumab:SO1861-EMCH=3.3).
[0162] Similar procedures were followed to produce pertuzumab-SO1861 (DAR4), cetuximab-SO1861 (DAR4), trastuzumab-SO1861 (DAR4)
Pertuzumab-Dianthin Synthesis
[0163] Dianthin-Cys (17.0 ml, ˜9.6 mg) was concentrated by ultrafiltration using a vivaspin T15 filter tube (3,000 g, 20° C., 10 minutes). The resulting 3.25 ml aliquot was gel filtered using zeba 10 ml spin columns eluting with TBS pH 7.5.
[0164] Pertuzumab (0.30 ml, ˜10 mg) was diluted to 10 mg/ml with DPBS pH 7.5, desalted via zeba 5 ml spin column eluting with DPBS pH 7.5 and normalised to 2.50 mg/ml. To an aliquot of Pert (5.00 mg, 3.30×10.sup.−5 mmol, 2.593 mg/ml) was added an aliquot of freshly prepared SMCC solution (1.00 mg/ml, 4.20 mole equivalents, 13.9×10.sup.−5 mmol) in DMSO, the mixture vortexed briefly then incubated for 60 minutes at 20° C. with roller-mixing. After, the reaction was quenched by the addition of an aliquot of a freshly prepared glycine solution (2.0 mg/ml, 5.0 mole equivalents, 69.5×10.sup.−5 mmol) in DPBS pH 7.5. Pert-SMCC (4.27 mg, 2.80×10.sup.−5 mmol, 1.514 mg/ml) was obtained after gel filtration using a zeba 10 ml spin column eluting with TBS pH 7.5.
[0165] To Dianthin-Cys (7.54 mg, 25.3×10.sup.−5 mmol, 2.258 mg/ml) was added an aliquot of freshly prepared TCEP solution (1.00 mg/ml, 0.5 mole equivalents, 12.6×10.sup.−5 mmol) in TBS pH 7.5, the mixture briefly vortexed then incubated for 60 minutes at 20° C. with roller-mixing. After, Dianthin-SH (6.0 mg, 20.2×10.sup.−5 mmol, 1.722 mg/ml, Dianthin:SH=1.1) was obtained by gel filtration using a zeba 10 ml spin column eluting with TBS pH 7.5.
[0166] To the bulk Pert-SMCC was added the aliquot of Dianthin-SH (7.20 mole equivalents), the mixture vortexed briefly then incubated overnight at 20° C. After ca. 16 hours, the reaction was quenched by the addition of an aliquot of freshly prepared NEM solution (2.50 mg/ml, 5.0 mole equivalents, 101×10.sup.−5 mmol) in TBS pH 7.5. The reaction mixture was filtered to 0.45 μm and then concentrated to <2 ml by ultrafiltration using a vivaspin T15 filter tube (3,000 g, 20° C., 15 minutes). The conjugate was purified by gel filtration using a 1.6×35 cm Superdex 200PG column eluting with DPBS pH 7.5.
Example 4. SO1861+EGFR/HER2/CD71 Targeted mAb
[0169] SO1861 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 10 pM CD71-saporin (DAR4), 10 pM cetuximab-saporin (DAR4), 10 pM matuzumab-dianthin (DAR4), 10 pM pertuzumab-saporin (DAR4), 10 pM or 50 pM pertuzumab-saporin (DAR4) and 50 pM trastuzumab-saporin (DAR4) and targeted protein toxin-mediated cell killing on A431 (EGFR.sup.++/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) and A2058 (EGFR.sup.−/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) was determined. In A431 cells (EGFR.sup.++/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) this revealed cell killing activity for all EGFR targeted antibody-toxins (10 pM cetuximab-saporin, and 10 pM matuzumab-dianthin) as well as 10 pM CD71-saporin and 50 pM pertuzumab-saporin at SO1861: IC50=200 nM, whereas 50 pM trastuzumab or 10 pM pertuzumab-saporin showed activity at IC50=250 nM and IC50=300 nM, respectively (FIG. 8A), In A2058 cells (EGFR.sup.−/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) the EGFR targeted antibody-toxins (10 pM cetuximab-saporin, and 10 pM matuzumab-dianthin) were not active but 10 pM CD71mab-saporin, 10 or 50 pM Pertuzumab-saporin and 50 pM trastuzumab-saporin all showed activity at SO1861: IC50=200 nM (FIG. 8B).
However, enablement is not commensurate in scope with how to make and use the claim invention as broadly as claim. The specification discloses:
Example 1. 1T2C, Non-Competing HER2 Targeting
[0147] SO1861-EMCH was conjugated via cysteine residues (Cys) to pertuzumab, with a DAR 4, (pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4. Pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 50 pM trastuzumab-saporin (trastuzumab conjugated to the protein toxin, saporin, with a DAR4). Pertuzumab and Trastuzumab recognize and bind human HER2 at different epitopes (non-competing). Targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed strong cell killing at low and high concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 (SK-BR-3: IC50=0.5 nM; FIG. 2A) whereas equivalent concentrations pertuzumab, pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9 or pertuzumab+50 pM trastuzumab-saporin could not induce any cell killing activity in HER2 expressing cells. When we compare these data with the combination of Trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4+50 pM trastuzumab-saporin we observe that at high concentrations Trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9, cell killing activity is reduced due to competition of both trastuzumab antibody conjugates for binding the HER2 receptor. In MDA-MB-468 cells (no HER2 expression) no cell killing was observed (MDA-MB-468: IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 2B) for any of the treatments.
[0148] All this shows that the use of two different antibodies recognizing the same receptor but binding at different epitopes (different binding sites), effectively induce cell killing at low and high concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 in combination with a fixed low concentration (50 pM) of trastuzumab-saporin in high HER2 expressing cells, but not in cells that do not express HER2. Thus, the use of the combination of both conjugates according to the invention omits competition for receptor binding and reveals activity at low and higher concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4.
[0149] Next, trastuzumab-saporin was titrated on a fixed concentration of 2.5 nM and 75 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 and targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and HER2 non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed efficient cell killing at low concentrations trastuzumab-saporin in combination with 2.5 nM, or 75 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 in SK-BR-3 (HER2.sup.++; IC50=0.5 pM; FIG. 3A), whereas Trastuzumab-saporin or Trastuzumab-saporin+2.5 nM or 75 nM pertuzumab showed only at high concentrations cell killing in SK-BR-3 cells (IC50>1000 pM; FIG. 3A). When these data is compared with the combination of trastuzumab-saporin+2.5 nM or 75 nM trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9, cell killing activity was strongly reduced when combined with 75 nM trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9. In MDA-MB-468 cells (HER2.sup.−) no cell killing was observed for any of the treatments (MDA-MB-468: IC50>10.000 pM; FIG. 3B).
[0150] All this shows that the combination of low concentrations of trastuzumab-saporin+2.5 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or 75 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 induce effective cell killing in high HER2 expressing cells. Thus, the use of the combination of both conjugates according to the invention omits competition for receptor binding and reveals effective cell killing at low and higher concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4.
Example 2. 1T2C, Non-Competing HER2 Targeting
[0151] Next, pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 50 pM pertuzumab-dianthin (pertuzumab conjugated to the protein toxin, dianthin, with a DAR4). Targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed strong cell killing at low concentrations of trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 (SK-BR-3: IC50<0.1 nM; FIG. 4A). At higher concentrations of pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 cell killing activity was reduced whereas higher concentrations of trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 were still effective. Equivalent concentrations pertuzumab, pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.3,9 or pertuzumab+50 pM pertuzumab-dianthin were not effective in HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3: IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 4A). In MDA-MB-468 cells (HER2.sup.−) no cell killing was observed (MDA-MB-468: IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 4B) for any of the treatments.
[0152] All this shows that the use of two different antibodies recognizing the same receptor but bind at a different epitopes, effectively induce cell killing at low and higher concentrations of trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 in combination with a fixed low concentration (50 pM) of pertuzumab-dianthin in high HER2 expressing cells.
[0153] Next, pertuzumab-dianthin was titrated on a fixed concentration of 2.5 nM and 25 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 and targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on HER2 expressing cells (SK-BR-3, HER2.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (MDA-MB-468, HER2.sup.−) was determined. This revealed efficient cell killing of SK-BR-3 cells (HER2.sup.++) at low concentrations pertuzumab-dianthin in combination with 2.5 nM, trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 or 2.5 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 (IC50=0.5 pM; IC50=0.5 pM, resp. FIG. 5A), whereas pertuzumab-dianthin+25 nM trastuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4 showed more efficient cell killing compared to the combination of pertuzumab-dianthin+25 nM pertuzumab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4. Equivalent concentrations of pertuzumab-dianthin or pertuzumab-dianthin+25 nM pertuzumab showed only at high concentrations some slight cell killing activity in SK-BR-3 cells (IC50>10.000 pM; FIG. 5A). In MDA-MB-468 cells (HER2.sup.−) no cell killing was observed for any of the treatments (MDA-MB-468: IC50>10.000 pM; FIG. 5B).
[0154] All this shows that the combination according to the invention omits receptor competition, revealing very effective endosomal escape and cytoplasmic toxin delivery resulting in very efficient and selective tumor cell killing.
Example 3. 1T2C, Non-Competing EGFR Targeting
[0155] SO1861-EMCH was conjugated via cysteine residues (Cys) to matuzumab, with a DAR 3,3, (matuzumab-SO1861). Matuzumab-SO1861 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 10 pM cetuximab-saporin (cetuximab conjugated to the protein toxin, saporin, with a DAR4) or 10 pM EGFdianthin (recombinant toxin fusion protein). Matuzumab recognizes and binds human EGFR at a different epitope compared to cetuximab and EGF, whereas Cetuximab and EGF compete for binding the EGFR receptor. Targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on EGFR expressing cells (A431, EGFR.sup.++) and non-expressing cells (A2058, EGFR.sup.−) was determined. This revealed strong cell killing at low and higher concentrations of matuzumab-(SO1861)+10 pM cetuximab-saporin or 10 pM EGFdianthin in A431 cells (IC50=2 nM; FIG. 6A) whereas equivalent concentrations matuzumab, matuzumab-SO1861, matuzumab+10 pM cetuximab-saporin or matuzumab+10 pM EGFdianthin could not induce any cell killing activity in A431 cells (IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 6A). When we compare these data with the combination of cetuximab-(Cys-L-SO1861).sup.4+10 pM cetuximab-saporin or cetuximab-SO1861+10 pM EGF-dianthin we observe that at higher concentrations Cetuximab-SO1861, cell killing activity is reduced due to competition of both cetuximab conjugate and EGF for binding the EGFR receptor. In A2058 cells (EGFR.sup.−) no cell killing was observed (IC50>1000 nM; FIG. 6B) for any of the treatments. All this shows that the use of two different antibodies or antibody/ligand combinations recognizing the same receptor but bind at different epitopes, effectively induces cell killing in EGFR.sup.++ expressing cells at low and high concentrations of matuzumab-SO1861 in combination with a fixed low concentration (10 pM) of cetuximab-saporin or EGFdianthin. Thus the use of the combination according to the invention omits competition for receptor binding and reveals very effective endosomal escape and cytoplasmic toxin delivery resulting in efficient and selective tumor cell killing.
[0156] Next, cetuximab-saporin was titrated on a fixed concentration of 10 nM and 75 nM matuzumab-SO1861 and targeted protein toxin mediated cell killing on EGFR expressing cells (A431, EGFR.sup.++) was determined. This revealed that, 10 nM and 75 nM matuzumab-SO1861 in combination with low concentrations cetuximab-saporin induced efficient cell killing in EGFR expressing cells (A431: 1050=0.5 pM; FIG. 7A), whereas cetuximab-saporin or cetuximab-saporin+10 nM or 75 nM matuzumab showed only at high concentrations cell killing (1050=1000 pM FIG. 3A). When we compared these data with the combination of cetuximab-saporin+10 nM and 75 nM cetuximab-SO1861, cell killing activity was reduced with increased concentrations of cetuximab-SO1861. In A2058 cells (EGFR.sup.−) no cell killing was observed (A2058: IC50 >1000 pM; FIG. 7B). All this shows that the combination according to the invention omits receptor competition, revealing very effective endosomal escape and cytoplasmic toxin delivery resulting in very efficient and selective tumor cell killing.
SO1861-EMCH Synthesis
[0159] To SO1861 (121 mg, 0.065 mmol) and EMCH.TFA (110 mg, 0.325 mmol) was added methanol (extra dry, 3.00 mL) and TFA (0.020 mL, 0.260 mmol). The reaction mixture stirred at room temperature. After 1.5 hours the reaction mixture was subjected to preparative MP-LC..sup.1 Fractions corresponding to the product were immediately pooled together, frozen and lyophilized overnight to give the title compound (120 mg, 90%) as a white fluffy solid. Purity based on LC-MS 96%.
[0160] LRMS (m/z): 2069 [M-1].sup.1−
[0161] LC-MS r.t. (min): 1.08.sup.4
mAb-SO1861 Synthesis
To Matuzumab freshly prepared TCEP solution (1.00 mg/ml, 1.971 mole equivalents, 2.80×10.sup.−5 mmol) was added. The reaction mixture was vortexed briefly then incubated for 90 minutes at 20° C. with roller-mixing. After incubation (prior to addition of SO1861-EMCH), a 0.5 mg (0.101 ml) aliquot of Matuzumab-SH was removed and purified by gel filtration using zeba spin desalting column eluting into TBS pH 7.5. This aliquot was characterised by UV-vis analysis and Ellman's assay. To the bulk Matuzumab-SH was added an aliquot of freshly prepared SO1861-EMCH solution (2.00 mg/ml, 8 mole equivalents, 8.54×10.sup.−5 mmol, 0.089 ml), the mixture vortexed briefly then incubated for 120 minutes at 20° C. Besides the conjugation reaction, two aliquots of desalted Matuzumab-SH (0.10 mg, 0.022 ml, 6.70×10.sup.−7 mmol) were reacted with NEM (8.00 equivalents, 5.36×10.sup.−6 mmol, 0.67 pg, 2.7 μl of a 0.25 mg/ml solution) or TBS pH 7.5 buffer (2.7 μl) for 120 minutes at 20° C., as positive and negative controls, respectively. After incubation (prior to addition of NEM), a ca. 60 pg (0.020 ml) aliquot of Matuzumab-SO1861 mixture was removed and characterised by Ellman's assay alongside positive and negative controls to obtain SO1861 incorporation. To the bulk Matuzumab-SO1861 mixture was added an aliquot of freshly prepared NEM solution (0.25 mg/ml, 5 mole equivalents, 5.34×10.sup.−5 mmol, 0.007 mg) to quench the reaction. The conjugate was purified by zeba 40K MWCO spin column eluting with DPBS pH 7.5 to give purified Matuzumab-SO1861 conjugate. The product was normalised to 2.0 mg/ml and filtered to 0.2 μm, to afford Matuzumab-SO1861 (total yield=1.10 mg, 52%, Matuzumab:SO1861-EMCH=3.3).
[0162] Similar procedures were followed to produce pertuzumab-SO1861 (DAR4), cetuximab-SO1861 (DAR4), trastuzumab-SO1861 (DAR4)
Pertuzumab-Dianthin Synthesis
[0163] Dianthin-Cys (17.0 ml, ˜9.6 mg) was concentrated by ultrafiltration using a vivaspin T15 filter tube (3,000 g, 20° C., 10 minutes). The resulting 3.25 ml aliquot was gel filtered using zeba 10 ml spin columns eluting with TBS pH 7.5.
[0164] Pertuzumab (0.30 ml, ˜10 mg) was diluted to 10 mg/ml with DPBS pH 7.5, desalted via zeba 5 ml spin column eluting with DPBS pH 7.5 and normalised to 2.50 mg/ml. To an aliquot of Pert (5.00 mg, 3.30×10.sup.−5 mmol, 2.593 mg/ml) was added an aliquot of freshly prepared SMCC solution (1.00 mg/ml, 4.20 mole equivalents, 13.9×10.sup.−5 mmol) in DMSO, the mixture vortexed briefly then incubated for 60 minutes at 20° C. with roller-mixing. After, the reaction was quenched by the addition of an aliquot of a freshly prepared glycine solution (2.0 mg/ml, 5.0 mole equivalents, 69.5×10.sup.−5 mmol) in DPBS pH 7.5. Pert-SMCC (4.27 mg, 2.80×10.sup.−5 mmol, 1.514 mg/ml) was obtained after gel filtration using a zeba 10 ml spin column eluting with TBS pH 7.5.
[0165] To Dianthin-Cys (7.54 mg, 25.3×10.sup.−5 mmol, 2.258 mg/ml) was added an aliquot of freshly prepared TCEP solution (1.00 mg/ml, 0.5 mole equivalents, 12.6×10.sup.−5 mmol) in TBS pH 7.5, the mixture briefly vortexed then incubated for 60 minutes at 20° C. with roller-mixing. After, Dianthin-SH (6.0 mg, 20.2×10.sup.−5 mmol, 1.722 mg/ml, Dianthin:SH=1.1) was obtained by gel filtration using a zeba 10 ml spin column eluting with TBS pH 7.5.
[0166] To the bulk Pert-SMCC was added the aliquot of Dianthin-SH (7.20 mole equivalents), the mixture vortexed briefly then incubated overnight at 20° C. After ca. 16 hours, the reaction was quenched by the addition of an aliquot of freshly prepared NEM solution (2.50 mg/ml, 5.0 mole equivalents, 101×10.sup.−5 mmol) in TBS pH 7.5. The reaction mixture was filtered to 0.45 μm and then concentrated to <2 ml by ultrafiltration using a vivaspin T15 filter tube (3,000 g, 20° C., 15 minutes). The conjugate was purified by gel filtration using a 1.6×35 cm Superdex 200PG column eluting with DPBS pH 7.5.
Example 4. SO1861+EGFR/HER2/CD71 Targeted mAb
[0169] SO1861 was titrated on a fixed concentration of 10 pM CD71-saporin (DAR4), 10 pM cetuximab-saporin (DAR4), 10 pM matuzumab-dianthin (DAR4), 10 pM pertuzumab-saporin (DAR4), 10 pM or 50 pM pertuzumab-saporin (DAR4) and 50 pM trastuzumab-saporin (DAR4) and targeted protein toxin-mediated cell killing on A431 (EGFR.sup.++/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) and A2058 (EGFR.sup.−/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) was determined. In A431 cells (EGFR.sup.++/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) this revealed cell killing activity for all EGFR targeted antibody-toxins (10 pM cetuximab-saporin, and 10 pM matuzumab-dianthin) as well as 10 pM CD71-saporin and 50 pM pertuzumab-saporin at SO1861: IC50=200 nM, whereas 50 pM trastuzumab or 10 pM pertuzumab-saporin showed activity at IC50=250 nM and IC50=300 nM, respectively (FIG. 8A), In A2058 cells (EGFR.sup.−/HER2.sup.+/−/CD71.sup.+) the EGFR targeted antibody-toxins (10 pM cetuximab-saporin, and 10 pM matuzumab-dianthin) were not active but 10 pM CD71mab-saporin, 10 or 50 pM Pertuzumab-saporin and 50 pM trastuzumab-saporin all showed activity at SO1861: IC50=200 nM (FIG. 8B).
However, the specification does not teach the structure, e.g., amino acid sequences of the first binding molecules that encompassed any and all peptides, proteins, non-protein molecules, cell-surface receptor ligands, protein ligands (claims 1, 54), any proteinaceous binding molecule or any non-proteinaceous ligand (claim 2) or any ligand (claim 8) wherein the undisclosed first binding molecule can bind to any and all cell-surface molecule, any cell-surface molecule is any cell-surface receptor or different epitope of the same undisclosed cell-surface receptor (claim 5) conjugated to any saponin from any monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or any bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside via a linker (claim 3) in combination with a second binding molecule that different from the first binding molecule, wherein the second binding molecule comprising any possible peptides, proteins, non-protein molecules, cell-surface receptor ligands, protein ligands, that can bind to any cell-surface molecule, e.g., any cell-surface receptor of the same but different epitope (claim 5) conjugated to any effector molecule, e.g., a protein, a peptide, a carbohydrate, a saccharide such as a glycan, a (phospho)lipid, a nucleic acid such as DNA, RNA, an enzyme, toxin and regulates the biological activity of such one or more target molecule(s).
The state of the art is such that saponin represents a heterogenous phytochemicals with different structures and properties.
For example, Fuchs (Fuchs et al., Biomedicines, 5(14): 1-25, 2017; PTO 1449) teaches that saponins represent a wide spectrum in the field of secondary plant compounds and are subdivided into two groups, the steroid saponins and triterpenoid saponins, even including steroid alkaloid saponins (page 2, para. 3). The wide range of structural variation options, both in the aglycone and sugar moieties explains the variety of different saponins with diverse effects (page 2, para. 5). For example, only saponins of a certain electrophoretic mobility are able to enhance the endosomal escape (page 8, para. 2). In addition, the enhancing effect of saponin (SA1641) on a targeted toxin is clathrin- and actin-dependent. Six inhibitory agents that are known to inhibit either clathrin-mediated endocytosis, GTPase activity of dynamin-2, actin-polymerization, endosomal acidification, or caveolae-dependent endocytosis were tested. Inhibition of clathrin-mediated endocytosis, actin-polymerization, and endosomal acidification blocked the enhancer effect of Saponinum album (page 12, para. 2).
Likewise, Barr (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews 32: 247-271, 1998; PTO 892) teaches that saponins have different molecular weight, different adjuvant activity, different toxicity, and different structures (Table1, and § 3. Structural and functional analysis of purified Quillaias saponins).
Bhargava et al (Molecular Oncology 11: 1527-1543, 2017; PTO 1449) teaches that effect of endosomal escape enhancer saponin depends on the cell line, the targeting moiety, target receptor expression, and the structure of the enhancer, see p. 1539, right col. There are insufficient working examples. One of skill in the art cannot predict the structures correlated with function share by members of the genus of first and second conjugates in combination encompassed by claims.
Even assuming the first binding molecule and second binding molecule comprise an immunoglobulin (claim 8) or antibody such as any monoclonal antibody, a single-domain antibody, at least one VHH domain, at least one VH domain, a variable heavy chain new antigen receptor (VNAR) domain, a Fab, an scFv, an Fv, a dAb, an F(ab)2, or a Fcab fragment (claim 9), the specification discloses VHH 7D12 comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 and VHH 9G8 comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2. These two single domain antibodies bind to domain III of human EGFR, and compete with EGF (elected species) for binding to human EGFR. In addition 7D12 compete for binding of either cetuximab (anti-EGFR) or matuzumab (9G8). The specification also discloses pertuzumab and trastuzumab that bind to human HER2.
However, specification does not teach the structure, e.g., amino acid sequences of the heavy chain variable region and the light chain variable regions of all possible antibodies that correlated with binding to any and all cell surface molecules (claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 26, 54), any region of any cell surface receptor (claims 5, 25), or any different first and second binding sites (aka different epitope) of the cell-surface molecules simultaneously (claim 11) wherein the first binding region is selected to bind to the undisclosed first binding site of the cell-surface molecule without competing for binding of the second binding region to the second binding site (epitope) of the same-surface molecule (claim 12) or different epitopes (different first and second binding site of the same surface molecule (claim 26). There is no limitation on the structure of the first and second antibodies or ligand, and the binding sites (epitope) to which the first and second antibodies or ligands bind. The specification does not disclose a representative number of species of first and second binding molecules or antibodies comprising different binding region, e.g., heavy and light chains region for binding to different epitopes of all cell surface molecules or receptor wherein the first binding molecule is conjugated to any saponin and wherein the second binding molecule is conjugated to any effector falling within the scope of the genus or structure common to the members of the genus so the one of skill in the art can make and use the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
It is known in the art that antibodies have a large repertoire of distinct structures and that a huge variety of antibodies can be made to bind to a single epitope.
For example, Lloyd et al. taught that hundreds of functional antibody fragments can be isolated from an antibody library that bind to the same antigen wherein these antibodies have distinct heavy and light chain sequences (Lloyd et al. Protein Engineering, Design & Selection 22:159-168, 2009; PTO 892; see, e.g., Discussion).
Similarly, Edwards et al., (J Mol Biol. 334(1): 103-118, 2003; PTO 892), found that over 1000 antibodies, all different in amino acid sequence, were generated to a single protein; 568 different amino acid sequences identified for the V(H) CDR3 domains of these antibodies (Abstract).
Poosarla et al (Biotechn. Bioeng. 114(6): 1331-1342, 2017; PTO 892) teach substantial diversity in designed mAbs (sharing less than 75% sequence similarity to all existing natural antibody sequences) that bind to the same 12-mer peptide, binding to different epitopes on the same peptide. Said reference further teaches “most B-cell epitopes... in nature consist of residues from different regions of the sequence and are discontinuous...de novo antibody designs against discontinuous epitopes present additional challenges...". (See entire reference.)
Regarding antibody drug conjugate, the state of the prior art is such that the location or site of conjugation on the drug and the antibody affect conjugate stability, and pharmacokinetics of antibody drug conjugates.
For example, Strop et al (Chemistry and Biology 20: 161-167, 2013; PTO 892) teach drug position can have a significant effect on linker stability and antibody pharmacokinetics. The site of conjugation on the drug and antibody can influence ADC properties differently in mice and rats, highlighting potential pitfalls of examining efficacy in mouse xenograft models and toxicity in rats or nonhuman primates, see abstract, p 166, p. 168 right col, in particular.
Nejadmoghaddam (Avicenna Journal of Medical Biotechnology 2(1): 3-23, 2019; PTO 892) discusses major obstacles of antibody-drug conjugates include off-target toxicity, tumor marker selection, antibody specificity, adequately affinity and receptor-mediated internalization are major aspects of choice, cytotoxic payload (e.g., up to 7 drugs per antibody), cytotoxic payload linkage strategy, aqueous solubility, non-immunogenic and stability in storage and bloodstream, see entire document, abstract, p. 15, in particular.
Regarding derivatives based on any one or more saponin (claim 17), the specification does not teach the chemical structures of any such derivatives, including derivatives of SO1861 (elected species) and what effects that they may have without specific guidance. One of ordinary skilled cannot make and use the undisclosed derivatives conjugated to any first cell-surface binding molecule in combination with any second cell-surface binding molecules conjugate to any effector molecule. It is unpredictable which combination of all conjugates encompassed by claim will function in a given or predictable manner as the examples shown in the specification, e.g. enhance killing of targeted cells. There are no in vivo working examples.
Also, when combining two antibody conjugates it is not known whether the toxicities are additive, which would lead to an unacceptable level of toxicity. For example, Tol et al (N Engl J Med. 5;360(6):563-72, February 2009; PTO 892) teaches that it is not always predictable that a combination of antibodies, each of which has had positive results, will produce a positive effect. Thus, a skilled person would not have been able to predict whether a combination of antibodies/conjugates would have an additive or synergistic effect or whether the antibodies/conjugates would interfere with each other so that the combination would have a reduced effect. It is also a possibility that since both antibodies/conjugates affect normal cells, they could act in concert to be more toxic than either alone. There are no in vivo working examples.
As such, it would require undue experimentation of one skilled in the art to practice the claimed invention. See page 1338, footnote 7 of Ex parte Aggarwal, 23 USPQ2d 1334 (PTO Bd. Pat App. & Inter. 1992).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8-9, 11-14, 17, 25, 26 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilabert-Oriol et al (Biochemical Pharmacology 97: 247-255, 2015; PTO 1449) as evidenced by Voigt (Neoplasia 14(11): 1023-1031, 2012; PTO 892) in view of Gao et al (WO2015157595 publication, published Oct 15, 2015; PTO 1449).
Claim 1 is drawn to a therapeutic combination comprising:
(a) a first pharmaceutical composition comprising a conjugate comprising a first binding molecule comprising a first binding region for binding to a first binding site (epitope) of a cell-surface molecule and the conjugate comprising at least one of any saponin covalently bound to said first binding molecule, wherein the saponin is a monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside; and
(b) a second pharmaceutical composition comprising any conjugate comprising a second binding molecule different from the first binding molecule, the second binding molecule comprising a second binding region different from the first binding region, the second binding region for binding to a second binding site of said cell-surface molecule different from the first binding site of said cell-surface molecule, and the conjugate comprising an effector molecule covalently bound to said second binding molecule, wherein the first pharmaceutical composition and the second pharmaceutical composition optionally further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent.
Regarding claims 1(b), 2, 5, 6, 9, 11, 17, 25, 26, Gilabert-Oriol teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a combination of immunotoxin conjugate, e.g., dianthin-cetuximab or dianthin-panitumumab or dianthin-trastuzumab (anti-HER2) conjugate and a bidesmosidic triterpene saponin, e.g., SO1861 isolated from Saponaria officinalis, see entire document, abstract, p. 248, right col., p. 249, right col. SO1861 is a plant saponin with a triterpenoidal skeleton of oleanane type and two sugar side chains (bidesmosidic) attached to it at positions C-3 and C-28, see p. 248, left col. in particular.
Evidentiary reference Voigt teaches that chimeric cetuximab (anti-EGFR monoclonal antibody) and panitumumab (a fully human monoclonal antibody specific for human EGFR) that bind to different conformational epitope in domain III on the same human EGFR (aka cell surface molecule) wherein the binding region (aka CDRs of cetuximab and panitumumab) are different from each other, see p. 1024, left col, p. 1025, in particular. Gilabert-Oriol teaches each anti-EGFR antibody is covalently linked (conjugated) to an effector molecule, e.g., dianthin (see p. 248, right col) via a cleavable linker SPDP to the cysteine amino acid on the antibody (see p. 248, right col). The dianthin-cetuximab or dianthin-panitumumab or dianthin-trastuzumab is in combination with a second composition comprising a bidesmosidic triterpene saponin, e.g., SO1861 isolated from Saponaria officinalis, see entire document, abstract, p. 248, right col., p. 249, right col. Gilabert-Oriol teaches that saponin-mediated the endo/lysosomal escape of targeted dianthin toxin (see p. 251) without disrupting the plasma membrane, enhance the efficacy of the therapeutic antibodies, see abstract, in particular.
Regarding claim 3, the reference chimeric cetuximab (anti-EGFR monoclonal antibody) and panitumumab (a fully human monoclonal antibody specific for human EGFR) are proteinaceous ligands.
Regarding claims 8, 9, Gilabert-Oriol teaches that the first or second binding molecule is a monoclonal antibody, e.g., cetuximab (anti-EGFR) or panitumumab (anti-EGFR), or trastuzumab (anti-HER2), see p. 248, right col., Cross-linking and purification of conjugates, in particular.
Claims 5 and 12 are included because it is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to combine different antibodies, e.g., cetuximab conjugated to dianthin and panitumumab conjugated at least one saponins SO1816 would bind to the same cell-surface receptor, e.g., EGFR without competing for binding as the two antibodies bind to different epitopes on the same EGFR as taught by Voigt.
Regarding claim 13, Gilabert-Oriol teaches that the SO1861 is a plant saponin with a triterpenoidal skeleton of oleanane type and two sugar side chains (bidesmosidic) attached to it at positions C-3 and C-28, see p. 248, left col, in particular.
Regarding claim 14, Gilabert-Oriol teaches that the SO1861 saponin is from a Saponaria species, see p. 254, left col.
Gilabert-Oriol does not teach the saponin is covalently linked to an antibody as per claims 1, and 2, wherein the first antibody that binds to the first epitope without competing for the binding of the second antibody (second binding region) that binds to the second epitope (aka second binding site) of the same cell-surface receptor as per claim 12 and wherein the first binding region and the second binding region are different and that the first binding site and the second binding site are different as per claim 26.
However, Gao teaches a conjugate comprising a first binding molecule, e.g., a cysteine engineered antibody that binds to a cell-surface receptor, e.g., EGFR wherein the antibody is covalently linked to at least one heterologous moieties, e.g., saponin, see para. [0130], [0140]. Examples of heterologous moieties (aka effector) attached to a thiol group of an engineered cysteine antibody include toxin, drug, cytokine, enzyme, oligonucleotide, DNA, peptide, lipid, carbohydrate, scaffolding molecule, see page 39, para. [0131] in particular. Examples of cysteine-engineered antibody for binding to EGFR (ErbB1), HER2 (ErbB0 or p185neu, see para. [0170]) include cetuximab as per claims 13 and 26 (which is an anti-EGFR antibody, also known as ERBITUX®, p. 57, line 5), panitumumab (also known as ABX-EGF, see para. [0171]), trastuzumab (also known as HERCEPTIN® for binding to HER2, see para. [0171], [0188]). The cetuximab and panitumumab are monoclonal antibodies (mAbs, para. [0002],[0037], [0039], [0040]) that bind to a cell-surface molecule, e.g., human EGFR. Since the two antibodies bind to the same EGFR but on different epitope, the two antibodies intrinsically comprise different six CDRs and the cetuximab antibody does not competing for the binding to the EGFR with the second antibody panitumumab or vice versa.
Regarding claim 54, Gao et al teaches a kit comprising the claimed conjugate compound and all the components necessary for use, including directions, see p. 76, para. [0231].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gilabert-Oriol in view of Gao by covalently linked Gilabert-Oriol’s bidesmosidic triterpenoid saponin SO1861 to any one of Gao’s antibody cetuximab or panitumumab that binds to different epitope on the same human cell surface EGFR with a reasonable expectation of success, e.g., targeting saponin to the same cell surface EGFR for saponin-mediated the endo/lysosomal escape of targeted dianthin toxin without competing for binding to EGFR (see p. 251) and enhance the efficacy of the therapeutics, see abstract, in particular.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had an expectation of success at the time the invention was made to conjugate saponins SO1816 to any one of the antibody that binds to a different epitope on the same human EGFR or different receptor, e.g., HER2 of Gilabert-Oriol in order to avoid competition for binding of the conjugated antibodies to the same EGFR, and the conjugated saponin is expected to enhance the endo/lysosomal escape of targeted dianthin (see p. 251) without disrupting the plasma membrane, see abstract, in particular.
In addition, the claims would have been obvious because "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense". See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
“The test of obviousness is not express suggestion of the cl aimed invention in any or all of the references but rather what the references taken collectively would suggest to those of ordinary skill in the art presumed to be familiar with them.” See In re Rosselet 146 USPQ 183, 186 (CCPA 1965).
“There is no requirement (under 35 USC 103(a)) that the prior art contain an express suggestion to combine known elements to achieve the claimed invention. Rather, the suggestion to combine may come from the prior art, as filtered through the knowledge of one skilled in the art.,” Motorola, Inc, v. Interdigital Tech. Corn., 43 USPQ2d 1481, 1489 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 4, 13, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilabert-Oriol et al (Biochemical Pharmacology 97: 247-255, 2015; PTO 892) as evidenced by Voigt (Neoplasia 14(11): 1023-1031, 2012; PTO 892) in view of Gao et al (WO2015157595 publication, published Oct 15, 2015; PTO 1449) as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 17, 25, 26 mentioned above and further in view of Fuchs et al (US20080064762, published March 13, 2008; PTO 892) and Doronina et al (US20040157782, published August 12, 2004; PTO 892).
The combine teachings of Gilabert-Oriol, Voigt and Gao have been discussed supra.
The references do not teach the at least one saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene saponin belonging to the type of a 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C23 wherein the saponin is covalently bound to the first antibody via an aldehyde function in the saponin as per claim 21, wherein the at least one saponin is covalently bound to a linker EMCH, which linker is covalently bound via a thioether bond to a sulfhydryl group in the first antibody as per claim 22, and wherein the saponin comprising a glucuronic acid unit in a first saccharide chain at the C3beta-OH group of the saponin, wherein the saponin is covalently bound to an amino acid of the first antibody as per claim 23.
However, Fuchs teaches a composition comprising at least one pharmacologically active agent, e.g., toxin (see para. [0045]) coupled to a target cell specific component, e.g., antibody or antigen binding fragment or natural EGF ligand (elected species) that binds to a cell surface receptor, e.g., EGFR or HER2 (see para. [0002], [0010], [0014]), and saponins, see entire document, reference claims 1 and 11. Typical target antigens are the epidermal growth factor (EGF) receptor, the proto-oncogene receptor ErbB2 (also known as HER-2 in humans), the interleukin-2 receptor or cancer-associated carbohydrates, see paragraph[0002], in particular. Examples of conjugate include EGF ligand directly coupled to Sap-3 (SE), see para. [0077]. Examples of saponins are triterpenoic saponins, preferably having an aldehyde function at the aglycone and two sugar residues glycosidically bound to the aglycone. The triterpenoic saponins with basic structures belonging to the type of 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position 23 and a glucuronic acid unit at the C3beta-OH group of the aglycone core structure, see reference claim 11; the saponins is isolated from Saponinum album of Gypsophila paniculata, see para. [0020]. The triterpenoic saponins with basic aglycone structure
belonging to the type of 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position 23 of the aglycone core, and a glucuronic acid unit at the C3beta-OH group of the aglycone core structure, see reference claim 11.
Fuchs further teaches by combining a pharmacologically active agent with a saponin, it is possible to enhance the function of the pharmacological active agent, e.g., cytotoxicity of immunotoxins, e.g., Sap-3 (saporin-3 ribosome inactivating protein), see para. [0051].
Gilabert-Oriol, Voigt and Gao and Fuchs I do not teach the saponins are covalently bound to an amino acid residue of the antibody via a linker as per claim 4, wherein the linker is EMCH, which covalently bound via a thio-ether bond to a sulfhydryl group in the antibody as per claim 22.
However, Doronina teaches heterobifunctional linker includes, on one end, a thiol acceptor i.e., a chemical moiety that will react with a thiol group so that the sulfur atom of the thiol group becomes covalently bonded to the thiol acceptor. Thiol acceptors are well known in the art, where exemplary thio acceptor group are maleimide and haloacetamide groups. The thiol acceptor group provides a convenient site for ligand attachment. At the other end, in a preferred aspect the heterobifunctional linker has a hydrazide group. Hydrazide groups are useful end groups for a heterobifunctional linker because they readily react with carbonyl groups, i.e., aldehyde and ketone groups, where carbonyl groups can be readily incorporated into a pentapeptide compound as disclosed herein, to provide a hydrazone linkage. Incorporation of a hydrazone into the conjugate is particularly preferred in order to impart desired pH-sensitivity to the conjugate. Thus, under low pH conditions, as in acidic intracellular compartments (e.g., lysosomes), a hydrazone group will cleave and release the drug free from the ligand, see para. [0274]. Commercially available various linkers include maleimido hydrazides (e.g., .beta.-maleimido propionic acid hydrazide, Epsilon-maleimidocaproic acid hydrazide (aka EMCH), and SMCC hydrazide, available from Molecular Biosciences, Inc. Boulder Colo.), see para. [0298], thio-ether modified linker for linking any agent of interest on the mAb via the sulfhydryl group of cysteines, see Examples 22-23, in particular. Doronina teaches targeting ligand is an antibody, e.g., chimeric or humanized or a fragment thereof, see para. [0327]. Examples of antibody for treatment of cancer include, but not limited to, Herceptin™ (trastuzumab), see para. [0343], anti-transferrin receptor (also known as CD71 as per claims 11) for carcinomas, see para. [0344], in particular). Doronina teaches that the mAb-pentapeptide conjugates can be used to deliver the cytotoxic drug to tumor cells. Once the antibody has bound to tumor associated antigens, e.g., EGFR or CD71 (transferrin receptor), it is taken up inside cells through receptor-mediated endocytosis into endosomes and lysosomes. These intracellular vesicles are acidic and can induce the hydrolysis of an acid-sensitive hydrazone bond, between the drugs and the mAbs. In addition, ester bonds can be cleaved by proteases and esterase, which are in abundance within lysosomes wherein the pH is < 6.5. The released drug is then free to migrate in the cytosol and induce cytotoxic activities.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gilabert-Oriol, Voigt and Gao in view of Fuchs I and Doronina by linking any one of Gilabert-Oriol or Fuchs’ saponins to the cetuximab or panitumumab anti-EGFR antibody using any commercially available heterobifunctional linker such as Epsilon maleimidocaproic acid hydrazide (EMCH) as taught by Doronina for covalently linking sulfhydryl (cysteines) on the antibody to the aldehyde group on the saponins to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success, e.g., targeting saponins and effector toxins to the same cell surface EGF receptor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fuchs teaches that by combining a pharmacologically active agent with a saponin, it is possible to enhance the function of the pharmacological active agent, e.g., cytotoxicity of immunotoxins, para. [0054].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Doronina teaches that the linker epsilon-maleimidocaproic acid hydrazide is commercial available and the acid-sensitive hydrazone bond forms between the saponin or effector and the mAbs can be hydrolyzed by the acidic environment in endosomes and lysosomes to release the saponin.
In addition, the claims would have been obvious because "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense". See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
“The test of obviousness is not express suggestion of the cl aimed invention in any or all of the references but rather what the references taken collectively would suggest to those of ordinary skill in the art presumed to be familiar with them.” See In re Rosselet 146 USPQ 183, 186 (CCPA 1965).
“There is no requirement (under 35 USC 103(a)) that the prior art contain an express suggestion to combine known elements to achieve the claimed invention. Rather, the suggestion to combine may come from the prior art, as filtered through the knowledge of one skilled in the art.,” Motorola, Inc, v. Interdigital Tech. Corn., 43 USPQ2d 1481, 1489 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilabert-Oriol et al (Biochemical Pharmacology 97: 247-255, 2015; PTO 892) as evidenced by Voigt (Neoplasia 14(11): 1023-1031, 2012; PTO 892) in view of Gao et al (WO2015157595 publication, published Oct 15, 2015; PTO 1449) as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 17, 25, 26 mentioned above and further in view of Fuchs et al (US20080064762, published March 13, 2008; PTO 892), Gin et al (US20110300177, published December 8, 2011, PTO 892) and/or Aaronson et al (Bioconjugate Chemistry 22: 1723-1728, 2011; PTO 892).
The combine teachings of Gilabert-Oriol, Voigt and Gao have been discussed supra.
The references do not teach the combination wherein the at least one saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside belonging to the type of a 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C23 of the aglycone core structure of the saponin and comprising a glucuronic acid unit in a first saccharide chain at the C3beta-OH group of the aglycone core structure of the saponin, wherein the saponin is covalently bound to an amino-acid residue of the first binding molecule via the carboxyl group of the glucuronic acid unit in the first saccharide chain as per claim 23 and wherein the glucuronic acid unit is covalently bound to linker 1-[Bis(dimethylamino)methylene]-1H-1,2,3-triazolo[4,5-b]pyridinium 3-oxid hexafluorophosphate (HATU), wherein the linker is covalently bound via an amide bond to an amine group in the first binding molecule, e.g., antibody as per claim 24.
However, Fuchs teaches a composition comprising at least one pharmacologically active agent, e.g., toxin (see para. [0045]) coupled to a target cell specific component, e.g., antibody or antigen binding fragment or natural EGF ligand (elected species) that binds to a cell surface receptor, e.g., EGFR or HER2 (see para. [0002], [0010], [0014]), and saponins, see entire document, reference claims 1 and 11. Typical target antigens are the epidermal growth factor (EGF) receptor, the proto-oncogene receptor ErbB2 (also known as HER-2 in humans), the interleukin-2 receptor or cancer-associated carbohydrates, see paragraph[0002], in particular. Examples of conjugate include EGF ligand directly coupled to Sap-3 (SE), see para. [0077]. Examples of saponins are triterpenoic saponins, preferably having an aldehyde function at the aglycone and two sugar residues glycosidically bound to the aglycone. The triterpenoic saponins with basic structures belonging to the type of 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position 23 and a glucuronic acid unit at the C3beta-OH group of the aglycone core structure, see reference claim 11; the saponins is isolated from Saponinum album of Gypsophila paniculata, see para. [0020]. The triterpenoic saponins with basic aglycone structure
belonging to the type of 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position 23 of the aglycone core, and a glucuronic acid unit at the C3beta-OH group of the aglycone core structure, see reference claim 11.
Fuchs further teaches by combining a pharmacologically active agent with a saponin, it is possible to enhance the function of the pharmacological active agent, e.g., cytotoxicity of immunotoxins, e.g., Sap-3 (saporin-3 ribosome inactivating protein), see para. [0051].
Gilabert-Oriol, Voigt, Gao and Fuchs do not teach the glucuronic acid unit is covalently bound to linker 1-[Bis(dimethylamino)methylene]-1H-1,2,3-triazolo[4,5-b]pyridinium 3-oxid hexafluorophosphate (HATU), wherein the linker is covalently bound via an amide bond to an amine group in the first binding molecule, e.g., antibody as per claim 24.
However, Gin teaches various triterpene saponins such as QS-21 (Figure 6), QS-7 Api (Figure 7) or QS-7 (Figure 8) from Quillaia bark saponins as per claim 17, see para. [0004]) wherein the C-3OH comprises a glucuronic acid (see para. [0194]) coupled to any suitable peptide using linker such as 1-[Bis(dimethylamino)methylene]-1H-1,2,3-triazolo[4,5-b]pyridinium 3-oxid hexafluorophosphate (HATU), see para. [0353]. The major components of Quil-A showed that QS-21 had low toxicity and QS-7 showed no lethality at the doses tested in CD-1 mice intradermally. QS-7 showed no hemolytic activity at levels up to 200 .mu.g/ml of saponin, see para. [0358]. Gin further teaches Saponinum album from Gypsophila paniculata L. has been described to enhance the cytotoxicity of a chimeric toxin in cell culture, even at nonpermeabilizing concentrations, see para. [0361]. Gin further teaches that the reference compounds may be used to enhance the uptake of other cytotoxic agents, see para. [0362].
Likewise, Aaronson teaches that the amidation strategy was selected primarily because of the commercial and synthetic availability of carboxylated substrates, allowing for the preparation of a wide variety of desirable conjugates. Aaronson teaches oligonucleotide (non-proteinaceous ligand as per claim 3) conjugation using linker 1-[Bis(dimethylamino)methylene]-1H-1,2,3-triazolo[4,5-b]pyridinium 3-oxid hexafluorophosphate (HATU). Activation of the carboxylic acid substrate with HATU was performed in a separate step using anhydrous DMSO as a solvent to further minimize contract of the coupling reagent with water. One-pot coupling in which HATU, carboxylic acid, and siRNA are introduced into the same reaction vessel without pre-activation, see p. 1725, in particular. The successful conjugation of various molecule, e.g., lipophilic moieties (4a h), an affinity ligand (4i), a fluorescent label (4j), a linear PEG (4k), and a protected amino acid (4l) illustrates the versatility and utility of this method, see p. 1725, Table 1, in particular. Aaronson concludes that the principal advantage of the protocol described in this technical note is the ability to rapidly access diverse conjugates without isolating a preactivated ester. This is particularly useful when carboxylic acid partners are synthetically precious or their activated ester is not commercially available. The relatively small excess of carboxylic acid required reduces waste, conserving expensive or difficult to synthesize coupling partners. In addition to eliminating the need to isolate a preactivated ester, this protocol is rapid, with a total reaction time of 30 min. Finally, these conditions are generally applicable to a diverse set of conjugates and do not require significant alterations to solvent composition or RNA counterions for different classes of substrates, see p. 1727.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gilabert-Oriol, Voigt and Gao in view of Fuchs, Gin and Aaronson by linking any one of bidesmosidic saponins belonging to the type of 12,13-dehydrooleanane having an aldehyde function in position 23 and a glucuronic acid unit at the C3beta-OH group of the aglycone core structure isolated from Saponinum album of Fuchs or any monodesmoside Quillaja saponins Q-20 or QS-7 or QS-7api of Gin using the linker HATU as taught by Gin and/or Aaronson in a one pot-reaction for covalently linking carboxyl group of the glucuronic acid at the C3beta-OH of saponins via an amide bond to the lysine residue on the first antibody in order to target the saponins to the same EGFR expressing cell when combine with a second conjugate comprising anti-EGFR covalently linked to a toxin, to enhance the saponins mediated endosomal escape of the targeted toxin in the same cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had an expectation of success at the time the invention was made to use HATU linker to covalently link any saponins to any first antibody or EGF ligand because Gin teaches that coupling conditions of HATU are well known in the art, see para. [0353].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use HATU linker because Aaronson teaches that the one-pot coupling without pre-activation eliminating the need to isolate a preactivated ester; this protocol is rapid, with a total reaction time of 30 min. Finally, these conditions are generally applicable to a diverse set of conjugates and do not require significant alterations to solvent composition for different classes of substrates, see p. 1727.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fuchs teaches saponin enhance the specific cytotoxicity of chimeric toxin or toxin conjugate or immunotoxins and the combined application of a saponin and a pharmacologically active agent coupled to a target cell specific component is a promising tool for enhancing the function of the pharmacologically active agent, as exemplified by the improved specific cytotoxicity of immunotoxins (ITs) on target cells and reduced side-effects during tumor therapy, see para. [0080].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had an expectation of success at the time the invention was made to combine the conjugate dianthin-cetuximab or dianthin-panitumumab of Gilabert-Oriol, Voigt and Gao with the conjugate comprising bidesmosidic triterpene saponin belonging to the type of 12,13-dehydrooleanane with a glucuronic acid function in position C-3OH of any saponins to the panitumumab or EGF ligand using HATU linker of Gin or Aaronson in order to targeted toxin and saporin to same EGFR expressing cancer cells and thereby avoid off-targeted effects.
In this case, “The simple substitution of a known element, e.g., linker for another, e.g., HATU is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.”
In addition, the claims would have been obvious because "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense". See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
“The test of obviousness is not express suggestion of the cl aimed invention in any or all of the references but rather what the references taken collectively would suggest to those of ordinary skill in the art presumed to be familiar with them.” See In re Rosselet 146 USPQ 183, 186 (CCPA 1965).
“There is no requirement (under 35 USC 103(a)) that the prior art contain an express suggestion to combine known elements to achieve the claimed invention. Rather, the suggestion to combine may come from the prior art, as filtered through the knowledge of one skilled in the art.,” Motorola, Inc, v. Interdigital Tech. Corn., 43 USPQ2d 1481, 1489 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 21-26 and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 16, 19, 27, 29-30 and 50 of copending Application No. 17/312,193 (reference). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims recite:
A first proteinaceous molecule comprising a first binding site for binding to a first epitope of a first cell-surface molecule, the first proteinaceous molecule provided with at least one saponin covalently bound via at least one linker or via an oligomeric or polymeric scaffold to an amino-acid residue of said first proteinaceous molecule, or via at least one linker and an oligomeric or polymeric scaffold to an amino-acid residue of said first proteinaceous molecule or covalently bound directly to an amino-acid residue of said first proteinaceous molecule, wherein the first binding site comprises an immunoglobulin, or at least one binding domain of an immunoglobulin or at least one binding fragment of an immunoglobulin or an antibody, wherein the at least one saponin is a triterpenoid saponin or a bidesmosidic triterpene saponin belonging to the type of 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C-23.
.
Thus, both set of claims read on the claimed combination of conjugates.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 21-26 and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28-29 of copending Application No. 17/312,104 (reference). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims recite:
28. A therapeutic combination comprising:
(a) a conjugate of oligonucleotide and a saponin wherein the oligonucleotide is conjugated to at least one saponin, wherein the at least one saponin is a bidesmosidic triterpene saponin belonging to the type of a 12,13-dehydrooleanane with an aldehyde function in position C-23, and is covalently bound involving a hydrazone bond to the oligonucleotide via at least one linker, or is covalently bound directly to said oligonucleotide and optionally a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient; and
(b) an antibody-drug (effector molecule) conjugate or a ligand-drug conjugate, and optionally a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
29. The therapeutic combination of claim 28, wherein the antibody-drug conjugate can bind to any one of tumor-cell receptors CD71, CA125, EpCAM(17- 1A), CD52, CEA, CD44v6, FAP, EGF-IR, integrin, syndecan-1, vascular integrin alpha-V beta-3, HER2, EGFR, CD20, CD22, Folate receptor 1, CD146, CD56, CD19, CD138, CD27L receptor, PSMA, CanAg, integrin-alphaV, CA6, CD33, mesothelin, Cripto, CD3, CD30, CD239, CD70, CD123, CD352, DLL3, CD25, ephrinA4, MUC1, Trop2, CEACAM5, CEACAM6, HER3, CD74, PTK7, Notch3, FGF2, C4.4A, FLT3, CD38, FGFR3, CD7, PD-L1, CTLA4, CD52, PDGFRA, VEGFR1, VEGFR2, and/or wherein the antibody of the antibody- drug conjugate is or comprises any one of cetuximab, daratumumab, gemtuzumab, trastuzumab, panitumumab, brentuximab, inotuzumab, moxetumomab, polatuzumab, obinutuzumab, OKT-9 anti-CD71 monoclonal antibody of the IgG type, pertuzumab, rituximab, ofatumumab, Herceptin, alemtuzumab, pinatuzumab, OKT-10 anti-CD38 monoclonal antibody, an antibody of Table A2 or Table A3 or Table A4, or at least one tumor- cell specific receptor binding-fragment thereof and/or at least one tumor-cell specific receptor binding-domain thereof, and/or wherein the antibody-drug conjugate comprises any one of Gemtuzumab ozogamicin, Brentuximab vedotin, Trastuzumab emtansine, Inotuzumab ozogamicin, Moxetumomab pasudotox and Polatuzumab vedotin and an antibody-drug conjugate of Table A2 and Table A3, and/or wherein the ligand-drug conjugate comprises or consists of at least one non-proteinaceous ligand and/or at least one proteinaceous ligand for binding to a cell- surface molecule.
Thus, both set of claims read on the claimed combination of conjugates.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 21-26 and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 57-65, 67-76 of copending Application No. 18/012,741 (reference). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims recite:
57. (Currently Amended) A pharmaceutical combination comprising:
- a first conjugate comprising an effector molecule and a single-domain antibody (sdAb) for binding to a first cell-surface molecule, wherein the effector molecule and the sdAb are covalently linked to each other, wherein the effector molecule comprises or consists of an oligonucleotide;
- a second conjugate comprising a saponin and a binding molecule for binding to a second cell-surface molecule, wherein
o the saponin and the binding molecule are covalently linked to each other,
o the saponin is a monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside comprising
an aglycone core structure which is quillaic acid or gypsogenin and
(ii) an aldehyde at position C23 of the aglycone core structure or an acid-sensitive bond at position C23 of the aglycone core structure, wherein the acid-sensitive bond breaks under acidic conditions such that it forms the aldehyde at position C23 of the aglycone core structure, and the second cell-surface molecule and the first cell-surface molecule are present on the surface of the same target cell; and optionally
- a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and/or pharmaceutically acceptable diluent.
58. The pharmaceutical combination of claim 57 comprising two pharmaceutical compositions wherein:- the first pharmaceutical composition comprises the first conjugate; and- the second pharmaceutical composition comprises the second conjugate.
59. The pharmaceutical combination of claim 57, wherein the first conjugate and the second conjugate are provided in a single pharmaceutical composition.
60. The pharmaceutical combination of claim 57, wherein the sdAb is a VHH domain.
61. (Previously Presented) The pharmaceutical combination of claim 57, wherein the first conjugate comprises at least two sdAbs that are the same sdAbs or are capable of binding to the same binding site on the first cell-surface molecule.
62. (Currently Amended) The pharmaceutical combination of claim 57, wherein the first cell- surface molecule is a tumor-cell surface receptor and/or a tumor-cell specific receptor and/or a receptor selected from: CD71, CA125, EpCAM(17-1A), CD52, CEA, CD44v6, FAP, EGF-IR, integrin receptor, syndecan-1, vascular integrin alpha-V beta-3, HER2, EGFR, CD20, CD22, Folate receptor 1, CD146, CD56, CD19, CD27L receptor, integrin-alphaV, CD33, mesothelin, Cripto, CD3, CD30, CD239, CD70, CD123, CD352, CD25, ephrinA4, MUC-1, Trop2, CEACAMS, CEACAM6, HER3, CD74, PTK7, Notch3, C4.4A, FLT3, CD38, FGFR3, CD7, PD-L1, CTLA-4, CD52, PDGFRA, VEGFR1, VEGFR2, c-Met (HGFR), RANKL, CD16, CXCR7 (ACKR3), and glucocorticoid-induced TNFR-related protein (GITR).
63. (Previously Presented) The pharmaceutical combination of claim 57, wherein the first conjugate comprises an sdAb that can bind to HER2 or CD71.
64. (Previously Presented) The pharmaceutical combination of claim 57, wherein the oligonucleotide is a natural, synthetic, or modified oligonucleotide that is selected from any one or more of deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA), ribonucleic acid (RNA), anti-sense oligonucleotide (ASO, AON), short interfering RNA (siRNA), anti-microRNA (anti-miRNA), DNA aptamer, RNA aptamer, peptide nucleic acid (PNA), phosphonamidite morpholino oligomer (PMO), locked nucleic acid (LNA), bridged nucleic acid (BNA), 2'-deoxy-2'-fluoroarabino nucleic acid (FANA), 2'-O-methoxyethyl-RNA (MOE), 3'-fluoro hexitol nucleic acid (FHNA), glycol nucleic acid (GNA), and threose nucleic acid (TNA).Attorney Docket No.: 40306-54337/US 65. (Previously Presented) The pharmaceutical combination of claim 57, wherein the saponin comprises an aglycone core structure selected from:2alpha-hydroxy oleanolic acid; 16alpha-hydroxy oleanolic acid; hederagenin (23-hydroxy oleanolic acid); 16alpha,23-dihydroxy oleanolic acid; gypsogenin; quillaic acid; protoaescigenin-21(2-methylbut-2-enoate)-22-acetate; 23-oxo-barringtogenol C-21,22-bis(2-methylbut-2-enoate); 23-oxo-barringtogenol C-21(2-methylbut-2-enoate)-16,22-diacetate; 3,16,28-trihydroxy oleanan-12-en; and gypsogenic acid.
Thus, both set of claims read on the claimed combination of conjugates.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 21-26 and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 77 and 78 of copending Application No. 18/012,754 (reference). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims recite:
77. A pharmaceutical combination comprising:
- a first conjugate comprising an effector molecule and a single-domain antibody for binding to a first cell-surface molecule, wherein the single-domain antibody is a VHH domain that can bind to CD71, wherein the first cell-surface molecule is CD71, wherein the effector molecule and the sdAb are covalently linked to each other and wherein the effector molecule comprises or consists of a nucleic acid, a modified saponin, wherein the saponin is a monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside, wherein the modified saponin is a monodesmosidic triterpene glycoside or a bidesmosidic triterpene glycoside comprising a modified aglycone core structure being a modified quillaic acid or a modified gypsogenin wherein the aldehyde group in position C-23 of quillaic acid or of gypsogenin, respectively, is chemically modified by transformation into a hydrazone bond;
wherein the modified saponin is comprised within a second conjugate, which comprises a binding molecule for binding to a second cell-surface molecule and the modified saponin, which binding molecule and the modified saponin are covalently linked to each other, either directly or via a linker, the combination optionally further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and/or pharmaceutically acceptable diluent.
78. (New) The pharmaceutical combination of claim 77, wherein the modified saponin is covalently bound to the binding molecule via the hydrazone bond at C-23 of said quillaic acid or of said gypsogenin aglycone core structure.
Thus, both set of claims read on the claimed combination of conjugates.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PHUONG HUYNH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641