DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment of Election
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse. MPEP § 818.01(a).
Claims 9 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending. Of the pending claims, claims 1-8 are presented for examination on the merits, and claims 9 and 10 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Five (5) information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) were submitted on 05/08/2023, 01/15/2025, 01/22/2025, 03/31/2025, and 08/21/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0082418 (A1) to Qin et al. (“Qin”) in view of WO 2018/110157 (A1) (also US 2019/0308248 (A1)) to Yamauchi et al. (“Yamauchi”).
US 2019/0308248 (A1) is a pre-grant publication of U.S. appl. ser. no. 16/307,877, which is a 371 national stage application of PCT/JP2017/040216, published by WIPO as WO 2018/110157 (A1). The pre-grant publication will serve as an equivalent of and the translation for the WIPO publication.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Qin discloses a method of making silver nanostructures, e.g., nanowires (method for producing silver nanowires). Para. [0071], [0072]. The method includes a step of providing a first mixture containing bromide ion in a solution containing poly(vinyl pyrrolidone) (PVP) and ethylene glycol (EG) (collectively corresponds to raw material solution (B) comprising halide ions and solvent (b)). Para. [0073], [0095]. The method further includes a step of providing a silver precursor solution (corresponds to raw material solution (A) comprising silver ions and a solvent (a)) and adding it to the bromide solution. Para. [0074].
In an example, a solution of NaBr (sodium bromide) in EG is added to PVP dissolved in EG (forming raw material solution (B) comprising halide ions and solvent (b)). Para. [0095], [0097]. A solution of AgNO3 in EG is prepared (raw material solution (A) comprising silver ions and a solvent (a)). Para. [0097]. The solution of AgNO3 in EG (1.5 mL, 100 mM) is added to the NaBr-containing solution (NaBr solution (60x10-3, 50 mM) plus PVP in EG (4 mL)) (adding raw material solution (A) to raw material solution (B)). Para. [0097].
In this example, no source of chloride ions is added (halide ions include substantially no chloride ions, forming silver nanowires in an obtained mixed solution substantially containing no chloride ions), and sodium bromide is the only source of halide ions (97.0 mol% or more of the halide ions are bromide ions).
Qin discloses that the silver precursor solution can be added at a desired injection rate, e.g., 0.15 mL/min (para. [0074], [0097]), but does not specifically identify a rate as defined in the claims. However, Qin teaches that the gradual increase of the Ag precursor concentration is critical because it allows for the Ag atoms to become significantly slow on the reaction mixture. Para. [0107]. This is important for forming nanowires with reduced lateral dimensions (thinner nanowires). Para. [0107].
Yamauchi is directed to a method for producing silver nanowires. Abstract; para. [0002]. The method includes the dropwise addition of a silver compound mixture to a polyol and halogen solution. Para. [0043], [0059]. Although the rate at which the mixture is added dropwise may be any rate, the rate is preferably lower in order to obtain silver nanowires with a longer average length. Para. [0055]. Additionally, keeping the concentration of silver in the reaction solution high after dropping is ended will make the nanowires thick; thus, the rate must be sufficiently low so that the average increase rate of silver concentration in reaction solution is kept low. Para. [0055].
It is well held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05(II). Therefore, given the direct effect of silver ion addition on the dimensions of the nanowire, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the claimed parameters, such as by minimizing the addition rate of silver ions addition and total amount of silver ions added within a particular time frame, in order to achieve a desired nanowire diameter.
Regarding claim 3, Qin discloses that the AgNO3 and the NaBr are each prepared as a solution in EG (ethylene glycol) (each of the solvent (a) and the solvent (b) is a polyol, the polyol being ethylene glycol). Para. [0095], [0097].
Regarding claim 4, Qin discloses the presence of PVP (poly(vinyl pyrrolidone)) in the solution to which NaBr is added (raw material solution (B) contains a polymer including a structural unit derived from N-vinylphyrrolidone). Para. [0095], [0097].
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Qin discloses that the AgNO3 is a source of Ag+ ions (silver ions dissociated from a silver compound in solvent (a), the silver compound is silver nitrate). Para. [0107]. Other silver compounds include CH3COOAg (silver acetate). Para. [0074].
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Qin discloses that the NaBr solution creates a bromide ion solution (halide ions are those dissociated from a halide in the solvent (b)). Para. [0007], [0073]. NaBr (sodium bromide) is a metal halide.
Conclusion
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
August 07, 2026