DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 9 and 10 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagel et al (hereafter Nagel)(US Pub. 20200293864) in view of Xie et al (hereafter Xie)(US Pub. 20200027556).
7. As to claim 1, Nagel discloses a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) communication method ([0021]-[0022] GPU), comprising:
decomposing a matrix to be transmitted on each GPU into sub-matrices and a compressed matrix, wherein the compressed matrix obtained by decomposing each matrix to be transmitted is the same ([0048]-[0049] compressing [0050]-[0052] decomposing into sub-matrices);
causing each GPU to perform a reduce operation for respective sub-matrices, such that each GPU obtains an intermediate matrix ([0051]-[0052] rank reduced weight sub-matrix); and
respectively multiplying, by the compressed matrix, one or more intermediate matrices received by each GPU and the intermediate matrix of the GPU itself, so as to obtain a final matrix ([0049], [0051], [0064] multiplying).
8. Nagel does not disclose performing an allgather operation on each GPU, such that each GPU respectively sends the intermediate matrix of the GPU itself to all other GPUs.
However, Xie discloses performing an allgather operation on each GPU, such that each GPU respectively sends the intermediate matrix of the GPU itself to all other GPUs ([0121] all-gather execution).
9. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nagel, by incorporating an all-gather operation, as in Xie, for the benefit of reducing the latency of inter-machine gpu-gpu communication (Xie, [0123]).
10. As to claims 9 and 10, the combination of Nagel and Xie disclose a computer device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory, which stores a computer program executable on the processor, wherein when executing the computer program, the processor executes the operations of the method according to any one of claims 1-8 and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which stores a computer program, wherein when executed by a processor, the computer program executes the operations of the method according to any one of claims 1-8 ([0007]-[0009]).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 2-8 and 11-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
12. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claims recite at least wherein causing each GPU to perform the reduce operation for the respective sub-matrices, such that each GPU obtains the intermediate matrix further comprises: performing a compress operation on the intermediate matrix on each GPU; and respectively multiplying, by the compressed matrix, one or more intermediate matrices received by each GPU and the intermediate matrix of the GPU itself, so as to obtain the final matrix further comprises: performing a decompress operation on the one or more intermediate matrices received by each GPU and the intermediate matrix of the GPU itself, and respectively multiplying, by the compressed matrix, the one or more intermediate matrices and the intermediate matrix of the GPU itself, so as to obtain the final matrix; and
wherein causing each GPU to perform the reduce operation for respective sub-matrices, such that each GPU obtains the intermediate matrix comprises: after decomposing, in each GPU, each matrix to be transmitted into sub-matrices and the compressed matrix, respectively sending, by each GPU, a corresponding sub- matrix to all other GPUs, so that each GPU adds one or more received sub-matrices with one sub-matrix of the GPU itself to obtain the intermediate matrix.
The closest prior art of record US Pub. 20200293864 and 20200027556 teach the limitations as in independent claim 1; however, they do not teach or suggest at least wherein causing each GPU to perform the reduce operation for the respective sub-matrices, such that each GPU obtains the intermediate matrix further comprises: performing a compress operation on the intermediate matrix on each GPU; and respectively multiplying, by the compressed matrix, one or more intermediate matrices received by each GPU and the intermediate matrix of the GPU itself, so as to obtain the final matrix further comprises: performing a decompress operation on the one or more intermediate matrices received by each GPU and the intermediate matrix of the GPU itself, and respectively multiplying, by the compressed matrix, the one or more intermediate matrices and the intermediate matrix of the GPU itself, so as to obtain the final matrix; and
wherein causing each GPU to perform the reduce operation for respective sub-matrices, such that each GPU obtains the intermediate matrix comprises: after decomposing, in each GPU, each matrix to be transmitted into sub-matrices and the compressed matrix, respectively sending, by each GPU, a corresponding sub- matrix to all other GPUs, so that each GPU adds one or more received sub-matrices with one sub-matrix of the GPU itself to obtain the intermediate matrix.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D. YAARY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151