Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has NOT complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/045602 (hereinafter prov5602), fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. There is no description in the prior-filed application that discloses “transmit[ting] a Registration Request to a network node comprising an indication for requesting a default network slice” as recited in the independent claims 1 and 11, “receiving a registration request from a wireless device comprising an indication for requesting a default network slice” as recited in the independent claim 13, or “wherein the Registration Accept message comprises a User Equipment, UE, Route Selection Policy, URSP, rule associated with a default S-NSSAI” as recited in the dependent claim 5. The prov5602 fails to explicitly teach at least these recited features. Descriptions in [0007], [0016], [0039] and [0040], Figure 9.11.3.36.1, Table 9.11.3.36.1 and Table 8.2.7.1.1 in the prov5602 maybe relevant to the feature, they only disclose registration request message, network slicing indication element with Default subscribed S-NSSAI request indication field and registration accept message containing network slicing indication element.
Accordingly, claims 1, 5-11, and 13-18 are NOT entitled to the benefit of the prov5602.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 13 have been fully considered, a new ground for rejection has been made in view of amendment. Claims 1, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (See 103 rejection of claims 1 and 13 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200120589 A1 (hereinafter Velev), in view of “Request for default subscribed S-NSSAI”, C1-205180, 3GPP TSG-CT WG1 Meeting #125-e electronic meeting, 20-28 August 2020 (hereinafter C1-5180).
Regarding claim 1, Velev teaches A wireless device for determining a default network slice, the
wireless device comprising (Velev Fig. 1, [0029] FIG. 1 depicts a wireless communication system 100. the wireless communication system 100 includes remote units 105, base units 110, and communication links 115. Note: remote unit 105 is the wireless device.)
processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless device to (Velev Fig. 3, [0048] FIG. 3 depicts one embodiment of a remote apparatus 300. The remote apparatus 300 may be one embodiment of the remote unit 105, the relay unit 120, the remote UE 205, and/or the relay UE 210. Furthermore, the remote apparatus 300 includes a processor 305, a memory 310, an input device 315, a display 320, and a transceiver 325. ):
transmit a Registration Request to a network node
receive a Registration Accept message comprising one or more allowed Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAIs) and a default Velev [0083] The network procedure 500 begins at FIG. 5A with the UE 205 performing an initial registration with the AMF 135 (see block 502). In certain embodiments, the UE 205 sends a NAS Registration Request message and receives a NAS Registration Accept message.
[0085] In certain embodiments, the NSSP (e.g., Configured NSSAI in the UE) of the UE 205 is not available in the network. For example, the AMF 135 (or a PCF) may not have information about the Configured NSSAI for a roaming UE 205. As another example, the UE 205 may not send a Requested NSSAI in the NAS Registration Request message. In such embodiments, the AMF 135 includes an Allowed NSSAI including one or multiple default S-NSSAI(s) in the NAS Registration Accept message to the UE 205.); and
establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session using the received default Velev [0043] a network operator may provision the UE 205 with a network slice selection policy (“NSSP”). A NSSP includes one or more NSSP rules with each rule associating an application with a certain S-NSSAI. When an application on the UE 205 associated with a specific S-NSSAI requests data transmission, then the UE 205 sends the application's user data using a PDU session established with the S-NSSAI.
[0085] In certain embodiments, the NSSP (e.g., Configured NSSAI in the UE) of the UE 205 is not available in the network. For example, the AMF 135 (or a PCF) may not have information about the Configured NSSAI for a roaming UE 205. As another example, the UE 205 may not send a Requested NSSAI in the NAS Registration Request message. In such embodiments, the AMF 135 includes an Allowed NSSAI including one or multiple default S-NSSAI(s) in the NAS Registration Accept message to the UE 205. In case of multiple default S-NSSAIs, the NAS Registration Accept message may include an indication (e.g., usage information) to the UE 205 how the UE should use the default Allowed S-NSSAIs. Here, the usage information (indication) may indicate, a mapping of S-NSSAI to a subscribed DNN.
[0087] After registering with the network, the UE 205 establishes a PDU session in order to send/receive data (e.g., IP data or non-IP data) via the mobile communication network (see block 504). Here, the PDU session is established using a first set of parameters (e.g., S-NSSAI, DNN, SSC Mode, PDU Type, etc.). For example, the first set of parameters may include: [S-NSSAI-a, DNN-1, SSC1, PDU IP type, etc.].
Note: From [0043], [0085] and [0087], the default S-NSSAI is sent from the AMF to the UE and then used in the PDU session establishment when there is no NSSP rules to associate an application with a particular S-NSSAI, i.e. an application without an S-NSSAI association. ).
Velev does not explicitly teach the Registration Request comprising an indication for requesting a default network slice; the default network slice in Registration Accept message is a default subscribed network slice.
C1-5180 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the Registration Request comprising an indication for requesting a default network slice (C1-5180 page 33, if the current allowed NSSAI does not contain any default subscribed S-NSSAI as described in subsclause 4.6.2 and the UE decides to request default subscribed S-NSSAI(s), then the UE shall:
a) include the Requested NSSAI IE in the the REGISTRATION REQUEST message with S-NSSAI(s) from the stored allowed NSSAI; and
b) the Network slicing indication IE in the REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the Default subscribed S-NSSAI indication set to "Default subscribed S-NSSAI requested or included in allowed NSSAI".
page 54, Network slicing indication IE: In the UE to network direction, the UE may request default subscribed S-NSSAI(s). );
the default network slice in Registration Accept message is a default subscribed network slice (C1-5180 page 21, If the allowed NSSAI contains default subscribed S-NSSAI(s), then the AMF shall include the Network slicing indication IE in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message with the Default subscribed S-NSSAI indication set to "Default subscribed S-NSSAI requested or included in allowed NSSAI".
page 54, Network slicing indication IE: In the network to UE direction, the network may indicate that allowed NSSAI contains default subscribed S-NSSAI(s)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Registration Request of Velev to comprise an indication for requesting a default network slice and modify the default network slice in Registration Accept message of Velev to be a default subscribed network slice as taught by C1-5180, in order to prevent unsuccessful PDU session establishment (C1-5180 page 2). Known work in one field of endeavor (C1-5180 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Velev prior art) based on design incentives (preventing unsuccessful PDU session establishment) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 11 recites similar limitations of claim 1, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 13, Velev teaches A method performed by an Access and Mobility Function,
AMF, for determining a default network slice, comprising (Velev Fig. 4, [0063] FIG. 4 depicts one embodiment of a network function apparatus 400 that may be used for reconfiguring a data connection using new parameters and/or re-registering a remote unit using the new parameters, according to embodiments of the disclosure. The network function apparatus 400 may be one embodiment of the AMF 135. ):
receiving a registration request from a wireless device Velev [0083] The network procedure 500 begins at FIG. 5A with the UE 205 performing an initial registration with the AMF 135 (see block 502). In certain embodiments, the UE 205 sends a NAS Registration Request message and receives a NAS Registration Accept message.
[0085] In certain embodiments, the NSSP (e.g., Configured NSSAI in the UE) of the UE 205 is not available in the network. For example, the AMF 135 (or a PCF) may not have information about the Configured NSSAI for a roaming UE 205. As another example, the UE 205 may not send a Requested NSSAI in the NAS Registration Request message. In such embodiments, the AMF 135 includes an Allowed NSSAI including one or multiple default S-NSSAI(s) in the NAS Registration Accept message to the UE 205. ).
Velev does not explicitly teach the Registration Request comprising an indication for requesting a default network slice; the default network slice in Registration Accept message is a default subscribed network slice.
C1-5180 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the Registration Request comprising an indication for requesting a default network slice (C1-5180 page 33, if the current allowed NSSAI does not contain any default subscribed S-NSSAI as described in subsclause 4.6.2 and the UE decides to request default subscribed S-NSSAI(s), then the UE shall:
a) include the Requested NSSAI IE in the the REGISTRATION REQUEST message with S-NSSAI(s) from the stored allowed NSSAI; and
b) the Network slicing indication IE in the REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the Default subscribed S-NSSAI indication set to "Default subscribed S-NSSAI requested or included in allowed NSSAI".
page 54, Network slicing indication IE: In the UE to network direction, the UE may request default subscribed S-NSSAI(s). );
the default network slice in Registration Accept message is a default subscribed network slice (C1-5180 page 21, If the allowed NSSAI contains default subscribed S-NSSAI(s), then the AMF shall include the Network slicing indication IE in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message with the Default subscribed S-NSSAI indication set to "Default subscribed S-NSSAI requested or included in allowed NSSAI".
page 54, Network slicing indication IE: In the network to UE direction, the network may indicate that allowed NSSAI contains default subscribed S-NSSAI(s).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Registration Request of Velev to comprise an indication for requesting a default network slice and modify the default network slice in Registration Accept message of Velev to be a default subscribed network slice as taught by C1-5180, in order to prevent unsuccessful PDU session establishment (C1-5180 page 2). Known work in one field of endeavor (C1-5180 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Velev prior art) based on design incentives (preventing unsuccessful PDU session establishment) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Velev in view of C1-5180 (hereinafter combination) discloses The method of
claim 13.
Velev teaches wherein the registration request does not comprise a requested NSSAI (Velev
[0085] the UE 205 may not send a Requested NSSAI in the NAS Registration Request message. ).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev in view of C1-5180 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220264370 A1 (hereinafter Qiao) and US 20210385724 A1 (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses The wireless device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the Registration Accept message comprises a
User Equipment, UE, Route Selection Policy, URSP, rule associated with the default S-NSSAI.
Qiao in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the Registration Accept message comprises a User Equipment, UE, Route Selection Policy, URSP, rule (Qiao [0194] the AMF may send to the UE a message (e.g. registration accept message) comprising the URSP rule. [0025] URSP UE Route Selection Policy.), Qiao does not explicitly teach the URSP, rule is associated with the default S-NSSAI.
Wang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the URSP, rule is associated with the default S-NSSAI (Wang [0033] A URSP rule may indicate an application or service and the corresponding network slice (and/or PDU session) that may be used for transmitting traffic associated with the application or service. In certain situations, the user device 101 might not store a URSP rule for a particular application or service, and the traffic associated with that application or service may be transmitted according to a default URSP rule, which may direct the traffic to a default network slice.).
Therefore Qiao in combination with Wang teaches wherein the Registration Accept message comprises a User Equipment, UE, Route Selection Policy, URSP, rule associated with the default S-NSSAI.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Qiao’s above teachings. The motivation is improving service quality (Qiao [0165]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Qiao prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Velev and C1-5180 prior art) based on design incentives (improving service quality) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination as modified by Qiao with Wang’s above teachings. The motivation is prioritizing user traffic (Wang [0067]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Wang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Velev, C1-5180 and Qiao prior art) based on design incentives (prioritizing user traffic) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev in view of C1-5180 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 3634041 A1 (hereinafter Sama).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses The wireless device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein in order to establish the PDU session, the
processing circuitry is further configured to send a new registration request comprising a default S-NSSAI.
Sama in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein in order to establish the PDU session, the processing circuitry is further configured to send a new registration request comprising a default S-NSSAI (Sama Fig. 3, [0025] Figure 3 shows a message flow diagram 300 illustrating the behaviour of a UE 301 which is in the coverage area of a VPLMN (visited PLMN, i.e. not in the HPLMN of the UE 301) and tries to register with the VPLMN.
[0029] If it has a Default Configured NSSAI it sends the registration request with an indication of the Requested NSSAI corresponding to the Default Configured NSSAI value in 302. ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Sama’s above teachings. The motivation is enabling the communication terminal to access a desired network slice (Sama [0124]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Sama prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Velev and C1-5180 prior art) based on design incentives (enabling the communication terminal to access a desired network slice) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Velev in view of C1-5180 and Sama discloses The wireless device of claim 6.
Velev in view of C1-5180 does not explicitly teach wherein the new registration request further
comprises one or more specific S-NSSAIs different from the default S-NSSAI.
Sama teaches wherein the new registration request further comprises one or more specific S-
NSSAIs different from the default S-NSSAI (Sama Fig. 3, [0028] The UE 301 sends a registration request in 302 to the network side 303 including the Requested NSSAI from the Configured NSSAI for this PLMN.).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Sama) regarding claim 6 is applicable to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Velev in view of C1-5180 and Sama discloses The wireless device of claim 6.
Velev teaches wherein in order to establish the PDU session, the processing circuitry is further
configured to provide a PDU session establishment request to the network node (Velev [0087] After registering with the network, the UE 205 establishes a PDU session in order to send/receive data (e.g., IP data or non-IP data) via the mobile communication network (see block 504). Note: Fig. 5A, block 504 shows PDU session establishment procedure. ).
Regarding claim 9, Velev in view of C1-5180 and Sama discloses The wireless device of claim 8.
Velev teaches wherein the PDU session establishment request comprises the default S-NSSAI
(Velev [0087] After registering with the network, the UE 205 establishes a PDU session in order to send/receive data (e.g., IP data or non-IP data) via the mobile communication network (see block 504). Here, the PDU session is established using a first set of parameters (e.g., S-NSSAI, DNN, SSC Mode, PDU Type, etc.). Note: As indicated in claim 1 rejection, the default S-NSSAI is sent from the AMF to the UE and then used in the PDU session establishment when there is no NSSP rules to associate an application with a particular S-NSSAI.).
Regarding claim 10, Velev in view of C1-5180 and Sama discloses The wireless device of claim 8.
Velev teaches wherein the PDU session establishment request does not comprise the default S-
NSSAI (Velev [0095] the previously established PDU session may need to be reestablished due to the NSI change (e.g., due to one or more parameters used to establish the PDU session becoming unavailable/invalid). the established PDU session may still need to be re-established with another S-NSSAI which is part of the set of stored Allowed S-NSSAIs due to the change in NSI. ).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev in view of C1-5180 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sama and US 20230037553 A1 (hereinafter Shih) (priority document US 62962932, hereinafter prov2932).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses The method of claim 13.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the registration request comprises an
indication requesting a default S-NSSAI to be registered and identified among one or more pre-registered S-NSSAIs for an allowed NSSAI.
Sama in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the registration request comprises an indication requesting a default S-NSSAI to be registered (Sama Fig. 3, [0025] Figure 3 shows a message flow diagram 300 illustrating the behaviour of a UE 301 which is in the coverage area of a VPLMN (visited PLMN, i.e. not in the HPLMN of the UE 301) and tries to register with the VPLMN.
[0029] If it has a Default Configured NSSAI it sends the registration request with an indication of the Requested NSSAI corresponding to the Default Configured NSSAI value in 302.).
Sama does not explicitly teach the default S-NSSAI is identified among one or more pre-registered S-NSSAIs for an allowed NSSAI.
Shih in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the default S-NSSAI is identified among one or more pre-registered S-NSSAIs for an allowed NSSAI (Shih [0080] In one implementation, the UE may determine one or more S-NSSAIs as the default S-NSSAI(s) for the UE's intended slice based on the allowed S-NSSAIs. (prov2932 page 11) ).
Therefore Sama in combination with Shih teaches wherein the registration request comprises an
indication requesting a default S-NSSAI to be registered and identified among one or more pre-registered S-NSSAIs for an allowed NSSAI.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Sama’s above teachings. The motivation is enabling the communication terminal to access a desired network slice (Sama [0124]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Sama prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Velev and C1-5180 prior art) based on design incentives (enabling the communication terminal to access a desired network slice) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination as modified by Sama with Shih’s above teachings. The motivation is enabling the UE to quickly support the UE's intended slice in an energy-efficient and/or low-latency manner (Shih [0025] (prov2932 page 1)). Known work in one field of endeavor (Shih prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Velev, C1-5180 and Sama prior art) based on design incentives (enabling the UE to quickly support the UE's intended slice in an energy-efficient and/or low-latency manner) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev in view of C1-5180 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 20190200209 A1 (hereinafter Velev2).
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses The method of claim 13.
The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising receiving, from a Unified Data Management, UDM, subscription information comprising the one or more subscribed S-NSSAIs.
Velev2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further comprising receiving, from a Unified Data Management, UDM, subscription information comprising the one or more subscribed S-NSSAIs (Velev2 [0079] After a serving AMF authenticates the UE and downloads the UE's subscription information from the UDM, the serving AMF knows the subscribed S-NSSAIs for this UE. ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Velev2’s above teachings. The motivation is providing network slicing configuration to the UE (Velev2 [0004]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Velev2 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Velev and C1-5180 prior art) based on design incentives (providing network slicing configuration to the UE) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev in view of C1-5180 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of “Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 16)”, 3GPP TS 23.502, V16.4.0 (2020-03) (hereinafter 23.502).
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses The method of claim 13.
The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising: sending a request to a Network
Slice Selection Function, NSSF, to request a network slice selection; and receiving a response from the NSSF comprising the network slice selection.
23.502 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further comprising:
sending a request to a Network Slice Selection Function, NSSF, to request a network slice selection (23.502, page 41, Figure 4.2.2.2.3-1: Registration with AMF re-allocation procedure. Step 4a.
page 42, 4a. Initial AMF to NSSF: Nnssf_NSSelection_Get If there is a need for slice selection, the initial AMF invokes the Nnssf_NSSelection_Get service operation from the NSSF.); and
receiving a response from the NSSF comprising the network slice selection (23.502, page 41 Figure 4.2.2.2.3-1: Registration with AMF re-allocation procedure. Step 4b.
Page 42 4b. NSSF to Initial AMF: Response to Nnssf_NSSelection_Get. The NSSF returns to initial AMF the Allowed NSSAI …).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with 23.502’s above teachings. The motivation is enabling the UE to register with the network to receive services (23.502 4.2.2.2.1 page 23). Known work in one field of endeavor (23.502 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Velev and C1-5180 prior art) based on design incentives (enabling the UE to register with the network to receive services) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, Velev in view of C1-5180 and 23.502 discloses The method of claim 17.
23.502 teaches wherein: the request comprises an indication to register the one or more
subscribed S-NSSAIs (23.502, Section 5.2.16.2.1 Nnssf_NSSelection_Get service operation, page 534, Inputs: Subscribed S-NSSAI(s) with the indication if marked as default S-NSSAI, PLMN ID of the SUPI, TAI, NF type of the NF service consumer, Requester ID.
); and
the response comprises one of: the one or more subscribed S-NSSAIs; and the one or more marked S-NSSAIs (23.502, Section 5.2.16.2.1 Nnssf_NSSelection_Get service operation, page 535, Outputs: Subscribed S-NSSAIs for the UE, Mapping of S-NSSAIs associated with the subscribed S-NSSAIs for the UE in the Serving PLMN.
).
The motivation for modification set forth above (23.502) regarding claim 17 is applicable to claim 18.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418