DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and the accompanying arguments, filed 05/22/2026, with respect to the plurality of anchor portions being arranged in a staggered pattern in a plan view have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sun (US 2021/0408461).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7, 9-11, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0343753) in view of Sun (US 2021/0408461).
In reference to claim 1, Kim et al. (US 2018/0343753), hereafter “Kim,” discloses a display device, with reference to Figure 3, comprising:
a display region DA of an image;
a terminal region FA2 provided with a plurality of terminals CTEb; and
a bending region BA that is a region between the display region and the terminal region and that is bendable,
wherein the bending region includes
a first resin layer INS_B, paragraphs 113 and 114,
a plurality of relay wiring lines Dc provided on the first resin layer and provided between the display region and the terminal region, paragraph 115,
a second resin layer INS2 provided at an upper layer of the plurality of relay wiring lines and the first resin layer, paragraph 91, and
a third resin layer INS3 provided on the second resin layer, paragraph 124, and
a surface of each of the second resin layer and the third resin layer is provided with a plurality of anchor portions each of which includes a protruding portion provided at one surface and a recessed portion provided at the other surface, the recessed portion being engaged with the protruding portion, paragraph 121,
wherein the plurality of anchor portions is provided in both of a first region overlapping the plurality of relay wiring lines in a plan view, implied by the cross section of Figure 3, and a second region not overlapping the plurality of relay wiring lines in the plan view, paragraph 136 (“openings OPN may be provided between the plurality of lines,”).
Kim does not disclose the plurality of anchor portions are arranged in a staggered pattern in a plan view.
Sun (US 2021/0408461), hereafter “Sun,” discloses an analogous display device including teaching a plurality of anchor portions, 105 (1051, 1052) in Figure 1, paragraphs 57 and 58, wherein the plurality of anchor portions are arranged in a staggered pattern in a plan view, 1051 in Figure 5 and paragraph 70. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the plurality of anchor portions to be arranged in a staggered pattern in a plan view. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting one anchor portion arrangement for another, as suggested by the alternatives of Sun Figures 4 and 5.
In reference to claim 2, Kim discloses the plurality of anchor portions are provided in a matrix shape in the bending region in a plan view, (“the openings OPN may be provided in the form of a plurality of rows”), paragraph 136.
In reference to claim 3, Kim discloses the plurality of anchor portions are also provided, in regions FA1, FA2 outside the bending region, BA, Figure 3.
In reference to claim 4, Kim discloses wherein each of a plurality of the protruding portions has a reversely tapered shape in which a length in a width direction parallel to the one surface increases from a base portion coming into contact with the one surface to a tip portion being an end portion at an opposite side to the base portion, Figure 4A and paragraph 126.
In reference to claim 5, Kim discloses the plurality of anchor portions are provided at inner sides than the relay wiring lines provided at both ends among the plurality of relay wiring lines in a plan view (anchor portions all between the ends of the relay wiring Dc in Figure 3).
In reference to claim 6, Kim discloses the one surface provided with a plurality of the protruding portions is a surface of the second resin layer INS2, and the other surface provided with a plurality of the recessed portions is a surface of the third resin layer INS3, see annotated Figure 3 below.
[AltContent: textbox (Protrusions of third resin INS3/
Recesses of second resin INS2)][AltContent: textbox (recesses of third resin INS3/
protrusions of second resin INS2)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]In reference to claim 7, Kim discloses the one surface provided with a plurality of the protruding portions is a surface of the third resin layer INS3, and the other surface provided with a plurality of the recessed portions is a surface of the second resin layer INS2, see annotated Figure 3 below.
In reference to claim 9, Kim discloses, a plurality of first lead-out wiring lines Db extending from the display region into a direction of the bending region;
a plurality of second lead-out wiring lines Dd individually extending in the direction of the bending region from the corresponding plurality of terminals, paragraph 105, see also lines LP in Figure 2 and paragraphs 48-51 and 55; and
a first insulating layer PSV3 covering the plurality of first lead-out wiring lines and the plurality of second lead-out wiring lines,
wherein, in each of the plurality of relay wiring lines,
one end portion is electrically connected to the corresponding first lead-out wiring line among the plurality of first lead-out wiring lines through a corresponding first contact hole among a plurality of the first contact holes formed in the first insulating layer, (where Dc meets Db in Figure 3) and
the other end portion is electrically connected to the corresponding second lead-out wiring line among the plurality of second lead-out wiring lines through a corresponding second contact hole among a plurality of the second contact holes formed in the first insulating layer (where Dc meets Dd in Figure 3).
In reference to claim 10, Kim discloses a second insulating layer PSV1 provided at a lower layer of the plurality of first lead-out wiring lines and the plurality of second lead-out wiring lines, wherein, in the bending region, the second insulating layer includes an opening OPN_B extending in a direction intersecting the plurality of relay wiring lines, paragraph 109.
In reference to claim 11, Kim discloses the display region includes a plurality of thin film transistors each including a gate electrode GE, and a source electrode SE and a drain electrode DE that are provided at a layer different from a layer of the gate electrode,
the plurality of first lead-out wiring lines and the plurality of second lead-out wiring lines are provided at a layer identical to a layer of a plurality of the gate electrodes, paragraph 107, and
the plurality of relay wiring lines are provided at a layer identical to a layer of a plurality of the source electrodes and a plurality of the drain electrodes, paragraph 115.
In reference to claim 13, Kim discloses a manufacturing method of a display device including
a display region of an image DA,
a terminal region FA2 provided with a plurality of terminals CTEb, and
a bending region BA that is a region between the display region and the terminal region and that is bendable,
the manufacturing method comprising:
forming the bending region,
wherein the forming of the bending region includes
forming a first resin layer INS_B, paragraphs 113 and 114,
forming a plurality of relay wiring lines Dc between the display region and the terminal region on the first resin layer, paragraph 115,
forming a second resin layer INS2 at an upper layer of the plurality of relay wiring lines and the first resin layer, paragraph 91,
forming a plurality of protruding portions or a plurality of recessed portions at a surface of the second resin layer, and
forming a third resin layer INS3 on the second resin layer, paragraph 124, and
the forming of the third resin layer includes forming a plurality of anchor portions by forming a plurality of recessed portions engaged with the plurality of protruding portions, or the plurality of protruding portions engaged with the plurality of recessed portions, paragraphs 121,
the plurality of anchor portions is provided in both of a first region overlapping the plurality of relay wiring lines in a plan view, implied by the cross section of Figure 3, and a second region not overlapping the plurality of relay wiring lines in the plan view, paragraph 136 (“openings OPN may be provided between the plurality of lines,”).
Kim does not disclose the plurality of anchor portions are arranged in a staggered pattern in a plan view.
Sun discloses an analogous display device including teaching a plurality of anchor portions, 105 (1051, 1052) in Figure 1, paragraphs 57 and 58, wherein the plurality of anchor portions are arranged in a staggered pattern in a plan view, 1051 in Figure 5 and paragraph 70. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the plurality of anchor portions to be arranged in a staggered pattern in a plan view. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting one anchor portion arrangement for another, as suggested by the alternatives of Sun Figures 4 and 5.
In reference to claim 15, Kim discloses forming the plurality of protruding portions on the second resin layer INS2 before forming the third resin layer INS3, in the bending region, wherein the forming of the third resin layer includes forming the plurality of anchor portions by forming the plurality of recessed portions engaged with the plurality of protruding portions at the third resin layer, paragraph 138.
In reference to claim 16, Kim discloses bending the bending region after forming the plurality of anchor portions, paragraphs 59 and 121.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0343753) in view of Sun (US 2021/0408461) as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Jin et al. (US 2019/0140202).
In reference to claim 8, Kim does not disclose each of the plurality of recessed portions has a depth extending through the second resin layer and the first resin layer.
Jin et al. (US 2019/0140202) discloses a display device including teaching a plurality of recessed portions, 14 in Figure 8D, have a depth extending through a second resin layer 125, paragraph 179, and the thin film transistor level 18, paragraphs 192 and 193.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the depth of the recessed portions of Kim to extend through the thin film transistor level resulting in each of the plurality of recessed portions has a depth extending through the second resin layer and the first resin layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the contact area between the laminated films in order to prevent peeling or separating between the layers, paragraph 194.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0343753) in view of Sun (US 2021/0408461) as applied to claim 9 above in view of Jeong et al. (US 2019/0355799).
In reference to claim 12, Kim discloses a plurality of thin film transistors each including a gate electrode GE, and a source electrode SE and a drain electrode DE that are provided at a layer different from a layer of the gate electrode, and
a first flattening layer INS1 covering the plurality of thin film transistors and including a resin material, paragraphs 80 and 81.
Kim does not disclose an intermediate electrode provided in an island shape on the first flattening layer and configured to be electrically connected to the drain electrode through a contact hole formed in the first flattening layer,
a second flattening layer covering the intermediate electrode, provided on the first flattening layer, and including a resin material, and
an anode electrode or a cathode electrode provided in an island shape on the second flattening layer,
the plurality of first lead-out wiring lines and the plurality of second lead-out wiring lines are provided at a layer identical to a layer of a plurality of the source electrodes and a plurality of the drain electrode, or
the plurality of relay wiring lines are provided at a layer identical to a layer of the intermediate electrode.
Jeong et al. (US 2019/0355799) discloses a display device including teaching an intermediate electrode, 182 in Figure 16, provided in an island shape on the first flattening layer 165 and configured to be electrically connected to the drain electrode 133 through a contact hole formed in the first flattening layer,
a second flattening layer, 220 in Figure 20, covering the intermediate electrode 182, provided on the first flattening layer 165, and including a resin material, paragraph 107, and
an anode electrode or a cathode electrode 250 provided in an island shape on the second flattening layer, paragraph 110,
the plurality of first lead-out wiring lines 134a and the plurality of second lead-out wiring lines 134b are provided at a layer identical to a layer of a plurality of the source electrodes 132 and a plurality of the drain electrode 133, paragraphs 102 and 58, and
the plurality of relay wiring lines 185 are provided at a layer identical to a layer of the intermediate electrode 182, paragraph 82.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kim and Jeong such that an intermediate electrode is provided in an island shape on the first flattening layer and configured to be electrically connected to the drain electrode through a contact hole formed in the first flattening layer,
a second flattening layer covering the intermediate electrode, provided on the first flattening layer, and including a resin material, and
an anode electrode or a cathode electrode provided in an island shape on the second flattening layer,
the plurality of first lead-out wiring lines and the plurality of second lead-out wiring lines are provided at a layer identical to a layer of a plurality of the source electrodes and a plurality of the drain electrode, and
the plurality of relay wiring lines are provided at a layer identical to a layer of the intermediate electrode.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. C. In this case applying the technique of anchored resin portions in the bending area as taught by Kim to the display with the wiring configured as taught by Jeong.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0343753) in view of Sun (US 2021/0408461) as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Zhai et al. (US 2020/0028114).
In reference to claim 14, Kim does not disclose the third resin layer includes ultraviolet-curing resin.
Zhai et al. (US 2020/0028114) discloses a display device including teaching a resin layer, 22 in Figure 15, includes ultraviolet-curing resin, paragraph 77. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the third resin layer to include ultraviolet-curing resin. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting one resin for another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saitoh et al. (US 2020/0150725), Um et al. (US 2019/0035872), Lim et al. (KR 20160066369 A), Choi et al. (US 2020/0105168), and Zhai et al. (US 2020/0028114) disclose related devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R JUNGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897