DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendment and remarks, filed 3/30/26, are acknowledged.
Claims 1, 7, 21, and 32-33 have been amended.
Claims 34-38 have been added.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 21-23, 25-38 are pending.
Claims 22-23, 25-31 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 37-38 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 21, 32-36 are under examination.
In view of Applicant’s claim amendments, the previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn. The following are new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34 recites that the nucleic acid encodes “an amino acid”. It is unclear how the claimed nucleic acid sequence which encodes a peptide and antigen, can encode “an amino acid”, i.e. a singular amino acid such as cysteine. Amendment to recite that the nucleic acid encodes a polypeptide or encodes an amino acid sequence, for example, would be remedial.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 21, 32-33, 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated US 2017/0202946 (of record).
The ‘946 publication teaches a nucleic acid expression vector encoding an amino acid lumazine synthase peptide, which comprises an amino acid sequence comprising a 15 amino acid peptide from Aquifex aeolicus having the sequence LRFGIVASRFNHALV (see Table 2, SEQ ID NO: 200 in particular, i.e. an adjuvant peptide). Said peptide binds to mouse I-Ab, and also binds to HLA-DRB1*07:01, HLA-DRB1*15:01 and HLA-DRB5*01:01 (see previously attached binding prediction results). The ‘946 publication also teaches said expression vector comprising SEQ ID NO: 392, which comprising a sequence encoding said LRFGIVASRFNHALV epitope that is 91.1% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application, as calculated by dividing the number of matched positions by the total number of positions in the specified region (SEQ ID NO: 2) and dividing by 100 (see attached alignment, and paragraph 41 of the specification which defines the scope of percent identity). Said expression vector further comprises a nucleic acid sequence that encodes an HA influenza antigen (see Table 2, in particular). Said expression vector also encodes a leader and linker sequence. The ‘946 publication teaches a pharmaceutical compositions comprising said nucleic acid sequence and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see paragraph 181).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 21, 32-33, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated WO2019103993.
WO2019103993 teaches a nucleic acid expression vector encoding an lumazine synthase peptide, which comprises an amino acid sequence comprising a 15 amino acid peptide from Aquifex aeolicus having the sequence LRFGIVASRFNHALV (see Table, SEQ ID NO: 190, 87-88, i.e. an adjuvant peptide,). Said peptide inherently binds to HLA-DRB1*07:01, HLA-DRB1*15:01 and HLA-DRB5*01:01. Said nucleic acid comprises a sequence that is 92.9% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application (see attached alignment). Said nucleic acid further comprises a sequence encoding a linker, a leader peptide and a viral antigen. WO2019103993 teaches a pharmaceutical compositions comprising said nucleic acid sequence and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Claim 1, 3, 21, 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018176031 (of record), in view of WO2019103993 or US 2017/0202946.
WO2018176031 teaches an expression vector encoding a lumazine synthase peptide of SEQ ID NO: 69, which comprises LRFGIVASRANHALV, which is identical to the peptide encoded by SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant claims (i.e. an adjuvant peptide, and HLA-DRB1*07:01 binding peptide). WO2018176031 teaches said expression vector further encoding an viral antigen linked via a peptide linker to the C-terminus of the lumazine synthase peptide (i.e. arranged from amino to carboxy terminal orientation as adjuvant peptide, linker, viral antigen, see page 25-26, in particular). WO2018176031 also teaches pharmaceutical compositions (see page 28, in particular).
Although WO2018176031 does not teach the same nucleic acid sequence as SEQ ID NO: 2, choosing from the known codons that could be used to encode a given amino acid sequence would involve would involve choosing among a finite number of predictable options which could be pursued with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (see KSR International Co. V. Telefex Inc 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Alternatively, it would be obvious to use the nucleic acids of WO2019103993 or US 2017/0202946 encoding a lumazine synthase, which would also involve would involve choosing among a finite number of predictable options which could be pursued with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. a nucleic acid sequence comprising at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2).
Claims 1, 3, 7, 21, 32-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 10-14, 52, 101-103 of copending Application No. 17/417,096 (reference application), in view of WO2018176031, WO2019103993, and US 2017/0202946.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘096 application claims a composition comprising an expressible nucleic acid sequence comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a self-assembling polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 7, and a viral antigen, such as an influenza antigen. Said SEQ ID NO: 7 comprise SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application, which is a species “adjuvant peptide” comprising an HLA I-Ab epitope from Aquifex aeolicus of 15 amino acids that binds to HLA-DR as recited in the instant claims. The ‘096 application also claims that said nucleic acid sequence comprises SEQ ID NO: 2, which comprises residues CTGAGGTTCGGAATTGTCGCAAGCCGCGCGAATCACGCACTGGTG which are 80% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application (36/45 residues matching). The ‘096 application claims that the sequence further encodes a linker and a pharmaceutical composition. Although not specifically claimed, assembling the elements in the orientation of the instant claims, and using a linker and leader sequence would also be obvious based on the teachings of WO2018176031, which teaches the claimed orientation for self-assemble peptides. Furthermore, choosing from the known codons that could be used to encode a given amino acid sequence or from known nucleic acids encoding a lumazine synthase would be obvious for the same reason set forth above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 21, 32-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11 of copending Application No. 17/918,321 (reference application), in view of WO2018176031, WO2019103993, and US 2017/0202946.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘321 application claims a composition comprising an expressible nucleic acid sequence comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a self-assembling polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 8 and a coronaviridae antigen. Said SEQ ID NO: 8 comprises SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application, which is a species of “adjuvant peptide” comprising an HLA I-Ab epitope from Aquifex aeolicus of 15 amino acids that binds to HLA-DR as recited in the instant claims. The ‘321 application also claims that said nucleic acid sequence comprises SEQ ID NO: 68, which comprises residues CTGAGGTTCGGAATTGTCGCAAGCCGCGCGAATCACGCACTGGTG which are at least 80% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application. The ‘321 application further claims that said nucleic acid sequence encodes a leader sequence, and that the construct is arranged in 5’ to 3’ orientation as self-assembling peptide, linker, viral antigen. The ‘321 application claims a pharmaceutical composition. Furthermore, choosing from the known codons that could be used to encode a given amino acid sequence or from known nucleic acids encoding a lumazine synthase would be obvious for the same reason set forth above.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 21, 32-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of 18/552,635 (reference application), in view of WO2018176031, WO2019103993, and US 2017/0202946.
The ‘635 application claims a nucleic acid encoding a self-assembling domain and a virus antigen comprising SEQ ID NO: 4, or having SEQ ID NO: 3, which comprise the same sequences of the instant application (i.e. comprises SEQ ID NO; 1 of the instant application and a sequence at least 80% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2). The ‘635 application claims that it encodes a viral antigen, has a linker, leader, and orientation according to the instant claims, or alternatively, these would be obvious optimizations based on the teachings of WO2018176031. Furthermore, choosing from the known codons that could be used to encode a given amino acid sequence or from known nucleic acids encoding a lumazine synthase would be obvious for the same reason set forth above.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 21, 32-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of 18/556,414 (reference application), in view of WO2018176031, WO2019103993, and US 2017/0202946.
The ’414 application claims a nucleic acid encoding an immunogen and a CD4 helper epitope LS-3, and LS-3 has SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application (i.e. it is a peptide adjuvant epitope having the same HLA binding as recited in the instant claims). The ‘414 application claims that the immunogen is a coronaviral antigen. The ‘635 application claims that the nucleic acid sequence comprises a sequence 89% identical SEQ ID NO: 93, which comprises SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application. Assembling the elements in the orientation of the instant claims, and using a linker and leader sequence would also be obvious based on the teachings of WO2018176031, which teaches the claimed orientation for self-assembling peptides. Furthermore, choosing from the known codons that could be used to encode a given amino acid sequence or from known nucleic acids encoding a lumazine synthase would be obvious for the same reason set forth above.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 21, 32-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 13 of 17/802,936(reference application).
The ‘936 claims a composition comprising an expressible nucleic acid sequence comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a self-assembling polypeptide from Aquifex aeolicus and a viral antigen from influenza, with a linker and leader and orientation within the scope of the instant claims. The ‘936 application claims a pharmaceutical composition, and claims or discloses (i.e. that the claims cover) SEQ ID NO; 1 and 2 of the instant application, i.e. the nucleic acid inherently express an epitope within the scope of the instant claims.
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Amy E. Juedes
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
/AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644