DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are pending. Claims 1-3 and 5 have been withdrawn. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant is claiming any thermoplastic fluoropolymer article with a surface in what would be considered a drawing direction had it been injection molded, is smoother than a threshold set by an unconventional surface roughness measurement. This broad scope has to be compared against every previously manufactured article or disclosure thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 2018/0283590) in view of Clean Run (1-1/4 in. 4-Way PVC Fitting, Furniture Grade – White; available @ <https://www.adspipe.com/resources/documents/4337299E-26CD-435C-9A14666D8EF3984B>).
As to claim 6, Yokoyama discloses a molded article of a thermoplastic fluoropolymer ([0049]) molded by injection molding (abstract) using a mold part having a surface which slides parallel to the molded article when removing the molded article (core pins 111a-c slide parallel to resin pipe joint 101 during removal, [0008]; note that the claim scope includes articles not produced in this manner, provided that they do not differ structurally), wherein the average tilt angle of the mold part drawing direction (MD) of the surface of the molded article is 1.5° or lower ([0009]; inner wall surface is a straight line shape parallel to the central axis, thus smooth and therefore has an average tilt angle not exceeding the 0.5°-1.0° slope).
While the inner wall surface of Yokohama is taught as a straight line, it is not explicit wherein the average tilt angle of the mold part drawing direction (MD) of the surface of the molded article is 1.5° or lower.
However, in the same field of endeavor of injection molded thermoplastic pipe joints (p. 1), Clean Run teaches wherein the average tilt angle of the mold part drawing direction (MD) of the surface of the molded article is 1.5° or lower (smooth).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipe joint of Yokohama such that the inner surface is smooth because p.1 Clean Run teaches that an injection molded thermoplastic pipe joint should be smooth. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to ensure that the inner wall surface of Yokohama, which is taught as a straight line, is indeed smooth, and accordingly would be within the recited smoothness threshold. Of note, Applicant has not taught a methodological difference that allegedly achieves a greater smoothness.
As to claim 7, Yokoyama as modified teaches wherein the molded article is a joint part for chemical solutions (resin pipe joint, Yokohama [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 3, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant correctly points out that the mold part drawing direction is a distinct concept to average tilt angle. The present rejection is not based on asserting otherwise.
Applicant argues that average tilt angle is a microscopic surface profile parameter. Which is to say, the requirement that the surface have an average tilt angle of 1.5° or lower is to say that the surface is smooth. Having a smooth interior is obvious in view of the prior art. Clean Run teaches that the interior surface of fittings should be smooth.
Applicant presents a tautology that smooth surfaces are smooth (a low average tilt angle is remarkably smooth). This is not disputed.
Applicant is claiming every molded article of a thermoplastic fluoropolymer molded by injection molding using a mold part having a surface which slides parallel to the molded article when removing the molded article, wherein interior surface of the mold article in the mold part drawing direction (MD) is smoother than the recited standard of an average tilt angle of 1.5° or lower. Smooth interiors do not become non-obvious because Applicant presents experimental data measuring smoothness in a particular way.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/John J DeRusso/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744