This non-final rejection is in response to the application remarks 8/7/2025.
Response to Arguments
Claims 13-26,28,34-46, and 48-62 are cancelled.
Claims 1-12,27,29-33 and 47 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12,27,29-33 and 47 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 18,2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,11, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Liu et al, US 20210144594 A1., in view of Krishnan et al, US 20220053380 A1, and in further view of Fang et al, US 20220014964 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a method performed in a Radio Access Network, RAN, having a distributed RAN architecture([0199] Core networks via the Radio Access Network (RAN)).
at a control plane part of a central unit, CU-CP, of a base station of the RAN ([0070] a base station may include: one CU-CP, a plurality of CU-UPs, and a plurality of DUs):
sending-one or more first messages to a user plane part of the central unit, CU-UP, to setup or modify one or more bearers ([0137] Fig. 5 S503: the CU-CP sends a bearer modification procedure message to the CU-UP);
sending one or more second message to a distributed unit, DU, of the base station to setup or modify the one or more bearers ([0140] Fig. 5 S506: the CU-CP sends a UE context modification request message carrying the RRC container to the source DU.);
at the CU-UP:
receiving the one or more first messages from the CU-CP([0137] Fig. 5 S503: Receives from the CU-CP a bearer modification procedure message);
at the DU:
receiving the one or more second messages ([0140] Fig. 5 5506: Receives from the CU-CP a UE context modification request message carrying the RRC container.);
Liu does not disclose sending one or more Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reports to the CU-UP via the one or more bearers receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports from the DU; and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU- CP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node.
However, Krishnan does disclose the method further comprising,
at the DU sending one or more Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reports to the CU-UP via the one or more bearers([0112] Additionally or alternatively, the DU 405 may transmit the QoE measurement report to the CU control plane (CU-CP), such as over the F1AP interface, and the CU-UP may send the QoE measurement report to the CU user plane (CU-UP) via an E1 application protocol (E1AP) interface. The CU-CP may send the QoE measurement report to the CU-UP via a bearer context setup or modification procedure.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the method further comprising, at the DU sending one or more Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reports to the CU-UP via the one or more bearers as taught by Krishnan. The motivation for doing so would be to improve measuring and reporting QoE measurements. (Krishnan, [0004])
Liu and Krishnan do not disclose at the CU-UP: receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports from the DU; at the CU-UP: and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU- CP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node.
However, Fang does disclose at the CU-UP: receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports from the DU([0025] [0053] FIG. 4 In some embodiments, a CU of a BS 102 (e.g., the first BS 102-1 or the second BS 102-2) can be further split into a Control Plane (CP) and a User Plane (UP), between which (i.e., CU-CP and CU-UP) the direct communication is through an E1 interface. In some embodiments, the first unit 402-1 is a CU and a second unit 402-2 is a DU of the BS 102. The method 400 continues with operation 418 in which a third message is transmitted from the second unit 402-2 of the BS 102 to the first unit 402-1 of the BS 102 according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, the third message comprises a first performance report of the at least one QoS flows determined by the second unit 402-2 of the BS 102.);
at the CU-UP: and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU- CP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node ([0069] FIG. 6 The method 600 continues with operation 618 in which a third message is transmitted from the CU-UP 602-2 of the first unit 402-1 of the BS 102 to the CU-CP 602-1 of the first unit 402-1 of the BS 102 according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, the third message comprises a performance report of the corresponding QoS flow.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu and Krishnan with sending one or more Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reports to the CU-UP via the one or more bearers receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports from the DU; and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU- CP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node as taught by Fang. The motivation for doing so would be to improve performances of QoS flows on the base station side. (Fang, [0003])
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses the method further comprising sending one or more second messages to a distributed unit, DU([0140] Fig. 5 S506: the CU-CP sends a UE context modification request message carrying the RRC container to the source DU.),
Liu does not disclose the base station to setup or modify the one or more bearers that are dedicated for QoE measurement reporting
However, Krishnan disclose the method further comprising, the base station to setup or modify the one or more bearers that are dedicated for QoE measurement reporting ([0112] At 425, the DU 405 may transmit the base station-readable QoE measurement report, or the QoE server report, or both to the CU 410. The DU 405 may transmit the QoE measurement report to the CU control plane (CU-CP), such as over the F1AP interface, and the CU-UP may send the QoE measurement report to the CU user plane (CU-UP) via an E1 application protocol (E1AP) interface. The CU-CP may send the QoE measurement report to the CU-UP via a bearer context setup or modification procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the base station to setup or modify the one or more bearers that are dedicated for QoE measurement reporting as taught by Krishnan. The motivation for doing so would be to improve measuring and reporting QoE measurements. (Krishnan, [0004])
Regarding claim 31, Liu fails to disclose the method receiving one or more QoE measurement reports from a distributed unit, DU of the base station via at least one of the one or more bearers that are dedicated for QoE measurement reporting and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU-CP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node.
However, Krishnan does disclose the method further comprising receiving one or more QoE measurement reports from a distributed unit, DU([0112] the DU 405 may transmit the QoE measurement report to the CU control plane (CU-CP), such as over the F1AP interface, and the CU-UP may send the QoE measurement report to the CU user plane (CU-UP) via an E1 application protocol (E1AP) interface. The CU-CP may send the QoE measurement report to the CU-UP via a bearer context setup or modification procedure.),
of the base station via at least one of the one or more bearers that are dedicated for QoE measurement reporting ([0112] At 425, the DU 405 may transmit the base station-readable QoE measurement report, or the QoE server report, or both to the CU 410.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the method receiving one or more QoE measurement reports from a distributed unit, DU of the base station via at least one of the one or more bearers that are dedicated for QoE measurement reporting as taught by Krishnan. The motivation for doing so would be to improve conventional techniques for measuring and reporting QoE measurements. (Hu, [0004])
Liu and Krishnan do not disclose and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU-CP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node.
However, Fang does disclose and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU-CP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node ([0069] FIG. 6 The method 600 continues with operation 618 in which a third message is transmitted from the CU-UP 602-2 of the first unit 402-1 of the BS 102 to the CU-CP 602-1 of the first unit 402-1 of the BS 102 according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, the third message comprises a performance report of the corresponding QoS flow.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu and Krishnan with and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU-CP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node as taught by Fang. The motivation for doing so would be to improve performances of QoS flows on the base station side. (Fang, [0003])
Claims 2-10, 12,27,29,30,32,33, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Liu et al, US 20210144594 A1., in view of Krishnan et al, US 20220053380 A1, in view of Fang et al, US 20220014964 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hu et al, US 20230115085 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Liu, Krishnan, and Fang fails to disclose the method wherein the one or more bearers are one or more bearers that are dedicated for QoE measurement reporting.
However, Hu does disclose the method further comprising, wherein the one or more bearers are one or more bearers that are dedicated for QoE measurement reporting ([0128] The first radio bearer may be a radio bearer dedicated to sending the QoE measurement result).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with wherein the one or more bearers are one or more bearers that are dedicated for QoE measurement reporting as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 3, Liu, Krishnan, and Fang fails to disclose the method wherein the one or more bearers are not dedicated for QoE measurement reporting.
However, Hu does disclose the method further comprising, wherein the one or more bearers are not dedicated for QoE measurement reporting ([0176] Whether information carried in the corresponding radio bearer is the QoE measurement result without requiring another additional determining.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with wherein the one or more bearers are not dedicated for QoE measurement reporting as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 4, Liu, Krishnan, and Fang fails to disclose the method wherein receiving the one or more QOE measurement reports at the CU-UP comprises receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports at the CU-UP via one or more Protocol Data Units, PDUs, of a PDU type that is dedicated for QoE measurement reporting.
However, Hu discloses the method further comprising, wherein receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports at the CU-UP comprises receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports at the CU-UP via one or more Protocol Data Units, PDUs, of a PDU type that is dedicated for QoE measurement reporting ([0174] after receiving the PDCP PDU, the secondary network knows, based on which logical channel the PDCP PDU is received, whether the PDCP PDU corresponds to the QoE measurement result or the other data service information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with wherein receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports at the CU-UP comprises receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports at the CU-UP via one or more Protocol Data Units, PDUs, of a PDU type that is dedicated for QoE measurement reporting as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 5, Liu, Krishnan, and Fang fails to disclose the method wherein receiving the one or more QOE measurement reports at the CU-UP comprises receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports at the CU-UP via one or more Protocol Data Units, PDUs, of a PDU type that is not dedicated for QoE measurement reporting.
However, Hu does disclose the method further comprising, wherein receiving the one or more
QoE measurement reports at the CU-UP comprises receiving the one or more QoE measurement
reports at the CU-UP via one or more Protocol Data Units, PDUs([0174] after receiving the PDCP PDU,
the secondary network knows, based on which logical channel the PDCP PDU is received, whether the
PDCP PDU corresponds to the QoE measurement result or the other data service information.),
of a PDU type that is not dedicated for QoE measurement reporting ([0153] Whether to forward the QoE measurement result to the SN without requiring another additional determining.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with wherein receiving the one or more QoЕ measurement reports at the CU-UP comprises receiving the one or more QoE measurement reports at the CU-UP via one or more Protocol Data Units, PDUs, of a PDU type that is not dedicated for QoE measurement reporting as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 6, Liu, Krishnan, and Fang fails to disclose the method, wherein the one or more PDUs comprise an indication that the one or more PDUs comprise one or more QoE measurement reports.
However, Hu does disclose the method further comprising, wherein the one or more PDUs comprise an indication that the one or more PDUs comprise one or more QoE measurement reports ([0173] Based on the indication information, whether the PDCP PDU corresponds to the QoE measurement result or the other data service information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with wherein the one or more PDUs comprise an indication that the one or more PDUs comprise one or more QoE measurement reports as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 7, Liu, Krishnan, and Fang fails to disclose the method wherein the one or more PDUs comprise an indication of how the one or more QoE measurement reports are to be treated by the CU-UP.
However, Hu discloses the method further comprising, wherein the one or more PDUs comprise an indication of how the one or more QoE measurement reports are to be treated by the CU-UP ([0173] The SN knows, based on the indication information, whether the PDCP PDU corresponds to the QoE measurement result or the other data service information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with wherein the one or more PDUs comprise an indication of how the one or more QoE measurement reports are to be treated by the CU-UP as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 8, Liu, Krishnan, and Fang fails to disclose the method wherein the one or more PDUs comprise an indication of whether the CU-UP is to forward the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CUCP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node.
However, Hu disclose the method further comprising, wherein the one or more PDUs comprise an indication of whether the CU-UP is to forward the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU-CP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node ([0174] The PDCP entity sends the corresponding PDCP PDU to an RLC entity corresponding to a determined logical channel. Correspondingly, after receiving the PDCP PDU, the SN knows, based on which logical channel the PDCP PDU is received, whether the PDCP PDU corresponds to the QoE measurement result or the other data service information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with wherein the one or more PDUs comprise an indication of whether the CU-UP is to forward the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CUCP, another network node, or both the CU-CP and another network node as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 9, Liu does disclose a method performed by a control plane part of a central unit, CU-CP, of a base station of a Radio Access Network, RAN, having a distributed RAN architecture([0199] Core networks via the Radio Access Network (RAN)).
Liu, Krishnan, and Fang do not disclose sending one or more first messages to a user plane part of the central unit, CU-UP, to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting.
However, Hu disclose a method further comprising, sending one or more first messages to а user plane part of the central unit, CU-UP, to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting([0151] Fig. 2A 106 Master network forwards the QoE measurement result to the secondary network or another entity.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with sending one or more first messages to a user plane part of the central unit, CU-UP, to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses the method, wherein the one or more first messages comprise a bearer setup message or a bearer modification message for a respective bearer from among the one or more bearers, the bearer setup message or the bearer modification message ([0137] Fig. 5 S503: the CU-CP sends a bearer modification procedure message to the CU-UP.).
Liu, Krishnan, and Fang do not disclose The method wherein the bearer modification message comprises a) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting; b) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a particular QoE measurement session; c) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a number of QoE measurement sessions; d) an indication of whether the respective bearer can be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of one or more QoE measurement sessions identified in a list of QoE measurement session identities, IDs; e) a configuration of one or more Quality of Service, QoS, attributes defined for QoE report delivery over user plane; f) one or more attributes that control behavior of the CU-UP upon reception of data on the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting; g) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP upon suspension of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting; h) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP to, if needed, forward data of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting to another CU-UP controlled by the same CU-CP; or i) a combination of any two or more of (a) - (h).
However, Hu disclose the method further comprising, a) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting ([0128] The first radio bearer may be a radio bearer dedicated to sending the QoE measurement result);
b) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a particular QoE measurement session (optional);
c) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a number of QoE measurement sessions(optional);
d) an indication of whether the respective bearer can be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of one or more QoE measurement sessions identified in a list of QoE measurement session identities, IDs (optional);
e) a configuration of one or more Quality of Service, QoS, attributes defined for QoE report delivery over user plane (optional);
f) one or more attributes that control behavior of the CU-UP upon reception of data on the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting (optional);
g) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP upon suspension of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting(optional);
h) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP to, if needed, forward data of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting to another CU-UP controlled by the same CU-CP(optional);
or i) a combination of any two or more of (a) - (h) (optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with a) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting; b) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a particular QoE measurement session; c) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a number of QoE measurement sessions; d) an indication of whether the respective bearer can be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of one or more QoE measurement sessions identified in a list of QoE measurement session identities, IDs; e) a configuration of one or more Quality of Service, QoS, attributes defined for QoE report delivery over user plane; f) one or more attributes that control behavior of the CU-UP upon reception of data on the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting; g) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP upon suspension of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting; h) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP to, if needed, forward data of the respective bearer used for QoЕ measurement reporting to another CU-UP controlled by the same CU-CP; or i) a combination of any two or more of (a) - (h) as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses the method wherein the one or more second messages comprise a bearer setup message or a bearer modification message for a respective bearer from among the one or more bearers, the bearer setup message or the bearer modification message ([0137] Fig. 5 S503: the CU-CP sends a bearer modification procedure message to the CU-UP).
Liu, Krishnan, and Fang do not disclose i. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting;
ii. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a particular QoE measurement session;
iii. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a number of QoE measurement sessions;
iv. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of one or more QoE measurement sessions identified in a list of QoE measurement session identities, IDs;
v. a configuration of one or more Quality of Service, QoS, attributes defined for QoE report delivery over user plane;
vi. one or more attributes that control behavior of the DU upon reception of data on the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting;
vii. one or more attributes that control the behavior of the DU upon suspension of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting;
viii. one or more attributes that control the behavior of the DU to, if needed, forward data of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting to another CU-UP controlled by the same CU-CP; or
ix. a combination of any two or more of (i) - (viii)
However, Han disclose the method further comprising i. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting ([0128] The first radio bearer may be a radio bearer dedicated to sending the QoE measurement result);
ii. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a particular QoE measurement session (optional);
iii. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a number of QoE measurement sessions(optional);
iv. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of one or more QoE measurement sessions identified in a list of QoE measurement session identities, IDs (optional);
v. a configuration of one or more Quality of Service, QoS, attributes defined for QoE report delivery over user plane (optional);
vi. one or more attributes that control behavior of the DU upon reception of data on the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting (optional);
vii. one or more attributes that control the behavior of the DU upon suspension of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting(optional);
viii. one or more attributes that control the behavior of the DU to, if needed, forward data of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting to another CU-UP controlled by the same CU-CP(optional); or
ix. a combination of any two or more of (i) - (viii)(optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with i. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting; ii. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a particular QoE measurement session; iii. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a number of QoE measurement sessions; iv. an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of one or more QoE measurement sessions identified in a list of QoE measurement session identities, IDs; v. a configuration of one or more Quality of Service, QoS, attributes defined for QoE report delivery over user plane; vi. one or more attributes that control behavior of the DU upon reception of data on the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting; vii. one or more attributes that control the behavior of the DU upon suspension of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting; viii. one or more attributes that control the behavior of the DU to, if needed, forward data of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting to another CU-UP controlled by the same CU-CP; or ix. a combination of any two or more of (i) - (viii) as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 27, Liu discloses a Radio Access Network, RAN, node that implements a control plane part of a central unit, CU-CP, of a base station of a Radio Access Network, RAN, having a distributed RAN architecture, the RAN node comprising([0199] Core networks via the Radio Access Network (RAN)).
a communication interface ([0169] The communication device may further include a network interface 803);
and processing circuitry associated with the communication interface ([0193] Circuits of one or more processors),
the processing circuitry configured to cause the RAN node to send one or more first messages to a user plane part of the central unit, CU-UP ([0137] Fig. 5 S503: the CU-CP sends a bearer modification procedure message to the CU-UP),
Liu, Krishnan, and Fang do not disclose to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting.
However, Hu discloses the method further comprising to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting([0128] The first radio bearer may be a radio bearer dedicated to sending the QoE measurement result).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 29, Liu discloses a method performed by a user plane part of a central unit, CU-UP, of a base station of a Radio Access Network, RAN, having a distributed RAN architecture ([0199] Core networks via the Radio Access Network (RAN)).
the method comprising receiving one or more first messages from a control plane part of the central unit, CU-CP([0137] Fig. 5 S503: Receives from the CU-CP a bearer modification procedure message),
Liu, Krishnan, and Fang do not disclose to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting
However, Hu discloses the method further comprising to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting ([0128] The first radio bearer may be a radio bearer dedicated to sending the QoE measurement result).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 30, Liu discloses the method wherein the one or more first messages comprise a bearer setup message or a bearer modification message for a respective bearer from among the one or more bearers, the bearer setup message or the bearer modification message ([0137] Fig. 5 S503: the CU-CP sends a bearer modification procedure message to the CU-UP).
Liu, Krishnan, and Fang do not disclose a) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting;
b) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a particular QoE measurement session;
c) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a number of QoE measurement sessions;
d) an indication of whether the respective bearer can be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of one or more QoE measurement sessions identified in a list of QoE measurement session identities, IDs;
e) a configuration of one or more Quality of Service, QoS, attributes defined for QoE report delivery over user plane;
f) one or more attributes that control behavior of the CU-UP upon reception of data on the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting;
g) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP upon suspension of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting;
h) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP to, if needed, forward data of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting to another CU-UP controlled by the same CU-CP; or
i) a combination of any two or more of (a)- (h).
However, Hu does disclose the method further comprising, a) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting ([0112] The CU-CP may send the QoE measurement report to the CU-UP via a bearer context setup or modification procedure.);
b) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a particular QoE measurement session(optional);
c) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a number of QoE measurement sessions(optional);
d) an indication of whether the respective bearer can be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of one or more QoE measurement sessions identified in a list of QoE measurement session identities, IDs(optional);
e) a configuration of one or more Quality of Service, QoS, attributes defined for QoE report delivery over user plane(optional);
f) one or more attributes that control behavior of the CU-UP upon reception of data on the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting(optional);
g) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP upon suspension of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting(optional);
h) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP to, if needed, forward data of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting to another CU-UP controlled by the same CU-CP(optional);
or i) a combination of any two or more of (a) - (h)(optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting a) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for QoE measurement reporting; b) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a particular QoE measurement session; c) an indication that the respective bearer is to be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of a number of QoE measurement sessions; d) an indication of whether the respective bearer can be used for carrying QoE measurement reports of one or more QOE measurement sessions identified in a list of QoE measurement session identities, IDs; e) a configuration of one or more Quality of Service, QoS, attributes defined for QoE report delivery over user plane; f) one or more attributes that control behavior of the CU-UP upon reception of data on the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting; g) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP upon suspension of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting; h) one or more attributes that control the behavior of the CU-UP to, if needed, forward data of the respective bearer used for QoE measurement reporting to another CU-UP controlled by the same CU-CP; or i) a combination of any two or more of (a) - (h) as taught by Krishnan. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 32, Liu, Krishnan, and Fang fails to disclose the method wherein forwarding the one or more QOE measurement reports comprises forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports via: one or more wireless-communication-device-associated messages; or one or more non-wirelesscommunication-device-associated messages each comprising a list of identifiers that distinguishes between QoE measurement reports for different wireless communication devices and/or a list of measurement session identifiers that distinguishes between QoE measurement reports for a same wireless communication device.
However, Hu does disclose the method further comprising, wherein forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports comprises forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports via([0151] Fig. 2A 106 Master network forwards the QoE measurement result to the secondary network or another entity.):
one or more wireless-communication-device-associated messages ([0056] The functions of the communication device);
or one or more non-wireless-communication-device-associated messages each comprising a list of identifiers that distinguishes between QoE measurement reports for different wireless communication devices and/or a list of measurement session identifiers that distinguishes between QoE measurement reports for a same wireless communication device ([0172] Based on a radio bearer identifier, whether the information is the QoE measurement result or other service information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with wherein forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports comprises forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports via: one or more wireless-communication-device-associated messages; or one or more non-wireless- communication-device-associated messages each comprising a list of identifiers that distinguishes between QoE measurement reports for different wireless communication devices and/or a list of measurement session identifiers that distinguishes between QoE measurement reports for a same wireless communication device as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 33, Liu, Krishnan, and Fang fails to disclose The method wherein the CU-UP stores the one or more QoE measurement reports, and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports comprises forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU-CP responsive to a request from the CU-CP.
However, Hu discloses the method further comprising, wherein the CU-UP stores the one or more QOE measurement reports, and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports comprises forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU-CP responsive to a request from the CU-CP ([0151] Fig. 2A 106 Master network forwards the QoE measurement result to the secondary network or another entity.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with wherein the CU-UP stores the one or more QoE measurement reports, and forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports comprises forwarding the one or more QoE measurement reports to the CU-CP responsive to a request from the CU-CP as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Regarding claim 47, Liu discloses a Radio Access Network, RAN, node that implements a user plane part of a central unit, CU-UP, of a base station of a Radio Access Network, RAN, having a distributed RAN architecture, the RAN node comprising([0199] Core networks via the Radio Access Network (RAN)).
a communication interface ([0169] The communication device may further include a network interface 803); and processing circuitry associated with the communication interface ([0193] Circuits of one or more processors),
the processing circuitry configured to cause the RAN node to receive one or more first messages from a control plane part of the central unit, CU-CP ([0137] Fig. 5 S503: the CU-CP sends a bearer modification procedure message to the CU-UP),
Liu, Krishnan, and Fang do not disclose to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting.
However, Hu does disclose The method further comprising to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting ([0128] The first radio bearer may be a radio bearer dedicated to sending the QoE measurement result).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, Krishnan, and Fang with to setup or modify one or more bearers that are dedicated for Quality of Experience, QoE, measurement reporting as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to better optimize networks and improve user experience. (Hu, [0004])
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419