Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Applicant selected Species 2, claims 1-7 and 11-15 corresponds to FIGS. 5-10 in the reply dated on 05/13/2025.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 19-20 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl (Pub. No.: US 2015/0318328) in view of Huang (Pub. No.: US 2020/0020272).
Re claim 1, Bibl teaches a display device using a light-emitting element, the display device comprising:
a base substrate ([BS], FGIS. 3D [as shown above]);
a TFT substrate [TS] disposed on the base substrate and including:
a thin film transistor (TFT) (T2) for driving an active matrix, and
a connection pad ([CP], FIG. 3D [as shown above]) connected to the TFT;
a light emitting package (400, FIG. 6D, ¶ [0068]) including a unit pixel disposed on the TFT substrate and electrically connected to the connection pad [CP],
wherein the light emitting package includes a transparent resin layer (148, [0084]), a wiring layer (140, FIG. 5D) disposed on the TFT substrate (102), and at least one light-emitting element (400) disposed between the TFT substrate and the transparent resin layer,
wherein the at least one light-emitting element is electrically connected to the wiring layer (140, FIG. 3D) to constitute a sub-pixel (108, FIG. 5F, [0006]); and
a connection wiring (142) electrically connecting the wiring layer (140) and the connection pad [CP].
Bibl fails to teach an adhesive layer disposed on the TFT to cover the TFT and attach the light emitting package to the TFT substrate, wherein the at least one light-emitting element is partially embedded into the adhesive layer of the TFT substrate for attachment, and wherein the adhesive layer is disposed between the base substrate and an insulating layer positioned below the transparent resin layer, and the adhesive layer is in contact with the base substrate or in contact with the insulating layer in at least a partial region.
Huang teaches an adhesive layer (1490’, FIG. 16, ¶ [0092]) disposed on the TFT to cover the TFT (1440) and attach the light emitting package (640) to the TFT substrate ([TS], FIG. 6 [as shown below]),
wherein the at least one light-emitting element (uLED) is partially embedded into the adhesive layer (1490’) of the TFT substrate for attachment, and
wherein the adhesive layer (1490’) is disposed between the base substrate (1410) and an insulating layer (1470) positioned below the transparent resin layer (PCB 1450, [0090], note that “An insulator is a component that forms the entire connector and protects the contacts (wires). It is mainly made of resin”), and the adhesive layer (1490’) is in contact with the base substrate or in contact with the insulating layer (1470) in at least a partial region.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the LED connectivity with different anode and cathode location as taught by Huang.
Re claim 2, in the combination, Bibl teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the at least one light-emitting element includes light-emitting elements that emit red (400R, FIG. 5E, [0077]), green (400G), and blue light (400B, [0078]) and that are attached to the transparent resin layer (148) and electrically connected to the respective wiring layer (140).
Re claim 3, in the combination, Bibl, FIG. 6D teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the transparent resin layer (148) is smaller than a thickness of the light-emitting element (400).
Re claim 4, in the combination, Huang, FIG. 16 teaches the display device of claim 1,
wherein the insulating layer (1495) covers the TFT (uLED), and
wherein the adhesive layer (1490’) is disposed between the insulating layer (1495) and the wiring layer (1482).
Re claim 5, in the combination, Bibl, FIG. 3D [as shown above] teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the connection wiring (142) electrically connects the wiring layer (140) and the connection pad [CP].
Re claim 6, in the combination, Huang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a first wiring layer [FW] connected to the connection pad [CP] and a first electrode (682, FIG. 6 [as shown above]) of the light- emitting element (680); and
a second wiring layer [SW] connected to a second electrode (684) of the light-emitting element (680).
Re claim 7, in the combination, Huang, FIG. 6 teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein the second wiring layer [SW] is connected to a common electrode (of cathode electrode 1484 of FIG. 14, [0090]).
Re claim 11, in the combination, Bibl, FIG. 7 [as shown above] teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the connection pad of the TFT substrate includes four connection pads for each pixel,
wherein the four connection pads include:
three connection pads [TforTSP] for connecting three sub-pixels (400R/G/B); and
one connection pad [ComP] for connecting a common electrode (144).
Re claim 12, in the combination, Bibl, FIG. 6D and 7 teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the TFT (T2) is disposed between the four connection pads (TforTSP]/[ComP]).
Re claim 13, in the combination, Bibl, FIG. 6D and 7 teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the TFTs (T2) are disposed between the four connection pads in a cross shape (TforTSP]/[ComP]).
Re claim 14, in the combination, Bibl, FIG. 6D and 7 teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein pixel electrodes of the respective sub-pixels (400R/G/B) are disposed along both sides of the TFTs (T2) arranged in the cross shape.
Re claim 15, in the combination, Bibl, FIG. 6D and 7 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the reflective film (420, FIG. 4D, [0070]) is disposed below the light-emitting element (400).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 11-15 on the remarks filed on 02/23/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive because Huang still reads on: an adhesive layer (1490’, FIG. 16, ¶ [0092]) disposed on the TFT to cover the TFT (1440) and attach the light emitting package (640) to the TFT substrate [TS],
wherein the at least one light-emitting element (uLED) is partially embedded into the adhesive layer (1490’) of the TFT substrate for attachment, and
wherein the adhesive layer (1490’) is disposed between the base substrate (1410) and an insulating layer (1470) positioned below the transparent resin layer (1450, note that “An insulator is a component that forms the entire connector and protects the contacts (wires). It is mainly made of resin”), and the adhesive layer (1490’) is in contact with the base substrate or in contact with the insulating layer (1470) in at least a partial region.
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893