DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 28 July 2023.
Claims 24-42 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03 January 2023 and 23 February 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24, 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (US Publication 2023/0141231).
With respect to claims 24, 41 and 42, Luo teaches An edge enabler node in an Edge Data Network (EDN) configured to perform a Quality of Service (QoS) related service operation in the EDN, the edge enabler node comprising: (EDN, Figure 1)
interface circuitry configured to receive a policy and charging request sent by an edge consumer node connected to the EDN, (Terminal device (edge consumer node) served by RAN (edge enabler node), connected to DN (EDN), Figure 1b. the terminal device sends the local processing request message to the radio access network device in an uplink RRC message. First, the terminal device determines which DRBs corresponding to the PDU session require a local computing service, or determines which QoS flows included in the PDU session require a local computing service. Second, the local processing request message sent by the terminal device to the radio access network device carries an identifier of a PDU session that requires a local computing service, and may further include an identifier of a DRB that requires a local computing service, or carries an identifier of a QoS flow that requires a local computing service, paragraph 334) wherein the policy and charging request is a request to perform a QoS-related service operation on a data flow associated with a wireless device served by the edge consumer node; (The local processing request message carries local computing request information corresponding to the PDU session, local computing request information corresponding to a first QoS flow in the PDU session, local computing request information corresponding to a DRB related to the PDU session, the identifier of the PDU session, a flow identifier of the first QoS flow, or a DRB identifier, paragraph 335)
processing circuitry operatively connected to the interface circuitry and configured to: authorize the edge consumer node for the requested QoS-related service operation on the data flow; (The radio access network device determines a local computing device that provides a local computing service for the PDU session, paragraph 336) and
provide one or more core network nodes associated with the one or both of the wireless device and the data flow to perform the requested QoS-related service operation on the data flow responsive to the edge consumer node being authorized. (after receiving the local processing request message from the terminal device, the radio access network device determines, based on the local processing request message, the local computing device that provides the local computing service for the PDU session (or the DRB or the first QoS flow). A specific process of determining the local computing device, paragraph 337. the radio access network device sends the PDU session setup response message to the core network device. The terminal device and the local computing device set up the PDU session based on the RRC reconfiguration messages received in steps 609 and 610, where the PDU session corresponds to the PDU session setup request message sent by the terminal device to the radio access network device in step 603, Paragraph 354)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US Publication 2023/0141231 in view of Hoffmann et al. (US Publication 2024/0334300).
With respect to claims 25, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the policy and charging request comprises: an IP address of the wireless device served by the edge consumer node; and an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the policy and charging request comprises: an IP address of the wireless device served by the edge consumer node; and an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node. (in case the AF had subscribed to user plane management event notifications. The following are the examples of such events: a PDU Session Anchor identified in the AF subscription request has been established or released; a DNAI has changed; the SMF has received a request for AF notification and the on-going PDU Session meets the conditions to notify the AF, Ethernet PDU Session Anchor Relocation, Paragraph 125)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 26, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the requested QoS-related service operation comprises a request to modify a QoS associated with the data flow.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the requested QoS-related service operation comprises a request to modify a QoS associated with the data flow. (when a PCC rule is received from the PCF, the SMF may take appropriate actions to reconfigure the User plane of the PDU Session (for example: adding, replacing or removing a UPF in the data path to e.g. act as a branching point; allocate a new prefix to the UE; updating the UPF in the target DNAI with new traffic steering rules; subscribe to notifications from the AMF for an Area Of Interest, e.g. via Namf_EventExposure_Subscribe service operation), paragraph 123)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 27, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the policy and charging request comprises: a QoS reference identifying pre-determined QoS information; and a list of alternative QoS references in a prioritized order.
Hoffamnn teaches wherein the policy and charging request comprises: a QoS reference identifying pre-determined QoS information; and a list of alternative QoS references in a prioritized order. (the AF replies to Nnef_TrafficInfluence_Notify by invoking Nnef_TrafficInfluence_AppRelocationInfo service operation either immediately or after any required application relocation in the target DNAI is completed. The AF may include N6 traffic routing details corresponding to the target DNAI. The AF may reply in negative e.g. if the AF determines that the application relocation cannot be completed successfully and/or on time, Paragraph 130)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 28, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the requested QoS-related service operation comprises a request to monitor a QoS associated with the data flow.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the requested QoS-related service operation comprises a request to monitor a QoS associated with the data flow. (the AF may subscribe to receive QoS congestion condition notifications, or that the AF may request 5GS to monitor QoS status (e.g. over-the-air and/or end-to-end data path) and receive QoS measurement reports, Paragraph 141)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 29, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the policy and charging request indicates a QoS target to be monitored, the QoS target comprising a QoS parameter associated with one of: an uplink (UL); a downlink (DL); and a roundtrip packet delay.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the policy and charging request indicates a QoS target to be monitored, the QoS target comprising a QoS parameter associated with one of: an uplink (UL); a downlink (DL); and a roundtrip packet delay. (the AF may subscribe to receive QoS congestion condition notifications, or that the AF may request 5GS to monitor QoS status (e.g. over-the-air and/or end-to-end data path) and receive QoS measurement reports, Paragraph 141)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 30, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the policy and charging request indicates usage monitoring for a data flow sponsored by a third party, the usage monitoring comprising one of: time; an amount of data in the data flow sent over an UL; and an amount of data in the data flow sent over a DL.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the policy and charging request indicates usage monitoring for a data flow sponsored by a third party, the usage monitoring comprising one of: time; an amount of data in the data flow sent over an UL; and an amount of data in the data flow sent over a DL. (n case a late notification via NEF is requested by the AF, in S452, the SMF notifies the NEF of the target DNAI of the PDU Session by invoking Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify service operation. When the NEF receives Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify, the NEF performs in S454 information mapping (e.g. AF Transaction Internal ID provided in Notification Correlation ID to AF Transaction ID, etc.), and triggers the appropriate Nnef_EventExposure_Notify message, Paragraph 134)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 31, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the requested QoS-related service operation comprises a request to monitor a user plane event.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the requested QoS-related service operation comprises a request to monitor a user plane event. (in S436, the AF replies to Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify by invoking Nsmf_EventExposure_AppRelocationInfo service operation either immediately or after any required application relocation in the target DNAI is completed. AF may include N6 traffic routing details corresponding to the target DNAI. Furthermore, the AF may reply in negative e.g. if the AF determines that the application relocation cannot be completed successfully on time, Paragraph 132)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 32, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the policy and charging request indicates: reporting information for the user plane event; and a reporting frequency with which the user plane event is to be reported.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the policy and charging request indicates: reporting information for the user plane event; and a reporting frequency with which the user plane event is to be reported. (f the AF request includes a notification reporting request for UP path change, the PCF includes in the PCC rule(s) the information required for reporting the event, including the Notification Target Address pointing to the NEF or AF and the Notification Correlation ID containing the AF Transaction Internal ID, Paragraph 122)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 33, Luo doesn’t teach further comprising sending a policy and charging response to the edge consumer node, wherein the policy and charging response comprises at least one of: an indication that indicates whether the policy and charging request succeeded or failed; and a context ID associated with the policy and charging request.
Hoffmann teaches further comprising sending a policy and charging response to the edge consumer node, wherein the policy and charging response comprises at least one of: an indication that indicates whether the policy and charging request succeeded or failed; and a context ID associated with the policy and charging request. (a condition or trigger for an AF notification has been met, as described above. The SMF sends a notification to the NF that is subscribed for SMF notifications. Further processing of the SMF notification depends on the receiving NF, Paragraph 127)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 34, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the policy and charging request is a policy and charging update request from the edge consumer node requesting to update a previously received policy and charging request and includes the context ID associated with the previously received policy and charging request.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the policy and charging request is a policy and charging update request from the edge consumer node requesting to update a previously received policy and charging request and includes the context ID associated with the previously received policy and charging request. (Instead of using a dedicated signaling message from the AF 1 to the NEF (i.e. Nnef_Afchange), it is possible that, after the preparation of AF1, AF2 and context relocation between them was successfully completed, the AF 1 sends, for example, a PUT or PATCH request to the NEF to update subscription data, e.g. “Individual Traffic Influence Subscription” with new address(es) where the AF 2 wants to receive future notifications. In addition, e,g. for being able to receive also future requests at the AF 2 the PUT/PATCH method/request may also carry the address of the AF 2 in order to receive subsequent requests at the AF 2 not being Notifications, Paragraph 168)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 35, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the policy and charging response comprises a policy and charging update response sent to the edge consumer node indicating whether the policy and charging update request succeeded or failed.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the policy and charging response comprises a policy and charging update response sent to the edge consumer node indicating whether the policy and charging update request succeeded or failed. (Instead of using a dedicated signaling message from the AF 1 to the NEF (i.e. Nnef_Afchange), it is possible that, after the preparation of AF1, AF2 and context relocation between them was successfully completed, the AF 1 sends, for example, a PUT or PATCH request to the NEF to update subscription data, e.g. “Individual Traffic Influence Subscription” with new address(es) where the AF 2 wants to receive future notifications. In addition, e,g. for being able to receive also future requests at the AF 2 the PUT/PATCH method/request may also carry the address of the AF 2 in order to receive subsequent requests at the AF 2 not being Notifications, Paragraph 168)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 36, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the policy and charging request is a policy and charging delete request from the edge consumer node requesting to delete a previously received policy and charging request and includes the context ID associated with the previously received policy and charging request.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the policy and charging request is a policy and charging delete request from the edge consumer node requesting to delete a previously received policy and charging request and includes the context ID associated with the previously received policy and charging request. (Instead of using a dedicated signaling message from the AF 1 to the NEF (i.e. Nnef_Afchange), it is possible that, after the preparation of AF1, AF2 and context relocation between them was successfully completed, the AF 1 sends, for example, a PUT or PATCH request to the NEF to update subscription data, e.g. “Individual Traffic Influence Subscription” with new address(es) where the AF 2 wants to receive future notifications. In addition, e,g. for being able to receive also future requests at the AF 2 the PUT/PATCH method/request may also carry the address of the AF 2 in order to receive subsequent requests at the AF 2 not being Notifications, Paragraph 168)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 37, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the policy and charging response comprises a policy and charging delete response to the edge consumer node indicating whether the policy and charging delete request succeeded or failed.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the policy and charging response comprises a policy and charging delete response to the edge consumer node indicating whether the policy and charging delete request succeeded or failed. (Instead of using a dedicated signaling message from the AF 1 to the NEF (i.e. Nnef_Afchange), it is possible that, after the preparation of AF1, AF2 and context relocation between them was successfully completed, the AF 1 sends, for example, a PUT or PATCH request to the NEF to update subscription data, e.g. “Individual Traffic Influence Subscription” with new address(es) where the AF 2 wants to receive future notifications. In addition, e,g. for being able to receive also future requests at the AF 2 the PUT/PATCH method/request may also carry the address of the AF 2 in order to receive subsequent requests at the AF 2 not being Notifications, Paragraph 168)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 38, Luo doesn’t teach wherein providing one or more core network nodes associated with the one or both of the wireless device and the data flow to perform the requested QoS-related service operation on the data flow comprises sending a policy and charging notification request to the edge consumer node indicating the user plane event to monitor and the context ID associated with the received policy and charging request.
Hoffmann teaches wherein providing one or more core network nodes associated with the one or both of the wireless device and the data flow to perform the requested QoS-related service operation on the data flow comprises sending a policy and charging notification request to the edge consumer node indicating the user plane event to monitor and the context ID associated with the received policy and charging request. (The AF replies to Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify by invoking Nsmf_EventExposure_AppRelocationInfo service operation either immediately or after any required application relocation in the target DNAI is completed. AF may include N6 traffic routing details corresponding to the target DNAI. Furthermore, the AF may reply in negative e.g. if the AF determines that the application relocation cannot be completed successfully on time, Paragraph 132)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 39, Luo doesn’t teach wherein the user plane event comprises one of: usage reporting for sponsored data connectivity; service flow deactivation; resource allocation outcome; an indication that the QoS target can no longer satisfied, or can again be satisfied; and QoS monitoring parameters.
Hoffmann teaches wherein the user plane event comprises one of: usage reporting for sponsored data connectivity; service flow deactivation; resource allocation outcome; an indication that the QoS target can no longer satisfied, or can again be satisfied; and QoS monitoring parameters. (Examples of existing QoS information that may need to be exchanged quickly between network and Application Functions (e.g. EAS) include, for example, that the AF may subscribe to receive QoS congestion condition notifications, or that the AF may request 5GS to monitor QoS status (e.g. over-the-air and/or end-to-end data path) and receive QoS measurement reports, Paragraph 141)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
With respect to claims 40, Luo doesn’t teach further comprising: receiving a first user plane event, wherein the first user plane event is associated with the QoS-related service operation; and sending a policy and charging notification to the edge consumer node, wherein the policy and charging notification comprises the first user plane event.
Hoffmann teaches further comprising: receiving a first user plane event, wherein the first user plane event is associated with the QoS-related service operation; and sending a policy and charging notification to the edge consumer node, wherein the policy and charging notification comprises the first user plane event. (a condition or trigger for an AF notification has been met, as described above. The SMF sends a notification to the NF that is subscribed for SMF notifications. Further processing of the SMF notification depends on the receiving NF, Paragraph 127)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Luo with an IP flow description describing the data flow associated with the wireless device served by the edge consumer node as taught by Hoffmann. The motivation for combining Luo and Hoffmann is to be able to reduce network congestion and improve application performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liao et al. (US Publication 2023/0135699) discloses service function chaining (SFC) in a wireless cellular network and/or an edge data network. In some embodiments, a service function path (SFP) is configured across both the wireless cellular network and the edge data network. In other embodiments, a SFP is configured in the edge data network.
Seed et al. (US Publication 2023/0026671) discloses An edge application handover client in a user equipment may use application client information, such as type service, provider, location, context, and sendee requirements, to assist seamless edge application handovers of application clients between edge application servers. For example, a handover client may use context information to determine an anticipated route of the user equipment, and thereby determine a next, edge application server for a handoff. The handover client may weigh the needs of multiple application clients m selecting servers for handovers. The handover client may issue requests to servers requesting assistance in handover operations, and may issue subscription requests to servers, and further may determine the success of handovers by monitoring application state synchronization or migration between edge application handover servers.
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2472