DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 (and their dependent claims) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amend portion of claim 1: “wherein the light-emitting layer is configured to emit light in different colors, depending on the frequency of a drive voltage to be applied by the driving signal.” Already taught in Zhang et al at the end of the description: “3, 4 and 5 are the transmittances of the display device shown in FIG. After optimizing the thickness of the first FP resonant cavity 4, the second FP resonant cavity 6, and the anti-reflection coating 7, FIG. 3, FIG. 4 and FIG. 5 show the phase change material-based filter assembly in the crystalline state and Transmission in amorphous state. The red monochromatic light has a center wavelength of 645 nm. As shown in FIG. 3, the red monochromatic light with a central wavelength of 645 nm has a transmittance of 25% or more in an amorphous state and a transmittance of less than 7% in a crystalline state. The green monochromatic light has a center wavelength of 530 nm. As shown in FIG. 4, the green monochromatic light with a central wavelength of 530 nm has a transmittance of 16% or more in an amorphous state and a transmittance of less than 5% in a crystalline state. The blue monochromatic light has a central wavelength of 470 nm. As shown in FIG. 5, the blue monochromatic light with a central wavelength of 470 nm has a transmittance of 15% or more in the amorphous state and a transmittance of about 6% in the crystalline state. By applying different voltages or adjusting laser power, the phase change material layer 5 is changed from amorphous to partially crystallized to completely crystallized, so that a monochromatic light of a set wavelength can pass through the phase change material layer 5 and other wavelengths The light cannot pass through the phase change material layer 5 and the intensity of the monochromatic light that is selectively transmitted. For example, 20% crystallization and 40% crystallization can be used to obtain a mixed phase. Partial crystallization can be achieved simply by limiting the maximum current or laser power during the conversion process. The transmittance of a material between fully amorphous and fully crystalline depends on the degree of partial crystallization. The phase states between 16 and 64 mixed phases can be obtained typically, and more phases can be obtained under appropriate control, such as 1024. Therefore, the display device of FIG. 2 changes the transmittance of the phase change filter by controlling the voltage, and then adjusts the different ratios of the intensity of each of the red, green, and blue monochromatic lights, and finally realizes full-color display. Hence, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the action is made final accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG; Aidi (US PGpub: 2023/0055663 A1), herein after ZHANG, in view of TONG et al. (FP: CN110568692), herein after TONG.
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches light-emitting device, comprising:
an anode(131, FIG. 2, Paragraph [0103]-[0106]);
a cathode (132, FIG. 2, Paragraph [0103]-[0106]);;
a light-emitting layer (1331) provided between the anode and the cathode, and containing a first light-emitting material emitting a first-color light and a second light-emitting material emitting a second-color light greater in peak wavelength than the first-color light, at least one of the first light-emitting material or the second light-emitting material comprising quantum dots (red light wavelength has greater value than blue light).
ZHANG does not explicitly teach a power supply unit configured to control a frequency of a drive signal and wherein the light-emitting layer is configured to emit light in different colors, depending on the frequency of a drive voltage to be applied by the driving signal.
However, TONG discloses the display device of FIG. 2 changes the transmittance of the phase change filter by controlling the voltage, thereby adjusting the different ratios of the intensity of each red, green and blue monochromatic light, and finally realizing full-color display (Paragraph [0047], 3, 4 and 5 are the transmittances of the display device shown in FIG. After optimizing the thickness of the first FP resonant cavity 4, the second FP resonant cavity 6, and the anti-reflection coating 7, FIG. 3, FIG. 4 and FIG. 5 show the phase change material-based filter assembly in the crystalline state and Transmission in amorphous state. The red monochromatic light has a center wavelength of 645 nm. As shown in FIG. 3, the red monochromatic light with a central wavelength of 645 nm has a transmittance of 25% or more in an amorphous state and a transmittance of less than 7% in a crystalline state. The green monochromatic light has a center wavelength of 530 nm. As shown in FIG. 4, the green monochromatic light with a central wavelength of 530 nm has a transmittance of 16% or more in an amorphous state and a transmittance of less than 5% in a crystalline state. The blue monochromatic light has a central wavelength of 470 nm. As shown in FIG. 5, the blue monochromatic light with a central wavelength of 470 nm has a transmittance of 15% or more in the amorphous state and a transmittance of about 6% in the crystalline state. By applying different voltages or adjusting laser power, the phase change material layer 5 is changed from amorphous to partially crystallized to completely crystallized, so that a monochromatic light of a set wavelength can pass through the phase change material layer 5 and other wavelengths The light cannot pass through the phase change material layer 5 and the intensity of the monochromatic light that is selectively transmitted. For example, 20% crystallization and 40% crystallization can be used to obtain a mixed phase. Partial crystallization can be achieved simply by limiting the maximum current or laser power during the conversion process. The transmittance of a material between fully amorphous and fully crystalline depends on the degree of partial crystallization. The phase states between 16 and 64 mixed phases can be obtained typically, and more phases can be obtained under appropriate control, such as 1024. Therefore, the display device of FIG. 2 changes the transmittance of the phase change filter by controlling the voltage, and then adjusts the different ratios of the intensity of each of the red, green, and blue monochromatic lights, and finally realizes full-color display.).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to use ZHANG’s light-emitting device to modify with teachings from TONG such that the display device based on phase change materials and quantum dots, which utilizes the phase change filter to have different transmittances when converting between the amorphous state and the crystalline state. Different voltage pulses are applied to it to achieve color modulation, and it can transmit more than 15% of visible light of a certain wavelength, effectively improving the transmittance ratio.
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the power supply unit applies the drive signal the frequency of which is lower when the second-color light is emitted than when the first-color light is emitted (this is evident as Red has higher wavelength than Blue color).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein, in emitting light by either the first light-emitting material or the second light-emitting material that comprises the quantum dots, a light-emission rise time period is shorter than a fluorescence lifetime, the light-emission rise time period being based on a charge mobility of charges to be injected into the light-emitting layer (ABSTRACT, Paragraph [0016], [0087]-[0089]).
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 3, wherein the charge mobility is higher than 1 x10-3 cm2 / Vs. Hole or electron injection speed is not mentioned. However, these are known to people skilled in the art in order for the device to function properly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 3, further comprising: an electron-transport layer provided between the cathode and the light-emitting layer, wherein, in the electron-transport layer, a mobility of electrons is higher than 4 x10-3 cm2 / Vs. Hole or electron injection speed is not mentioned. However, these are known to people skilled in the art in order for the device to function properly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim3any one of claim 3, further comprising: a hole-transport layer provided between the anode and the light-emitting layer, wherein, in the hole-transport layer, a mobility of holes is higher than 4 x10-3 cm2 / Vs. Hole or electron injection speed is not mentioned. However, these are known to people skilled in the art in order for the device to function properly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 5, wherein the electron-transport layer contains a material containing at least one of ZnO, TiO2, or InGaZnO (A material of the electron transport layer is an inorganic material).
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 5, wherein the electron-transport layer contains a material containing at least one of ZnO, TiO2, or InGaZnO, the material being doped with at least one kind of metal ions selected from Li, Na, K, Mg, and Ca. TiO2. Tungsten-Doped ZnO as an Electron Transport Layer for Perovskite Solar Cells: Enhancing Efficiency and Stability in known to people skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 6, wherein the hole-transport layer contains a material containing at least one of ZnO, TiO2, or InGaZnO, or the material doped with at least one kind of metal ions selected from Li, Na, K, Mg, and Ca. Tungsten-Doped ZnO as an Electron Transport Layer and HTL for Enhancing Efficiency and Stability in known to people skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim1, wherein the light-emitting layer further includes a third light-emitting material emitting a third-color light greater in peak wavelength than the second-color light, and the power supply unit applies the drive signal the frequency of which is lower when the third-color light is emitted than when the second-color light is emitted.(as in FIG 2, there are three color light, Reg, Blue and Green. Power supply is applied such that RGB light are emitted depending on power supply manipulation)
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim1 to wherein each of the quantum dots includes a core, and a shell provided around the core, and the shell contains at least one of ZnS, SiO2, or Al2O3 (FIG. 2, Paragraph [0143], [0144]).
Regarding claim 12, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 11, wherein the first-color light is a blue light, the first light-emitting material is the quantum dots, and the core comprises either CdSexSi-x (where 0 < x < 1) or ZnSeySi-y (where 0 < y < 1). (FIG. 2, Paragraph [0143], [0144])
Regarding claim 13, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 11, wherein the second-color light is a green light, the second light-emitting material comprises the quantum dots, and the core contains either CdSexSi-x (where 0 < x < 1) or InP. (FIG. 2, Paragraph [0143], [0144])
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 10, wherein the third-color light is a red light, and the third light-emitting material comprises quantum dots containing either CdSexTei-x (where 0 < x < 1) or InP (FIG. 2, Paragraph [0143], [0144])
Regarding claim 15, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim 10, wherein the power supply unit applies: as the drive signal, a square wave of 4.0 V or more with a frequency of 140 MHz or more when the first-color light is emitted; as the drive signal, a square wave of 3.3 V or more and 3.9 V or less with a frequency of 150 kHz or more and less than 140 MHz when the second-color light is emitted; and as the drive signal, a square wave of 1.7 V or more and 4.0 V or less with a frequency of 0 or more and less than 150 kHz when the third-color light is emitted. This is not exactly mentioned in either art. However, these kind of power supply is known to people skilled in the art in order improve or manipulate freq or wavelength of the light.
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG teaches the light-emitting device according to claim1, further comprising a display unit (13R in FIG. 2) provided with a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix (a material of the pixel defining layer includes), and configured to display an image, wherein each of the plurality of pixels has at least one light-emitting element including the anode, the cathode, and the light-emitting layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEIKH MARUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897