DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (J. Phys. Chem. 1991, 95, 3080-3084) in view of the evidence of Chemical Book (2-Bromo-2-methylpropane, Chemical Safety Data Sheet MSDS/SDS, 2025).
Considering Claims 1 and 2: Bai et al. teaches tert-butyl bromide/a compound of chemical formula 1 where A is carbon, n is 1, B is an alkyl group with one carbon atom, X is a halogen with a bond dissociation of 292.86 (See Table 1 of the original specification), o is 1, and i and j are zero (¶0115). The compound is used in preparing thin films (Abstract).
As shown by Chemical Book, tert-butyl bromide is liquid at room temperature, has a density of 1.22 g/mL, a vapor pressure of 179.9 hPa/135 mmHg, and is insoluble in water.
Bai et al. teaches the identical claimed chemical structure of chemical formula I, and teaches the claimed liquid state, density, vapor pressure, solubility, and bond dissociation energy. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. While Watanabe et al. does not teach the claimed interactions with the thin film, these interactions do not change the structure of the compound itself, which is controlled by Chemical Formula 1.
Bai et al. teaches the tert-butyl bromide as being in a gas/vapor phase under vacuum (pg. 3081). Bai et al. is silent towards the pressure of the vacuum line. However, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used a pressure of 2.5 torr in the process of Bai et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compound to be functionally similar at the claimed pressure.
Bai et al. does not teach that the compound is a growth inhibitor. However, this is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Considering Claim 4: Bai et al. does not teach that the compound is used in an atomic layer deposition process. However, this is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767