DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US 2011/0281090) in view of the evidence of Chemical Book (2-Bromo-2-methylpropane, Chemical Safety Data Sheet MSDS/SDS, 2025).
Considering Claim 1 and 2: Watanabe et al. teaches tert-butyl bromide/ a compound of chemical formula 1 where A is carbon, n is 1, B is an alkyl group with one carbon atom, X is a halogen with a bond dissociation of 292.86 (See Table 1 of the original specification), o is 1, and i and j are zero (¶0115). The compound is used in preparing thin films (Abstract).
As shown by Chemical Book, tert-butyl bromide is liquid at room temperature, has a density of 1.22 g/mL, a vapor pressure of 179.9 hPa/135 mmHg, and is insoluble in water.
Watanabe et al. teaches the identical claimed chemical structure of chemical formula I, and teaches the claimed liquid state, density, vapor pressure, solubility, and bond dissociation energy. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. While Watanabe et al. does not teach the claimed interactions with the thin film, these interactions do not change the structure of the compound itself, which is controlled by Chemical Formula 1.
Watanabe et al. does not teach that the compound is a growth inhibitor. However, this is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Considering Claim 4: Watanabe et al. does not teach that the compound is used in an atomic layer deposition process. However, this is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
The applicant’s argument that Watanabe et al. does not teach the claimed interactions with the thin film is not persuasive. Watanabe et al. teaches the identical claimed chemical structure of chemical formula I, and teaches the claimed liquid state, density, vapor pressure, solubility, and bond dissociation energy. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. While Watanabe et al. does not teach the claimed interactions with the thin film, these interactions do not change the structure of the compound itself, which is controlled by Chemical Formula 1.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767