Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-24 in the reply filed on 05/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 1 “An unlocking apparatus”, “locking mechanism”, “unlocking assembly”
Claim 22 “guide part”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the battery box” in line 1, “the electric vehicle” in line 2, “the locking mechanism” in line 5, “the locking assembly” in line 7, and the standard locking position” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (CN 102180200, applicant admitted prior art).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-10, an unlocking apparatus, which is used to unlock or lock the battery box in the battery bracket on the electric vehicle (electric vehicle 7, battery swap device 6), characterized in that, the unlocking apparatus includes a drive mechanism, an unlocking component (21) and a transmission member (22, Para. [0068-0093]), and the drive mechanism drives the unlocking component (15) to move by means of the transmission member (22), so that the unlocking component (15) drives the locking mechanism on the battery bracket to move to unlock or lock the battery box (3);
the unlocking assembly is axially rotatable relative to the transmission member to self-adapt to the angle deviation between the unlocking component and the standard unlocking position on the battery bracket (Rotation of unlocking component and assembly relative to transmission member to lock the battery box. Para. [0077]. Figure 8-2.)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 1, characterized in that, one end of the transmission member (22) is connected to the drive mechanism, and the other end of the transmission member is rotatably connected to the unlocking component (21, Figures 7-1, 7-2, 8-1, 8-2.); and/or, the unlocking component is able to move on the transmission member along the axial direction of the unlocking component (Figures 7-1, 7-2, 8-1, 8-2.)
For claim 3, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 2, characterized in that, the transmission member (22) has a guide hole (Figures 7-1 and 8-1) and the guide hole is recessed inward from an end of the transmission member towards the unlocking component along the axial direction of the transmission member (Figures 7-1 and 8-1), and the unlocking component (15) is inserted into the guide hole and is able to move in the guide hole (Figures 7-1, 7-2, 8-1, 8-2.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 3, characterized in that, the unlocking apparatus further comprises a first elastic member (Para. [0008]), the first elastic member is located in the guide hole, and the two ends of the first elastic member abut against the transmission member and the unlocking component respectively (Figures 7-1, 7-2, 8-1, 8-2.)
For claim 5, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 3, characterized in that, one end of the transmission member (22) towards the unlocking component is clamped with the unlocking component (Figures 7-1, 7-2, 8-1, 8-2.)
For claim 6, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 5, characterized in that, an end of the transmission member (22) towards the unlocking component (15) is provided with a limiting portion, the unlocking component is arranged with a matching portion, and the matching portion is connected in the limiting portion and is able to rotates relative to the limiting portion along the axis of the unlocking component (The groove in 21 has a limiting portion. Para. [0072]); or, an end of the transmission member towards the unlocking component is provided with a matching portion, and the unlocking component is arranged with a limiting portion, the limiting portion is connected in the matching portion and is able to move along the axis of the unlocking component relative to the matching portion.
For claim 7, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 6, characterized in that, the limiting portion is an opening arranged on the outer wall of the transmission member (Screw of 22 has an opening between threads) , and the opening communicates with the guide hole (Screw threads of 21 communicate with the guide hole vis the body of 21. Figures 7-1, 7-2, 8-1, 8-2.); and/or, the matching portion is a slider arranged on the unlocking component.
For claim 8, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 7, characterized in that, a length of the opening along the axial direction of the transmission member (22) is greater than an extension length of the slider along the axial direction of the transmission member (Figures 7-1, 7-2, 8-1, 8-2.); and/or, a length of the opening along the radial direction of the transmission member is greater than an extension length of the slider along the radial direction of the transmission member.
For claim 9, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 1, characterized in that, the unlocking component itself is radially displaceable, so that the unlocking component can move radially relative to the drive mechanism (Figures 6 and 7-1.)
For claim 23, D1 discloses a swapping device, characterized in that it comprises the unlocking apparatus according to claim 1 (Automatic exchange device. Abstract.)
For claim 24, D1 discloses the swapping device according to claim 23, characterized in that further comprising a battery tray, and the unlocking apparatus is connected to the battery tray (Battery box storage rack. Abstract.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (CN 102180200, applicant admitted prior art) in view of D2 (Lammers et al., US Pub. 2019-0024412).
For claim 15, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose characterized in that, the unlocking apparatus further comprises a first detection unit for detecting whether the unlocking component moves in the direction approaching to the drive mechanism; and/or, a compression portion is further arranged on the unlocking component, and the first detection unit is used to detect the position of the compression portion,
D2 teaches a lock with sensor 200 that detects the status of the door lock (Para. [0032]) for safe and secured lock system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a sensor such that the unlocking apparatus further comprises a first detection unit for detecting whether the unlocking component moves in the direction approaching to the drive mechanism, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a safe and secured lock system.
Claim(s) 16, 18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (CN 102180200, applicant admitted prior art) in view of D3 (Wu, US Pub. 2019-0003207).
For claim 16, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose characterized in that, the drive mechanism comprises a rotating unit, the rotating unit is connected to the transmission member by means of a coupling sleeve and is used to drive the unlocking component to rotate along the axis of the unlocking component.
D3 teaches a lock with rotating unit (51), drive mechanisms (511, 36), the transmission wheel 367 sleeved on 331 (Para. [0023) to transfer power to the lock for safe and secure operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a drive mechanism such that the drive mechanism comprises a rotating unit, the rotating unit is connected to the transmission member by means of a coupling sleeve and is used to drive the unlocking component to rotate along the axis of the unlocking component, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of having safe and secure operation.
For claim 18, D1 discloses the unlocking device according to claim 16, characterized in that, the unlocking apparatus further comprises a mounting seat, and the rotating unit is penetrated on the mounting seat (Figures 7-1, and 8-1.)
For claim 20, the combination teaches the unlocking apparatus according to claim 18, characterized in that, the drive mechanism further comprises a drive unit and a first mounting plate (3, Figure 2 of D1), the mounting seat is connected to the first mounting plate (Figure 7-1, 7-2 of D1), and the drive, unit is connected to the first mounting plate and is used to drive the first mounting plate to move along the axial direction of the unlocking component. D3 teaches a drive unit 51. D1 modified with the drive unit of D3 teaches the claimed limitations.
For claim 21, the combination teaches the unlocking apparatus according to claim 20, characterized in that, the unlocking apparatus further comprises a second mounting plate (8, Figure 7 of D1 ), the drive unit (51 of D3) is arranged on the second mounting plate (8 of D1), and the drive unit drives the first mounting plate to slide relative to the second mounting plate (D1 modified with the drive unit of D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 22, D1 discloses the unlocking apparatus according to claim 21, characterized in that, at least one guide part (16) is provided between the first mounting plate (3) and the second mounting plate (8), and the first mounting plate (3) moves along the axial direction of the unlocking component by means of the guide part; and/or, the unlocking apparatus further comprises a second detection unit, the second detection unit is arranged at an end of the second mounting plate approaching to the unlocking component, and the second detection unit is used to detect whether the first mounting plate is moved in place in the direction of the locking mechanism; and/or, the unlocking apparatus further comprises a third detection unit, the third detection unit is arranged at an end of the second mounting plate away from the locking mechanism, and the third detection unit is used to detect whether the first mounting plate returns to an initial position.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (CN 102180200, applicant admitted prior art) in view of D3 (Wu, US Pub. 2019-0003207) and D4 (Kawagoe, US Pub. 2019-0202493).
For claim 17, the combination teaches the unlocking apparatus according to claim 16, but does not disclose wherein the driving mechanism further comprises a detection module, the detection module is electrically connected to the rotating unit and used to detect rotational torque of the rotating unit.
D4 teaches a motor and a torque sensor 41c (Para. [0022]) for safe operation of the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a torque sensor such that the driving mechanism further comprises a detection module, the detection module is electrically connected to the rotating unit and used to detect rotational torque of the rotating unit, as taught by D4 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a safe operating system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied include Zhang (US 2023-0150392) – Battery swapping station; Hammerslag (US 5,711,648) - Battery charging and transfer system; and Sabo (US 2007-0056338) – Lock device and system employing a door lock device.
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675