CTNF 18/015,085 CTNF 98357 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Applicant’s amendments filed 4/21/2026 have been entered and considered. The amendments to claims 14, 16, and 31, the cancellation of claims 15, 24, and 33 and the newly added claims 34-37 are acknowledged. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14, 16, and 31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 34-35 and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “fourth metal member is directed formed on the upper surface of the third metal member”. The examiner understands this to be a typographical error and should recite “fourth metal member is directly formed on the upper surface of the third metal member” . Appropriate correction is required. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 4/21/2026 has been entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 14, 17, 19, 21, 23, 29, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “bonded to an upper surface of the fourth metal member corresponding to a formation position of the third metal member”. The limitation appears to imply that the upper surface of the fourth metal member is the surface where the third metal member is formed while the claim already establishes that the fourth metal member is formed on the upper surface of the third metal member. The claim further recites “the insulation member having an opening at a position corresponding to a bonding area of the wiring member and the fourth metal member”. The claim appears to suggest that the opening is over the fourth metal member but the insulation member was recited as being disposed between the stacked metal members. For purposes of examination, the limitations will be understood as “the insulation member having an opening at a position that overlaps with a bonding area…”. Claims 17, 19, 21, 23, 29, and 35-36 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 14. 07-34-01 Claims 16, 18, 20, 22, 26, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “bonded to an upper surface of the fourth metal member corresponding to a formation position of the third metal member”. The limitation appears to imply that the upper surface of the fourth metal member is the surface where the third metal member is formed while the claim already establishes that the fourth metal member is formed on the upper surface of the third metal member. The claim further recites “the insulation member having an opening at a position corresponding to a bonding area of the wiring member and the fourth metal member”. The claim appears to suggest that the opening is over the fourth metal member but the insulation member is recited as being disposed between the stacked metal members. For purposes of examination, the limitations will be understood as “the insulation member having an opening at a position that overlaps with a bonding area…”. Claims 18, 20, 22, 26, and 37 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 16. 07-34-01 Claims 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “bonding a wiring member with copper as a principal component to an upper surface of the fourth metal member corresponding to a formation position of the third metal member”. The limitation appears to imply that the upper surface of the fourth metal member is the surface where the third metal member is formed while the claim already establishes that the fourth metal member is formed on the upper surface of the third metal member. The claim further recites “an insulation member having an opening at a position corresponding to a bonding area of the wiring member and the fourth metal member, disposed in a peripheral area of at least one of the regions between the first metal member, the second metal member, the third metal member, and the fourth metal member”. The claim appears to suggest that the opening is over the fourth metal member but the insulation member is recited as being disposed between the stacked metal members. For purposes of examination, the limitations will be understood as “the insulation member having an opening at a position that overlaps with a bonding area…”. Claim 34 Is rejected based on its dependency on claim 31. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 14, 16-23, 26, 29, 31, and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. US 20140284790 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Matsumoto), in view of Lin et al. US 20160163665 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Lin) . Regarding claim 14 , Matsumoto teaches A semiconductor device (“semiconductor device” para. 0097 FIG. 10-19) comprising: a semiconductor element (“semiconductor substrate SP” covered by “insulating film ILT”, para. 0047) with a first main surface (top surface of “insulating film ILT”); a first metal member (“bonding pad BP” para. 0103) formed on the first main surface; a second metal member (“OPM electrode film OP3” para. 0098) formed on an upper surface of the first metal member; a third metal member (“OPM film OP1” para. 0054) formed on an upper surface of the second metal member; a fourth metal member (“OPM adhesion film OP2” para. 0053), formed on an upper surface of the third metal member; a wiring member with copper as a principal component (“Cu wire CW” para. 0062), bonded to an upper surface of the fourth metal member corresponding to a formation position of the third metal member (“Cu wire CW” is bonded to “OPM adhesion layer OP2”, para. 0113 FIG. 10 and 19), wherein a material of the first metal member is aluminum (“Al--Cu alloy film AC2” of “bonding pad BP” is up to 98% by weight aluminum, para. 0103) and a material of the second metal member is copper (“OPM electrode film OP3” can be a Cu film, para. 0106); an insulation member (“surface protective film SIL” para. 0104) disposed in a peripheral area of at least one of the regions between the first metal member, the second metal member, the third metal member, and the fourth metal member, the insulation member having an opening at a position that overlaps a bonding area of the wiring member and the fourth metal member (“surface protective film SIL” has an “opening C1” exposing “bonding pad BP”, para. 0104. Since the only difference between the embodiments of FIG. 1 and FIG. 10 is the added “OPM electrode film OP3” in FIG. 10, the examiner understands that the “opening C1” partially exposes “bonding pad BP” in FIG. 10 as it does in FIG. 1, para. 0048. Also, “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are formed in openings that are greater than “opening C1”, such that peripheral regions of “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are understood and shown to overlap the peripheral regions of “surface protective film SIL”, para. 016-112 FIG. 13-17); and a portion where the first to fourth metal members are stacked without the insulation member therebetween (central portions of “bonding pad BP”, “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are stacked and within a vertical projection of the “opening C1”), directly below a position corresponding to a bonding region between the wiring member and the fourth metal member (“opening C1” overlaps with the area where “Cu wire CW” and “PM adhesion layer OP2” are bonded), the portion being located within the opening of the insulation member (the stacked central portions of “bonding pad BP” to “OPM adhesion layer OP2” are within the area of “opening C1”), wherein the semiconductor element is stacked with the first to fourth metal members (“bonding pad BP”, “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are stacked on “insulating film ILT” and “semiconductor substrate SP”), and the first metal member is directly stacked on the first main surface of the semiconductor element (“bonding pad BP” is formed directly on “insulating film ILT”, para. 0103). However, Matusmoto fails to teach the fourth metal member with copper as a principal component. Nevertheless, Lin teaches the fourth metal member with copper as a principal component (“second metal layer 140” comprises copper, para. 0016 FIG. 1). Matsumoto and Lin teach multiplayer bonding pads. The pad in Matsumoto teaches “OPM adhesion film OP2” as a palladium plating film (Matsumoto para. 0110 FIG. 15). Meanwhile, the “second metal layer 140”, outermost layer of the bonding pad stack, can be aluminum, copper, or palladium so that a strong bond with a copper “bonding wire 150” can be easily made (Lin para. 0016). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that copper is a suitable alternative to palladium for forming a reliable bond with a copper wire. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device in Matsumoto with the material of the member in contact with the wire as taught in Lin. The fourth metal member comprising copper can readily form a bond with a copper wire. Regarding claim 17 , Matsumoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 14, wherein a hardness of a material of either the second metal member or the third metal member is equal to or higher than a hardness of a material of the fourth metal member (since “OPM electrode layer OP3” is copper and the modified “OPM adhesion layer OP2” is copper, they are understood to have substantially equal hardnesses). Regarding claim 19 , Matsumoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 14, wherein a hardness of the material of the second metal member is equal to or lower than a hardness of the material of the third metal member (“OPM electrode layer OP3” is copper and the “OPM film OP1” is nickel, para. 0109. Copper is generally softer than nickel as evidenced in Benenson, periodictable.com, Wikipedia.org, and nickelinstitute.org cited below). Regarding claim 21 , Matsumoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 14, wherein a hardness of the material of the first metal member is equal to or lower than a hardness of the material of the second metal member and a hardness of the material of the third metal member (“bonding pad BP” is predominantly “Al--Cu alloy film AC2” having up to 98% by weight aluminum, “OPM electrode layer OP3” is copper, and the “OPM film OP1” is nickel, para. 0103-0109. Aluminum is generally softer that copper and nickel as evidenced in Benenson, periodictable.com, Wikipedia.org, and nickelinstitute.org cited below.) Regarding claim 23 , Matsumoto teaches semiconductor device according to claim 14 but fails to expressly teach wherein an outer edge of the fourth metal member is disposed inside an outer edge of at least one of the first metal member, the second metal member, and the third metal member which are formed under the fourth metal member. Nevertheless, Matsumoto, as well as Lin, illustrate uppermost metal members having smaller lateral extents than the lowermost metal members. The “OPM adhesion layer OP2” in Matsumoto is shown as having an outer edge within the outer edge of “bonding pad BP” and “second metal layer 140” in Lin is shown as having an outer edge within the outer edge of “bonding pad 120”. These represent one of three possible relationships between the outer edges of the fourth and first metal member: either the outer edged are aligned, the outer edge of the fourth metal member is within the outer edge of the first metal member, or the outer edge of the first metal member is within the outer edge of the fourth metal member. As stated in MPEP 2143 Section E, “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense”. As long as the fourth metal member is wide enough to accommodate the wiring member, all three cases serve as a bonding pad. Regarding claim 29 , Matsumoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 14, wherein a thickness of the third metal member is from 1 µm to 50 µm (“A thickness of the Ni plating film PN is, for example, 0.5 .mu.m to 4.0 .mu.m, and, most preferably, for example, 1.0 .mu.m to 3.0 .mu.m.” para. 0109). Regarding claim 35 , Matsumoto teaches semiconductor device according to claim 14, wherein the first to fourth metal members are continuously stacked such that the first metal member is formed directly on the first main surface (“bonding pad BP is formed on the insulating film ILT” para. 0103), the second metal member is formed directly on the upper surface of the first metal member (“OPM electrode film OP3 connected to the bonding pad BP via the openings C1 and C2” para. 0106 FIG. 12), the third metal member is formed directly on the upper surface of the second metal member (“Ni plating film PN (the OPM film OP1 in FIG. 10 described above) is grown on the part of the OPM electrode film OP3 exposed from the opening C4” para. 0109 FIG. 14), and fourth metal member is directed formed on the upper surface of the third metal member (“Pd plating film PP (the OPM adhesion film OP2 in FIG. 10 described above) is grown on the Ni plating film PN” para. 0110 FIG. 15). Regarding claim 36 , Matsumoto teaches semiconductor device according to claim 14, wherein an entirety of the semiconductor element is disposed below the first metal member (the entirety of “insulating film ILT” and “semiconductor substrate SP” are below “bonding pad BP”, para. 0103). Regarding claim 16 , Matsumoto teaches A semiconductor device (“semiconductor device” para. 0097 FIG. 10-19) comprising: a semiconductor element (“semiconductor substrate SP” covered by “insulating film ILT”, para. 0047) with a first main surface (top surface of “insulating film ILT”); a first metal member (“bonding pad BP” para. 0103) formed on the first main surface; a second metal member (“OPM electrode film OP3” para. 0098) formed on an upper surface of the first metal member; a third metal member (“OPM film OP1” para. 0054) formed on an upper surface of the second metal member; a fourth metal member (“OPM adhesion film OP2” para. 0053), formed on an upper surface of the third metal member; a wiring member with copper as a principal component (“Cu wire CW” para. 0062), bonded to an upper surface of the fourth metal member corresponding to a formation position of the third metal member (“Cu wire CW” is bonded to “OPM adhesion layer OP2”, para. 0113 FIG. 10 and 19), an insulation member (“surface protective film SIL” para. 0104) having an opening at a position that overlaps with a bonding area of the wiring member and the fourth metal member (“opening C1” overlaps with the area where “Cu wire CW” and “PM adhesion layer OP2” are bonded), disposed in a peripheral area of at least one of the regions between the first metal member, the second metal member, the third metal member, and the fourth metal member (“surface protective film SIL” has an “opening C1” exposing “bonding pad BP”, para. 0104. Since the only difference between the embodiments of FIG. 1 and FIG. 10 is the added “OPM electrode film OP3” in FIG. 10, the examiner understands that the “opening C1” partially exposes “bonding pad BP” in FIG. 10 as it does in FIG. 1, para. 0048. Also, “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are formed in openings that are greater than “opening C1”, such that peripheral regions of “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are understood and shown to overlap the peripheral regions of “surface protective film SIL”, para. 016-112 FIG. 13-17); and a portion where the first to fourth metal members are stacked without the insulation member therebetween (central portions of “bonding pad BP”, “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are stacked and within a vertical projection of the “opening C1”), directly below a position corresponding to a bonding region between the wiring member and the fourth metal member (“opening C1” overlaps with the area where “Cu wire CW” and “PM adhesion layer OP2” are bonded), the portion being located within the opening of the insulation member (the stacked central portions of “bonding pad BP” to “OPM adhesion layer OP2” are within the area of “opening C1”) wherein the semiconductor element is stacked with the first to fourth metal members (“bonding pad BP”, “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are stacked on “insulating film ILT” and “semiconductor substrate SP”), and the first metal member is directly stacked on the first main surface of the semiconductor element (“bonding pad BP” is formed directly on “insulating film ILT”, para. 0103). However, Matusmoto fails to teach the fourth metal member with copper as a principal component. Nevertheless, Lin teaches the fourth metal member with copper as a principal component (“second metal layer 140” comprises copper, para. 0016 FIG. 1). Matsumoto and Lin teach multiplayer bonding pads. The pad in Matsumoto teaches “OPM adhesion film OP2” as a palladium plating film (Matsumoto para. 0110 FIG. 15). Meanwhile, the “second metal layer 140”, outermost layer of the bonding pad stack, can be aluminum, copper, or palladium so that a strong bond with a copper “bonding wire 150” can be easily made (Lin para. 0016). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that copper is a suitable alternative to palladium for forming a reliable bond with a copper wire. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device in Matsumoto with the material of the member in contact with the wire as taught in Lin. The fourth metal member comprising copper can readily form a bond with a copper wire. Regarding claim 18 , Matsumoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 16, wherein a hardness of a material of either the second metal member or the third metal member is equal to or higher than a hardness of a material of the fourth metal member (since “OPM electrode layer OP3” is copper and the modified “OPM adhesion layer OP2” is copper, they are understood to have substantially equal hardnesses). Regarding claim 20 , Matsumoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 16, wherein a hardness of the material of the second metal member is equal to or lower than a hardness of the material of the third metal member (“OPM electrode layer OP3” is copper and the “OPM film OP1” is nickel, para. 0109. Copper is generally softer than nickel as evidenced in Benenson, periodictable.com, Wikipedia.org, and nickelinstitute.org cited below). Regarding claim 22 , Matsumoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 16, wherein a hardness of the material of the first metal member is equal to or lower than a hardness of the material of the second metal member and a hardness of the material of the third metal member (“bonding pad BP” is predominantly “Al--Cu alloy film AC2” having up to 98% by weight aluminum, “OPM electrode layer OP3” is copper, and the “OPM film OP1” is nickel, para. 0103-0109. Aluminum is generally softer that copper and nickel as evidenced in Benenson, periodictable.com, Wikipedia.org, and nickelinstitute.org cited below.) Regarding claim 26 , Matsumoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 16, wherein a material of the first metal member is aluminum, a material of the second metal member is copper, and a material of the third metal member is nickel (“bonding pad BP” is predominantly “Al--Cu alloy film AC2” having up to 98% by weight aluminum, “OPM electrode layer OP3” is copper, and the “OPM film OP1” is nickel, para. 0103-0109). Regarding claim 37 , Matsumoto teaches semiconductor device according to claim 16, wherein the first to fourth metal members are continuously stacked such that the first metal member is formed directly on the first main surface (“bonding pad BP is formed on the insulating film ILT” para. 0103), the second metal member is formed directly on the upper surface of the first metal member (“OPM electrode film OP3 connected to the bonding pad BP via the openings C1” para. 0106 FIG. 12), the third metal member is formed directly on the upper surface of the second metal member (“Ni plating film PN (the OPM film OP1 in FIG. 10 described above) is grown on the part of the OPM electrode film OP3 exposed from the opening C4” para. 0109 FIG. 14), and fourth metal member is directed formed on the upper surface of the third metal member (“Pd plating film PP (the OPM adhesion film OP2 in FIG. 10 described above) is grown on the Ni plating film PN” para. 0110 FIG. 15). Regarding claim 31 , Matsumoto teaches A manufacturing method of a semiconductor device (“semiconductor device” para. 0097 FIG. 10-19), comprising: preparing a semiconductor element (“semiconductor substrate SP” covered by “insulating film ILT”, para. 0047) with a first main surface (top surface of “insulating film ILT”); forming a first metal member on the first main surface (“bonding pad BP” para. 0103); forming a second metal member (“OPM electrode film OP3” para. 0098) on an upper surface of the first metal member; forming a third metal member (“OPM film OP1” para. 0054) on an upper surface of the second metal member; forming a fourth metal member (“OPM adhesion film OP2” para. 0053) on an upper surface of the third metal member; bonding a wiring member with copper as a principal component (“Cu wire CW” para. 0062) to an upper surface of the fourth metal member corresponding to a formation position of the third metal member (“Cu wire CW” is bonded to “OPM adhesion layer OP2”, para. 0113 FIG. 10 and 19); and forming an insulation member (“surface protective film SIL” para. 0104) having an opening at a position corresponding to a bonding area of the wiring member and the fourth metal member (“opening C1” overlaps with the area where “Cu wire CW” and “PM adhesion layer OP2” are bonded), disposed in a peripheral area of at least one of the regions between the first metal member, the second metal member, the third metal member, and the fourth metal member (“surface protective film SIL” has an “opening C1” exposing “bonding pad BP”, para. 0104. Since the only difference between the embodiments of FIG. 1 and FIG. 10 is the added “OPM electrode film OP3” in FIG. 10, the examiner understands that the “opening C1” partially exposes “bonding pad BP” in FIG. 10 as it does in FIG. 1, para. 0048. Also, “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are formed in openings that are greater than “opening C1”, such that peripheral regions of “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are understood and shown to overlap the peripheral regions of “surface protective film SIL”, para. 016-112 FIG. 13-17), wherein the semiconductor device includes a portion where the first to fourth metal members are stacked without the insulation member therebetween (central portions of “bonding pad BP”, “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are stacked and within a vertical projection of the “opening C1”), directly below a position corresponding to a bonding region between the wiring member and the fourth metal member (“opening C1” overlaps with the area where “Cu wire CW” and “PM adhesion layer OP2” are bonded), the portion being located within the opening of the insulation member (the stacked central portions of “bonding pad BP” to “OPM adhesion layer OP2” are within the area of “opening C1”), wherein the semiconductor element is stacked with the first to fourth metal members (“bonding pad BP”, “OPM electrode film OP3”, “OPM film OP1”, and “OPM adhesion film OP2” are stacked on “insulating film ILT” and “semiconductor substrate SP”), and the first metal member is directly stacked on the first main surface of the semiconductor element (“bonding pad BP” is formed directly on “insulating film ILT”, para. 0103). However, Matusmoto fails to teach the fourth metal member with copper as a principal component. Nevertheless, Lin teaches the fourth metal member with copper as a principal component (“second metal layer 140” comprises copper, para. 0016 FIG. 1). Matsumoto and Lin teach multiplayer bonding pads. The pad in Matsumoto teaches “OPM adhesion film OP2” as a palladium plating film (Matsumoto para. 0110 FIG. 15). Meanwhile, the “second metal layer 140”, outermost layer of the bonding pad stack, can be aluminum, copper, or palladium so that a strong bond with a copper “bonding wire 150” can be easily made (Lin para. 0016). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that copper is a suitable alternative to palladium for forming a reliable bond with a copper wire. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Matsumoto with the material of the member in contact with the wire as taught in Lin. The fourth metal member comprising copper can readily form a bond with a copper wire. Regarding claim 34 , Matsumoto teaches manufacturing method according to claim 31, wherein the first to fourth metal members are continuously stacked such that the first metal member is formed directly on the first main surface (“bonding pad BP is formed on the insulating film ILT” para. 0103), the second metal member is formed directly on the upper surface of the first metal member (“OPM electrode film OP3 connected to the bonding pad BP via the openings C1” para. 0106 FIG. 12), the third metal member is formed directly on the upper surface of the second metal member (“Ni plating film PN (the OPM film OP1 in FIG. 10 described above) is grown on the part of the OPM electrode film OP3 exposed from the opening C4” para. 0109 FIG. 14), and fourth metal member is directed formed on the upper surface of the third metal member (“Pd plating film PP (the OPM adhesion film OP2 in FIG. 10 described above) is grown on the Ni plating film PN” para. 0110 FIG. 15). References cited that show properties of metals: Technical Data for Copper in https://periodictable.com/Elements/029/data.html Technical data for Nickel in https://periodictable.com/Elements/028/data.html Technical Data for Copper and Technical Data for Nickel provided by Wolfram Research (2007), ElementData, Wolfram Language function, https://reference.wofram.com/language/ref/ElementData.html(updated 2014). Properties of Some Metals and Alloys , pages 4, 12, and 26, The International Nickel Company, https://nickelinstitute.org/media/1771/propertiesofsomemetalsandaloys_297_.pdf, copyright 1982. Hardnesses of Elements in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardnesses_of_the_elements_(data_page) Benenson, W., Handbook of Physics , 7.2 Elastic Properties, pages 239-240, 2002. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIC MULERO FLORES whose telephone number is (571)270-0070. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8am-5pm (typically). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julio Maldonado can be reached at (571)272-1864. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERIC MANUEL MULERO FLORES/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 2 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 3 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 4 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 5 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 6 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 7 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 8 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 9 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 10 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 11 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 12 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 13 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 14 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 15 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 16 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/015,085 Page 17 Art Unit: 2898