DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed 05/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18, 20 and 21 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Saitoh et al. (US 20210057500 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20200381653 A1) in view of Saitoh et al. (US 20210057500 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bang discloses a display device, comprising:
a base substrate (100); ([0071], Fig. 5)
a thin-film-transistor layer (annotated below) provided on the base substrate (100), and including a first wiring layer (20 left in Fig. 1/20a and 20b in Fig. 5, see [0159]), a first planarization film (109), a second wiring layer (20 right in Fig. 1/20a and 20b in Fig. 5, see [0159]), and a second planarization film (111), all of which are stacked on top of each other in this stated order; ([0128], Fig. 5)
a light-emitting-element layer (OLED) provided on the thin-film-transistor layer (annotated below), and including a plurality of first electrodes (310), an edge cover (113), a plurality of light-emitting layers (320), and a second electrode (330), all of which are stacked on top of each other in this stated order, each of the plurality of first electrodes (310) and each of the plurality of light-emitting layers (320) corresponding to one of a plurality of sub-pixels ([0008]) included in a display region (DA), and the edge cover (113) and the second electrode (330) being provided in common among the plurality of sub-pixels; ([0014], Fig. 5)
a sealing film (400) provided to cover the light-emitting-element layer (OLED), and including a first inorganic sealing film (410), an organic sealing film (420), and a second inorganic sealing film (430), all of which are stacked on top of each other in this stated order; ([0149], Fig. 5)
a first dam wall (130) provided in a frame region (NDA) around the display region (DA) and surrounding the display region (DA), the first dam wall (130) being shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1) to overlap with a peripheral end portion of the organic sealing film (420); ([0083], Fig. 5)
a power supply line (20) provided in the display region (DA) and serving as the second wiring layer (20); ([0076], Fig. 5)
a first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) provided in the frame region (NDA) and serving as a portion of the first wiring layer (20 left), the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) extending to a terminal unit (30) at an end portion of the frame region (NDA) and being electrically connected to the power supply line (20); ([0076], Fig. 5) and
a second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) provided in the frame region (NDA) and serving as another portion of the first wiring layer (20 left), the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) extending to the terminal unit (30) and being electrically connected to the second electrode (330) through a conductive layer formed of a same material, and in a same layer, as each of the plurality of first electrodes (310), (Fig. 1 and 5) wherein
the first planarization film (109) and the second planarization film (111) include a first slit (annotated below) shaped into a frame (as shown in Fig, 1), provided between the display region (DA) and the first dam wall (130), and penetrating the first planarization film (109) and the second planarization film (111), and in the first slit (annotate below),
Bang does not disclose:
the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other in a horizontal direction, are formed in a same layer by a same material and covered with a protective film made of an inorganic insulating film included in the thin-film transistor layer.
However, Saito discloses:
the first frame wire (39c) and the second frame wire (39c) have respective edge portions facing each other (annotated below) in a horizontal direction, are formed in a same layer by a same material (See Fig. 6) and covered with a protective film (13b in Fig. 6) made of an inorganic insulating film (see [0048] then [0033]) included in the thin-film transistor layer (layers (20) above layer (10) in Fig. 2 compared to layers above (10) in Fig. 6). ([0043], (Fig. 5-7)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang and Saito for the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other in a horizontal direction, are formed in a same layer by a same material and covered with a protective film made of an inorganic insulating film included in the thin-film transistor layer in order to “reduce damage to the frame wires 39c” (Saito, [0064])
Regarding claim 4, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first dam wall (130) includes:
a first metal protruding portion provided to electrically connect to either the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) or the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) and serving as the second wiring layer (Fig. 5), and
a first resin protruding portion (111c) formed of a same material, and in a same layer, as the second planarization film (111), and provided on the first metal protruding portion. (Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 5, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the first metal protruding portion (annotated above) has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape such that a portion of the end portion toward the base substrate protrudes further than another portion of the end portion toward the light-emitting-element layer. ([0180], Fig. 7A and 7B)
Regarding claim 6, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the first metal protruding portion (annotated above) includes: a lower metal film (20b1) made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate (100 in Fig. 5) and
an upper metal film (20b2) made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer (OLED in Fig. 5). ([0177], Fig. 7A and 7B)
Regarding claim 7, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the display region (DA) is shaped into a rectangle (shown in Fig. 1), and the first metal protruding portion (annotated above as 20b which corresponds to 21 per [0159]) electrically connected to the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) is provided along a portion of one side, of the display region (DA), along the terminal unit (30). (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 8, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 7, wherein the first metal protruding portion (annotated above as 20b which corresponds to 21 per [0159]) electrically connected to the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) is provided along:
another portion of the one side, of the display region (DA), along the terminal unit (30), and
three sides, of the display region, not along the terminal unit (30). (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 9, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the first dam wall (130) includes a third resin protruding portion(113c) formed of a same material, and in a same layer, as the edge cover (113), and provided above the first resin protruding portion (111c). (Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 10, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a second dam wall (120) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1) and provided around the first dam wall (130), wherein the second planarization film (111) includes a second slit (annotated above) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1), provided between the first dam wall (130) and the second dam wall (120), and penetrating the second planarization film (111), (Fig. 5)
Bang does not disclose:
and in the second slit, the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other and covered with the protective film.
However, Saito discloses:
and in the second slit (annotated below), the first frame wire (39c) and the second frame wire (39c) have respective edge portions facing each other (annotated below) and covered with the protective film (13b). ([0043], (Fig. 5-7)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang and Saito for in the second slit, the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other and covered with the protective film in order to “reduce damage to the frame wires 39c” (Saito, [0064])
Regarding claim 11, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 10, wherein the second dam wall (120) includes:
a second metal protruding portion (annotated below) provided to electrically connect to either the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) or the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1), and serving as the second wiring layer (Fig. 5), and
a second resin protruding portion (113b) formed of a same material, and in a same layer, as the second planarization film (111), and provided on the second metal protruding portion (annotated below). (Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 12, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 11, wherein
the second metal protruding portion (annotated above) has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape such that a portion of the end portion toward the base substrate protrudes further than another portion of the end portion toward the light-emitting-element layer. ([0180], Fig. 7A and 7B)
Regarding claim 13, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 11, wherein
the second metal protruding portion (annotated above) includes:
a lower metal film (20b1) made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate (100 in Fig. 5), and
an upper metal film (20b2) made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer (OLED in Fig. 5). ([0180], Fig. 7A and 7B)
Regarding claim 14, Bang discloses the display device according claim 11, wherein
the display region (DA) is shaped into a rectangle (shown in Fig. 1), and
the second metal protruding portion (annotated 20b in Fig. 5 which corresponds to 21 in Fig. 1 per [0159]) electrically connected to the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) is provided along a portion of one side, of the display region (DA), along the terminal unit (30). (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 15, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 14, wherein
the second metal protruding portion (annotated 20b in Fig. 5 which corresponds to 21 in Fig. 1 per [0159]) electrically connected to the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) is provided along:
another portion of the one side, of the display region (DA), along the terminal unit (30), and
three sides (left/right/top), of the display region (DA), not along the terminal unit (30). (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 16, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 11, wherein
the second dam wall (120) includes a fourth resin (113b) protruding portion formed of a same material, and in a same layer, as the edge cover (113), and provided above the second resin protruding portion (111b). (Fig. 5)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20200381653 A1) in view of Saito et al. (US 20210057500 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jinno (US 20050099550 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Bang in view of Saito discloses the display device according to claim 1. Bang in view of Saito do not disclose wherein the protective film is provided between the first planarization film and the a second wiring layer.
However, Jinno discloses:
the protective film (132) is provided between the first planarization film (130) and the a second wiring layer (20). ([0046], Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang, Saito, and Jinno for the protective film is provided between the first planarization film and the a second wiring layer in order to “reliably protect the repair line 128 from the resist abrasion liquid or the like during the formation of the organic EL element 50,” (Jinno, [0057])
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20200381653 A1) in view of Saito et al. (US 20210057500 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakagawa (US 20180226617 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bang in view of Saito disclose the display device according to claim 1. Bang in view of Saito do not disclose wherein the protective film is provided between the first wiring layer and the first planarization film.
However, Nakagawa does disclose:
wherein the protective film (122e) is provided between the first wiring layer (108) and the first planarization film (122d). (Fig. 1C)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings Bang, Saito and Nakagawa for the protective film is provided between the first wiring layer and the first planarization film in order to prevent “the entrance of moisture.” (Nakagawa, [0005])
Claims 17, 18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20200381653 A1) in view of Saito et al. (US 20210057500 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okabe et al. (US 20210210583 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Bang in view of Saito disclose the display device according to claim 1. Bang in view of Saito do not disclose wherein
the first planarization film and the second planarization film include a trench shaped into a frame, provided between the display region and the first slit, and penetrating the first planarization film and the second planarization film.
However, Okabe discloses:
the first planarization film (19a) and the second planarization film (21) include a trench (G) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1), provided between the display region (D) and the first slit (S), and penetrating the first planarization film (19a) and the second planarization film (21). ([0052], Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang, Saito and Okabe for the first planarization film and the second planarization film include a trench shaped into a frame, provided between the display region and the first slit, and penetrating the first planarization film and the second planarization film in order to “suppress the deterioration of the organic EL layer 33, and improve the reliability of the organic EL display device 50a.” (Okabe, [0074])
Regarding claim 18, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 17, wherein the second electrode (34) and the conductive layer (31a) are in contact with each other and provided inside the trench (G). ([0073, Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 20, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second dam wall (120) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1) and provided around the first dam wall (130);
the second planarization film (111) includes a second slit (annotated below) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1), provided between the first dam wall (130) and the second dam wall (130), and penetrating the second planarization film (111),
Bang does not disclose:
a second metal layer; and
a third metal layer, wherein
in the second slit, the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other and covered with the protective film,
a second metal layer provided above the first frame wire, covering the first frame wire through the protective film, and electrically connected to the first frame wire,
a third metal layer provided above the second frame wire, covering the second frame wire through the protective film, and electrically connected to the second frame wire,
each of the second metal layer and the third metal layer includes:
a lower metal film made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate; and
an upper metal film made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer, and
each of the second metal protruding portion and the third metal layer has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape so that the lower metal film protrudes further than the upper metal film.
However, Okabe discloses:
a second metal layer; (annotated below) and
a third metal layer, (annotated below) wherein
in the second slit, the first frame wire (18i) and the second frame wire (18h) have respective edge portions facing each other (annotated below) and covered with the protective film (36b), (Fig. 8)
a second metal layer (annotated below) provided above the first frame wire (18i), covering the first frame wire (18i) through the protective film (36b), and electrically connected to the first frame wire (18i),
a third metal layer (annotated below) provided above the second frame wire (18h), covering the second frame wire (18h) through the protective film (36b), and electrically connected to the second frame wire (18h),
each of the second metal layer (annotated below) and the third metal layer (annotated below) includes:
a lower metal film made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate, and
an upper metal film made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer, ([0063], Fig. 8) and
each of the second metal protruding portion (31ab) and the third metal layer (annotated below) has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape such that the lower metal film protrudes further than the upper metal film. (Fig. 8)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang and Okabe to arrive at the claimed invention in order to “suppress the deterioration of the organic EL layer 33, and improve the reliability of the organic EL display device 50a.” (Okabe, [0074])
Regarding claim 21, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein
the display region (DA) is shaped into a rectangle (Fig. 1), the display device includes a terminal metal layer (10b) provided between a side (bottom), of the display region (DA), toward the terminal unit (30) and the first slit (between 130 and 110), and electrically connected to the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1),
and the terminal metal layer (10b) has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape (shown in Fig. 5) so that the lower metal film protrudes further than the upper metal film, the end portion being covered with the second planarization film (111). ([0158], Fig. 5)
Bang does not disclose:
the terminal metal layer serving as the second wiring layer, the terminal metal layer includes:
a lower metal film made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate, and
an upper metal film made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer
However, Okabe discloses:
the terminal metal layer (20b) serving as the second wiring layer, the terminal metal layer (20b) includes:
a lower metal film made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate [0063], Fig. 6) and
an upper metal film made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer, [0063], Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang and Okabe to arrive at the claimed invention in order to “make it possible to reliably input the low power supply voltage (first power supply voltage) to the second electrode 34a via the second conductive layer 31a.” (Okabe, [0073])
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 20200136087 A1) discloses a display apparatus includes a substrate partitioned into a display area and a peripheral area that is a non-display area outside the display area. The peripheral area, including non-display elements such as a pad, a plurality of wires, a driving circuit, etc. but does not disclose all the limitations as required by the claims.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897