DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regrading applicant’s argument, “Bang, however, does not describe that the first planarization film 109 is penetrated by the recess portion. Thus, Bang fails to disclose, teach, or suggest, at least, the above recited feature of "a first slit shaped into a frame, provided between the display region and the first dam wall, and penetrating a first planarization film and a second planarization film," of unamended independent claim 1.” The examiner disagrees because if you see the annotated figure below:
The first planarization layer (109) and the second planarization layer (111) do have a slit (emphasis added to the slit area and arrow moved from previous annotated figure in the non-final to show the slit the examiner is referring to). Therefore, at the present time the examiner is not convinced to withdraw the current rejection.
Referring to Applicants next argument, “Nakagawa, in the cited FIG. 4C, however, does not describe that the terminal wiring 108e and the connection terminal 130 having edge portions facing each other and covered with the same protective film. Thus, Nakagawa fails to disclose, teach, or suggest, at least, the above recited feature of "in the first slit, the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other and covered with a protective film made of an inorganic insulating film included in the thin- film transistor layer," in unamended independent claim 1” First, the underlined portion in the applicant’s arguments is not being claimed at the present time therefore that argument is moot. Second, As shown in the annotated Nakagawa Fig. 4C, the first and second frame wirings are facing each other in an overlapped direction. If the applicant is referring to a different orientation, then please advise to positively claim such language to further distinguish over the prior art.
Referring to applicant’s argument, “Nakagawa, in the cited FIG. 4C, describes that the terminal wiring 108e is positioned on an insulating layer 110b (which has been allegedly equated, at page 5 of the Office Action, to the "first planarization film," as recited in unamended claim 1). Thus, the terminal wiring 108e would have been corresponded to a "second wiring layer," as recited in unamended claim 1. Therefore, the terminal wiring 108e cannot have been equated to the "first frame wire provided in the frame region and serving as a first wiring layer," as recited in unamended claim 1. Similarly, the connection terminal 130 of Nakagawa could not have been equated to the "second frame wire provided in the frame region and serving as the first wiring layer," as recited in unamended claim 1.” The examiner disagrees because the claim does not distinguish the orientation of the first and second frame wires and therefore the examiners current interpretation is that (108e) and (130) of Nakagawa could serve as the first wiring layer. Looking at the applicant’s figures corresponding the first and second frame wires, they both comprise of multiple wires stacked on each other. This gives the examiner the interpretation that the “first wiring layer” can have multiple wires that are stacked on each other. However, if the applicant wants to further clarify the orientation of the first and second frame wires then this could further distinguish the applicant’s invention over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20200381653 A1) in view of Nakagawa (US 20180226617 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bang discloses a display device, comprising:
a base substrate (100); ([0071], Fig. 5)
a thin-film-transistor layer (annotated below) provided on the base substrate (100), and including a first wiring layer (20 left in Fig. 1/20a and 20b in Fig. 5, see [0159]), a first planarization film (109), a second wiring layer (20 right in Fig. 1/20a and 20b in Fig. 5, see [0159]), and a second planarization film (111), all of which are stacked on top of another in a stated order; ([0128], Fig. 5)
a light-emitting-element layer (OLED) provided on the thin-film-transistor layer (annotated below), and including a plurality of first electrodes (310), an edge cover (113), a plurality of light-emitting layers (320), and a second electrode (330), all of which are stacked on top of another in a stated order, each of the plurality of first electrodes (310) and each of the plurality of light-emitting layers (320) corresponding to one of a plurality of sub-pixels ([0008]) included in a display region (DA), and the edge cover (113) and the second electrode (330) being provided in common among the plurality of sub-pixels; ([0014], Fig. 5)
a sealing film (400) provided to cover the light-emitting-element layer (OLED), and including a first inorganic sealing film (410), an organic sealing film (420), and a second inorganic sealing film (430), all of which are stacked on top of another in a stated order; ([0149], Fig. 5)
a first dam wall (130) provided in a frame region (NDA) around the display region (DA) and surrounding the display region (DA), the first dam wall (130) being shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1) to overlap with a peripheral end portion of the organic sealing film (420); ([0083], Fig. 5)
a power supply line (20) provided in the display region (DA) and serving as the second wiring layer (20); ([0076], Fig. 5)
a first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) provided in the frame region (NDA) and serving as a portion of the first wiring layer (20 left), the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) extending to a terminal unit (30) at an end portion of the frame region (NDA) and being electrically connected to the power supply line (20); ([0076], Fig. 5) and
a second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) provided in the frame region (NDA) and serving as another portion of the first wiring layer (20 left), the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) extending to the terminal unit (30) and being electrically connected to the second electrode (330) through a conductive layer formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, each of the first electrodes (310), (Fig. 1 and 5) wherein
the first planarization film (109) and the second planarization film (111) include a first slit (annotated below) shaped into a frame (as shown in Fig, 1), provided between the display region (DA) and the first dam wall (130), and penetrating the first planarization film (109) and the second planarization film (111), and in the first slit (annotate below),
Bang does not disclose:
the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other and covered with a protective film made of an inorganic insulating film included in the thin-film transistor layer.
However, Nakagawa discloses:
the first frame wire (108e) and the second frame wire (130) have respective edge portions facing each other (annotated below) and covered (directly and indirectly) with a protective film (124a) made of an inorganic insulating film (per [0069]) included in the thin-film transistor layer (annotated below). (Fig. 4C)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang and Nakagawa for the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other and covered with a protective film made of an inorganic insulating film included in the thin-film transistor layer in order to “ prevent moisture contained in the second partition wall 122b or moisture entering the second partition wall 122b from the outside of the display device 100 from entering the second partition wall 122b and deteriorating the light emitting layer 118.” (Nakagawa, [0071])
Regarding claim 3, Nakagawa discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the protective film (124a) is provided between the first wiring layer (at least 130) and the first planarization film (110b). (Fig. 4C)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Nakagawa for similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 4, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first dam wall (130) includes:
a first metal protruding portion provided to electrically connect to either the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) or the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) and serving as the second wiring layer (Fig. 5), and
a first resin protruding portion (111c) formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the second planarization film (111), and provided on the first metal protruding portion. (Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 5, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the first metal protruding portion (annotated above) has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape such that a portion of the end portion toward the base substrate protrudes further than another portion of the end portion toward the light-emitting-element layer. ([0180], Fig. 7A and 7B)
Regarding claim 6, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the first metal protruding portion (annotated above) includes: a lower metal film (20b1) made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate (100 in Fig. 5) and
an upper metal film (20b2) made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer (OLED in Fig. 5). ([0177], Fig. 7A and 7B)
Regarding claim 7, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the display region (DA) is shaped into a rectangle (shown in Fig. 1), and the first metal protruding portion (annotated above as 20b which corresponds to 21 per [0159]) electrically connected to the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) is provided along a portion of one side, of the display region (DA), along the terminal unit (30). (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 8, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 7, wherein the first metal protruding portion (annotated above as 20b which corresponds to 21 per [0159]) electrically connected to the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) is provided along:
another portion of the one side, of the display region (DA), along the terminal unit (30), and
three sides, of the display region, not along the terminal unit (30). (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 9, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the first dam wall (130) includes a third resin protruding portion(113c) formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the edge cover (113), and provided above the first resin protruding portion (111c). (Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 10, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a second dam wall (120) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1) and provided around the first dam wall (130), wherein the second planarization film (111) includes a second slit (annotated above) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1), provided between the first dam wall (130) and the second dam wall (120), and penetrating the second planarization film (111), (Fig. 5)
Bang does not disclose:
and in the second slit, the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other and covered with the protective film.
However, Nakagawa discloses:
and in the second slit (annotated below), the first frame wire (108e) and the second frame wire (130) have respective edge portions facing each other (in an overlapped direction as annotated below) and covered with the protective film (124a). (Fig. 5C)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang and Nakagawa for in the second slit, the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other and covered with the protective film in order to “ prevent moisture contained in the second partition wall 122b or moisture entering the second partition wall 122b from the outside of the display device 100 from entering the second partition wall 122b and deteriorating the light emitting layer 118.” (Nakagawa, [0071])
Regarding claim 11, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 10, wherein the second dam wall (120) includes:
a second metal protruding portion (annotated below) provided to electrically connect to either the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) or the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1), and serving as the second wiring layer (Fig. 5), and
a second resin protruding portion (113b) formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the second planarization film (111), and provided on the second metal protruding portion (annotated below). (Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 12, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 11, wherein
the second metal protruding portion (annotated above) has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape such that a portion of the end portion toward the base substrate protrudes further than another portion of the end portion toward the light-emitting-element layer. ([0180], Fig. 7A and 7B)
Regarding claim 13, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 11, wherein
the second metal protruding portion (annotated above) includes:
a lower metal film (20b1) made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate (100 in Fig. 5), and
an upper metal film (20b2) made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer (OLED in Fig. 5). ([0180], Fig. 7A and 7B)
Regarding claim 14, Bang discloses the display device according claim 11, wherein
the display region (DA) is shaped into a rectangle (shown in Fig. 1), and
the second metal protruding portion (annotated 20b in Fig. 5 which corresponds to 21 in Fig. 1 per [0159]) electrically connected to the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) is provided along a portion of one side, of the display region (DA), along the terminal unit (30). (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 15, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 14, wherein
the second metal protruding portion (annotated 20b in Fig. 5 which corresponds to 21 in Fig. 1 per [0159]) electrically connected to the second frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1) is provided along:
another portion of the one side, of the display region (DA), along the terminal unit (30), and
three sides (left/right/top), of the display region (DA), not along the terminal unit (30). (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 16, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 11, wherein
the second dam wall (120) includes a fourth resin (113b) protruding portion formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the edge cover (113), and provided above the second resin protruding portion (111b). (Fig. 5)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20200381653 A1) in view of Nakagawa (US 20180226617 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jinno (US 20050099550 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Bang in view of Nakagawa discloses the display device according to claim 1. Bang in view of Nakagawa do not disclose wherein the protective film is provided between the first planarization film and the a second wiring layer.
However, Jinno discloses:
the protective film (132) is provided between the first planarization film (130) and the a second wiring layer (20). ([0046], Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang, Nakagawa, and Jinno for the protective film is provided between the first planarization film and the a second wiring layer in order to “reliably protect the repair line 128 from the resist abrasion liquid or the like during the formation of the organic EL element 50,” (Jinno, [0057])
Claims 17, 18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20200381653 A1) in view of Nakagawa (US 20180226617 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okabe et al. (US 20210210583 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 1. Bang does not disclose wherein
the first planarization film and the second planarization film include a trench shaped into a frame, provided between the display region and the first slit, and penetrating the first planarization film and the second planarization film.
However, Okabe discloses:
the first planarization film (19a) and the second planarization film (21) include a trench (G) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1), provided between the display region (D) and the first slit (S), and penetrating the first planarization film (19a) and the second planarization film (21). ([0052], Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang and Okabe for the first planarization film and the second planarization film include a trench shaped into a frame, provided between the display region and the first slit, and penetrating the first planarization film and the second planarization film in order to “suppress the deterioration of the organic EL layer 33, and improve the reliability of the organic EL display device 50a.” (Okabe, [0074])
Regarding claim 18, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 17, wherein the second electrode (34) and the conductive layer (31a) are in contact with each other and provided inside the trench (G). ([0073, Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 20, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second dam wall (120) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1) and provided around the first dam wall (130);
the second planarization film (111) includes a second slit (annotated below) shaped into a frame (shown in Fig. 1), provided between the first dam wall (130) and the second dam wall (130), and penetrating the second planarization film (111),
Bang does not disclose:
a second metal layer; and
a third metal layer, wherein
in the second slit, the first frame wire and the second frame wire have respective edge portions facing each other and covered with the protective film,
a second metal layer provided above the first frame wire, covering the first frame wire through the protective film, and electrically connected to the first frame wire,
a third metal layer provided above the second frame wire, covering the second frame wire through the protective film, and electrically connected to the second frame wire,
each of the second metal layer and the third metal layer includes:
a lower metal film made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate; and
an upper metal film made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer, and
each of the second metal protruding portion and the third metal layer has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape so that the lower metal film protrudes further than the upper metal film.
However, Okabe discloses:
a second metal layer; (annotated below) and
a third metal layer, (annotated below) wherein
in the second slit, the first frame wire (18i) and the second frame wire (18h) have respective edge portions facing each other (annotated below) and covered with the protective film (36b), (Fig. 8)
a second metal layer (annotated below) provided above the first frame wire (18i), covering the first frame wire (18i) through the protective film (36b), and electrically connected to the first frame wire (18i),
a third metal layer (annotated below) provided above the second frame wire (18h), covering the second frame wire (18h) through the protective film (36b), and electrically connected to the second frame wire (18h),
each of the second metal layer (annotated below) and the third metal layer (annotated below) includes:
a lower metal film made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate, and
an upper metal film made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer, ([0063], Fig. 8) and
each of the second metal protruding portion (31ab) and the third metal layer (annotated below) has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape such that the lower metal film protrudes further than the upper metal film. (Fig. 8)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang and Okabe to arrive at the claimed invention in order to “suppress the deterioration of the organic EL layer 33, and improve the reliability of the organic EL display device 50a.” (Okabe, [0074])
Regarding claim 21, Bang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein
the display region (DA) is shaped into a rectangle (Fig. 1), the display device includes a terminal metal layer (10b) provided between a side (bottom), of the display region (DA), toward the terminal unit (30) and the first slit (between 130 and 110), and electrically connected to the first frame wire (above 33 in Fig. 1),
and the terminal metal layer (10b) has an end portion shaped into a forward tapered shape (shown in Fig. 5) so that the lower metal film protrudes further than the upper metal film, the end portion being covered with the second planarization film (111). ([0158], Fig. 5)
Bang does not disclose:
the terminal metal layer serving as the second wiring layer, the terminal metal layer includes:
a lower metal film made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate, and
an upper metal film made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer
However, Okabe discloses:
the terminal metal layer (20b) serving as the second wiring layer, the terminal metal layer (20b) includes:
a lower metal film made of a titanium film and provided toward the base substrate [0063], Fig. 6) and
an upper metal film made of an aluminum film and provided toward the light-emitting-element layer, [0063], Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bang and Okabe to arrive at the claimed invention in order to “make it possible to reliably input the low power supply voltage (first power supply voltage) to the second electrode 34a via the second conductive layer 31a.” (Okabe, [0073])
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 20200136087 A1) discloses a display apparatus includes a substrate partitioned into a display area and a peripheral area that is a non-display area outside the display area. The peripheral area, including non-display elements such as a pad, a plurality of wires, a driving circuit, etc. but does not disclose all the limitations as required by the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897