Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, 18, and 31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16, 18, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. US 20200328862 A1 (Domestic Priority April 10, 2019) in view of Rupasinghe et al. US 20220131586 A1 (Domestic Priority March 7, 2019).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Rahman discloses a method performed by a wireless device for reporting Channel State Information, CSI (see, one or more of the UEs include circuitry, programming, or a combination thereof, to enable CSI reporting in a wireless communication system, section 0044), comprising: receiving an indication indicating a subset of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (see, FD basis subset selection indicator associated with FD basis vectors, section 0366) among a full set of FD basis vectors (see, basis vectors that are reported in a layer-common manner such as a set of basis vectors for frequency domain, sections 0130-132) per a group of transmission layers from a radio network node (see, the reporting of FD basis vectors based on UE capability signaling, sections 0217-0220), wherein receiving the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI; computing a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, for reciprocity-based Type II CSI reporting, a UE is configured with higher layer parameter CodebookType set, sections 0111 and 0127; noted, Type II CSI codebook associated with FD basis set and vectors, section 0353); and reporting the CSI to the radio network node (see, CSI reporting to gNB, section 0103).
Rahman discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein receiving the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI; computing a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, for reciprocity-based Type II CSI reporting, a UE is configured with higher layer parameter CodebookType set, sections 0111 and 0127; noted, Type II CSI codebook associated with FD basis set and vectors, section 0353); and reporting the CSI to the radio network node (see, CSI reporting to gNB, section 0103).
However Rupasinghe from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein receiving the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see, UE may derive the selecting of SD and/or FD basis subsets using DCI or higher layer signaling, section 0068 Rupasinghe; noted, basis vector corresponding to a layer of the basis subset, section 0035 Rupasinghe); computing a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors; and reporting the CSI to the radio network node.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Rahman with the DCI as taught by Rupasinghe. The motivation would have been to improve support for Channel State Information (CSI) feedback associated with layers.
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Rahman discloses a wireless device comprising processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless device to: receive an indication indicating a subset of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (see, FD basis subset selection indicator associated with FD basis vectors, section 0366) among a full set of FD basis vectors (see, basis vectors that are reported in a layer-common manner such as a set of basis vectors for frequency domain, sections 0130-132) per a group of transmission layers from a radio network node (see, the reporting of FD basis vectors based on UE capability signaling, sections 0217-0220), wherein receiving the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI; compute a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, for reciprocity-based Type II CSI reporting, a UE is configured with higher layer parameter CodebookType set, sections 0111 and 0127; noted, Type II CSI codebook associated with FD basis set and vectors, section 0353); and report the CSI to the radio network node (see, CSI reporting to gNB, section 0103).
Rahman discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein receiving the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI; compute a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, for reciprocity-based Type II CSI reporting, a UE is configured with higher layer parameter CodebookType set, sections 0111 and 0127; noted, Type II CSI codebook associated with FD basis set and vectors, section 0353); and report the CSI to the radio network node (see, CSI reporting to gNB, section 0103).
However Rupasinghe from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein receiving the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see, UE may derive the selecting of SD and/or FD basis subsets using DCI or higher layer signaling, section 0068 Rupasinghe; noted, basis vector corresponding to a layer of the basis subset, section 0035 Rupasinghe); compute a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors; and report the CSI to the radio network node.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Rahman with the DCI as taught by Rupasinghe. The motivation would have been to improve support for Channel State Information (CSI) feedback associated with layers.
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Rahman discloses a method performed by a radio network node for enabling a wireless device to report Channel State Information, CSI (see, one or more of the UEs include circuitry, programming, or a combination thereof, to enable CSI reporting in a wireless communication system, section 0044), comprising: providing an indication indicating a subset of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (see, FD basis subset selection indicator associated with FD basis vectors, section 0366) among a full set of FD basis vectors (see, basis vectors that are reported in a layer-common manner such as a set of basis vectors for frequency domain, sections 0130-132) per a group of transmission layers to the wireless device (see, the reporting of FD basis vectors based on UE capability signaling, sections 0217-0220), wherein providing the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI; and receiving a CSI from the wireless device (see, receiving a channel state information (CSI) report from the UE, section 0444).
Rahman discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein providing the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI; and receiving a CSI from the wireless device (see, receiving a channel state information (CSI) report from the UE, section 0444).
However Rupasinghe from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein providing the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see, UE may derive the selecting of SD and/or FD basis subsets using DCI or higher layer signaling, section 0068 Rupasinghe; noted, basis vector corresponding to a layer of the basis subset, section 0035 Rupasinghe); and receiving a CSI from the wireless device.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Rahman with the DCI as taught by Rupasinghe. The motivation would have been to improve support for Channel State Information (CSI) feedback associated with layers.
Regarding claim 31 (Currently Amended), Rahman discloses a radio network node comprising processing circuitry configured to cause the radio network node to: provide an indication indicating a subset of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (see, FD basis subset selection indicator associated with FD basis vectors, section 0366) among a full set of FD basis vectors (see, basis vectors that are reported in a layer-common manner such as a set of basis vectors for frequency domain, sections 0130-132) per a group of transmission layers to the wireless device (see, the reporting of FD basis vectors based on UE capability signaling, sections 0217-0220), wherein providing the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI; and receive a CSI from the wireless device (see, receiving a channel state information (CSI) report from the UE, section 0444).
Rahman discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein providing the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI; and receive a CSI from the wireless device (see, receiving a channel state information (CSI) report from the UE, section 0444).
However Rupasinghe from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein providing the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see, UE may derive the selecting of SD and/or FD basis subsets using DCI or higher layer signaling, section 0068 Rupasinghe; noted, basis vector corresponding to a layer of the basis subset, section 0035 Rupasinghe); and receive a CSI from the wireless device.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Rahman with the DCI as taught by Rupasinghe. The motivation would have been to improve support for Channel State Information (CSI) feedback associated with layers.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. US 20200328862 A1 (Domestic Priority April 10, 2019) in view of Rupasinghe et al. US 20220131586 A1 (Domestic Priority March 7, 2019), and in further view of Shattil et al. US 20070211786 A1 (Domestic Priority December 6, 2002).
The combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2 (Original), the method of claim 1, wherein the full set of FD basis vectors comprises a set of orthogonal complex vectors having a length that equals N3.
However Shattil from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the full set of FD basis vectors (see, set of orthonormal basis vectors that correspond to frequency domain signals, sections 0473-0477 Shattil) comprises a set of orthogonal complex vectors (see, orthogonal frequencies associated with frequency corresponds to time-domain multiplied by complex values, section 1006 Shattil) having a length that equals N3 (see, a set of vectors of length variable N associated with orthonormal basis vector, section 0447 Shattil).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe with the orthogonal complex vectors as taught by Shattil. The motivation would have been to improve operations across frequency bands.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. US 20200328862 A1 (Domestic Priority April 10, 2019) in view of Rupasinghe et al. US 20220131586 A1 (Domestic Priority March 7, 2019), and in further view of Lim et al. US 20230299914 A1 (Foreign Priority May 6, 2020).
The combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3 (Original), The method of claim 2, wherein N3 is determined by higher layer parameters numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubband and csi-ReportingBand.
However Lim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 2, wherein N3 (see, total number of precoding matrices is N3=RNSB, section 0129, figures 00009, 00010 Lim) is determined by higher layer parameters numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubband (see, R is configured by numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubband, section 0129, figures 00009, 00010 Lim) and csi-ReportingBand (see, csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for, section 0088 table 4 Lim; noted, Need R with csi-ReportingBand with CHOICE of subbands, section 0088 table 4 Lim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe with the “numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubb” and “csi-ReportingBand” and as taught by Lim. The motivation would have been to accurately indicate the channel state of the UE to the BS.
Claims 4, 11, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. US 20200328862 A1 (Domestic Priority April 10, 2019) in view of Rupasinghe et al. US 20220131586 A1 (Domestic Priority March 7, 2019), and in further view of Wang et al. US 20210167835 A1 (Foreign Priority August 10, 2018).
The combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4 (Previously Presented), The method claim 1, wherein receiving the indicator indicating the subset of FD basis vectors comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a control message.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indicator indicating the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a control message (see, frequency domain basis vectors indicates in each group of indication information, section 0257 Wang; noted, indication information can be carried interchangeably between a RRC message, MAC CE, or DCI, section 0380 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe with the subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
The combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, wherein the DCI comprises a field corresponding to a codepoint and configured to indicate the subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the DCI comprises a field (see, MAC layer of gNB, section 0110 Wang; noted, indication information can be carried interchangeably between a RRC message, MAC CE, or DCI, section 0380 Wang) corresponding to a codepoint (see, DCI carries information towards an antenna port, sections 0380-0381 Wang) and configured to indicate the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) among the full set of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vector can be column vectors which can be a vector set, section 0350 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe with the codepoint as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
The combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Previously Presented), the method of claim 1, wherein: computing the CSI using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors comprises computing the CSI based on all of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors; and reporting the CSI comprises not reporting indices indicating a subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors as part of an enhanced type II port selection Precoding Matrix Indicator, PMI, report.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein: computing the CSI using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang) comprises computing the CSI based on all of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang); and reporting the CSI comprises not reporting indices (see, to-be-reported subbands are indicated by using a bitmap where “0” is used to indicate a subband that is not to be reported, section 0398 Wang) indicating a subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) as part of an enhanced type II port selection Precoding Matrix Indicator, PMI, report (see, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe with the subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
The combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15 (Previously Presented), the method of claim 1, wherein: computing the CSI using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors comprises computing the CSI based on a selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors; and reporting the CSI comprises reporting indices indicating the selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors as part of an enhanced type II port selection Precoding Matrix Indicator, PMI, report.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein: computing the CSI using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang) comprises computing the CSI based on a selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang); and reporting the CSI comprises reporting indices (see, to-be-reported subbands are indicated by using a bitmap where “1” indicates a to-be-reported subband, section 0398 Wang) indicating the selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) as part of an enhanced type II port selection Precoding Matrix Indicator, PMI, report (see, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe with the precoding matrix indicator as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
The combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 19 (Previously Presented), the method of claim 18, further comprising determining the subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors based on one or more uplink measurements performed on a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, received from the wireless device.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 18, further comprising determining the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) among the full set of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vector can be column vectors which can be a vector set, section 0350 Wang) based on one or more uplink measurements performed on a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, received from the wireless device (see, network device may perform CSI measurement based on a received SRS, to indicate CSI of an uplink channel to the terminal device, section 0124 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe with the indicated subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
The combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20 (Previously Presented), the method claim 18, wherein providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a control message.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 18, wherein providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a control message (see, frequency domain basis vectors indicates in each group of indication information, section 0257 Wang; noted, indication information can be carried interchangeably between a RRC message, MAC CE, or DCI, section 0380 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe with the indicated subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. US 20200328862 A1 (Domestic Priority April 10, 2019) in view of Rupasinghe et al. US 20220131586 A1 (Domestic Priority March 7, 2019), and in further view of Wang et al. US 20210167835 A1 (Foreign Priority August 10, 2018) of claims 10 and 11 and in further view of Cirik et al. US 20200267712 A1 (Domestic Priority February 14, 2019).
The combination of Rahman, Rupasinghe, and Wang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 12 (Original), the method of claim 11, wherein the field in the DCI comprises a CSI- AssociatedReportConfigInfo corresponding to the codepoint.
However Cirik from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 11, wherein the field in the DCI (see, codepoint of a CSI request field in a DCI may indicate/be associated with an aperiodic trigger state of the one or more aperiodic trigger states, section 0373 Cirik) comprises a CSI- AssociatedReportConfigInfo (see, report parameter such as CSI-AssociatedReportConfigInfo or associatedReportConfigInfoList, sections 0373-0374; noted, aperiodic trigger state may comprise one or more report configurations by a report parameter, section 0373 Cirik) corresponding to the codepoint (see, codepoint of a CSI request field in a DCI may indicate/be associated with an aperiodic trigger state of the one or more aperiodic trigger states, section 0373 Cirik).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman, Rupasinghe, and Wang with the “numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubb” and “csi-ReportingBand” and as taught by Cirik. The motivation would have been to accurately indicate the channel state of the UE to the BS.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. US 20200328862 A1 (Domestic Priority April 10, 2019) in view of Rupasinghe et al. US 20220131586 A1 (Domestic Priority March 7, 2019), and in further view of Nazar et al. US 20120275530 A1 (Domestic Priority April 29, 2011).
The combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving (802), from the radio network node, a configuration of a CSI-Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resource with a set of CSI-RS ports and an indication that indicates one or more of: one or more non-zero power CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource; and one or more zero power CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource; and performing (804) channel measurements based on the one or more non-zero power CSI- RS ports.
However Nazar from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the radio network node, a configuration of a CSI-Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resource (see, the CSI-RS configuration of a WTRU, section 0064 Nazar) with a set of CSI-RS ports (see, CSI-RS configurations associated with the number of DM-RS antenna ports, section 0064 Nazar) and an indication that indicates one or more of: one or more non-zero power CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource (see, CSI-RS configuration with a non-zero transmission power is the reference configuration for implicit derivation of the number of DM-RS antenna ports, section 0064 Nazar); and one or more zero power CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource (see, one of the CSI-RS configurations with a zero transmission power may be the reference configuration for implicit derivation of the number of DM-RS antenna ports, section 0064 Nazar); and performing channel measurements (see, WTRU may then be configured via higher layer signaling with one or multiple CSI-RS configurations to perform channel measurement, section 00780 Nazar) based on the one or more non-zero power CSI- RS ports (see, CSI-RS configuration with a non-zero transmission power is the reference configuration for implicit derivation of the number of DM-RS antenna ports, section 0064 Nazar).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Rahman and Rupasinghe with the zero and non-zero power CSI-RS ports as taught by Nazar. The motivation would have been to better schedule resources between transmission points in wireless communications.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473