Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s Arguments are addressed below. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-16, 18-26, and 31 are pending.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Ramireddy does no teach or suggest: a scenario where there is a selection of “receiving an indication indicating a subset of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors among a full set of FD basis vectors per a group of transmission layers from a radio network node”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ramireddy recites in [paragraph 0129] “UE may be configured to report in UCI part 2, an indication of the selected SD and (or) FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap. For example, the SD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap are indicated by a max 2U.sup.(l)-sized bitmap, where each bit in the bitmap is associated with an index of a reported SD basis vector. Therefore, the max 2U.sup.(l)-sized bitmap contains U.sub.m ‘1’s. Similarly, the Frequency Domain (FD) basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap are indicated by a max D.sup.(l)-bitmap, where each bit in the bitmap is associated with an index of a reported FD basis vector”, in [paragraph 0131] “UE is configured to indicate in the CSI part 2, an indication of the selected SD basis vectors associated with the effective bitmap per layer and/or an indication of the selected FD basis vectors associated with the effective bitmap per layer. For example, the indication of the Spatial Domain (SD) basis vectors associated with the effective bitmap for a layer is indicated by a 2U.sup.(l)-sized bitmap, and may consist of U.sub.e.sup.(l) ‘1’s. Similarly, the FD basis associated with the effective bitmap per layer is reported by D.sup.(l)-sized bitmap, and may consist of D.sub.e.sup.(l) ‘1’s”, in [paragraph 0159] “UE may be configured to indicate the selected delay vectors from the CDD basis subset for each layer by a layer-specific delay domain basis (LDD) subset indicator in the CSI report”, in [paragraph 0178] “CDD basis subset indicator sets are either higher layer configured or known at the UE”, in [paragraphs 0202] “UE is configured to determine a layer-specific space domain (LSD) basis subset of the selected beam vectors and to indicate the beam vectors in the CSI report”, and in [paragraph 0214] “number of delays D.sup.(l) is configured for subsets of layers, e.g., for a first subset of layers, e.g., a first and second layers), D.sup.(1)=┌α.sub.1D.sup.(0)┐, and for a second subset of layers, e.g. a third layer or the third layer and a fourth layer), D.sup.(3)=┌α.sub.2D.sup.(2)┐, and receiving from the gNB a signal including two parameters D.sup.(0) and D.sup.(2) for the configuration of the precoder matrix”
As shown, Ramireddy discloses that the subset of frequency domain is possible through layers associated with the frequency domain which Ramireddy recites in [paragraph 0131] “indication of the selected FD basis vectors associated with the effective bitmap per layer” that can be seen where layers are associated with subset which Ramireddy recites in [paragraph 0178] “CDD basis subset indicator sets are either higher layer configured or known at the UE” and that which can be seen similarly used by the spatial domain which Ramireddy recites in [paragraph 0129] “SD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap are indicated by a max 2U.sup.(l)-sized bitmap, where each bit in the bitmap is associated with an index of a reported SD basis vector” which further seen with SD Basis Subset Indicators which Ramireddy recites in [paragraph 0202] “UE is configured to determine a layer-specific space domain (LSD) basis subset of the selected beam vectors and to indicate the beam vectors in the CSI report (part 2)”.
The independent claims 16, 18 and 31 recite similar distinguishing features of independent claim 1 and thus are similarly disclosed by Ramireddy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9, 16, 18, 23, 25, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ramireddy et al. US 20220224391 A1 (Foreign Priority May 2, 2019).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Ramireddy discloses a method performed by a wireless device for reporting Channel State Information, CSI (see, UE reporting CSI feedback after receiving CSI-RS, section 0029), comprising: receiving an indication indicating a subset (see, SD basis indicator indicating the selected subset of beam vectors, section 0035; noted, an indication of the selected SD and (or) FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap shows the interchangeability of SD and FD, section 0129) of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (see, UE may be configured to report in UCI, an indication of the FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap, section 0129) among a full set of FD basis vectors (see, indication of FD basis vectors, sections 0129, 0134) per a group of transmission layers (UE may report the bitmaps of the layers or determine per layer an effective bitmap, section 0130) from a radio network node (see, UE is configured from the gNB with a CSI report configuration that contains the higher-layer (e.g., RRC) parameter(s) representing the number vectors, section 0042); computing a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook (see, codebook may be called as port selection codebook and is used when a beamforming operation is performed by the gNB such that each antenna port corresponds to a beam-formed port, section 0032) using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, SD basis indicator indicating the selected subset of beam vectors, section 0035; noted, an indication of the selected SD and (or) FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap shows the interchangeability of SD and FD, section 0129); and reporting the CSI to the radio network node (see, UE may be configured to report in UCI, an indication of the FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap, section 0129).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), the method of claim 6, wherein the field in the MAC CE comprises one of: a bitmap of N3 bits (see, variables associated with bitmap, section 113-128 figures 00002-00012); and a bitmap of [log2(N3)] bits (see, log2() of variables associated with bitmap, section 113-128 figures 00002-00012).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), the method of claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of fields in the MAC CE comprises one of: a bitmap of N3 bits (see, variables associated with bitmap, section 113-128 figures 00002-00012); and a bitmap of [log2(N3)] bits (see, log2() of variables associated with bitmap, section 113-128 figures 00002-00012).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Ramireddy discloses a wireless device comprising processing circuitry (fig. 3, UE 300 comprises a processor 310 or processing circuit or a processing module or a processor or means 310, section 0228) configured to cause the wireless device to: receive an indication indicating a subset (see, SD basis indicator indicating the selected subset of beam vectors, section 0035; noted, an indication of the selected SD and (or) FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap shows the interchangeability of SD and FD, section 0129) of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (see, UE may be configured to report in UCI, an indication of the FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap, section 0129) among a full set of FD basis vectors (see, indication of FD basis vectors, sections 0129, 0134) per a group of transmission layers (UE may report the bitmaps of the layers or determine per layer an effective bitmap, section 0130) from a radio network node (see, UE is configured from the gNB with a CSI report configuration that contains the higher-layer (e.g., RRC) parameter(s) representing the number vectors, section 0042); compute a CSI corresponding to an enhanced type II port selection codebook (see, codebook may be called as port selection codebook and is used when a beamforming operation is performed by the gNB such that each antenna port corresponds to a beam-formed port, section 0032) using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, SD basis indicator indicating the selected subset of beam vectors, section 0035; noted, an indication of the selected SD and (or) FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap shows the interchangeability of SD and FD, section 0129); and report the CSI to the radio network node (see, UE may be configured to report in UCI, an indication of the FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap, section 0129).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Ramireddy discloses a method performed by a radio network node (see, UE is configured from the gNB with a CSI report configuration that contains the higher-layer (e.g., RRC) parameter(s) representing the number vectors, section 0042) for enabling a wireless device to report Channel State Information, CSI (see, UE reporting CSI feedback after receiving CSI-RS, section 0029), comprising: providing an indication indicating a subset (see, SD basis indicator indicating the selected subset of beam vectors, section 0035; noted, an indication of the selected SD and (or) FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap shows the interchangeability of SD and FD, section 0129) of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (see, UE may be configured to report in UCI, an indication of the FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap, section 0129) among a full set of FD basis vectors (see, indication of FD basis vectors, sections 0129, 0134) per a group of transmission layers (UE may report the bitmaps of the layers or determine per layer an effective bitmap, section 0130) to the wireless device (see, UE is configured from the gNB with a CSI report configuration that contains the higher-layer (e.g., RRC) parameter(s) representing the number vectors, section 0042); and receiving a CSI from the wireless device (see, the UE reports the CSI report, sections 0094-0096).
Regarding claim 23 (Original), the method of claim 22, wherein the field in the MAC CE comprises one of: a bitmap of N3 bits (see, variables associated with bitmap, section 113-128 figures 00002-00012); and a bitmap of [log2(N3)] bits (see, log2() of variables associated with bitmap, section 113-128 figures 00002-00012).
Regarding claim 25 (Original), Ramireddy discloses the method of claim 24, wherein each of the plurality of fields in the MAC CE comprises one of: a bitmap of N3 bits (see, variables associated with bitmap, section 113-128 figures 00002-00012); and a bitmap of [log2(N3)] bits (see, log2() of variables associated with bitmap, section 113-128 figures 00002-00012).
Regarding claim 31 (Currently Amended), Ramireddy discloses a radio network node (see, UE is configured from the gNB with a CSI report configuration that contains the higher-layer (e.g., RRC) parameter(s) representing the number vectors, section 0042) comprising processing circuitry (fig. 3, UE 300 comprises a processor 310 or processing circuit or a processing module or a processor or means 310, section 0228) configured to cause the radio network node to: provide an indication indicating a subset (see, SD basis indicator indicating the selected subset of beam vectors, section 0035; noted, an indication of the selected SD and (or) FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap shows the interchangeability of SD and FD, section 0129) of Frequency Domain, FD, basis vectors (see, UE may be configured to report in UCI, an indication of the FD basis vectors associated with the joint bitmap, section 0129) among a full set of FD basis vectors (see, indication of FD basis vectors, sections 0129, 0134) per a group of transmission layers (UE may report the bitmaps of the layers or determine per layer an effective bitmap, section 0130) to the wireless device (see, UE is configured from the gNB with a CSI report configuration that contains the higher-layer (e.g., RRC) parameter(s) representing the number vectors, section 0042); and receive a CSI from the wireless device (see, the UE reports the CSI report, sections 0094-0096).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramireddy et al. US 20220224391 A1 (Foreign Priority May 2, 2019) in view of Shattil et al. US 20070211786 A1 (Domestic Priority December 6, 2002).
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2 (Original), the method of claim 1, wherein the full set of FD basis vectors comprises a set of orthogonal complex vectors having a length that equals N3.
However Shattil from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the full set of FD basis vectors (see, set of orthonormal basis vectors that correspond to frequency domain signals, sections 0473-0477 Shattil) comprises a set of orthogonal complex vectors (see, orthogonal frequencies associated with frequency corresponds to time-domain multiplied by complex values, section 1006 Shattil) having a length that equals N3 (see, a set of vectors of length variable N associated with orthonormal basis vector, section 0447 Shattil).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the orthogonal complex vectors as taught by Shattil. The motivation would have been to improve operations across frequency bands.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramireddy et al. US 20220224391 A1 (Foreign Priority May 2, 2019) in view of Lim et al. US 20230299914 A1 (Foreign Priority May 6, 2020).
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3 (Original), The method of claim 2, wherein N3 is determined by higher layer parameters numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubband and csi-ReportingBand.
However Lim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 2, wherein N3 (see, total number of precoding matrices is N3=RNSB, section 0129, figures 00009, 00010 Lim) is determined by higher layer parameters numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubband (see, R is configured by numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubband, section 0129, figures 00009, 00010 Lim) and csi-ReportingBand (see, csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for, section 0088 table 4 Lim; noted, Need R with csi-ReportingBand with CHOICE of subbands, section 0088 table 4 Lim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the “numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubb” and “csi-ReportingBand” and as taught by Lim. The motivation would have been to accurately indicate the channel state of the UE to the BS.
Claims 4-6, 8, 10-11, 14-15, 19-22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramireddy et al. US 20220224391 A1 (Foreign Priority May 2, 2019) in view of Wang et al. US 20210167835 A1 (Foreign Priority August 10, 2018).
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), The method claim1, wherein receiving the indicator indicating the subset of FD basis vectors comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a control message.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indicator indicating the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a control message (see, frequency domain basis vectors indicates in each group of indication information, section 0257 Wang; noted, indication information can be carried interchangeably between a RRC message, MAC CE, or DCI, section 0380 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5 (Original), the method of claim 4, wherein the control message is a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 4, wherein the control message is a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (see, the RRC message can be substituted with a MAC CE, section 0175 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the MAC CE as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6 (Original), the method of claim 5, wherein the MAC CE comprises a field configured to indicate the subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 5, wherein the MAC CE comprises a field (see, MAC layer of gNB, section 0110 Wang) configured to indicate the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) among the full set of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vector can be column vectors which can be a vector set, section 0350 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Original), the method of claim 5, wherein the MAC CE comprises a plurality of fields each configured to indicate the subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors for a respective one of a plurality of layers.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 5, wherein the MAC CE comprises a plurality of fields (see, MAC layer of gNB, section 0110 Wang) each configured to indicate the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) among the full set of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vector can be column vectors which can be a vector set, section 0350 Wang)for a respective one of a plurality of layers (Frequency domain information of the transmission layer may be determined by selected frequency domain basis vectors, section 0167 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), the method of claim1, wherein receiving the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim1, wherein receiving the indication indicating subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) comprises receiving the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see, frequency domain basis vectors indicates in each group of indication information, section 0257 Wang; noted, indication information can be carried interchangeably between a RRC message, MAC CE, or DCI, section 0380 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the DCI as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11 (Original), the method of claim 10, wherein the DCI comprises a field corresponding to a codepoint and configured to indicate the subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 10, wherein the DCI comprises a field (see, MAC layer of gNB, section 0110 Wang; noted, indication information can be carried interchangeably between a RRC message, MAC CE, or DCI, section 0380 Wang) corresponding to a codepoint (see, DCI carries information towards an antenna port, sections 0380-0381 Wang) and configured to indicate the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) among the full set of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vector can be column vectors which can be a vector set, section 0350 Wang).
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended),
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein: computing the CSI using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang) comprises computing the CSI based on a selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang); and reporting the CSI comprises reporting indices (see, to-be-reported subbands are indicated by using a bitmap where “1” indicates a to-be-reported subband, section 0398 Wang) indicating the selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) as part of an enhanced type II port selection Precoding Matrix Indicator, PMI, report (see, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the DCI as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, wherein: computing the CSI using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors comprises computing the CSI based on all of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors; and reporting the CSI comprises not reporting indices indicating a subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors as part of an enhanced type II port selection Precoding Matrix Indicator, PMI, report.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein: computing the CSI using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang) comprises computing the CSI based on all of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang); and reporting the CSI comprises not reporting indices (see, to-be-reported subbands are indicated by using a bitmap where “0” is used to indicate a subband that is not to be reported, section 0398 Wang) indicating a subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) as part of an enhanced type II port selection Precoding Matrix Indicator, PMI, report (see, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the DCI as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, wherein: computing the CSI using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors comprises computing the CSI based on a selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors; and reporting the CSI comprises reporting indices indicating the selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors as part of an enhanced type II port selection Precoding Matrix Indicator, PMI, report.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein: computing the CSI using the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang) comprises computing the CSI based on a selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, precoding matrix corresponding to a subband that is used as a frequency domain unit, section 0135 Wang; noted, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang); and reporting the CSI comprises reporting indices (see, to-be-reported subbands are indicated by using a bitmap where “1” indicates a to-be-reported subband, section 0398 Wang) indicating the selected subset of the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) as part of an enhanced type II port selection Precoding Matrix Indicator, PMI, report (see, CSI may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), section 0125 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the precoding matrix indicator as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 18, further comprising determining the subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors based on one or more uplink measurements performed on a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, received from the wireless device.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 18, further comprising determining the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) among the full set of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vector can be column vectors which can be a vector set, section 0350 Wang) based on one or more uplink measurements performed on a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, received from the wireless device (see, network device may perform CSI measurement based on a received SRS, to indicate CSI of an uplink channel to the terminal device, section 0124 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the indicated subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), the method claim 18, wherein providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a control message.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 18, wherein providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a control message (see, frequency domain basis vectors indicates in each group of indication information, section 0257 Wang; noted, indication information can be carried interchangeably between a RRC message, MAC CE, or DCI, section 0380 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the indicated subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 21 (Original), The method of claim 20, wherein the control message is a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 20, wherein the control message is a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (see, the RRC message can be substituted with a MAC CE, section 0175 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the Medium Access Control Control Element by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), The method of claim 21, wherein the MAC CE comprises a field configured to indicate the indicated subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 21, wherein the MAC CE comprises a field (see, MAC layer of gNB, section 0110 Wang) configured to indicate the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) among the full set of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vector can be column vectors which can be a vector set, section 0350 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the indicated subset of FD basis vectors as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 24 (Currently Amended), The method of claim 21, wherein the MAC CE comprises a plurality of fields each configured to indicate the indicated subset of FD basis vectors among the full set of FD basis vectors for a respective one of a plurality of layers.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 21, wherein the MAC CE comprises a plurality of fields (see, MAC layer of gNB, section 0110 Wang) each configured to indicate the indicated subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) among the full set of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vector can be column vectors which can be a vector set, section 0350 Wang) for a respective one of a plurality of layers (Frequency domain information of the transmission layer may be determined by selected frequency domain basis vectors, section 0167 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with MAC CE as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 26 (Currently Amended), the method claim 18, wherein providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 18, wherein providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors (see, frequency domain vectors as a subset of a vector set, section 0029 Wang) comprises providing the indication indicating the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see, frequency domain basis vectors indicates in each group of indication information, section 0257 Wang; noted, indication information can be carried interchangeably between a RRC message, MAC CE, or DCI, section 0380 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the subset of FD basis vectors in a Downlink Control Information as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to help improve signal quality, implement spatial multiplexing, and improve spectrum utilization.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramireddy et al. US 20220224391 A1 (Foreign Priority May 2, 2019) in view of Wang et al. US 20210167835 A1 (Foreign Priority August 10, 2018) of claims 10 and 11 and in further view of Cirik et al. US 20200267712 A1 (Domestic Priority February 14, 2019).
The combination of Ramireddy and Wang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 12 (Original), the method of claim 11, wherein the field in the DCI comprises a CSI- AssociatedReportConfigInfo corresponding to the codepoint.
However Cirik from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 11, wherein the field in the DCI (see, codepoint of a CSI request field in a DCI may indicate/be associated with an aperiodic trigger state of the one or more aperiodic trigger states, section 0373 Cirik) comprises a CSI- AssociatedReportConfigInfo (see, report parameter such as CSI-AssociatedReportConfigInfo or associatedReportConfigInfoList, sections 0373-0374; noted, aperiodic trigger state may comprise one or more report configurations by a report parameter, section 0373 Cirik) corresponding to the codepoint (see, codepoint of a CSI request field in a DCI may indicate/be associated with an aperiodic trigger state of the one or more aperiodic trigger states, section 0373 Cirik).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Ramireddy and Wang with the “numberOfPMISubbandsPerCQISubb” and “csi-ReportingBand” and as taught by Cirik. The motivation would have been to accurately indicate the channel state of the UE to the BS.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramireddy et al. US 20220224391 A1 (Foreign Priority May 2, 2019) in view of Nazar et al. US 20120275530 A1 (Domestic Priority April 29, 2011).
Ramireddy discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving (802), from the radio network node, a configuration of a CSI-Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resource with a set of CSI-RS ports and an indication that indicates one or more of: one or more non-zero power CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource; and one or more zero power CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource; and performing (804) channel measurements based on the one or more non-zero power CSI- RS ports.
However Nazar from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the radio network node, a configuration of a CSI-Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resource (see, the CSI-RS configuration of a WTRU, section 0064 Nazar) with a set of CSI-RS ports (see, CSI-RS configurations associated with the number of DM-RS antenna ports, section 0064 Nazar) and an indication that indicates one or more of: one or more non-zero power CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource (see, CSI-RS configuration with a non-zero transmission power is the reference configuration for implicit derivation of the number of DM-RS antenna ports, section 0064 Nazar); and one or more zero power CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource (see, one of the CSI-RS configurations with a zero transmission power may be the reference configuration for implicit derivation of the number of DM-RS antenna ports, section 0064 Nazar); and performing channel measurements (see, WTRU may then be configured via higher layer signaling with one or multiple CSI-RS configurations to perform channel measurement, section 00780 Nazar) based on the one or more non-zero power CSI- RS ports (see, CSI-RS configuration with a non-zero transmission power is the reference configuration for implicit derivation of the number of DM-RS antenna ports, section 0064 Nazar).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Ramireddy with the zero and non-zero power CSI-RS ports as taught by Nazar. The motivation would have been to better schedule resources between transmission points in wireless communications.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473