DETAILED ACTION
Claim submission filed on 05/27/2026 has been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims # 1-6, 9-14, 16-18, 21, 22 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used for the current rejection of the above claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, 17, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Brusilovsky (US 2022/0264522 A1) and in view of Ozturk (US 2020/0413371 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, 9
Brusilovsky discloses a method performed by a multi-universal subscriber identity module (Fig.12(Multi-SIM)), multi-USIM user equipment (Fig.12(WRTU)), UE, operating (See Fig.10; [0004]; [0020]; access to two networks) in a first public land mobile network, PLMN (Fig.12(Network A)), and another PLMN (Fig.12(Network B)),
the method comprising:
responsive to at least one of
receiving an updated 5G-global unique temporary identifier (See [0088]; [0163]; [0209-0210]; WTRU receiving 5G-GUTI during communication with a network) or
changing a cell in which the multi-USIM UE is operating (See [0088]; [0122]; [0163]; different cell change while WTRU is moving is trivial),
determining whether or not there is a paging occasion (PO) collision with the other PLMN (See [0089-0090]; [0169]; detect paging collision for the WTRU located between cells);
responsive to determining that there is a PO collision (See [0097]; paging collision happens):
notifying a core network about the PO collision (See [0098]; [0135]; [0165]; on condition that there is the paging occasion collision, at 604, selecting a network from the first network and the second network, and sending a request to the selected network);
receiving a configuration from the core network (See [0098]; [0153]; receiving, from the selected network, a collision avoidance parameter corresponding to the request), the configuration having a collision avoidance parameter (See [0098]; [0153]; a collision avoidance parameter is used);
using the parameter value for PO calculation and monitoring (See [0098]; [0153]; calculating a third paging occasion for the selected network using the collision
avoidance parameter)
while maintaining (See [0097]; [0134]; the WTRU may request a new DRX cycle instead of a new WTRU ID to avoid a paging occasion collision) a current 5G-global unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI) (See [0209-0210]; UE received two 5G-GUTIs that represent network Identity during registration. GUTI is a temporary identity for IMSI transmitted by the network)
or
international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) of the multi-USIM UE (See [0209-0210]; IMSI from USIM is a permanent subscriber identity that does not change value); and
determining whether or not there is a PO collision with the other PLMN using the collision avoidance parameter (See [0098]; [0168]; monitor repeatedly for paging collision).
But Brusilovsky fails to explicitly recite about the configuration having a UE_offset value to calculate a new PO occasion;
However in analogous art,
Ozturk teaches about a BS may configure an offset for a paging occasion to avoid a collision between paging occasions (See [0100]).
Brusilovsky and Ozturk are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless communication technology. Brusilovsky teaches about generating an offset value to be transmitted a UE context by adding it to paging occasion equation in order to avoid paging collision. Ozturk teaches about a BS may configure an offset for a paging occasion to avoid a collision between paging occasions. Brusilovsky can use Ozturk features as a substitute to calculate new paging occasion (PO) when a collision is detected. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filling of the application to combine Brusilovsky and Ozturk as to obtain an efficient multi-SIM UE.
Regarding Claim 2, 10
Brusilovsky and Ozturk teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Brusilovsky further teaches
wherein notifying the core network about the PO collision (See [0098]; [0135]; [0165]; on condition that there is the paging occasion collision, at 604, selecting a network from the first network and the second network, and sending a request to the selected network) comprises
notifying the core network via non-access stratum, NAS, signaling about the PO collision (See [0134]; [0172]; notification is sent to the AMF network which translate through a Non-Access Stratum in the control plane)).
Regarding Claim 3, 11
Brusilovsky and Ozturk teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 9 and further teach
wherein determining whether or not there is a PO collision (See Brusilovsky [0089-0090]; [0169]; detect paging collision for the WTRU located between cells) comprises
calculating a PO for the first PLMN with the new UE_offset (See Ozturk [0100]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) and
comparing the PO for the first PLMN to the PO for the second PLMN (See Brusilovsky [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; listen at both paging occasions in this network or listen at only one of the paging occasions that is not conflicted with the paging occasion in the other network) .
Regarding Claim 4, 12
Brusilovsky and Ozturk teach all the features with respect to claim 3, 11 and Brusilovsky further teaches
wherein calculating the PO for the first PLMN (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) comprises
calculating the PO (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) in accordance with
5G: (SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*((UE_ID + UE_offset) mod N) (See [0088]; [0210])
LTE: SFN mod T= (T div N)*((UE_ID + UE_offset) mod N) (See [0088]; [0210])
where SFN is the system frame number, PF is the paging frame, Tis the DRX cycle of the UE and N is min(T, nB) (See [0088]; [0210]; defined as per the formula description).
(Offset Value can also be equal to 0)
Regarding Claim 5, 13
Brusilovsky and Ozturk teach all the features with respect to claim 3, 11 and Brusilovsky further teaches
wherein calculating the PO for the first PLMN (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) comprises
calculating the PO (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) in accordance with
5G: (SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) (See [0111-0114])
LTE: SFN mod T= (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) (See [0111-0114])
5G UE_ID: (5G-S-TMSI + UE_offset) mod 1024 (in the SGS)
LTE UE_ID: (IMSI + UE_offset) mod 1024 (in the EPS)
where SFN is the system frame number, PF is the paging frame, Tis the DRX cycle of the UE and N is min(T, nB), 5G-S-TMSI is a 5G Shortened Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity, IMSI is an international mobile subscriber identity (See [0111-0114];defined as per the formula description).
(Offset Value can also be equal to 0)
Regarding Claim 6, 14
Brusilovsky and Ozturk teach all the features with respect to claim 3, 11 and Brusilovsky further teaches
wherein calculating the PO for the first PLMN (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) comprises
calculating the PO (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) in accordance with
5G: (SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) (See [0088]; [0210])
LTE: SFN mod T= (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) (See [0088]; [0210])
i_s = floor ((UE_ID + UE_offset) / N) mod Ns (See [0113])
where SFN is the system frame number, PF is the paging frame, Tis the DRX
cycle of the UE, N is the min(T, nB) (See [0088]; [0210]; defined as per the formula)..
(Offset Value can also be equal to zero)
7-8. (Canceled)
15. (Canceled)
Regarding Claim 16,
Brusilovsky and Ozturk teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Brusilovsky further teaches
A computer program product (See [0211]; computer program) comprising a non-transitory storage medium including program code (See [0211]; computer readable medium) to be executed by processing circuitry of a multi-universal subscriber identity module, multi-USIM, user equipment, UE (See [0210-0211]; processor in computer is trivial) , whereby execution of the program code causes the multi-USIM UE to perform operations (See [0211]; to execute functions as described above).
Regarding Claim 17, 21
Brusilovsky discloses a method performed by a core network node (See [0124]; AMF received a request from WTRU about a Paging Collision),
the method comprising:
receiving a paging occasion, PO, collision indication from a multi-universal
subscriber identity module, multi-USIM, user equipment, UE (See [0124]; the WTRU sends a PO collision to one of the networks);
responsive to receiving the PO collision indication (See [0141-0142]; [0165-0166]; received overlapping indication),
generating a collision avoidance parameter (See [0098]; [0153]; calculating a third paging occasion for the selected network using the collision avoidance parameter generated)
and
transmitting the collision avoidance parameter to the multi-USIM UE (See [0143]; [0161]; [0170]; WTRU received new paging occasion activations) for use by the multi-USIM UE (See [0143]; [0161]; [0170]; corresponding to the Multi-SIM)
while maintaining a current 5G-global unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI) (See [0209-0210]; UE received two 5G-GUTIs that represent network Identity during registration) or
international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) of the multi-USIM UE (See [0209-0210]; IMSI from USIM is a permanent subscriber identity).
But Brusilovsky fails to explicitly recite about the configuration having a UE_offset value to calculate a new PO occasion;
However in analogous art,
Ozturk teaches about a BS may configure an offset for a paging occasion to avoid a collision between paging occasions (See [0100]).
Brusilovsky and Ozturk are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless communication technology. Brusilovsky teaches about generating an offset value to be transmitted a UE context by adding it to paging occasion equation in order to avoid paging collision. Ozturk teaches about a BS may configure an offset for a paging occasion to avoid a collision between paging occasions. Brusilovsky can use Ozturk features as a substitute to calculate new paging occasion (PO) when a collision is detected. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filling of the application to combine Brusilovsky and Ozturk as to obtain an efficient multi-SIM UE.
Regarding Claim 24
Brusilovsky and Ozturk teach all the features with respect to claim 17 and Brusilovsky further teaches
A computer program product (See [0211]; computer program) comprising a non-transitory storage medium including program code (See [0211]; computer readable medium) to be executed by processing circuitry of a multi-universal subscriber identity module, multi-USIM, user equipment, UE (See [0210-0211]; processor in computer is trivial) , whereby execution of the program code causes the multi-USIM UE to perform operations (See [0211]; to execute functions as described above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusilovsky (US 2022/0264522 A1) in view of Ozturk (US 2020/0413371 A1) and further in view of Shan (US 2019/0306754 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, 22
Brusilovsky and Ozturk teach all the features with respect to claim 17, 21
But Brusilovsky and Ozturk fail to explicitly recite about
executing a next generation application protocol, NGAP, UE Context Modification procedure to inform a base station about the new UE_offset to be used by the base station for radio access network, RAN, paging
when the multi-USIM UE is in RRC_INACTIVE.
However in an analogous art,
Shan teaches about NGAP application protocol between an AMF and a RAN to update new services context of the UE modified by the system (See [0176-0177]; These services may include functions including, but not limited to: a paging function for the sending of paging requests to NG-RAN nodes 111 involved in a particular paging area; UE Context management function for allowing the AMF 1721 to establish, modify, and/or release a VE Context in the AMF 1721 and the NG-RAN node 111).
Brusilovsky, Ozturk and Shan are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless communication technology. Brusilovsky teaches about generating an offset value to be transmitted a UE context by adding it to paging occasion equation in order to avoid paging collision. Shan teaches about NGAP application protocol between an AMF and a RAN to update new services context of the UE modified by the system. Brusilovsky and Ozturk can use Shan features in term of using the NGAP protocol to communication UE services changed to the base station. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filling of the application to combine Brusilovsky, Ozturk and Shan as to obtain an efficient multi-SIM UE.
19-20. (Canceled)
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646