DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114.
The amendment filed on 02/26/2026 has been acknowledged.
Amendment Summary
Claims 1, 9, 17, 21 are amended.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-6, 9-14, 16-18, 21, 22 and 24 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
1)
Applicant respectfully submits that Brusilovsky fails that the amended independent claims now require a structural and operational constraint, i.e., the
collision is resolved via a formulaic offset value while the UE continues to use its current GUTI or IMSI. Brusilovsky instead resolves paging collisions through the reassignment of a temporary identity, such as a new WTRU identifier (See Brusilovsky, paragraphs [0142]-[0143]). In Brusilovsky, the paging occasion shifts because the network assigns a different identity to serve as the input for the paging formula. In contrast, the presently claimed subject matter utilizes the UE_offset as a discrete parameter to shift the paging math without requiring the UE to adopt a new network identity. Brusilovsky does not disclose receiving or using a configuration having an offset value while the UE maintains its current 5G-GUTI or IMSI.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant arguments/remarks as Brusilovsky teaches about a Multi-SIM UE upon detecting a paging collision from the two networks communicating with the UE, the UE will request from one of the network a new paging occasion configuration associated with an offset value (See Fig.(10,11); [0111-0114]; [0164-0167]). The offset value is used to avoid paging collision with the other networks. The paging occasion received from the network is a configuration PO occasion for the UE to adapt to. The UE ID used in the formula is maintained and does not alter for generating the offset value used [0167]. There is no difference between the specification [0057] and reference [0167] of Brusilovsky. GUTI stands for Global Universal Temporary Identification. This temporary identification is generated by the network corresponding to the corresponding USIM of the UE. It represents the IMSI after registration and authentication. GUTI which is a temporary identification of the IMSI does not change in the paging occasion formula with offset value. The offset value does not change with GUTI. IMSI which is recited in the claim, is a permanent identification of the USIM for the subscriber and in no way, shape or form does get modified. Therefore the identification of GUTI or IMSI are maintained in the paging occasion formula.
Conclusion
Therefore for each of these about reasons, Brusilovsky does teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Claims 9, 17 and 21 contain similar features as Claim 1, therefore it is subject to all explanations above. The rejections on the dependent claims with respective to Claim 1 and Claim 9, Claim 17 and Claim 21 remain.
Therefore, Applicant requests that this art ground of rejection of these claims under 35 U.S.C. §102 to be withdrawn has been denied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, 17, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brusilovsky (US 2022/0264522 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, 9
Brusilovsky discloses a method performed by a multi-universal subscriber identity module (Fig.12(Multi-SIM)), multi-USIM user equipment (Fig.12(WRTU)), UE, operating (See Fig.10; [0004]; [0020]; access to two networks) in a first public land mobile network, PLMN (Fig.12(Network A)), and another PLMN (Fig.12(Network B)),
the method comprising:
responsive to at least one of
receiving an updated 5G-global unique temporary identifier (See [0088]; [0163]; [0209-0210]; WTRU receiving 5G-GUTI during communication with a network) or
changing a cell in which the multi-USIM UE is operating (See [0088]; [0122]; [0163]; different cell change while WTRU is moving is trivial),
determining whether or not there is a paging occasion (PO) collision with the other PLMN (See [0089-0090]; [0169]; detect paging collision for the WTRU located between cells);
responsive to determining that there is a PO collision (See [0097]; paging collision happens):
notifying a core network about the PO collision (See [0098]; [0135]; [0165]; on condition that there is the paging occasion collision, at 604, selecting a network from the first network and the second network, and sending a request to the selected network);
receiving a configuration from the core network (See [0098]; [0165]; receiving, from the selected network, a collision avoidance parameter corresponding to the request), the configuration having a UE_offset value (See [0166-0167]; an offset value is added to the additional paging occasion);
using the UE_offset value for PO calculation and monitoring (See [0165-01067]; offset value become part of the paging occasion for new paging monitoring that will avoid collision)
while maintaining a current 5G-global unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI) (See [0209-0210]; UE received two 5G-GUTIs that represent network Identity during registration. GUTI is a temporary identity for IMSI transmitted by the network)
or
international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) of the multi-USIM UE (See [0209-0210]; IMSI from USIM is a permanent subscriber identity that does not change value); and
determining whether or not there is a PO collision with the other PLMN using the UE_offset value (See [0098]; [0168]; monitor repeatedly for paging collision).
Regarding Claim 2, 10
Brusilovsky teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Brusilovsky further teaches
wherein notifying the core network about the PO collision (See [0098]; [0135]; [0165]; on condition that there is the paging occasion collision, at 604, selecting a network from the first network and the second network, and sending a request to the selected network) comprises
notifying the core network via non-access stratum, NAS, signaling about the PO collision (See [0134]; [0172]; notification is sent to the AMF network which translate through a Non-Access Stratum in the control plane)).
Regarding Claim 3, 11
Brusilovsky teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 9 and Brusilovsky further teaches
wherein determining whether or not there is a PO collision (See [0089-0090]; [0169]; detect paging collision for the WTRU located between cells) comprises
calculating a PO for the first PLMN with the new UE_offset (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) and
comparing the PO for the first PLMN to the PO for the second PLMN (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; listen at both paging occasions in this network or listen at only one of the paging occasions that is not conflicted with the paging occasion in the other network) .
Regarding Claim 4, 12
Brusilovsky teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, 11 and Brusilovsky further teaches
wherein calculating the PO for the first PLMN (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) comprises
calculating the PO (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) in accordance with
5G: (SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*((UE_ID + UE_offset) mod N) (See [0088]; [0210])
LTE: SFN mod T= (T div N)*((UE_ID + UE_offset) mod N) (See [0088]; [0210])
where SFN is the system frame number, PF is the paging frame, Tis the DRX cycle of the UE and N is min(T, nB) (See [0088]; [0210]; defined as per the formula description).
(Offset Value can also be equal to 0)
Regarding Claim 5, 13
Brusilovsky teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, 11 and Brusilovsky further teaches
wherein calculating the PO for the first PLMN (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) comprises
calculating the PO (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) in accordance with
5G: (SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) (See [0111-0114])
LTE: SFN mod T= (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) (See [0111-0114])
5G UE_ID: (5G-S-TMSI + UE_offset) mod 1024 (in the SGS)
LTE UE_ID: (IMSI + UE_offset) mod 1024 (in the EPS)
where SFN is the system frame number, PF is the paging frame, Tis the DRX cycle of the UE and N is min(T, nB), 5G-S-TMSI is a 5G Shortened Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity, IMSI is an international mobile subscriber identity (See [0111-0114];defined as per the formula description).
(Offset Value can also be equal to 0)
Regarding Claim 6, 14
Brusilovsky teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, 11 and Brusilovsky further teaches
wherein calculating the PO for the first PLMN (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) comprises
calculating the PO (See [0088]; [0168]; [0210]; calculating PO after receiving additional PO occasions configuration from the network) in accordance with
5G: (SFN + PF offset) mod T = (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) (See [0088]; [0210])
LTE: SFN mod T= (T div N)*(UE_ID mod N) (See [0088]; [0210])
i_s = floor ((UE_ID + UE_offset) / N) mod Ns (See [0113])
where SFN is the system frame number, PF is the paging frame, Tis the DRX
cycle of the UE, N is the min(T, nB) (See [0088]; [0210]; defined as per the formula)..
(Offset Value can also be equal to zero)
7-8. (Canceled)
15. (Canceled)
Regarding Claim 16,
Brusilovsky teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Brusilovsky further teaches
A computer program product (See [0211]; computer program) comprising a non-transitory storage medium including program code (See [0211]; computer readable medium) to be executed by processing circuitry of a multi-universal subscriber identity module, multi-USIM, user equipment, UE (See [0210-0211]; processor in computer is trivial) , whereby execution of the program code causes the multi-USIM UE to perform operations (See [0211]; to execute functions as described above).
Regarding Claim 17, 21
Brusilovsky discloses a method performed by a core network node (See [0124]; AMF received a request from WTRU about a Paging Collision),
the method comprising:
receiving a paging occasion, PO, collision indication from a multi-universal
subscriber identity module, multi-USIM, user equipment, UE (See [0124]; the WTRU sends a PO collision to one of the networks);
responsive to receiving the PO collision indication (See [0141-0142]; [0165-0166]; received overlapping indication),
generating a UE_offset (See [0166-0167]; an offset value is added to a new paging occasion configuration relate to one of the SIM) and
transmitting the UE_offset to the multi-USIM UE (See [0143]; [0161]; [0170]; WTRU received new paging occasion activations) for use by the multi-USIM UE (See [0143]; [0161]; [0170]; corresponding to the Multi-SIM)
while maintaining a current 5G-global unique temporary identifier (5G-GUTI) (See [0209-0210]; UE received two 5G-GUTIs that represent network Identity during registration) or
international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) of the multi-USIM UE (See [0209-0210]; IMSI from USIM is a permanent subscriber identity);
Regarding Claim 24
Brusilovsky teaches all the features with respect to claim 17 and Brusilovsky further teaches
A computer program product (See [0211]; computer program) comprising a non-transitory storage medium including program code (See [0211]; computer readable medium) to be executed by processing circuitry of a multi-universal subscriber identity module, multi-USIM, user equipment, UE (See [0210-0211]; processor in computer is trivial) , whereby execution of the program code causes the multi-USIM UE to perform operations (See [0211]; to execute functions as described above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusilovsky (US 2022/0264522 A1) in view of Shan (US 2019/0306754 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, 22
Brusilovsky teaches all the features with respect to claim 17, 21
But Brusilovsky fails to explicitly recite about
executing a next generation application protocol, NGAP, UE Context Modification procedure to inform a base station about the new UE_offset to be used by the base station for radio access network, RAN, paging
when the multi-USIM UE is in RRC_INACTIVE.
However in an analogous art,
Shan teaches about NGAP application protocol between an AMF and a RAN to update new services context of the UE modified by the system (See [0176-0177]; These services may include functions including, but not limited to: a paging function for the sending of paging requests to NG-RAN nodes 111 involved in a particular paging area; UE Context management function for allowing the AMF 1721 to establish, modify, and/or release a VE Context in the AMF 1721 and the NG-RAN node 111).
Brusilovsky and Shan are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless communication technology. Brusilovsky teaches about generating an offset value to be transmitted a UE context by adding it to paging occasion equation in order to avoid paging collision. Shan teaches about NGAP application protocol between an AMF and a RAN to update new services context of the UE modified by the system. Brusilovsky can use Shan features in term of using the NGAP protocol to communication UE services changed to the base station. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filling of the application to combine Brusilovsky and Shan as to obtain an efficient multi-SIM UE.
19-20. (Canceled)
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached at 571-272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GARY LAFONTANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2646