DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/29/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 10/29/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that groups I and II would not require a serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because this restriction is made under 371 which requires that in order to break unity of invention a special technical feature must be shown, which was detailed in the office action dated 9/29/2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the response filed on 10/29/2025. Claims 7-9 are withdrawn. Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hibino et al (US PGPUB No. 2013/0143473), hereinafter referred to as Hibino.
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Hibino discloses A method for recycling a solar panel [Hibino, pages 1-2, pp 0014] comprising:
ascertaining a feature amount of the solar panel [Hibino, page 1, pp 0013 and page 7, pp 0102] including a thickness of a cover glass [Hibino, page 1, pp 0013] and a hardness of the cover glass [Hibino, page 7, pp 0102];
setting a processing condition based on the feature amount of the solar panel [Hibino, page 7, pp 0102, the hardness sets the treating force]; and
based on the processing condition, applying an impact force to the solar panel by means of processing media [Hibino, page 7, pp 0102] to separate the cover glass covering a surface of the solar panel from the solar panel [Hibino, page 1, pp 0013].
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Hibino further discloses the method for recycling a solar panel according to claim1, comprising separating broken pieces of the cover glass from particles including the processing media that was used for separation of the cover glass and broken pieces of the cover glass that was separated [Hibino, page 3, pp 0034, air is blasted and separates particles from the dust or work from the media that was used].
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Hibino further discloses the method for recycling a solar panel according to claim1, wherein the processing condition includes an energy when the processing media collides with the solar panel [Hibino, page 11, pp 0138, teaching that there is a blast pressure, size or area of the work, and the distance between the unit to treat and work, all giving the parts required for calculating the kinetic energy, where KE = 1/2 * mass * velocity ^2 = Force * distance * area. Further per pages 7-8, pp 0102, it is taught that the media has a velocity and further since the media has substance also has mass. Therefore, the kinetic energy of the blast media can be calculated and the collision energy exists].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibino et al (US PGPUB No. 2013/0143473) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, respectively, and in further view of Ishibashi et al (US PGPUB No. 2006/0099888), hereinafter referred to as Hibino and Ishibashi, respectively.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Hibino further discloses the method for recycling a solar panel according to claim 1, wherein: the processing media is multiple particles [Hibino, page 12, pp 0152 particles are made of an aluminum alloy WA]; and separation of the cover glass from the solar panel comprises: causing the processing media to collide with the solar panel to form a crack in the cover glass [Hibino, page 12, pp 0152]; further causing the processing media to collide with the solar panel to grow the crack [Hibino, page 13, pp 0152]; and further causing the processing media to collide with the solar panel to remove the cover glass from the solar panel in particulate form [Hibino, page 13, pp 0152 where particles from the workpiece were suctioned off with the blast media].
Hibino does not explicitly disclose wherein: the processing media is multiple particles with a diameter of 0.6 to 3.0 mm.
Ishibashi teaches a method of using blast media comprising: applying an impact force to a workpiece by means of processing media to cut the workpiece [Ishibashi, page 7, pp’s 0098-0099, alumina (an aluminum alloy) is used to cut the workpiece and page 7, pp 0088 teaching the workpiece can be glass which is similar to the workpiece claimed], wherein: the processing media is multiple particles with a diameter of 0.6 to 3.0 mm [Ishibashi, page 7, pp 0098 teaching the average diameter of the particles is 0.8mm which overlaps the claimed invention].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have changed the particle size of processing media of Hibino to the particle size of Ishibashi to have an average diameter of 0.8mm because this gave the result of preventing satin-finished uneven portions on the workpiece, while maintaining a slide of the abrasive such that the surface can be cut in parallel [Ishibashi, page 7, pp 0099, summarized].
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibino et al (US PGPUB No. 2013/0143473) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, respectively, and in further view of Ishibashi et al (US PGPUB No. 2006/0099888), as evidenced by Vickers Hardness table for materials Wikipedia page (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardnesses_of_the_elements_%28data_page%29), hereinafter referred to as Hibino, Ishibashi, and Wikipedia, respectively.
Regarding claims 5 (Original) and 6 (Original), Hibino discloses the method for recycling a solar panel according to claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: a Vickers hardness of the processing media is 350 to 550 HV (clm 5) or 60 to 150 HV (clm 6); and the energy when colliding with the solar panel is 1.0 x 10-3 to 5.3 x 10-1 J (clm 5) or 9.0 x 10-4 to 5.0 x 10-1 J (clm 6).
Hibino further teaches in one example that the media may be WA #600 (which is an alumina alloy) [Hibino, page 12, pp 0152].
Ishibashi teaches Ishibashi teaches a method of using blast media comprising: applying an impact force to a workpiece by means of processing media to cut the workpiece [Ishibashi, page 7, pp’s 0098-0099, alumina (an aluminum alloy) is used to cut the workpiece and page 7, pp 0088 teaching the workpiece can be glass which is similar to the workpiece claimed], wherein: the processing media is chosen for properties such as material and size [Ishibashi, page 4, pp 0059 – page 5, pp 0062, teaching that the abrasive grains material and abrasive size can be adjusted. Further per table 1, the list of materials includes steel, aluminum, copper, and the various alloys]. As evidenced by Wikipedia the Vickers hardness for aluminum is 160-350 HV, cooper is 343-369 HV [Wikipedia, table, Aluminum and Copper Vickers Hardness properties], wherein the processing condition includes an energy when the processing media collides with the solar panel [Hibino, page 11, pp 0138, teaching that there is a blast pressure, size or area of the work, and the distance between the unit to treat and work, all giving the parts required for calculating the kinetic energy, where KE = 1/2 * mass * velocity ^2 = Force * distance * area. Further per pages 7-8, pp 0102, it is taught that the media has a velocity and further since the media has substance also has mass. Therefore, the kinetic energy of the blast media can be calculated] (from clm 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust or changed the material of blast media of Hibino as taught Ishibashi because this allows the user to dictate what properties of the finish of the workpiece [Ishibashi, page 4, pp 0061 – page 5, pp 0062, summarized].
Regarding the Vickers hardness of the material being with the ranges of 350 to 550 HV (clm 5) or 60 to 150 HV (clm 6), since the material is chosen by the user as taught by Ishibashi, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably be able to choose the material to cover the ranges as claimed. There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the blast media for the Vickers Hardness property would result is a difference in function of the device of Hibino as modified by Ishibashi. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the blast media to meet a Vickers Hardness requirement, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed Vickers Hardness requirements. Lastly applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the Vickers Hardness “for example” be within the claimed range, and offering other acceptable ranges (e,g. claim 5 vs claim 6, specification pp [0041]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that is produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blast media of Hibino as modified by Ishibashi to have a Vickers Hardness between 350 to 550 HV (clm 5) or 60 to 150 HV (clm 6) as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding the collision energy of the ranges 1.0 x 10-3 to 5.3 x 10-1 J (clm 5) or 9.0 x 10-4 to 5.0 x 10-1 J (clm 6), since the material, blast pressure of the media, area of work, and the distance between the unit to perform the work to the work, is chosen by the user as taught by Ishibashi, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably be able to choose the blast pressure of the media, area of work, and the distance between the unit to perform the work to the work to cover the ranges as claimed. There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the material of the blast media, the blast pressure of the media, area of work, and the distance between the unit to perform the work to the work, would result is a difference in function of the device of Hibino as modified by Ishibashi. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the material of the blast media, the blast pressure of the media, area of work, and the distance between the unit to perform the work to the work, requirements, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed energy requirements. Lastly applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the collision energy requirement is “for example” be within the claimed range, and offering other acceptable ranges (e,g. claim 5 vs claim 6, specification pp [0041]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that is produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the blast media, the blast pressure of the media, area of work, and the distance between the unit to perform the work to the work of Hibino as modified by Ishibashi to have a collision energy between 350 to 550 HV (clm 5) or 60 to 150 HV (clm 6) as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
/ROBERT F NEIBAUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723