DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 8, 9,10, 11,15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The above claims require specific m/z values. The molecular ions are not limited by anything other than the numerical value of a given molecular ion. The specification shows limited examples of hole transport region materials such as a sulfonic acid compound; a fluorine compound, and a metal oxide (paragraph 14) which corresponds to the molecular ions upon mass spectroscopy analysis. While there are examples in the specification, these limited examples do not support the full scope of the claims which is not limited by any chemical class. By having a claim written as such, the scope extends beyond the material requirements supported in the specification.
Applicant has provided no written description for identifying the materials of the hole transport region to show applicant was in full possession of the material(s) depth to meet the full of the scope of the invention in the cited claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-5, 13-14, 17-21, 23, 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawano (US 2021/0336176).
Regarding Claims 4-5, 17-21, 27-31, Kawano teaches an light-emitting device including an anode, a cathode and an EL layer positioned between the anode and the cathode; containing EL layer 103 preferably has a stacked-layer structure, there is no particular limitation on the stacked-layer structure, and various layers such as a hole-injection layer, a hole-transport layer, a light-emitting layer, an electron-transport layer, an electron-injection layer, a carrier-blocking layer (a hole-blocking layer and an electron-blocking layer), an exciton-blocking layer, and a charge-generation layer can be employed. Note that one or more of the above layers are not necessarily provided (paragraph 194).
The hole-injection layer 111 includes a substance having an acceptor property (paragraph 195). The acceptor material includes molybdenum oxide, vanadium oxide, ruthenium oxide, tungsten oxide, manganese oxide.
The electron-transport layer includes an organic compound having an electron-transport property and a metal complex of an alkali metal (abstract). The electron-transport property with respect to light with any of wavelengths in the range of 455 nm to 465 nm:
the ordinary refractive index of the metal complex of an alkali metal with respect to light with any of wavelengths in the range of 455 nm to 465 nm is greater than or equal to 1.50 and less than 1.75 (paragraph 15) (per claim 4).
the ordinary refractive index of the organic compound having an electron-transport property with respect to light with a wavelength of 633 nm is greater than or equal to 1.45 and less than or equal to 1.70; and the ordinary refractive index of the metal complex of an alkali metal with respect to light with a wavelength of 633 nm is greater than or equal to 1.40 and less than or equal to 1.65 (paragraph 17) (per claim 5).
The organic compound having an electron-transport property in the electron-transport layer 114 preferably includes at least one six-membered heteroaromatic ring having 1 to 3 nitrogen atoms, a plurality of aromatic hydrocarbon rings each of which has 6 to 14 carbon atoms forming a ring and at least two of which are benzene rings, and an organic compound having a plurality of hydrocarbon groups forming a bond by sp.sup.3 hybrid orbitals (paragraph 163) (per claim 17).
8-hydroxyquinolinato-lithium (Liq) may be provided as the electron-injection layer 115 between the electron-transport layer 114 (adjacent) and the cathode 102 (paragraph 243) (per claims 18 and 21).
The electron-transport layer includes an organic compound having a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring skeleton and a metal complex of an alkali metal (paragraph 32) (per claims 19-20)
In the light-emitting apparatus of this embodiment, the pixel portion, which includes a plurality of light-emitting devices (paragraph 285) (per claim 30). The light-emitting device having two light-emitting units, the emission colors of the first light-emitting unit may be red and green and the emission color of the second light-emitting unit may be blue (paragraph 262). Emission of a green color involves an iridium complex (paragraph 215) (per claims 14 and 27).
Blue color can be emitted by fluorescence (paragraph 210) (per claim 29)
Green and red emission is from phosphorescent compound (paragraphs 214 and 216) (per claim 28).
The OLED and electronic apparatus can include a display device (per claim (per claim 31)
Regarding Claims 32-34, Kawano teaches an light-emitting device the hole-transport range of claim 4. The application of the layers is viewed as a process.
Claim are as product-by process claims.
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (per claims 32-33).
Regarding Claim 13, Kawano teaches a phosphorescent substance is used as the light-emitting substance in the light-emitting layer (paragraph 213). The phosphorescent substance is an iridium complex (paragraph 213) (per claim 13).
Regarding Claim 23, Kawano teaches 8-hydroxyquinolinato-lithium (Liq) may be provided as the electron-injection layer (paragraph 243) (per claim 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 6-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kawano (US 2021/0336176).
Regarding Claims 6-12 and 15, Kawano teaches the claimed hole transport region (above) but does not expressly teach the m/z ratio.
The office takes the position that m/z analysis generated by mass spectroscopy identifies the molecular ion of a given the hole transporting material (HTM). The method is a process and thus not treated. The selection of a suitable hole transporting material would include a host of HTM options which upon analysis would show a range of molecular ions corresponding to the various molecular weights of the HTMs. As the specification does not point to specific class of HTMs, the office takes the position that a range of suitable HTMs with differing molecular weights would have overlapped at least a portion of the claimed molecular ions, absent unexpected results. Therefore, the range of HTMs tested by a skilled artisan would have included HTMs which would have inherently corresponded to the claimed molecular ions, absent unexpected results.
It is reasonable to presume that the molecular ions are inherent as a range of HTMs would be tested with the expectation of achieving a functional hole transport region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawano (US 2021/0336176) in view of Lee (TW 201248960 A).
Regarding Claims 25-26, Kawano teaches an lithium fluoride (LiF), cesium fluoride (CsF), calcium fluoride (CaF.sub.2), or 8-hydroxyquinolinato-lithium (Liq) may be provided as the electron-injection layer (paragraph 243) but fails to mention barium.
Lee teaches an OLED (machine trans. page 43) comprising an electron injection layer made from lithium quinolate (Liq), lithiated fluorine (LiF), lithium oxide (Li 2 O), sodium chloride (NaCl), sodium fluoride (NaF), potassium fluoride (KF), cesium fluoride (CsF), barium fluoride (BaF), barium difluoride (BeF2), magnesium fluoride (MgF2), calcium fluoride (CaF2), barium fluoride (BaF2), barium oxide (BaO), or barium fluoride (BaF2) (machine trans. page 48).
The electron injection layer materials of Lee are viewed as functionally equivalent options which are readily exchangeable, absent unexpected results.
As both Kawano and Lee teach common electron injection materials such as (LiF), cesium fluoride (CsF), calcium fluoride (CaF.sub.2) and Lee also teaches a number barium materials, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have substituted in a barium material (which reads on the instant limitations) in place of a fluoride material (which reads on the instant limitations) as said materials would be expected to be functionally equivalent, absent unexpected results (per claim 26).
As both Kawano and Lee teach common electron injection materials and Lee teaches a sodium fluoride (NaF), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have used NaF in the electron injection layer (which reads on the instant limitations) as said material would be expected to be functionally equivalent which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record and the STN search fails to show:
Chemical Formula 1 (per claim 16)
wherein the heteroaromatic compound is 2-phenyl-9-[3-(9-phenyl-1,10-phenanthrolin- 2-yl)phenyl]-1,10-phenanthroline (per claim 24)
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786