DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-12 are pending in this application. Claims 7-12 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, and 4 are examined herein.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/14/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amended claim language. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. For applicant's benefit, the portions of the reference(s) relied upon in the below rejections have been cited to aid in the review of the rejections. While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
7. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bilovsky, US 2014/0133619.
8. Regarding claim 1, Bilovsky discloses a nuclear reactor ([0010]), comprising:
plural fuel rods (23) containing fissile material, the fuel rods held in plural, individually extractable and replaceable, fuel assemblies (20; see [0023] and Figs. 2 and 3),
at least one fuel assembly of the fuel assemblies simultaneously including (see Fig. 3 and [0029]):
plural control rods (442), each made of a first neutron-absorbing material PWR control rods are well-known in the art to use AgInSn and/or B4C1, which are insertable between the fuel rods to reduce a rate of a fission reaction of fissile material contained within the fuel rods to put the reactor in a shutdown state, and operable to move in and out of the reactor to vary the rate of the fission reaction when the reactor is critical and generating useful power ([0024]);
plural of the fuel rods (1) containing fissile material; and
at least one refuelling rod (3), made of a second neutron-absorbing material different to the first material ([0029]: Al2O3-B4C), the at least one refuelling rod being inserted and immobilized between the fuel rods to further reduce the rate of the fission reaction and maintain the shutdown state ([0030]: although the intent of the burnable poison rods is to provide reactivity control during operation, they are also capable of this recited intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. For applicant's benefit, the portions of the reference(s) relied upon in the below rejections have been cited to aid in the review of the rejections. While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
12. Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilovsky, US 2014/0133619 in view of Snell, US 2,815,319.
13. Regarding claims 3 and 4, Bilovsky discloses the nuclear reactor of claim 1. Bilovsky’s refuelling rods contain B4C. Snell teaches a nuclear reactor comprising control rods made of boron steel, noting that both B4C and boron steel both strongly absorb fast neutrons (column 6, lines 70-75) . Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing would have found it obvious to substitute the B4C disclosed by Bilovsky for the equivalent boron steel taught by Snell. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) and MPEP §2144.06. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Interviews
Conclusion
/SHARON M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 See “LWR Control Assembly Designs: A Historical Perspective” and “Advances in control assembly materials for water reactors” attached previously.