DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on01/20/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a single core having a central leg and two lateral legs connected to each other with end members, in which the central leg and the two lateral legs each comprises an air gap, the air gap of the central gap being smaller than the lateral legs air gaps” as recited in claim 29, the “the central gap is half as big as the lateral gaps” as claimed in claim 31, the “the central gap is four times smaller than the lateral gaps” of claim 32, the “planar windings printed on a substrate, or a combination thereof” as recited in claim 37, the “planar windings printed on the same substrate” as claimed in claim 38 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 39-44 are objected to because of the following informalities: .
Regarding claim 39, it appears “the electromagnetic device as defined in any of claim 29” should be --the electromagnetic device as defined in claim 29--.
Claims 40-44 are objected as being dependent on claim 39.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the same substrate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 41, it’s not clear what’s intended by “the current needed to drive the multiple inductors is reduced by implementing interleaved multi-phase operations” as recited in lines 1-3. The examiner does not know how to interpret the limitations in question properly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29, 31, 37, 137 and 139 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimada et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2009/0147541 A1).
With respect to claim 29, Shimada et al., hereinafter referred to as “Shimada,” teaches an electromagnetic device (FIG. 3) comprising:
(i) a single core 3 having a central leg 3c (annotated FIG. 3) and two lateral legs 3a and 3b connected to each other with end members 3d and 3e, in which the central leg and the two lateral legs each comprises an air gap 3c1, 341 and 342, the air gap of the central gap being smaller than the lateral legs air gaps;
(ii) two inductors (inductors of windings 301 and 302) having windings 301 and 302 arranged around one of the end members;
and in which the multiple inductors are configured to have a weak mutual coupling k where k is determined by selecting the ratio between the central gap and the two lateral gaps (paras. [0052]-[0053]).
With respect to claim 31, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29, in which the device is configured such that reducing the central gap size reduces the coupling between the two inductors (para. [0053]).
With respect to claim 37, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29, in which in the windings of the inductors are either wire windings, planar windings printed on a substrate, or a combination thereof (para. [0052]).
With respect to claim 137, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29, in which the winding of the first inductor is arranged on a portion of the end member between the first lateral leg and the central leg, and the winding of the second inductor is arranged on a portion of the end member between the central leg and the second opposite lateral leg (para. [0052]).
With respect to claim 139, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29, in which the device is configured such that the magnetic energy of the flux path of the first inductor is substantially concentrated within the first lateral leg air gap and the magnetic energy of the flux path of the second inductor is substantially concentrated within the second opposite lateral leg air gap (paras. [0052]-[0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada, as applied to claim 29 above, in view of Kuo et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2014/0313002 A1).
With respect to claim 32, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29.
Shimada does not expressly teach the central gap is half as big as the lateral gaps even though the drawings reasonably disclose such features.
Nonetheless, Kuo et al., hereinafter referred to as “Kuo,” teaches an electromagnetic device 600 (Fig. 6A) in which the central gap g3 is half as big as the lateral gap 91 (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the gap sizes as taught by Kuo to the electromagnetic device of Shimada to adjust the inductance of the winding(s) (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 33, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29.
Shimada does not expressly teach the central gap is four times smaller than the lateral gaps even though Shimada expressly teach different gap structure could be used (para. [0053]).
Kuo teaches an electromagnetic device 600 (Fig. 6A) in which different central gap and lateral gaps are used (paras. [0042] and [0044]). Therefore, a person with ordinary skill in the art would use the gap as claimed to provide the desired magnetic characteristics to meet design requirements. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the central gap is four times smaller than the lateral gaps, as would be obvious over Shimada in view of Kuo, to adjust the inductance of the winding.
Claims 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada, as applied to claim 29 above, in view of Abe et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0221360 A1).
With respect to claim 34, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29. Shimada does not expressly teach the mutual coupling k is less than 0.5.
Abe et al., hereinafter referred to as “Abe,” teaches an electromagnetic device (FIG. 2) in which the mutual coupling k is less than 0.5 (para. [0055]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the mutual coupling k as taught by Abe to the electromagnetic device of Shimada to provide the desired mutual inductance between the windings to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 35, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29. Shimada does not expressly teach the mutual coupling k is less than 0.35.
Abe teaches an electromagnetic device (FIG. 2) in which the mutual coupling k is less than 0.35 (para. [0055]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the mutual coupling k as taught by Abe to the electromagnetic device of Shimada to provide the desired mutual inductance between the windings to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 36, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29. Shimada does not expressly teach the mutual coupling k is more than 0.5 and less than 0.95.
Abe teaches an electromagnetic device (FIG. 2) in which the mutual coupling k is more than 0.5 and less than 0.95 (para. [0055]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the mutual coupling k as taught by Abe to the electromagnetic device of Shimada to provide the desired mutual inductance between the windings to meet design requirements.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada, as applied to claim 29 above, in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,671,713 B2).
With respect to claim 38, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29. Shimada does not expressly teach the windings of the inductors are planar windings printed on the same substrate.
Xu et al., hereinafter referred to as “Xu,” teaches an electromagnetic device (FIGs. 1-3) in which the windings 7 and 9 of the inductors are planar windings printed on the same substrate 3 (col. 3, lines 5-10). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the planar windings on the same substrate as taught by Xu to the electromagnetic device of Shimada to facilitate manufacturing.
Claims 39-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakahori et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2011/0026276 A1) in view of Shimada.
With respect to claim 39, Nakahori et al., hereinafter referred to as “Nakahori,” teaches a PFC converter (FIG. 36) comprising an electromagnetic device 8 (para. [0201]). Shimada does not expressly teach the electromagnetic device as defined in any of claim 29.
Shimada teaches a converter (FIGs. 4-5) as defined in in any of claim 29 (paras. [0052]-[0053] and [0060]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electromagnetic device as taught by Shimada to the PFC converter of Shimada to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 40, Nakahori in view of Shimada teaches the PFC converter of claim 39, in which the mutual coupling k is selected based on one or more of the following: parameters of the magnetic core, type of MOSFET, input voltage required, and output voltage required (Nakahori, para. [0201], Shimada, paras. [0052]-[0053] and [0060]).
With respect to claim 41, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Nakahori in view of Shimada teaches the PFC converter of claim 39, in which the current needed to drive the multiple inductors is reduced by implementing interleaved multi-phase operations.
With respect to claim 42, Nakahori in view of Shimada teaches the PFC converter of claim 39, in which the mutual coupling k is selected in order to minimize the global losses (Nakahori, para. [0219], Shimada, paras. [0052]-[0053] and [0060]).
With respect to claim 43, Nakahori in view of Shimada teaches the PFC converter of claim 39, in which the mutual coupling k is determined to be able to discharge the drain of the active MOSFET used in the PFC converter (Nakahori, para. [0219], Shimada, paras. [0052]-[0053] and [0060]).
With respect to claim 44, Nakahori in view of Shimada teaches the PFC converter of claim 39, in which k is less than 0.4 and the PFC achieves 99% efficiency with an output power of about 300 W (Nakahori, para. [0219], Shimada, paras. [0052]-[0053] and [0060]).
Claim 138 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada, as applied to claim 29 above, in view of Schultz et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,362,986).
With respect to claim 138, Shimada teaches the electromagnetic device of claim 29. Shimada does not expressly teach the winding of the first inductor and the winding of the second inductor are wound in opposite directions.
Schultz et al., hereinafter referred to as “Schultz,” teach an electromagnetic device (FIG. 3A), in which the winding 42A of the first inductor and the winding 42B of the second inductor are wound in opposite directions (col. 7, lines 15-25). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the opposite winding directions as taught by Schultz to the electromagnetic device of Shimada to provide the desired flux density to meet design requirements (col. 7, lines 19-25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837