Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 1/29/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant further elected Species A directed to ethyl cellulose (claims 2, 5, and 6) and Species X directed to MOF-808 (claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “particles and flakes are small relative to said electrodes”. The term “small” is not clear because there are no metes and bounds and it is not defined in the specification.
Claims 2, 5-7, and 10-12 are rejected by virtue of their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2019/0036700 to Kyung et al. (hereinafter “Kyung”) in view of “Graphene/Na carboxymethyl cellulose composite for Li-ion batteries prepared by enhanced liquid exfoliation”, Naboka et al., Materials Science and Engineering B, published 24 April 2016 (hereinafter “Naboka”).
With respect to claim 1, Kyung discloses a composition for producing electrodes a positive electrode for a lithium-sulfur battery (see [0011] & [0016]), comprising:
carbonized metal-organic framework (MOF) structure (see [0013]) with well-defined pores (see [0027]); and
sulfur compound introduced into at least a portion of the outer surface and the interior of the carbonized MOF (see [0023]).
Kyung further discloses that a conductive material and a binder can be mixed with said carbon-sulfur composite to form said positive electrode(see [0079]), wherein said conductive material may be graphene (see [0082]) and said binder (equivalent to claimed polymer residue) may be cellulose-based such as carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) (see [0086]).
Kyung fails to explicitly disclose (i) graphene flakes and (ii) particles and flakes (claimed graphene flakes) are small relative to said electrodes to form a composite electrode bound at least partially by said polymer residue.
With respect to (i) difference, it is noted Kyung discloses graphene in general which would encompass graphene flakes. Furthermore, Naboka discloses graphene is commonly used for electrodes in energy storage applications (see pg. 1, col. 1, 1st paragraph). Naboka further discloses graphene flakes are one of the options within the genus of graphene in the context of electrodes (see pg. 4, col. 1, paragraph 3 and pg. 6, col. 1, paragraphs 3-4).
With respect to (ii) difference, Kyung discloses the content of the binder may be 0.5 may be 0.5-30 wt% of the total weight of the positive electrode (see [0087]) which is reasonably considered small relative to the weight of the electrodes. Kyung further discloses a weight ratio of 90:5:5 of a sulfur-carbon composite material to conductive material to binder (see [0151]). In view of these disclosures, Kyung is reasonably considered to read upon claimed particles and flakes (graphene) are small relative to the total weight of the electrode.
With respect to claimed graphene flakes obtained by polymer enhanced solvent exfoliation and polymer residue from said polymer enhanced solvent exfoliation, it is noted these claimed recitation is drawn to products-by-process. Per MPEP2113, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” Additionally, Kyung discloses solvent is used for preparing the positive electrode composition for a lithium-sulfur batter (see [0079]-[0090]).
With respect to claim 2, Kyung broadly discloses cellulose-based which would encompass ethyl cellulose. Additionally, Naboka discloses that a polymer for graphene exfoliant includes ethyl cellulose.
With respect to claims 5 and 6 directed to weight ratio of graphene flakes to ethyl cellulose, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to determine optimum effective ratio of graphene flakes to ethyl cellulose through routine experimentation absent any evidence of criticality.
With respect to claims 10-12 directed to lateral dimensions of graphene flakes, Naboka discloses graphene flakes with lateral size in range of ~100-500 nm (page 4, col. 1, 2nd paragraph) which falls within claimed ranges.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2019/0036700 to Kyung et al. (hereinafter “Kyung”) in view of “Graphene/Na carboxymethyl cellulose composite for Li-ion batteries prepared by enhanced liquid exfoliation”, Naboka et al., Materials Science and Engineering B, published 24 April 2016 (hereinafter “Naboka”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 10-12 above, and further in view of WO 2019/212944 A1 to Thoi et al. (hereinafter “Thoi”).
With respect to claim 7, Kyung discloses MOF-5 and does not explicitly disclose claimed MOF-808.
Thoi is directed to high capacity lithium-sulfur batteries. Thoi specifically discloses utilization of MOF-808 (see [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to have substituted MOF-55 in Kyung for MOF-808 disclosed by Thoi with an expectation of equal success since both are porous and used for making similar lithium-sulfur batteries.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772