DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 07/11/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 04/21/2025. Independent claims 1, 8, 15 and 22 are amended. Claims 6-7, 13-14, 20-21 and 27-28 were cancelled previously. Claims 3-4, 10-11, 17-18 and 24-25 are cancelled currently. Therefore, claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, 19, 22-23 and 26 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, 19, 22-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergquist et al. (2017/0156176, Corresponding to US10342063B2 as submitted in IDS), Bergquist hereinafter, in view of Ang et al. (2020/0389933 as submitted in IDS), Ang hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 8, Bergquist teaches a method (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057-¶0066) performed by a wireless device (Fig. 14/Fig. 3-11, MD 50) for discontinuous reception (DRX) (Fig. 2-11), and a wireless device (Fig. 14/Fig. 3-11, MD 50) comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 14,60) operable to: receive an indication that an offset is to be used with discontinuous reception (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - the network 10 decides to update the DRX configuration for the connection with the mobile device 50 and the base station 20 sends an updated DRX configuration to the mobile device 50 (event 1). The updated configuration could be sent in a RRC message… Fig. 3-13 & ¶0062 - When the DRX configuration is changed, the mobile device 50 may need to recalculate a new DRX start offset for the recurring DRX on duration, i.e. the on duration phase. In the case where the length of the DRX cycle is changed from N to M as shown in FIG. 9, the new DRX start offset, denoted drxStartOffsetM may be computed according to: drxStartOffsetM = drxStartOffsetN mod M = remainder(drxStartOffset.subN /M)…. (Eq. 1)); monitor a downlink of the data during a first period of time associated with the preconfigured discontinuous reception cycle (Fig. 2 & ¶0030 - The DRX cycle (i.e., preconfigured discontinuous reception cycle based on the current DRX configuration) includes a DRX on duration when the receiver in the mobile device 50 is turned on to monitor the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) …..Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - the mobile device 50 continues to use the current DRX configuration after receiving the updated DRX configuration until the first subframe of the next DRX on duration according to the current DRX configuration. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0064 - The mobile device 50 continues using the current DRX configuration for the connection after receipt of the updated configuration parameters until a subsequent on duration of the DRX cycle according to the current DRX configuration has occurred (block 115)); determine that a first number of time periods based on the frequency have occurred since monitoring the downlink in the first period of time (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0054 - As shown in FIG. 4, the mobile device 50 starts (or restarts) the DIAT using the new DIAT timer value each time the PDCCH indicates a new transmission (DL or UL). However, the base station 20 is still using the old DIAT timer value because it is still waiting for the RCRC from the mobile device 50 to commit to the new DRX configuration. The DIAT at the mobile device 50 may expire at any time during the sequence of events. When it does, the mobile device 50 will enter the DRX mode and use the new DRX cycle period and on duration, which may different than the DRX cycle and on duration used on the network side. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - the mobile device 50 does not immediately apply the updated DRX configuration. Rather, the mobile device 50 continues to use the current DRX configuration after receiving the updated DRX configuration until the first subframe of the next DRX on duration according to the current DRX configuration. The mobile device 50 applies the new DRX configuration at the first subframe of the next DRX on duration according to the current DRX configuration (event 3).. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0064 - The mobile device 50 continues using the current DRX configuration for the connection after receipt of the updated configuration parameters until a subsequent on duration of the DRX cycle according to the current DRX configuration has occurred (block 115). The mobile device 50 applies the updated configuration parameters for the connection in the subsequent on duration of the DRX cycle (block 120).); and monitor the downlink during a second period of time, the second period of time adjusted from the preconfigured discontinuous reception cycle based on the offset (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0064 - turning at least a portion of a receiver circuit in the mobile device 50 on and off according to the updated DRX configuration (block 125). Fig. 3-13 & ¶0066 - the length of the DRX cycle according to the updated configuration parameters is different from the length of the DRX cycle according to the current DRX configuration. In this case, the method further comprises computing a new DRX start offset for the updated DRX configuration as a function of a current DRX start offset for the current DRX configuration….., where the length of the DRX cycle according to the updated configuration parameters is shorter than the length of the DRX cycle according to the current DRX configuration, a new DRX start offset is computed according to Equation 1.<See ¶0062>).
Yet, Bergquist does not expressly teach wherein data is transmitted at a rate that is not an integer value of a preconfiqured discontinuous reception cycle, and wherein the indication comprises an amount of time to be used for the offset and a frequency with which to apply the offset;
However, in the analogous art, Ang explicitly discloses wherein data is transmitted at a rate that is not an integer value of a preconfiqured discontinuous reception cycle (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0100 - DRX cycle durations may be configured based on a rational number that is used to determine the DRX cycle durations. In such cases, instead of supporting only integer millisecond DRX cycle durations, a DRX configuration may support non-integer millisecond DRX cycle durations as a rational number. For example, the DRX cycle duration may be determined as p/q milliseconds, where p may be the period of multiple downlink bursts that provide an integer millisecond duration (e.g., for a 120 Hz update rate of XR traffic, 25 ms), and q may be the inverse a decimal portion of the downlink burst period (e.g., 1/0.333=3, for a 120 Hz update rate of XR traffic). Based on the rational number cycle duration, DRX cycles may start in a middle of a slot.), and wherein the indication comprises an amount of time to be used for the offset and a frequency with which to apply the offset (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0005 - techniques are provided for configuring DRX cycles within a DRX time period at a user equipment (UE) such that different DRX cycles have non-uniform cycle durations within the DRX time period. Such non-uniform cycle durations may provide DRX ON-durations that are aligned with a periodicity of downlink traffic to the UE. …. the DRX time period may correspond to an anchor cycle that spans a set of DRX cycles, and a subset of the set of DRX cycles may have a different cycle duration than other DRX cycles of the set of DRX cycles. In some cases, an ON-duration offset value may be indicated for one or more DRX cycles within the DRX time period. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0105 - At 710, the base station 105-b may determine a periodicity of communications with the UE 115-b. For example, the base station 105-b may determine that downlink traffic bursts are transmitted to the UE 115-b (e.g., XR application transmissions) according to the periodicity. In some cases, the base station 105-b may identify that the traffic is associated with a particular application (e.g., based on signaling from the UE 115-b that indicates the application is being used) and determine the periodicity based on the application (e.g., a burst periodicity based on a video refresh rate of the application). In other cases, the base station 105-b may identify that periodic traffic is transmitted to the UE 115-b over a period of time, and based on this historical information may determine the periodicity of communications. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0106 - At 715, the base station 105-b may determine a DRX configuration for the UE 115-b… the base station 105-b may determine the DRX configuration to provide ON-durations at the UE 115-b that correspond with the determined traffic periodicity, which may reduce latency at the UE 115-b and also reduce power consumption at the UE 115-b. In some cases, the DRX configuration may have non-uniform cycle durations. in such cases, the base station may configure a discontinuous reception period (e.g., an anchor cycle, outer cycle, number of DRX cycles prior to an ON-duration offset adjustment, or number of DRX cycles). Within the discontinuous reception period, one or more DRX cycles may have a first cycle duration, and one or more other DRX cycles may have a second cycle duration, which may provide that the ON-durations are aligned with the downlink traffic bursts);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bergquist’s invention of a system and a method for modifying and activating DRX (discontinuous reception) parameter in a wireless communication system to include Ang’s invention of discontinuous reception (DRX) techniques with non-uniform cycle durations in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in accommodating periodicity of traffic as exhibited by traffic bursts from extended reality (XR) applications, such as, cloud gaming applications, virtual reality (VR) split rendering applications, augmented reality (AR) split computation applications, as used in the wireless communication system. (¶0054-¶0054, Ang)
Re. Claims 2 and 9, Bergquist and Ang teach claims 1 and 8.
Bergquist further teaches wherein the indication is included in a radio resource control (RRC) message and the indication is part of a DRX-Config information element. (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0037 - The DRX parameters are typically sent to the mobile device 50 in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message by including a DRX-Config structure that contains the DRX parameters in the RRC message. The DRX-Config structure is included in the MAC-MainConfig Information Element (IE) of the RRC message. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0039 - base station 20 initiates the change by sending the new DRX configuration to the mobile device 50 in a RRCConnectionReconfiguration (RCR) message. … the new DRX parameters are specified by the DRX-Config structure contained in the MAC-MainConfig IE of the RCR message. The RCR message containing the new DRX parameters is delivered by the RRC layer to the Medium Access Control (MAC) layer. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - network 10 decides to update the DRX configuration for the connection with the mobile device 50 and the base station 20 sends an updated DRX configuration to the mobile device 50 (event 1). The updated configuration could be sent in a RRC message, such as a RCR message).
Re. Claims 5 and 12, Bergquist and Ang teach teaches claims 1 and 8.
Bergquist further teaches wherein the wireless device obtains additional offset information. (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - the network 10 decides to update the DRX configuration for the connection with the mobile device 50 and the base station 20 sends an updated DRX configuration to the mobile device 50 (event 1). The updated configuration could be sent in a RRC message… Fig. 3-13 & ¶0062 - When the DRX configuration is changed, the mobile device 50 may need to recalculate a new DRX start offset for the recurring DRX on duration, i.e. the on duration phase. In the case where the length of the DRX cycle is changed from N to M as shown in FIG. 9, the new DRX start offset, denoted drxStartOffsetM may be computed according to: drxStartOffsetM = drxStartOffsetN mod M = remainder(drxStartOffset.subN /M)…. (Eq. 1)). Examiner interprets that the “additional offset information” refers to “amount of time to be used for the offset” as per the instant application, for example, at least in ¶0034, as it recites, “The additional offset information may comprise one of an amount of time to be used for the offset and an indication of a frequency with which to apply the offset.”, also in ¶0192, as it recites, “The types of additional offset information may be similar to the offset information. That is, it may be the amount of time to be used for the offset or the frequency with which to apply the offset. “).
Re. claims 15 and 22, Bergquist teaches a method (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057-¶0066) performed by a network node (Fig. 15/Fig. 3-11, BS 20) for discontinuous reception (DRX), and a network node (Fig. 15/Fig. 3-11, BS 20) comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 15, 30) operable to: transmit an indication that the wireless device is to use an offset with the DRX (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - the network 10 decides to update the DRX configuration for the connection with the mobile device 50 and the base station 20 sends an updated DRX configuration to the mobile device 50 (event 1). The updated configuration could be sent in a RRC message… Fig. 3-13 & ¶0062 - When the DRX configuration is changed, the mobile device 50 may need to recalculate a new DRX start offset for the recurring DRX on duration, i.e. the on duration phase. In the case where the length of the DRX cycle is changed from N to M as shown in FIG. 9, the new DRX start offset, denoted drxStartOffsetM may be computed according to: drxStartOffsetM = drxStartOffsetN mod M = remainder(drxStartOffset.subN /M)…. (Eq. 1)); transmit the data to the wireless device during a first downlink period of time (Fig. 2-13 & ¶0028 - The base station 20 transmits data to the mobile devices 50 within the cell 15 over a downlink channel for downlink communications, and receives data from the mobile devices 50 over an uplink channel for uplink communications. The communication network 10 is configured to enable discontinuous reception (DRX). Fig. 2 & ¶0030 - The DRX cycle (i.e., preconfigured discontinuous reception cycle based on the current DRX configuration) includes a DRX on duration when the receiver in the mobile device 50 is turned on to monitor the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) …..Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - the mobile device 50 continues to use the current DRX configuration after receiving the updated DRX configuration until the first subframe of the next DRX on duration according to the current DRX configuration. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0064 - The mobile device 50 continues using the current DRX configuration for the connection after receipt of the updated configuration parameters until a subsequent on duration of the DRX cycle according to the current DRX configuration has occurred (block 115)); determine that a first number of time periods based on the frequencies have occurred since the first downlink period of time (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0054 - As shown in FIG. 4, the mobile device 50 starts (or restarts) the DIAT using the new DIAT timer value each time the PDCCH indicates a new transmission (DL or UL). However, the base station 20 is still using the old DIAT timer value because it is still waiting for the RCRC from the mobile device 50 to commit to the new DRX configuration. The DIAT at the mobile device 50 may expire at any time during the sequence of events. When it does, the mobile device 50 will enter the DRX mode and use the new DRX cycle period and on duration, which may different than the DRX cycle and on duration used on the network side. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - the mobile device 50 does not immediately apply the updated DRX configuration. Rather, the mobile device 50 continues to use the current DRX configuration after receiving the updated DRX configuration until the first subframe of the next DRX on duration according to the current DRX configuration. The mobile device 50 applies the new DRX configuration at the first subframe of the next DRX on duration according to the current DRX configuration (event 3).Fig. 3-13 & ¶0064 - The mobile device 50 continues using the current DRX configuration for the connection after receipt of the updated configuration parameters until a subsequent on duration of the DRX cycle according to the current DRX configuration has occurred (block 115). The mobile device 50 applies the updated configuration parameters for the connection in the subsequent on duration of the DRX cycle (block 120)); and transmit the data to the wireless device during a second downlink period of time, the second downlink period of time adjusted from the preconfigured discontinuous reception cycle based on the offset (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0028 - A base station 20 within each cell 15 communicates with mobile devices 50 within the cell 15. The base station 20 transmits data to the mobile devices 50 within the cell 15 over a downlink channel for downlink communications, and receives data from the mobile devices 50 over an uplink channel for uplink communications. The communication network 10 is configured to enable discontinuous reception (DRX). Fig. 1-2 & ¶0030 - LTE supports DRX in the downlink to conserve the battery power of mobile devices. FIG. 2 illustrates a DRX cycle used in DRX mode. The DRX cycle includes a DRX on duration when the receiver in the mobile device 50 is turned on to monitor the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a DRX off duration when the receiver may be turned off to conserve power. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0064 - turning at least a portion of a receiver circuit in the mobile device 50 on and off according to the updated DRX configuration (block 125). Fig. 3-13 & ¶0066 - the length of the DRX cycle according to the updated configuration parameters is different from the length of the DRX cycle according to the current DRX configuration. In this case, the method further comprises computing a new DRX start offset for the updated DRX configuration as a function of a current DRX start offset for the current DRX configuration. In some embodiments, where the length of the DRX cycle according to the updated configuration parameters is shorter than the length of the DRX cycle according to the current DRX configuration, a new DRX start offset is computed according to Equation 1.<See ¶0062>).).
Yet, Bergquist does not expressly teach determine that data to be sent to a wireless device is to be sent with a periodicity that differs from a preconfigured discontinuous reception cycle, wherein data is transmitted at a rate that is not an integer value of a preconfiqured discontinuous reception cycle, wherein the indication comprises an amount of time to be used for the offset and a frequency with which to apply the offset;
However, in the analogous art, Ang explicitly discloses determine that data to be sent to a wireless device is to be sent with a periodicity that differs from a preconfigured discontinuous reception cycle; (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0105 - At 710, the base station 105-b may determine a periodicity of communications with the UE 115-b. For example, the base station 105-b may determine that downlink traffic bursts are transmitted to the UE 115-b (e.g., XR application transmissions) according to the periodicity. In some cases, the base station 105-b may identify that the traffic is associated with a particular application (e.g., based on signaling from the UE 115-b that indicates the application is being used) and determine the periodicity based on the application (e.g., a burst periodicity based on a video refresh rate of the application). In other cases, the base station 105-b may identify that periodic traffic is transmitted to the UE 115-b over a period of time, and based on this historical information may determine the periodicity of communications. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0106 - At 715, the base station 105-b may determine a DRX configuration for the UE 115-b. In some cases, the base station 105-b may determine the DRX configuration to provide ON-durations at the UE 115-b that correspond with the determined traffic periodicity, which may reduce latency at the UE 115-b and also reduce power consumption at the UE 115-b. In some cases, the DRX configuration may have non-uniform cycle durations. in such cases, the base station may configure a discontinuous reception period (e.g., an anchor cycle, outer cycle, number of DRX cycles prior to an ON-duration offset adjustment, or number of DRX cycles). Within the discontinuous reception period, one or more DRX cycles may have a first cycle duration, and one or more other DRX cycles may have a second cycle duration, which may provide that the ON-durations are aligned with the downlink traffic bursts.), wherein data is transmitted at a rate that is not an integer value of a preconfiqured discontinuous reception cycle (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0100 - DRX cycle durations may be configured based on a rational number that is used to determine the DRX cycle durations. In such cases, instead of supporting only integer millisecond DRX cycle durations, a DRX configuration may support non-integer millisecond DRX cycle durations as a rational number. For example, the DRX cycle duration may be determined as p/q milliseconds, where p may be the period of multiple downlink bursts that provide an integer millisecond duration (e.g., for a 120 Hz update rate of XR traffic, 25 ms), and q may be the inverse a decimal portion of the downlink burst period (e.g., 1/0.333=3, for a 120 Hz update rate of XR traffic). Based on the rational number cycle duration, DRX cycles may start in a middle of a slot), wherein the indication comprises an amount of time to be used for the offset and a frequency with which to apply the offset (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0005 - techniques are provided for configuring DRX cycles within a DRX time period at a user equipment (UE) such that different DRX cycles have non-uniform cycle durations within the DRX time period. Such non-uniform cycle durations may provide DRX ON-durations that are aligned with a periodicity of downlink traffic to the UE. …. the DRX time period may correspond to an anchor cycle that spans a set of DRX cycles, and a subset of the set of DRX cycles may have a different cycle duration than other DRX cycles of the set of DRX cycles. In some cases, an ON-duration offset value may be indicated for one or more DRX cycles within the DRX time period.Fig. 1-7 & ¶0105 - At 710, the base station 105-b may determine a periodicity of communications with the UE 115-b. For example, the base station 105-b may determine that downlink traffic bursts are transmitted to the UE 115-b (e.g., XR application transmissions) according to the periodicity. In some cases, the base station 105-b may identify that the traffic is associated with a particular application (e.g., based on signaling from the UE 115-b that indicates the application is being used) and determine the periodicity based on the application (e.g., a burst periodicity based on a video refresh rate of the application). In other cases, the base station 105-b may identify that periodic traffic is transmitted to the UE 115-b over a period of time, and based on this historical information may determine the periodicity of communications. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0106 - At 715, the base station 105-b may determine a DRX configuration for the UE 115-b… the base station 105-b may determine the DRX configuration to provide ON-durations at the UE 115-b that correspond with the determined traffic periodicity, which may reduce latency at the UE 115-b and also reduce power consumption at the UE 115-b. In some cases, the DRX configuration may have non-uniform cycle durations. in such cases, the base station may configure a discontinuous reception period (e.g., an anchor cycle, outer cycle, number of DRX cycles prior to an ON-duration offset adjustment, or number of DRX cycles). Within the discontinuous reception period, one or more DRX cycles may have a first cycle duration, and one or more other DRX cycles may have a second cycle duration, which may provide that the ON-durations are aligned with the downlink traffic bursts.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bergquist’s invention of a system and a method for modifying and activating DRX (discontinuous reception) parameter in a wireless communication system to include Ang’s invention of discontinuous reception (DRX) techniques with non-uniform cycle durations in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in accommodating periodicity of traffic as exhibited by traffic bursts from extended reality (XR) applications, such as, cloud gaming applications, virtual reality (VR) split rendering applications, augmented reality (AR) split computation applications, as used in the wireless communication system. (¶0054-¶0054, Ang)
Re. Claims 16 and 23, Bergquist and Ang teach claims 15 and 22.
Bergquist further teaches wherein the indication is included in a radio resource control (RRC) message and the indication is part of a DRX-Config information element. (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0037 - The DRX parameters are typically sent to the mobile device 50 in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message by including a DRX-Config structure that contains the DRX parameters in the RRC message. The DRX-Config structure is included in the MAC-MainConfig Information Element (IE) of the RRC message. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0039 - base station 20 initiates the change by sending the new DRX configuration to the mobile device 50 in a RRCConnectionReconfiguration (RCR) message. … the new DRX parameters are specified by the DRX-Config structure contained in the MAC-MainConfig IE of the RCR message. The RCR message containing the new DRX parameters is delivered by the RRC layer to the Medium Access Control (MAC) layer. Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - network 10 decides to update the DRX configuration for the connection with the mobile device 50 and the base station 20 sends an updated DRX configuration to the mobile device 50 (event 1). The updated configuration could be sent in a RRC message, such as a RCR message).
Re. Claims 19 and 26, Bergquist and Ang teach claims 15 and 22.
Bergquist further teaches wherein the network node provides additional offset information to the wireless device. (Fig. 3-13 & ¶0057 - the network 10 decides to update the DRX configuration for the connection with the mobile device 50 and the base station 20 sends an updated DRX configuration to the mobile device 50 (event 1). The updated configuration could be sent in a RRC message… Fig. 3-13 & ¶0062 - When the DRX configuration is changed, the mobile device 50 may need to recalculate a new DRX start offset for the recurring DRX on duration, i.e. the on duration phase. In the case where the length of the DRX cycle is changed from N to M as shown in FIG. 9, the new DRX start offset, denoted drxStartOffsetM may be computed according to: drxStartOffsetM = drxStartOffsetN mod M = remainder(drxStartOffset.subN /M)…. (Eq. 1)). Examiner interprets that the “additional offset information” refers to “amount of time to be used for the offset” as per the instant application, for example, at least in ¶0034, as it recites, “The additional offset information may comprise one of an amount of time to be used for the offset and an indication of a frequency with which to apply the offset.”, also in ¶0192, as it recites, “The types of additional offset information may be similar to the offset information. That is, it may be the amount of time to be used for the offset or the frequency with which to apply the offset. “).
Response to Arguments
Earlier objections to claims 1, 8, 15 and 22 have been withdrawn following amended claims as submitted on 07/11/2025.
Applicant's arguments for §102/§103 as filed on 07/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 7-8 for independent claims 1 and 8, applicant argues that Bergquist fails to teach, “wherein data is transmitted at a rate that is not an integer value of a preconfiqured discontinuous reception cycle.”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Ang discloses the limitation as mentioned in §103 rejection. For example, Ang discloses that DRX cycle durations may be configured based on a rational number that is used to determine the DRX cycle durations. In such cases, instead of supporting only integer millisecond DRX cycle durations, a DRX configuration may support non-integer millisecond DRX cycle durations as a rational number. For example, the DRX cycle duration may be determined as p/q milliseconds, where p may be the period of multiple downlink bursts that provide an integer millisecond duration (e.g., for a 120 Hz update rate of XR traffic, 25 ms), and q may be the inverse a decimal portion of the downlink burst period (e.g., 1/0.333=3, for a 120 Hz update rate of XR traffic). See ¶0100 along with Fig. 1-7.
The applicant further asserts that Bergquist fails to teach, “wherein the indication comprises an amount of time to be used for the offset and a frequency with which to apply the offset”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Ang discloses the limitation as mentioned in §103 rejection. For example, Ang discloses that techniques are provided for configuring DRX cycles within a DRX time period at a user equipment (UE) such that different DRX cycles have non-uniform cycle durations within the DRX time period. Such non-uniform cycle durations may provide DRX ON-durations that are aligned with a periodicity of downlink traffic to the UE. …. the DRX time period may correspond to an anchor cycle that spans a set of DRX cycles, and a subset of the set of DRX cycles may have a different cycle duration than other DRX cycles of the set of DRX cycles. In some cases, an ON-duration offset value may be indicated for one or more DRX cycles within the DRX time period. See ¶0005 along with Fig. 1-7. Ang further discloses that at 710 (Fig. 7), the base station 105-b may determine a periodicity of communications with the UE 115-b. For example, the base station 105-b may determine that downlink traffic bursts are transmitted to the UE 115-b (e.g., XR application transmissions) according to the periodicity. In some cases, the base station 105-b may identify that the traffic is associated with a particular application (e.g., based on signaling from the UE 115-b that indicates the application is being used) and determine the periodicity based on the application (e.g., a burst periodicity based on a video refresh rate of the application). In other cases, the base station 105-b may identify that periodic traffic is transmitted to the UE 115-b over a period of time, and based on this historical information may determine the periodicity of communications. At 715 (Fig. 7), the base station 105-b may determine a DRX configuration for the UE 115-b… the base station 105-b may determine the DRX configuration to provide ON-durations at the UE 115-b that correspond with the determined traffic periodicity, which may reduce latency at the UE 115-b and also reduce power consumption at the UE 115-b. In some cases, the DRX configuration may have non-uniform cycle durations. in such cases, the base station may configure a discontinuous reception period (e.g., an anchor cycle, outer cycle, number of DRX cycles prior to an ON-duration offset adjustment, or number of DRX cycles). Within the discontinuous reception period, one or more DRX cycles may have a first cycle duration, and one or more other DRX cycles may have a second cycle duration, which may provide that the ON-durations are aligned with the downlink traffic bursts. See ¶0105-¶0106 along with 7, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least in pages in 7-8 of remarks as submitted on 07/11/2025.
Similar arguments are applicable for independent claims 15 and 22.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1, 8, 15 and 22, are unpatentable over Bergquist, in view of Ang.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 8, 15 and 22, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467