DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 10, 15, 17 and 19 have been amended.
Claim 14 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or in view of different portions of Jinyin that read on the newly added limitation(s).
Applicant argues that Jinyin does not teach the newly presented features of "wherein the obtained list is obtained based at least partially by using a Domain Name System procedure" of amended independent Claim 1. Remarks, page 8, second paragraph.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Jinyin discloses the SGW-U Serving Area is known in an SGW-C by means of local configuration or by means of a query of domain name system (DNS query), see [0004]; further, Extra signaling in network are needed for switching of SGW-C partition. When UE moves between SGW-C partition, more signaling is introduced, e.g., the domain name system (DNS) procedure signaling and the signaling towards old SGW-C partition. … , see [0081] and Figure 1. The examiner submits that given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “the SGW-U Serving Area is known in a SGW-C by means of local configuration or by means of a query of domain name system (DNS query, … “ and “more signaling is introduced, e.g., the domain name system (DNS) procedure signaling and the signaling towards old SGW-C partition” can reasonable be interpreted as “obtained based at least partially by using a Domain Name System procedure.” Thus, cited portions read on the argued limitation.
The mobility procedure may be either an IDLE mobility or a handover procedure. In step S52, when MME (or SGSN) has changed, the old MME 505 includes the SGW-U serving area (SA of SWG-U) information in the context response or forward relocation request message sent to new MME 502. In step S53, new MME 502 sends create session request to new SGW-C 503. In step S54, SGW-C 503 selects the SGW-U 504, based on UE’s location and initiates the PFCP session establishment procedure towards the SGW-U 504. In step S55, for idle mobility procedure or handover procedure wherein core network is not involved in preparation phase (e.g. X2-based handover, X2 is interface between eNodeBs) , SGW-C 503 sends modify bearer request to PGW 506.” Thus, [0093] and Figures 4 and 5 disclose the argued limitation.
Claims 2-9 and 11-16 depend either directly or indirectly upon independent claims 1 and 10; therefore, they are also rejected at least for the same reasons discussed above and/or by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Jinyin et al (WO 2019/205991).
Regarding claim 1, Jinyin discloses a method at a mobility management node, comprising:
receiving, from a network node, identification information of a Serving Gateway- User plane (SGW-U) node ([0086], “and step S302, receiving serving area information of a first serving gateway user plane function from the serving gateway control plane function;” Fig. 3; [0091], “… the serving area information of a serving gateway user plane function may include a list of tracking areas served by the serving gateway user plane function, as shown in figure 1.”); and storing the received identification information of the SGW-U node ([0091], “the serving area information of a serving gateway user plane function may include a list of tracking areas served by the serving gateway user plane function” [0009], “… storing serving area information of the plurality of serving gateway user plane functions…” The “serving area information of a serving gateway user plane function including a list of tracking areas” are interpreted as the “the received identification information of the SGW-U node” ), wherein the mobility management node determines whether the SGW-U node serves a User Equipment (UE) according to location information of the UE by checking if the stored identification information of the SGW- U node is in the obtained list of identification information of SGW-U nodes (see, [0086], [0091], [0093]), nodes, on first embodiments, Jinyin discloses wherein the obtained list based at least the mobility management node determines whether the SGW-U node serves a User Equipment (UE) according to location information of the UE by checking if the stored identification information of the SGW- U node is in the obtained list of identification information of SGW-U nodes, [0086], [0091], [0093]; and serving area information of a serving gateway user plane function may include a list of tracking areas served by the serving gateway user plane function, as shown in Figure 1, [0091] the serving area information of a serving gateway user plane function may include a list of tracking areas served by the serving gateway user plane function, as shown in Figure 1, [0091]).
Jinyin, in first embodiment, does not disclose obtained based at least partially by using a Domain Name System procedure.
However, in different embodiment Jinyin discloses the SGW-U Serving Area is known in an SGW-C by means of local configuration or by means of a query of domain name system (DNS query), see [0004]; further, Extra signaling in network are needed for switching of SGW-C partition. When UE moves between SGW-C partition, more signaling is introduced, e.g., the domain name system (DNS) procedure signaling and the signaling towards old SGW-C partition. … , see [0081] and Figure 1. The examiner submits that given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “the SGW-U Serving Area is known in a SGW-C by means of local configuration or by means of a query of domain name system (DNS query, … “ and “more signaling is introduced, e.g., the domain name system (DNS) procedure signaling and the signaling towards old SGW-C partition” can reasonable be interpreted as “obtained based at least partially by using a Domain Name System procedure” as claimed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of first embodiment of Jinyin to include second embodiments’ teachings of obtaining list information based at least partially by using a Domain Name System procedure. The motivation would have been to obtain list of items like IP addresses, servers, for instance, by querying the DNS network.
Regarding claim 3, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network node is a Serving Gateway-Control plane (SGW-C) node, the SGW-U node is selected by the SGW-C node, and the identification information of the SGW-U node from the SGW-U node is carried by one of: a Create Session Response message, or a Modify Bearer Response message (In step 58, Figure 5, [0093], “ MME 502 sends modify bearer request to SGW-C and then to PGW and the procedure is further handled.”).
Regarding claim 4, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network node is another mobility management node, the SGW-U node [[was]]is selected by an SGW-C node, and the identification information of the SGW-U node from the other mobility management node is carried by one of: a Context Response message, or a Forward Relocation Request message (page 50, claim 10, “.a mobility management entity (107) to communicate with a serving gateway control plane function (101) managing a plurality of serving gateway user plane functions”).
Regarding claim 5, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 4, wherein one of the mobility management node or the other mobility management node comprises at least one of: a Mobility Management Entity (MME) ([0018], “for a mobility management entity to communicate with a serving gateway control plane function managing a plurality of serving gateway user plane
functions.”), or an S4-Serving GPRS Support Node (S4-SGSN).
Regarding claim 6, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: selecting the SGW-C node at least partially based on location information of a User Equipment (UE) (Abstract, “a first serving gateway user plane function (404, 504) among the plurality of serving gateway user plane functions (103) for a user equipment (106), according to location of the user equipment”).
Regarding claim 7, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: obtaining a list of identification information of SGW-U nodes at least partially based on location information of the UE; determining that the SGW-U node needs change if the stored identification information of the SGW-U node is not in the obtained list ([0019], “that the user equipment moves out of a serving area of the first serving gateway user plane function; …” [0037], “the serving area information of a serving gateway user plane function includes a list of tracking areas served by the serving gateway user plane function”); and transmitting an indication of reselecting an SGW-U node to the selected SGW-C node (Fig. 2 and [0083], ll. 7-8, “step S204, sending serving area information of the first serving gateway user plane function to a mobility management entity.…”).
Regarding claim 8, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the indication of reselecting the SGW-U node is carried by a Modify Bearer Request message, and comprises at least the location information of the UE ([00110], “SGSN/MME 1002 firstly sends modify bearer request to SGW-C 1003 so that SGW-C 1003 can reselect the SGW-U 1005 to serve the UE 1001. In the message, if ULI is not included, ULI for SGW is included to help SGW-C to reselect the SGW-U. An indication of “no PGW notification” is also included so that SGW-C 1003 will not forward the modify bearer request to PGW 1007.”); and the identification information of the SGW-U node from the selected SGW-C node is carried by the Modify Bearer Response message ([00111], “The indication (no PGW notification) is included in the modify bearer request as in S1003, and any kind of flag or identifier may be used. After SGW-U is
successfully changed, SGW-C 1003 sends modify bearer request to PGW 1007, to notify PGW 1007.”).
Regarding claim 9, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: allocating, to the UE, a Tracking Area Identity list containing one or more TAs which can all be served by both the currently selected SGW-C node and SGW-U node (Figure 4 and [0091], “the serving area information of a serving gateway user plane function may include a list of tracking areas served by the serving gateway user plane function, as shown in figure 1.”).
Claim 17 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinyin et al (WO 2019/205991) in view of HUAWEI ET AL: SGW.PGW selection for NR,” 3GPP DRAFT.
Regarding claim 2, in the obvious combination, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 1 above, but wherein the identification information of the SGW-U node comprises at least one of: node name information of the SGW-U node, or node IP information of the SGW-U node.
However, in similar endeavor of mobility management, Huawei discloses node IP information of the SGW-U node (See page 4, section 5.10, par. 7, “a list of host names each coupled with a service, a protocol, a port, and a list of IPv4 and IPv6 addresses.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method mechanisms of Jinyin with the mechanisms of Huawei to include node IP information of the SGW-U node as taught by Huawei in order to manage the UE parameters such as IP bearer services network and routing data packets associated with different bearer so that its IP address help in efficiently routing those packets to their respective destinations, guaranteeing appropriate transfer of user data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 10, 12-13, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jinyin et al (WO 2019/205991).
Regarding claim 10, Jinyin discloses a method at a Serving Gateway-Control plane (SGW-C) node, comprising:
selecting a Serving Gateway-User plane (SGW-U) node for serving a User Equipment (UE) ([0083], “step S203, selecting a first serving gateway user plane function among the plurality of serving gateway user plane functions for a user equipment, …”);
receiving, from the mobility management node, an indication of reselecting an SGW-U node; reselecting an SGW-U node according to the indication ([0096], “… receiving, from the mobility management entity, a request for changing the first serving gateway user plane function; step S602, reselecting a second serving gateway user plane function from the plurality of serving gateway user plane functions; …”);
establishing an Sx Session with reselected SGW-U node (claim 2, reselecting (S602) a second serving gateway user plane function (805, 905, 1005) from the plurality of serving gateway user plane functions (103); sending (S603) serving area information of the second serving gateway user plane function (805, 905, 1005) to the mobility management entity);
and transmitting, to a mobility management node, identification information of the SGW-U node (Fig. 2 and [0083], ll. 7-8, “step S204, sending serving area information of the first serving gateway user plane function to a mobility management entity.…”)
Regarding claim 12, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the network node is a Serving Gateway-Control plane (SGW-C) node, the SGW-U node is selected by the SGW-C node, and the identification information of the SGW-U node from the SGW-U node is carried by one of: a Create Session Response message, or a Modify Bearer Response message (In step 58, Figure 5, [0093], “ MME 502 sends modify bearer request to SGW-C and then to PGW and the procedure is further handled.”).
Regarding claim 13, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: selecting the SGW-C node at least partially based on location information of a User Equipment (UE) (Abstract, “a first serving gateway user plane function (404, 504) among the plurality of serving gateway user plane functions (103) for a user equipment (106), according to location of the user equipment”).
Claim 14. Cancelled.
Regarding claim 15, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the indication of reselecting the SGW-U node is carried by a Modify Bearer Request message, and comprises at least the location information of the UE ([00110], “SGSN/MME 1002 firstly sends modify bearer request to SGW-C 1003 so that SGW-C 1003 can reselect the SGW-U 1005 to serve the UE 1001. In the message, if ULI is not included, ULI for SGW is included to help SGW-C to reselect the SGW-U. An indication of “no PGW notification” is also included so that SGW-C 1003 will not forward the modify bearer request to PGW 1007.”); and the identification information of the SGW-U node from the selected SGW-C node is carried by the Modify Bearer Response message ([00111], “The indication (no PGW notification) is included in the modify bearer request as in S1003, and any kind of flag or identifier may be used. After SGW-U is successfully changed, SGW-C 1003 sends modify bearer request to PGW 1007, to notify PGW 1007.”).
Regarding claim 16, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 10, wherein one of the mobility management node or the other mobility management node comprises at least one of: a Mobility Management Entity (MME) ([0018], “for a mobility management entity to communicate with a serving gateway control plane function managing a plurality of serving gateway user plane
functions.”), or an S4-Serving GPRS Support Node (S4-SGSN).
Claim 19 contains subject matter similar to claim 10, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinyin et al (WO 2019/205991) in view of HUAWEI ET AL: SGW.PGW selection for NR,” 3GPP DRAFT.
Regarding claim 11, in the obvious combination, Jinyin discloses the method of claim 10 above, but wherein the identification information of the SGW-U node comprises at least one of: node name information of the SGW-U node, or node IP information of the SGW-U node.
However, in similar endeavor of mobility management, Huawei discloses node IP information of the SGW-U node (See page 4, section 5.10, par. 7, “a list of host names each coupled with a service, a protocol, a port, and a list of IPv4 and IPv6 addresses.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method mechanisms of Jinyin with the mechanisms of Huawei to include node IP information of the SGW-U node as taught by Huawei in order to manage the UE parameters such as IP bearer services network and routing data packets associated with different bearer so that its IP address help in efficiently routing those packets to their respective destinations, guaranteeing appropriate transfer of user data.
18. (Canceled)
20-22. (Canceled)
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JULIO R PEREZ whose telephone number is (571)272-7846. The examiner can normally be reached 10Am - 6PM EST M-F.
/JULIO R PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644