DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Europe on July 24, 2020.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on January 23, 2023.
Claims 1 – 17 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on January 23, 2023, September 24, 2024, and May 20, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 defines Rb as being selected from a group of variables. However, Claim 7 is dependent on claim 1, which does not contain the claimed variable. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what variable claim 7 is referring to.
For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted to read on the Ra variables.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 7, 9 – 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sharifidehsari (WO2021014023A1).
As per claims 1 – 5, 7, Sharifidehsari teaches:
A first chemical moiety comprising a structure of Formula I
(Sharifidehsari teaches compound
on page 57. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein T and T’ are the binding site of a single bond linking the first chemical moiety to one of the two second chemical moieties, wherein the second chemical moiety is represented by Formula IIa in claim 4, and Formula IIb in claim 5; V, V’, X, X’, Y, Y’, R11, R13, R14, and R15 are all RI, wherein RI is hydrogen; W, W’, and R12 are RA, where RA is a structure of Formula BN-I wherein one RBN is CN and the remainder BBN groups are hydrogen; Z is a direct bond; two Ra groups are C6 aryl groups and the remaining Ra groups are hydrogen.)
As per claims 9 – 13, Sharifidehsari teaches:
An optoelectronic device comprising the organic molecule as a luminescent emitter, wherein the optoelectronic device is at least one selected from the group consisting of ordinary light-emitting diodes (In the Table on page 140, compound EB-3, which is the same as the compound above, is provided as the EB component in and OLED as a component of the emission layer as described in the Results II Table on page 138 as containing a host material in an amount of 84% by weight, the EB compound in an amount of 15%, and a small FWHM emitter in an amount of 1% by weight.)
As per claims 14 and 16, Sharifidehsari teaches:
The optoelectronic device comprises a substrate, an anode, a cathode, wherein the anode or the cathode is on the substrate, and a light emitting layer between the anode and the cathode and comprising the compound (Device H, as described in Table 2, teaches a glass substrate, an ITO anode and an AL cathode, with the emission layer in between as claimed.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 6, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifidehsari (WO2021014023A1) as applied to claims 1 – 5, 7, 9 – 14, and 16.
As per claim 6, the compound above does not teach that the second chemical moiety is a single substituted carbazole group as required by Formula IIc. However, Sharifidehsari teaches compounds with a single phenyl substituent off of the carbazole group, such as
on Page 55. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly remove one of the phenyl substituents of the compound of Sharifidehsari above and arrive at the claimed compound.
Sharifidehsari includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Sharifidehsari being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of longer lifetime and/or higher efficiency (Page 5, Lines 8 – 12), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 15 and 17, Sharifidehsari does not specifically teach the processing of the compound above. However, Sharifidehsari teaches that the layers of the device may be deposited by any suitable method including solution processing (Page 122, Line 37 – Page 123, Line 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any known processing method for the deposition of the OLED layers, including the claimed solution processing because Sharifidehsari teaches that this was known as a predictably suitable method for deposition of OLED layers (Page 122, Line 37 – Page 123, Line 9).
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danz (EP3670507A1).
As per claims 1 – 7, Danz teaches:
A first chemical moiety comprising a structure of Formula I
(Danz teaches compound
in [0183] on page 42. This compound does not contain the phenylnitrile substituent off of the third phenyl group of the triazine ring. However, the compounds of Danz are of the Formula
([0006]), where R11 – R15 can be selected from a C6 aryl that can be substituted with a group consisting of CN ([0021 – 0024]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a third phenylnitrile substituent on the compound of Danz above and arrive at the claimed invention. When modified in this way, the claim reads on the claimed formula wherein T and T’ are the binding site of a single bond linking the first chemical moiety to one of the two second chemical moieties, wherein the second chemical moiety is represented by Formula IIa in claim 4, and Formula IIb in claim 5; V, V’, X, X’, Y, Y’, R11, R13, R14, and R15 are all RI, wherein RI is hydrogen; W, W’, and R12 are RA, where RA is a structure of Formula BN-I wherein one RBN is CN and the remainder BBN groups are hydrogen; Z is a direct bond; all Ra groups are hydrogen.)
Danz includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Danz being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of higher efficiency ([0005]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 8, Danz teaches:
A method for preparing the organic molecule, the method comprising reacting a substituted 2,4-dichloro-6-(chlorophenyl)triazine (In [0161 – 0162], Danz teaches that 2,4-dichloro-6-phneyl-1,3,5-triazine is a reactant in the synthesis of the compounds.)
As per claims 9 – 13, Danz teaches:
An optoelectronic device comprising the organic molecule as a luminescent emitter, wherein the optoelectronic device is at least one selected from the group consisting of ordinary light-emitting diodes ([0001]: “The invention relates to light-emitting organic molecules and their use in organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs) and in other optoelectronic devices.” & [0102]: “In a further embodiment, the light-emitting layer EML comprises (or (essentially) consists of) a composition comprising or consisting of: (i) 1-50 % by weight, preferably 5-40 % by weight, in particular 10-30 % by weight, of one organic molecule according to the invention; (ii) 5-98 % by weight, preferably 30-93.9 % by weight, in particular 40-88% by weight, of one host compound H; (iii) 1-30 % by weight, in particular 1-20 % by weight, preferably 1-5 % by weight, of at least one further emitter molecule F with a structure differing from the structure of the molecules according to the invention…”)
As per claims 14 and 16, Danz teaches:
The optoelectronic device comprises a substrate, an anode, a cathode, wherein the anode or the cathode is on the substrate, and a light emitting layer between the anode and the cathode and comprising the compound ([0083]: “A light-emitting electrochemical cell consists of three layers, namely a cathode, an anode, and an active layer, which contains the organic molecule according to the invention.” & [0144]: “The methods used to manufacture the optoelectronic device, in particular the OLED according to the present invention are known in the art. The different layers are individually and successively deposited on a suitable substrate by means of subsequent deposition processes.”)
As per claims 15 and 17, Danz teaches:
A method for producing an optoelectronic device, the method comprising depositing the organic molecule by vacuum evaporation method or from a solution ([0178]: “Optoelectronic devices, such as OLED devices, comprising an organic molecule according to the invention can be produced via vacuum-deposition methods.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789