DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 01/28/2026. Claims 23-25, 27-30, 33, 34, and 36-46 are pending for evaluation.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/28/2026 has been entered. Independent Claims 23, 33, 41, and 42 have been amended. Claim 26 was previously withdrawn. Claims 31, 32, and 35 have been canceled. Claims 43-46 are new. Claims 23-25, 27-30, 33, 34, and 36-46 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 23-25, 27-32, 38-40, 41 and 42 1have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-25, 27-30, 33, 34, 37, 41, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2022/0264486), Hu hereinafter, in view of Wang (US 2022/0167445, presently presented), and further in view of Ali et al. (US 2022/0287124), Ali hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 23, Hu teaches a method, in a user equipment (UE) operating in dual connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), for suspending a secondary cell group (SCG), the method comprising (Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]):
receiving, from a first radio network node (RNN), a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) message including an indication a command to suspend the SCG (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218] - [0161] 701: A terminal device receives first information, where the first information is used to indicate the terminal device to suspend an SCG; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297] );
and, in response to receiving the command RRC message, suspending the SCG (Fig. 7, step 702; Para. [0160-0218] - [0163] 702: The terminal device suspends the SCG based on the first information; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]),
Yet, Hu does not expressly teach wherein suspending the SCG comprises deactivating a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of the SCG and wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of the SCG or a configuration of a Master Cell Group (MCG).
However, Wang teaches
wherein suspending the SCG comprises deactivating a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of the SCG (Fig. 4, S402; Para. [0118-0127] - [0127] S402. The terminal performs a deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the deactivation indication; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266]);
wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of the SCG or a configuration of a Master Cell Group (MCG) (Fig. 5, Para. [0124-0126] - [0124] FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a format of a 4-byte MAC CE. The MAC CE includes one reserved bit (denoted as R in the figure) and 31 activation/deactivation bits. The network side may provide the configuration of the PSCell for the UE by using a radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) message. The configuration of the PSCell includes a serving cell identifier or index (ServCellIndex) of the PSCell. In addition, the network side may further provide a configuration of the SCell for the UE by using a radio resource control message. The configuration of the SCell includes a correspondence between an SCell identifier and an index (index) indicating the SCell. As shown in FIG. 5, for an SCell whose index is i, Ci indicates an activated/deactivated state of the SCell. For example, Ci=0 indicates that the SCell i is deactivated, and Ci=1 indicates that the SCell i is activated. A capability of the terminal is to support a maximum of 32 component carriers (component carrier, CC), including the PCell, the PSCell, and all SCells in the MCG and the SCG. If a reserved bit is used as the deactivation indication, R=0 may be set. If a bit corresponding to the serving cell ID of the PSCell (assuming that the bit is C.sub.20 in the figure) is used as the deactivation indication, C.sub.20=0 may be set; See also Para. [0130, 0193, 0212]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hu’s invention of “a communication method and a communication apparatus, to optimize a configuration of a terminal device that is used when an SCG is suspended” (Hu Para. [0005]) with Wang’s invention of “a communication method, a communications apparatus, a storage medium, and a communications system, to reduce energy consumption of a terminal and a network-side device during DC communication” (Wang Para. [0005]) because Wang’s invention provides a method for “the deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the indication of the master node or the secondary node, to suspend link communication of the secondary cell group, thereby reducing energy consumption of the terminal and a network side, and reducing signaling overheads without performing a secondary node release procedure” (Wang Para. [008]).
Yet, Hu nor Wang expressly teach and sending, to the first RNN, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete.
However, Ali teaches
and sending, to the first RNN, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete (Fig. 7, Para. [0128-0130] - [0128] FIG. 7 shows an example signalling diagram for use in one embodiment. In this example, there is a UP data transfer between a UE 702 and a SN-1 706 over a NR interface. SN-1 has an SCG bearer tunnel with the NGCN 710. It is determined for UE 702 operating using LTE/NR tight interworking that SCG operation with SN-1 706 should be suspended due to inactivity between the UE and the SCG. The UE receives a suspend request from the MN 704 which includes NR monitoring information. The UE 702 stores the SCG configuration and sets NR configuration to INACTIVE and applies the NR monitoring information. The UE forwards an indication to the network that the SCG suspend has been completed; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0099-0100]; Fig. 6, Para. [0101-0127])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and sending, to the first RNN, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete as taught by Ali, in the combined system of Hu/Wang, so that it would provide “to optimize the dual connectivity between LTE and NR so that when the NR radio is not active, i.e., there is no active data transmission and the NR radio is directed to a power efficient state such as RRC_INACTIVE, the UE is not required to perform active measurements (as may be done in a connected state),” thereby allowing UE “power consumption” to be reduced (Ali Para. [0098]).
Regarding Claim 33, Hu teaches a method, in a first radio network node (RNN) serving a user equipment (UE) operating in dual connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), for suspending the UE's operation with a secondary cell group (SCG), the method comprising (Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]):
determining that the SCG is to be suspended; and sending, to the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including an indication to suspend the SCG (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]);
in response to receiving the RRC message, suspend the SCG (Fig. 7, step 702; Para. [0160-0218]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]),
Yet, Hu does not expressly teach wherein suspending the SCG comprises deactivating a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of the SCG and wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of the SCG or a configuration of a Master Cell Group (MCG).
However, Wang teaches
wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of the SCG or a configuration of a Master Cell Group (MCG) (Fig. 5, Para. [0124-0126]; See also Para. [0130, 0193, 0212]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hu’s invention of “a communication method and a communication apparatus, to optimize a configuration of a terminal device that is used when an SCG is suspended” (Hu Para. [0005]) with Wang’s invention of “a communication method, a communications apparatus, a storage medium, and a communications system, to reduce energy consumption of a terminal and a network-side device during DC communication” (Wang Para. [0005]) because Wang’s invention provides a method for “the deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the indication of the master node or the secondary node, to suspend link communication of the secondary cell group, thereby reducing energy consumption of the terminal and a network side, and reducing signaling overheads without performing a secondary node release procedure” (Wang Para. [008]).
Yet, Hu nor Wang expressly teach and receiving, in response to the RRC message, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete.
However, Ali teaches
and receiving, in response to the RRC message, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete (Fig. 7, Para. [0128-0130] - [0128] FIG. 7 shows an example signalling diagram for use in one embodiment. In this example, there is a UP data transfer between a UE 702 and a SN-1 706 over a NR interface. SN-1 has an SCG bearer tunnel with the NGCN 710. It is determined for UE 702 operating using LTE/NR tight interworking that SCG operation with SN-1 706 should be suspended due to inactivity between the UE and the SCG. The UE receives a suspend request from the MN 704 which includes NR monitoring information. The UE 702 stores the SCG configuration and sets NR configuration to INACTIVE and applies the NR monitoring information. The UE forwards an indication to the network that the SCG suspend has been completed; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0099-0100]; Fig. 6, Para. [0101-0127])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and receiving, in response to the RRC message, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete as taught by Ali, in the combined system of Hu/Wang, so that it would provide “to optimize the dual connectivity between LTE and NR so that when the NR radio is not active, i.e., there is no active data transmission and the NR radio is directed to a power efficient state such as RRC_INACTIVE, the UE is not required to perform active measurements (as may be done in a connected state),” thereby allowing UE “power consumption” to be reduced (Ali Para. [0098]).
Regarding Claim 41, Hu teaches a user equipment (UE) for operating in dual connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), the UE comprising (Fig. 13, Para. [0298-0303]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0304-0309]; Fig. 15, Para. [0310-0316])
radio transceiver circuitry configured to communicate with a radio network node (RNN) in the wireless network (Fig. 13, element 1320; Para. [0298-0303]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0304-0309]; Fig. 15, Para. [0310-0316]);
and processing circuitry operatively coupled to the radio transceiver circuitry, whereby the processing circuitry and the radio transceiver circuitry are configured to (Fig. 13, element 1310; Para. [0298-0303]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0304-0309]; Fig. 15, Para. [0310-0316]):
receive, from a first radio network node (RNN) a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) message including an indication to suspend the SCG (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]);
in response to receiving the RRC message, suspend the SCG (Fig. 7, step 702; Para. [0160-0218]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]),
Yet, Hu does not expressly teach wherein suspending the SCG comprises deactivating a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of the SCG and wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of the SCG or a configuration of a Master Cell Group (MCG).
However, Wang teaches
wherein suspending the SCG comprises deactivating a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of the SCG (Fig. 4, S402; Para. [0118-0127] - [0127] S402. The terminal performs a deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the deactivation indication; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266]);
wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of the SCG or a configuration of a Master Cell Group (MCG) (Fig. 5, Para. [0124-0126]; See also Para. [0130, 0193, 0212]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hu’s invention of “a communication method and a communication apparatus, to optimize a configuration of a terminal device that is used when an SCG is suspended” (Hu Para. [0005]) with Wang’s invention of “a communication method, a communications apparatus, a storage medium, and a communications system, to reduce energy consumption of a terminal and a network-side device during DC communication” (Wang Para. [0005]) because Wang’s invention provides a method for “the deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the indication of the master node or the secondary node, to suspend link communication of the secondary cell group, thereby reducing energy consumption of the terminal and a network side, and reducing signaling overheads without performing a secondary node release procedure” (Wang Para. [008]).
Yet, Hu nor Wang expressly teach and send, to the first RNN, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete.
However, Ali teaches
and send, to the first RNN, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete (Fig. 7, Para. [0128-0130] - [0128] FIG. 7 shows an example signalling diagram for use in one embodiment. In this example, there is a UP data transfer between a UE 702 and a SN-1 706 over a NR interface. SN-1 has an SCG bearer tunnel with the NGCN 710. It is determined for UE 702 operating using LTE/NR tight interworking that SCG operation with SN-1 706 should be suspended due to inactivity between the UE and the SCG. The UE receives a suspend request from the MN 704 which includes NR monitoring information. The UE 702 stores the SCG configuration and sets NR configuration to INACTIVE and applies the NR monitoring information. The UE forwards an indication to the network that the SCG suspend has been completed; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0099-0100]; Fig. 6, Para. [0101-0127])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and send, to the first RNN, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete as taught by Ali, in the combined system of Hu/Wang, so that it would provide “to optimize the dual connectivity between LTE and NR so that when the NR radio is not active, i.e., there is no active data transmission and the NR radio is directed to a power efficient state such as RRC_INACTIVE, the UE is not required to perform active measurements (as may be done in a connected state),” thereby allowing UE “power consumption” to be reduced (Ali Para. [0098]).
Regarding Claim 42, Hu teaches radio network node for serving a user equipment (UE) operating in dual connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), the radio network node comprising (Fig. 13, Para. [0298-0303]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0304-0309]; Fig. 15, Para. [0310-0316])
communication interface circuitry configured to communicate with one or more UEs (Fig. 13, element 1320; Para. [0298-0303]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0304-0309]; Fig. 15, Para. [0310-0316]);
and processing circuitry operatively coupled to the communication interface circuitry, whereby the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to (Fig. 13, element 1310; Para. [0298-0303]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0304-0309]; Fig. 15, Para. [0310-0316]):
determine that the SCG is to be suspended; and send, to the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including an indication to suspend the SCG (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]);
Yet, Hu does not expressly teach wherein suspending the SCG comprises deactivating a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of the SCG and wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of the SCG or a configuration of a Master Cell Group (MCG).
However, Wang teaches
wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of the SCG or a configuration of a Master Cell Group (MCG) (Fig. 5, Para. [0124-0126]; See also Para. [0130, 0193, 0212]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hu’s invention of “a communication method and a communication apparatus, to optimize a configuration of a terminal device that is used when an SCG is suspended” (Hu Para. [0005]) with Wang’s invention of “a communication method, a communications apparatus, a storage medium, and a communications system, to reduce energy consumption of a terminal and a network-side device during DC communication” (Wang Para. [0005]) because Wang’s invention provides a method for “the deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the indication of the master node or the secondary node, to suspend link communication of the secondary cell group, thereby reducing energy consumption of the terminal and a network side, and reducing signaling overheads without performing a secondary node release procedure” (Wang Para. [008]).
Yet, Hu nor Wang expressly teach and receive, in response to the RRC message, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete.
However, Ali teaches
and receive, in response to the RRC message, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete (Fig. 7, Para. [0128-0130] - [0128] FIG. 7 shows an example signalling diagram for use in one embodiment. In this example, there is a UP data transfer between a UE 702 and a SN-1 706 over a NR interface. SN-1 has an SCG bearer tunnel with the NGCN 710. It is determined for UE 702 operating using LTE/NR tight interworking that SCG operation with SN-1 706 should be suspended due to inactivity between the UE and the SCG. The UE receives a suspend request from the MN 704 which includes NR monitoring information. The UE 702 stores the SCG configuration and sets NR configuration to INACTIVE and applies the NR monitoring information. The UE forwards an indication to the network that the SCG suspend has been completed; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0099-0100]; Fig. 6, Para. [0101-0127])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and receive, in response to the RRC message, a message indicating that suspension of the SCG is complete as taught by Ali, in the combined system of Hu/Wang, so that it would provide “to optimize the dual connectivity between LTE and NR so that when the NR radio is not active, i.e., there is no active data transmission and the NR radio is directed to a power efficient state such as RRC_INACTIVE, the UE is not required to perform active measurements (as may be done in a connected state),” thereby allowing UE “power consumption” to be reduced (Ali Para. [0098]).
Regarding Claims 24 and 34, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claims 23 and 33.
Hu also teaches
wherein the first RNN is acting as the MN (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218] - [0162] It should be noted that the first information is sent by a network device. The network device may be an MN, or may be an SN. In other words, the first information may be sent by the MN, or may be sent by the SN. The MN or the SN may send the first information to the terminal device in a plurality of manners, for example, by using a MAC control element (CE), an RRC message, or indication information of L1; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]).
Regarding Claim 25, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claim 23.
Hu also teaches
wherein the first RNN is acting as the SN (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218] - [0162] It should be noted that the first information is sent by a network device. The network device may be an MN, or may be an SN. In other words, the first information may be sent by the MN, or may be sent by the SN. The MN or the SN may send the first information to the terminal device in a plurality of manners, for example, by using a MAC control element (CE), an RRC message, or indication information of L1; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]).
Regarding Claim 27, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claim 23.
Hu also teaches
receiving a command to resume operation with the SCG (Fig. 8, step 801; Para. [0219-0233] - [0219] In this embodiment of this application, by using a method shown in FIG. 8, the terminal device alternatively stops suspending the SCG, in other words, restores to a non-suspend state from a suspend state. FIG. 8 is a schematic flowchart of a communication method according to an embodiment of this application. [0220] 801: A terminal device receives second information, where the second information is used to indicate the terminal device to enter an SCG non-suspend state; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297] );
and in response to the command to resume operation, resuming operation with the SCG (Fig. 8, step 802; Para. [0219-0233] - [0226] 802: The terminal device stops suspending the SCG based on the second information; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297] ).
Regarding Claim 28, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claim 27.
Hu also teaches
wherein the command to suspend the SCG is received from a first one of the MN and SN (Fig. 8, step 801; Para. [0219-0233] - [0221] It should be noted that the second information may be sent by a network device, and the network device may be an MN or an SN. It should be further understood that the network device that sends the second information may be the same as the network device that sends the first information in FIG. 7, or may be different from the network device that sends the first information in FIG. 7; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297])
and the command to resume the SCG is received from the other of the MN and SN (Fig. 9, S906; Para. [0240] - S906. The SN sends an activation indication to the UE; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266]).
Regarding Claim 29, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claim 27.
Yet, Hu does not expressly teach wherein resuming the SCG comprises restarting monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in at least one cell of the SCG.
However, Wang teaches
wherein resuming the SCG comprises restarting monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in at least one cell of the SCG (Para. [0171-0172] - [0171] Operation 5: The terminal resumes some or all of physical layer operations for the PSCell. [0172] For example, the terminal may perform various physical layer operations such as starting to perform PDCCH monitoring, performing CSI-RS measurement, and continuing to perform CQI reporting. Details are not described again; See also Para. [0143, 0178]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hu’s invention of “a communication method and a communication apparatus, to optimize a configuration of a terminal device that is used when an SCG is suspended” (Hu Para. [0005]) with Wang’s invention of “a communication method, a communications apparatus, a storage medium, and a communications system, to reduce energy consumption of a terminal and a network-side device during DC communication” (Wang Para. [0005]) because Wang’s invention provides a method for “the deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the indication of the master node or the secondary node, to suspend link communication of the secondary cell group, thereby reducing energy consumption of the terminal and a network side, and reducing signaling overheads without performing a secondary node release procedure” (Wang Para. [008]).
Regarding Claim 30, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claim 27.
Yet, Hu does not expressly teach wherein resuming the SCG comprises any one or more of: switching a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of the SCG to a non-dormant bandwidth part (BWP); and restoring a stored SCG configuration and resuming operation using one or more SCG bearers according to the restored SCG configuration.
However, Wang teaches
wherein resuming the SCG comprises any one or more of: switching a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of the SCG to a non-dormant bandwidth part (BWP); and restoring a stored SCG configuration and resuming operation using one or more SCG bearers according to the restored SCG configuration (Para. [0163] - Operation 1: The terminal uses, for DC communication between the SN and the terminal, a configuration, of the SCG, that is retained when a deactivation operation is performed on the secondary cell group. That is, the terminal restores (restore) the stored configuration, of the SCG, that is used for DC; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hu’s invention of “a communication method and a communication apparatus, to optimize a configuration of a terminal device that is used when an SCG is suspended” (Hu Para. [0005]) with Wang’s invention of “a communication method, a communications apparatus, a storage medium, and a communications system, to reduce energy consumption of a terminal and a network-side device during DC communication” (Wang Para. [0005]) because Wang’s invention provides a method for “the deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the indication of the master node or the secondary node, to suspend link communication of the secondary cell group, thereby reducing energy consumption of the terminal and a network side, and reducing signaling overheads without performing a secondary node release procedure” (Wang Para. [008]).
Regarding Claim 37, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claim 33.
Hu also teaches
determining that the SCG is to be resumed (Fig. 8, step 801; Para. [0219-0233] - [0219] In this embodiment of this application, by using a method shown in FIG. 8, the terminal device alternatively stops suspending the SCG, in other words, restores to a non-suspend state from a suspend state. FIG. 8 is a schematic flowchart of a communication method according to an embodiment of this application. [0220] 801: A terminal device receives second information, where the second information is used to indicate the terminal device to enter an SCG non-suspend state; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297] );
and sending, to the UE, a command to resume the SCG (Fig. 8, step 802; Para. [0219-0233] - [0226] 802: The terminal device stops suspending the SCG based on the second information; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297] ).
Claim(s) 38, 39, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Lee and Yi (US 2016/0044744, previously presented), Lee hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 38, Hu teaches a method, in a second radio network node (RNN) serving a user equipment (UE) operating in dual connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), for suspending the UE's operation with a secondary cell group (SCG), the method comprising (Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]):
determining that the SCG is to be suspended; and sending, to a first RNN, a request to suspend the SCG (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218] - [0161] 701: A terminal device receives first information, where the first information is used to indicate the terminal device to suspend an SCG; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]);
Yet, Hu does not expressly teach wherein determining that the SCG is to be suspended comprises any one or more of the following triggering events or conditions: detecting uplink and/or downlink inactivity concerning the SCG; detecting an overload of the SN; detecting a low load of the MN; and detecting a low total uplink and/or downlink throughput for the DC; receiving, at the first RNN, which is a first one of the MN and the SN, a request to suspend the SCG from the other one of the MN and SN.
However, Lee teaches
wherein determining that the SCG is to be suspended comprises any one or more of the following triggering events or conditions: detecting uplink and/or downlink inactivity concerning the SCG; detecting an overload of the SN; detecting a low load of the MN; and detecting a low total uplink and/or downlink throughput for the DC; receiving, at the first RNN, which is a first one of the MN and the SN, a request to suspend the SCG from the other one of the MN and SN (Para. [0081] - With dual connectivity, some of the data radio bearers (DRBs) can be offloaded to the SCG to provide high throughput while keeping scheduling radio bearers (SRBs) or other DRBs in the MCG to reduce the handover possibility; See also Paras. [0068, 0139]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hu’s invention of “a communication method and a communication apparatus, to optimize a configuration of a terminal device that is used when an SCG is suspended” (Hu Para. [0005]) with Lee’s invention of “a method for deactivating SCells during SCG change procedure and a device therefor” (Lee Para. [0003]) because Lee’s invention provides a means to indicate SCG changes “while maintaining a connection with the master base station” and “deactivating the one or more SCells in the secondary BS if the PSCell is not changed by the SCG change procedure” (Lee Para. [0010]).
Regarding Claim 39, Hu in view of Lee teaches Claim 38.
Hu also teaches
wherein the second RNN is acting as the MN (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218] - [0162] It should be noted that the first information is sent by a network device. The network device may be an MN, or may be an SN. In other words, the first information may be sent by the MN, or may be sent by the SN. The MN or the SN may send the first information to the terminal device in a plurality of manners, for example, by using a MAC control element (CE), an RRC message, or indication information of L1; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297]).
Regarding Claim 40, Hu in view of Lee teaches Claim 38.
Hu also teaches
wherein the second RNN is acting as the SN (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218] - [0162] It should be noted that the first information is sent by a network device. The network device may be an MN, or may be an SN. In other words, the first information may be sent by the MN, or may be sent by the SN. The MN or the SN may send the first information to the terminal device in a plurality of manners, for example, by using a MAC control element (CE), an RRC message, or indication information of L1; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297])
Claim(s) 36, 43, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Wang and Ali as applied to Claim 33 above, and further in view of Lee.
Regarding Claim 36, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claim 33.
Hu further teaches
wherein the first RNN is the SN (Fig. 7, step 701; Para. [0160-0218] - [0162] It should be noted that the first information is sent by a network device. The network device may be an MN, or may be an SN. In other words, the first information may be sent by the MN, or may be sent by the SN. The MN or the SN may send the first information to the terminal device in a plurality of manners, for example, by using a MAC control element (CE), an RRC message, or indication information of L1; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0144-0152]; Fig. 6, Para. [0153-0159]; Fig. 7, Para. [0160-0218]; Fig. 8, Para. [0219-0233]; Fig. 9, Para. [0234-0239]; Fig. 10, Para. [0240-0260]; Fig. 11, Para. [0261-0281]; Fig. 12, Para. [0282-0297])
Yet, Hu does not expressly teach and wherein the method further comprises sending a request to suspend the SCG to the MN and receiving, in response to the request, approval to suspend the SCG.
However, Wang teaches
and wherein the method further comprises sending a request to suspend the SCG to the MN and receiving (Fig. 9, S901 and S902-1; Para. [0229-0233] - [0229] S901. The SN determines to deactivate the SCG. …[0233] Optionally, the SN may send the deactivation indication to the UE by using the MN. In this implementation, S902 may include the following steps: S902-1. The SN sends a deactivation indication to the MN. S902-2. The MN sends the deactivation indication to the UE; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hu’s invention of “a communication method and a communication apparatus, to optimize a configuration of a terminal device that is used when an SCG is suspended” (Hu Para. [0005]) with Wang’s invention of “a communication method, a communications apparatus, a storage medium, and a communications system, to reduce energy consumption of a terminal and a network-side device during DC communication” (Wang Para. [0005]) because Wang’s invention provides a method for “the deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the indication of the master node or the secondary node, to suspend link communication of the secondary cell group, thereby reducing energy consumption of the terminal and a network side, and reducing signaling overheads without performing a secondary node release procedure” (Wang Para. [008]).
Yet, Hu, Wang, nor Ali expressly teach in response to the request, approval to suspend the SCG.
However, Lee teaches
in response to the request, approval to suspend the SCG (Fig. 9, S902-2; Para. [0231] - S902. The SN sends a deactivation indication to the UE; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0153]; Fig. 6, Para. [0154-0181]; Fig. 7, Para. [0183-0207]; Fig. 8, Para. [0208-0227]; Fig. 9, Para. [0228-0246]; Fig. 10, Para. [0247-0266]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in response to the request, approval to suspend the SCG as taught by Lee, in the combined system of Hu/Wang/Ali, so that it would provide a means to indicate SCG changes “while maintaining a connection with the master base station” and “deactivating the one or more SCells in the secondary BS if the PSCell is not changed by the SCG change procedure” (Lee Para. [0010]).
Regarding Claim 43, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claim 42.
Yet, Hu, Wang, nor Ali expressly teach wherein determining that the SCG is to be suspended is in response to any one or more of the following triggering events or conditions: detecting uplink and/or downlink inactivity concerning the SCG; detecting an overload of the SN; detecting a low load of the MN; and detecting a low total uplink and/or downlink throughput for the DC.
However, Lee teaches
wherein determining that the SCG is to be suspended is in response to any one or more of the following triggering events or conditions: detecting uplink and/or downlink inactivity concerning the SCG; detecting an overload of the SN; detecting a low load of the MN; and detecting a low total uplink and/or downlink throughput for the DC (Para. [0068] - The activation or deactivation of the secondary component carrier may be determined by a base station based on a quality of service (QoS), a load condition of carrier and other factors. And, the base station may be able to instruct a user equipment of secondary component carrier setting using a control message including such information as an indication type (activation/deactivation) for DL/UL, a secondary component carrier list and the like; See also Fig. 7, Para. [0069-0078]; Para. [0081, 0139, 0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein determining that the SCG is to be suspended is in response to any one or more of the following triggering events or conditions: detecting uplink and/or downlink inactivity concerning the SCG; detecting an overload of the SN; detecting a low load of the MN; and detecting a low total uplink and/or downlink throughput for the DC as taught by Lee, in the combined system of Hu/Wang/Ali, so that it would provide a means to indicate SCG changes “while maintaining a connection with the master base station” and “deactivating the one or more SCells in the secondary BS if the PSCell is not changed by the SCG change procedure” (Lee Para. [0010]).
Regarding Claim 46, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claim 33.
Yet, Hu, Wang, nor Ali expressly teach wherein determining that the SCG is to be suspended is in response to any one or more of the following triggering events or conditions: detecting uplink and/or downlink inactivity concerning the SCG; detecting an overload of the SN; detecting a low load of the MN; and detecting a low total uplink and/or downlink throughput for the DC.
However, Lee teaches
wherein determining that the SCG is to be suspended is in response to any one or more of the following triggering events or conditions: detecting uplink and/or downlink inactivity concerning the SCG; detecting an overload of the SN; detecting a low load of the MN; and detecting a low total uplink and/or downlink throughput for the DC (Para. [0068] - The activation or deactivation of the secondary component carrier may be determined by a base station based on a quality of service (QoS), a load condition of carrier and other factors. And, the base station may be able to instruct a user equipment of secondary component carrier setting using a control message including such information as an indication type (activation/deactivation) for DL/UL, a secondary component carrier list and the like; See also Fig. 7, Para. [0069-0078]; Para. [0081, 0139, 0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein determining that the SCG is to be suspended is in response to any one or more of the following triggering events or conditions: detecting uplink and/or downlink inactivity concerning the SCG; detecting an overload of the SN; detecting a low load of the MN; and detecting a low total uplink and/or downlink throughput for the DC as taught by Lee, in the combined system of Hu/Wang/Ali, so that it would provide a means to indicate SCG changes “while maintaining a connection with the master base station” and “deactivating the one or more SCells in the secondary BS if the PSCell is not changed by the SCG change procedure” (Lee Para. [0010]).
Claims 44 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Wang and Ali, and further in view of Palat et al. (US 2021/0282213), Palat hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 44 and 45, Hu in view of Wang and Ali teaches Claims 23 and 33.
Yet, Hu, Wang, nor Ali expressly teach wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of an MCG.
However, Palat teaches
wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of an MCG (Fig. 2, Para. [0049-0051] - [0049] FIG. 2 illustrates an EN-DC RRC signaling structure 200 that may be representative of the implementation of an RRC signaling structure according to various embodiments. As shown in FIG. 2, the RRC signaling structure 200 includes an RRC message 201 that itself includes an MCG configuration 202 and an encapsulated SCG configuration 204. The EN-DC RRC message 201 can be generated by the MN 102 (e.g., the eNB 102) from environment 100. The encapsulated SCG configuration can correspond to RRC configuration information received at MN 102, from the SN 104 (e.g., the gNB 104), for example, during an initiation of EN-DC for the environment 100; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0052-0060]; Fig. 4, Para. [0061-0067], FIGS. 6A-6D, 7A-7D, 8A-8D, 9A-9D, 10A-10D, and 11A-11D, Para. [0076-0107]; Fig. 14, Para. [0116-0120]; Para. [0191, 0209, 0210, 0227, 0228, 0243, 0244, 0256, 0257, 0263, 0264]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the RRC message comprises a configuration of an MCG as taught by Palat, in the combined system of Hu/Wang/Ali, so that it would provide a means “for unifying the split bearers at the UE 106 such that, from the perspective of UE 106, there is only one split bearer type irrespective of the location of the termination point (PDCP) in the network,” thus UE “implementations/operations can be simplified as there is a need to only consider one split bearer type” and “the number of bearer type changes needing to be supported and carried out during operation can be reduced” (Palat Para. [0048]).
Conclusion
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468