Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18,33 and 35 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18,33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 2019/0174466 A1; hereinafter "ZHANG", in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0208490 A1; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches a method performed by a wireless device for Channel State Information, CSI (¶ [0314]), reporting, the method comprising:
receiving a configuration for a plurality of Non-Zero Power, NZP, CSI Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resources from a base station (¶ [0116] For CSI-RS for tracking, when the UE 101 in RRC connected mode is expected to receive the higher layer UE specific configuration of a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info, ¶ [0335] a RAN node transmits, to the UE, the RRC message including a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet which indicates one or more NZP CSI-RS resources; ¶ [0339]);
performing channel measurement on the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources (¶ [0132] the UE 101 performs measurements based on CSI-RS-Resource-Mobility, ¶ [0137] a Resource Setting linked to a CSI-ReportConfig has multiple aperiodic resource sets, ¶ [0138] The aperiodic triggering offset of the CSI-IM follows offset of the associated NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement);
selecting N of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources (¶ [0081] The activation command also contains spatial relation assumptions provided by a list of references to reference signal IDs, one per element of the activated SRS resource set. Each ID in the list refers to a reference NZP CSI-RS resource, ¶ [0133] the UE 101 expects to be configured with no more than 96 CSI-RS resources, ¶ [0135] For each aperiodic CSI-RS resource in a CSI-RS resource set, the UE 101 identifies the QCL configuration which contains a list of references to TCI-State's for the aperiodic CSI-RS resources);
performing CSI computations and/or calculating CSI parameters including one or more of: one Rank Indicator, RI, N Precoding Matrix Indicators, PMIs, and one Channel Quality Indicator, CQI (¶ [0262] Upon reception of the value associated with a trigger state, the UE performs measurement of CSI-RS (reference signals) and aperiodic reporting on L1 according to all entries in the associatedReportConfigInfoList for that trigger state, ¶ [0096] A CSI report including a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), rank indicator (RI)); and
reporting the calculated CSI parameters including one or more of: one RI, N PMIs, one CQI along with one or more of the following as part of CSI reporting (¶ [0096] A CSI report includes a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or a rank indicator (RI), the most recent CSI measurement occasion occurs in DRX active time for CSI to be reported):
no CRI (¶ [0108] repetition in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is associated with a CSI-RS resource set and can be configured only when the higher layer parameter reportQuantity associated with all the reporting settings linked with the CSI-RS resource set is set to ‘cri-RSRP’ or ‘none’, ¶ [0120] The UE 101 does not expect to be configured with a CSI-ReportConfig with the higher layer parameter reportQuantity set to other than ‘none’ for aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource set configured with trs-Info).
However, ZHANG does not teach N PMIs, N CRIs, the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein N>=2.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches N PMIs, N CRIs, the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein N>=2 ([0798] when reporting of a plurality of PMIs, [0800] report CRIs equal to or greater than the number of a plurality of CSI-RS resources, CRI={0,1,2})).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to the multi-TRP as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of ZHANG and Kim, specifically ZHANG teaches where the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources are configured as part of N NZP CSI-RS resource sets (¶ [0111] All CSI-RS resources within one set are configured with same density and same nrofPorts, except for the NZP CSI-RS resources used for interference measurement, ¶ [0112] There are N CSI-RS resources in one CSI-RS resource set (where N is a number), and the UE 101 is configured with M CSI-RS resource set, ¶ [0116] the UE 101 in RRC connected mode is expected to receive the higher layer UE specific configuration of a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info. The UE is configured with one or more NZP CSI-RS sets).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of ZHANG and Kim, specifically ZHANG teaches where a single CRI is used to select one NZP CSI-RS resource from each of the N NZP CSI-RS resource sets (¶ [0096] A CSI includes a CRI which is a single indicator value, ¶ [0081] The activation command also contains spatial relation assumptions provided by a list of references to reference signal IDs, one per element of the activated SRS resource set. Each ID in the list refers to a reference NZP CSI-RS resource, ¶ [0112] There are N CSI-RS resources in one CSI-RS resource set (where N is a number), and the UE 101 is configured with M CSI-RS resource set).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of ZHANG and Kim, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources are configured as part of a single NZP CSI-RS resource set (¶ [0097] Each NZP CSI-RS resource set consists of K≥1 NZP CSI-RS resources, ¶ [0111] All CSI-RS resources within one set are configured with same density and same nrofPorts, except for the NZP CSI-RS resources used for interference measurement, ¶ [0112] There are N CSI-RS resources in one CSI-RS resource set (where N is a number)).
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG does not teach wherein N CRIs are used to select N NZP CSI-RS resources from the single NZP CSI-RS resource set.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein N CRIs are used to select N NZP CSI-RS resources from the single NZP CSI-RS resource set (¶ [0360] According to a corresponding indication/configuration/rule, resources in a resource set are classified into M resource groups (sets). When an indication/a configuration is performed as above, N groups of M resource groups are selected by a terminal for computation/acquisition/reporting of N CSI sets, ¶ [0361] A terminal reports information on selected resource groups (i.e., CSI) to a base station. Here, for N selected resource groups, resources in a specific group (e.g., a i-th resource group) are utilized for CM when computing/acquiring/reporting a specific CSI set (e.g., a j-th CSI set)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify N CSI sets as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG does not teach wherein the CSI parameters of one RI, N PMIs, one CQI along with one, N or no CRIs to be reported are configured by setting a reportQuantity field in CSI-ReportConfig information element to one of the following values: cri-RI-NPMI-CQI; Ncri-RI-NPMI-CQI; and RI-NPMI-CQI.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the CSI parameters of one RI, N PMIs, one CQI along with one CRI to be reported (¶ [0414] When reportQuantity is set as ‘cri-RI-PMI-CQI’ is a precoding matrix corresponding to a reported PMI, ¶ [0460] when the reporting quantity (e.g., a parameter, reportQuantity) is configured as one of CRI/RI/PMI/CQI) are configured by setting a reportQuantity field in CSI-ReportConfig information element to one of the following values: cri-RI-NPMI-CQI (¶ [0414] When reportQuantity, a higher layer parameter in CSI-ReportConfig that a CQI is reported, is set as, ¶ [0460] reportQuantity is configured as CRI/RI/PMI/CQI reporting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting quantity as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of ZHANG and Kim, specifically ZHANG teaches further comprising: taking into account one of a plurality of Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, transmission schemes for which CSI is computed (¶ [0095] the UE 101 assumes that the CSI-RS and a PDCCH DM-RS transmitted in all the search space sets associated with CORESET are quasi co-located with ‘QCL-TypeD’, if ‘QCL-TypeD’ is applicable, ¶ [0104] powerControlOffset: which is the assumed ratio of PDSCH EPRE to NZP CSI-RS EPRE when UE derives CSI feedback).
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG does not teach wherein the PDSCH transmission scheme comprises one of: FDMSchemeA, FDMSchemeB, TDMSchemeA, and SlotBasedTDM.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the PDSCH transmission scheme comprises one of: FDMSchemeA, FDMSchemeB (¶ [0734] a base station performs MTRP PDSCH transmission by selecting a beam of TRP 1 and a beam of TRP 2 based on beam reporting, ¶ [0735] a base station may determine which combination will be effective for MTRP PDSCH transmission, and Table 36 discloses that When UE is configured by RepSchemeEnabler, a higher layer parameter set as ‘FDMSchemeA’ or ‘FDMSchemeB’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PDSCH transmission as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG does not teach wherein the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is configured as part of the CSI-ReportConfig information element via a higher layer parameter reportingScheme.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is configured as part of the CSI-ReportConfig information element via a higher layer parameter reportingScheme (¶ [0414] When reportQuantity, a higher layer parameter in CSI-ReportConfig that a CQI is reported, is set as ‘cri-RI-PMI-CQI’, W(i) is a precoding matrix corresponding to a reported PMI which is applicable to x(i), ¶ [0460] the reporting quantity (e.g., a parameter, reportQuantity) configured in a reporting setting to which a resource set is connected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting quantity as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG does not teach assuming two PDSCH transmission occasions when computing CSI when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is either FDMSchemeB or TDMSchemeA.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches assuming two PDSCH transmission occasions when computing CSI when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is FDMSchemeB (¶ [0493] a situation that two resources respectively correspond to a different CSI set is assumed. In this case, a terminal may simultaneously receive a CSI-RS in a specific resource through a different reception beam, ¶ [0667] a different QCL-TypeD RS is configured for different CSI-RS resources (for CM) which are considered when performing CSI computation considering multi-TRP transmission), (Table 36 discloses when UE is configured by RepSchemeEnabler, a higher layer parameter set as ‘FDMSchemeB’, and PDSCH and PT-RS frequency density is determined with PT-RS resource element mapping is associated with PRBs allocated per each TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PDSCH transmission as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG does not teach assuming a single PDSCH transmission occasion when computing CSI when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is FDMSchemeA.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches assuming a single PDSCH transmission occasion when computing CSI when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is FDMSchemeA (Table 36 discloses when UE is configured by RepSchemeEnabler, a higher layer parameter set as ‘FDMSchemeA’, and when 2 TCI states are indicated by a codepoint of a DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ and DM-RS port(s) in 1 CDM group in a DCI field “Antenna Port(s)” are indicated, UE receives a single PT-RS port associated with a DMRS port with the lowest index among DM-RS antenna ports allocated to a PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PDSCH transmission as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 12, ZHANG does not teach assuming P > 1 PDSCH transmission occasions when computing CSI when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is SlotBasedTDM.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches assuming P > 1 PDSCH transmission occasions when computing CSI when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is SlotBasedTDM (¶ [0329] For TDM based URLLC M-TRP transmission, scheme 3/4 is under discussion for standardization. Specifically, scheme 4 means a scheme in which one TRP transmits a transport block(TB) in one slot and it has an effect to improve a probability of data reception through the same TB received from multiple TRPs in multiple slots, ¶ [0370] a terminal estimates a channel of TRP 1 by using a CSI-RS transmitted by TRP 1 and measure/calculate CSI (e.g., CRI/RI/PMI/CQI/LI) for TRP 1 to perform a feedback to a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PDSCH transmission as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 13, ZHANG does not teach wherein the CSI reference resource is defined by P consecutive slots with the last slot in downlink slot n-n_(CSI- ref) in time domain wherein the slot n_(CSI-ref) is predefined in specifications.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the CSI reference resource is defined by P consecutive slots with the last slot in downlink slot n-n_(CSI- ref) in time domain wherein the slot n_(CSI-ref) is predefined in specifications (¶ [0116] four periodic NZP CSI-RS resources in two consecutive slots with two periodic NZP CSI-RS resources in each slot), (Table 34 discloses that a CSI reference resource for CSI reporting is defined by a single downlink slot n-n.sub.CSI_ref in an uplink slot n in a time domain, a slot n-n.sub.CSI_ref corresponds to a valid downlink slot, ¶ [0809] A value of n.sub.CSI.sub._.sub.ref is the smallest value which is the same as or greater than X.Math.2.sup.μ.sub.DL that a slot n-n.sub.CSI.sub._.sub.ref corresponds to a valid downlink slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a CSI reporting as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG does not teach wherein the wireless device assumes a number of PDSCH symbols per PDSCH transmission occasion when computing CSI when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is TDMSchemeA, wherein the number of PDSCH symbols per PDSCH transmission occasion is either predefined in specifications or is configured as part of CSI-ReportConfig.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the wireless device assumes a number of PDSCH symbols per PDSCH transmission occasion when computing CSI when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is TDMSchemeA (¶ [0329] For TDM based M-TRP transmission, scheme 3 means a scheme in which one TRP transmits a TB through consecutive number of OFDM symbols (i.e., a symbol group) and TRPs are configured to transmit the same TB through a different symbol group in one slot),
wherein the number of PDSCH symbols per PDSCH transmission occasion is either predefined in specifications (¶ [0329] For TDM based URLLC M-TRP transmission, scheme 3/4 is under discussion for standardization. Specifically, scheme 4 means a scheme in which one TRP transmits a transport block(TB) in one slot, and scheme 3 means a scheme in which one TRP transmits a TB through consecutive number of OFDM symbols (i.e., a symbol group)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PDSCH transmission as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 15, ZHANG does not teach wherein a Physical Resource Block, PRB, bundling granularity to be assumed for CSI calculation by the wireless device is provided as part of CSI-ReportConfig or predefined in specifications when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is either FDMSchemeA or FDMSchemeB.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein a Physical Resource Block, PRB, bundling granularity to be assumed for CSI calculation by the wireless device is provided as part of CSI-ReportConfig or predefined in specifications when the PDSCH transmission scheme for which to compute CSI is either FDMSchemeA or FDMSchemeB (Table 35 discloses that it is assumed that a size of PRB bundling is 2PRB, also assumed for a PMI and a RI when it is configured to report a CQI index in a CSI reference resource), (Table 36 discloses when UE is configured by RepSchemeEnabler, a higher layer parameter set as ‘FDMSchemeA’ or ‘FDMSchemeB’, and PT-RS resource element mapping is associated with PRBs allocated per each TCI state, ¶ [0351] ‘CSI-ReportConfig’, a higher layer parameter for configuring a CSI reporting method, is defined in TS38.331).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PDSCH transmission as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of ZHANG and Kim, specifically ZHANG wherein the wireless device operates in a New Radio, NR, network (¶ [0023] FIG. 1 discloses that the UEs 101 is configured to connect with a RAN 110 that operates in an NR (FIG. 1 5G system 100)).
Regarding claim 17, ZHANG teaches a method performed by a base station (FIG. 1 RAN node 111) for enabling Channel State Information, CSI (¶ [0335), reporting, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless device (FIG. 1 UE 101), a configuration for a plurality of Non-Zero Power, NZP, CSI Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resources (¶ [0335] transmitting the RRC message to the UE, ¶ [0339] the RRC message includes a non-zero power channel state information reference signal resource set (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet), wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet indicates one or more NZP CSI-RS resources); and
receiving, from the wireless device (FIG. 1 UE 101), calculated CSI parameters including one or more of: one Rank Indicator, RI, N Precoding Matrix Indicators, PMIs, one Channel Quality Indicator, CQI, along with one or more of the following as part of CSI reporting (¶ [0139] the UE 101 is not expected to transmit more than one aperiodic CSI report triggered by different DCIs, [0140] For semi-persistent reporting, the CSI report is transmitted on PUSCH or PUCCH), (¶ [0096] A CSI report includes a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or a rank indicator (RI)):
no CRI (¶ [0108] repetition in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is associated with a CSI-RS resource set and can be configured only when the higher layer parameter reportQuantity associated with all the reporting settings linked with the CSI-RS resource set is set to ‘cri-RSRP’ or ‘none’, ¶ [0120] The UE 101 does not expect to be configured with a CSI-ReportConfig with the higher layer parameter reportQuantity set to other than ‘none’ for aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource set configured with trs-Info).
However, ZHANG does not teach N PMIs, N CRIs, the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein N>=2.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches N PMIs, N CRIs, the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein N>=2 ([0798] when reporting of a plurality of PMIs, [0800] report CRIs equal to or greater than the number of a plurality of CSI-RS resources, CRI={0,1,2})).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to the multi-TRP as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of ZHANG and Kim, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein the wireless device performed (¶ [0314]) one or more of:
performing channel measurement on the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources (¶ [0132] the UE 101 performs measurements based on CSI-RS-Resource-Mobility, ¶ [0137] a Resource Setting linked to a CSI-ReportConfig has multiple aperiodic resource sets associated with NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement; ¶ [0138]);
selecting N of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources (¶ [0137] If a Resource Setting linked to a CSI-ReportConfig has multiple aperiodic resource sets, only one of the aperiodic CSI-RS resource sets from the Resource Setting is associated with the trigger state, and the UE 101 is higher layer configured per trigger state per Resource Setting to select the one CSI-IM/NZP CSI-RS resource set); and
performing CSI computations and/or calculating CSI parameters including one RI N PMI, and one CQI (¶ [0262] Upon reception of the value associated with a trigger state, the UE performs measurement of CSI-RS (reference signals) and aperiodic reporting on L1 according to all entries in the associatedReportConfigInfoList for that trigger state, ¶ [0096] A CSI report including a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), rank indicator (RI)).
Regarding claim 33, ZHANG teaches a wireless device (¶ [0192] FIG. 8 device 800) to support Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH (¶ [0032]), multiple Transmission/Reception Point, multi-TRP (¶ [0026]), transmission comprising:
one or more transmitters; one or more receivers (¶ [0198] FIG. 8 radio front end modules 815 comprises antenna arrays); and
processing circuitry (¶ [0226] FIG. 10 processing circuitry 1010) associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers (¶ [0221] FIG. 10 antenna arrays 1011), the processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless device to (¶ [0225] FIG. 10 the radio front end modules 1015):
receive a configuration for a plurality of Non-Zero Power, NZP, Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resources from a base station (¶ [0116] For CSI-RS for tracking, when the UE 101 in RRC connected mode is expected to receive the higher layer UE specific configuration of a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info, ¶ [0335] a RAN node transmits, to the UE, the RRC message including a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet which indicates one or more NZP CSI-RS resources; ¶ [0339]);
perform channel measurement on the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources; select N of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources (¶ [0132] the UE 101 performs measurements based on CSI-RS-Resource-Mobility, ¶ [0137] a Resource Setting linked to a CSI-ReportConfig has multiple aperiodic resource sets, ¶ [0138] The aperiodic triggering offset of the CSI-IM follows offset of the associated NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement);
perform Channel State Information, CSI computations and/or calculating CSI parameters including one or more of: one Rank Indicator, RI, N Precoding Matrix Indicators, PMIs, and one Channel Quality Indicator, CQI (¶ [0262] Upon reception of the value associated with a trigger state, the UE performs measurement of CSI-RS (reference signals) and aperiodic reporting on L1 according to all entries in the associatedReportConfigInfoList for that trigger state, ¶ [0096] A CSI report including a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), rank indicator (RI)); and
report the calculated CSI parameters including one or more of: one RI, N PMIs, one CQI along with one or more of the following as part of CSI reporting (¶ [0096] A CSI report includes a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or a rank indicator (RI), the most recent CSI measurement occasion occurs in DRX active time for CSI to be reported):
no CRI (¶ [0108] repetition in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is associated with a CSI-RS resource set and can be configured only when the higher layer parameter reportQuantity associated with all the reporting settings linked with the CSI-RS resource set is set to ‘cri-RSRP’ or ‘none’, ¶ [0120] The UE 101 does not expect to be configured with a CSI-ReportConfig with the higher layer parameter reportQuantity set to other than ‘none’ for aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource set configured with trs-Info).
However, ZHANG does not teach N PMIs, N CRIs, the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein N>=2.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches N PMIs, N CRIs, the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein N>=2 ([0798] when reporting of a plurality of PMIs, [0800] report CRIs equal to or greater than the number of a plurality of CSI-RS resources, CRI={0,1,2})).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to the multi-TRP as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Regarding claim 35, ZHANG teaches a base station (FIG. 1 RAN node 111) to support Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH (¶ [0335] a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)), multiple Transmission/Reception Point, multi-TRP (¶ [0026] access nodes can be referred to as TRxPs or TRPs), transmission, comprising: one or more transmitters; one or more receivers (¶ [0309] communication circuitry communicatively coupled with the processor circuitry); and
processing circuitry (¶ [0226] FIG. 10 processing circuitry 1010) associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers (¶ [0221] FIG. 10 antenna arrays 1011), the processing circuitry configured to cause the base station to perform one or more of (¶ [0225] FIG. 10 the radio front end modules 1015):
transmit, to a wireless device (FIG. 1 UE 101), a configuration for a plurality of Non-Zero Power, NZP, Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resources (¶ [0335] transmitting the RRC message to the UE, ¶ [0339] the RRC message includes a non-zero power channel state information reference signal resource set (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet), wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet indicates one or more NZP CSI-RS resources); and
receive, from the wireless device (FIG. 1 UE 101), calculated Channel State Information, CSI, parameters including one or more of: one Rank Indicator, RI, N Precoding Matrix Indicators, PMIs, one Channel Quality Indicator, CQI, along with one or more of the following as part of CSI reporting (¶ [0096] A CSI report includes a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or a rank indicator (RI), the most recent CSI measurement occasion occurs in DRX active time for CSI to be reported):
no CRI (¶ [0108] repetition in NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet is associated with a CSI-RS resource set and can be configured only when the higher layer parameter reportQuantity associated with all the reporting settings linked with the CSI-RS resource set is set to ‘cri-RSRP’ or ‘none’, ¶ [0120] The UE 101 does not expect to be configured with a CSI-ReportConfig with the higher layer parameter reportQuantity set to other than ‘none’ for aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource set configured with trs-Info).
However, ZHANG does not teach N PMIs, N CRIs, the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein N>=2.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches N PMIs, N CRIs, the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources, wherein N>=2 ([0798] when reporting of a plurality of PMIs, [0800] report CRIs equal to or greater than the number of a plurality of CSI-RS resources, CRI={0,1,2})).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to the multi-TRP as taught by Kim within the parameter of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform more suitable link adaptation to improve system performance (Kim ¶ [0346]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2019/0245603 A1 (YUM et al.) discloses a method of reporting a channel state.
US 2023/0046218 A1 (Matsumura et al.) discloses appropriately measure and report CSI for multi-panels/TRPs.
US 2023/0291450 A1 (SU et al.) discloses a method and an apparatus for CSI feedback, an electronic device, and a storage medium.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413