DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 04 June 2026 has been considered. It is acknowledged that claims 1 and 8 have been amended and claims 5 and 11 have been cancelled by Applicant. Per Applicant’s amendment, the previously presented 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn. However, the amendment filed 04 June 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: “wherein the first channel includes a temperature control device”. Specifically, the original disclosure does not support the temperature control device specifically being included in the first channel.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04 June 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Hou et al. (US-10894255-B2), hereinafter “Hou”, Maynard (US-20150101964-A1), and Senftleber (US-20120234731-A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 8, the newly added limitation claiming “wherein the first channel includes a temperature control device” is not supported by the original disclosure. According to the specification, there is a temperature control device configured to create a temperature gradient in the first channel, but the specification does not disclose the temperature control device itself being included in the first channel.
Claims 3, 5-7, 11, and 16-18 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claims 1 or 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US-20190030534-A1), hereinafter “Hong”, in view of Hou et al. (US-10894255-B2), hereinafter “Hou”, Maynard (US-20150101964-A1), and Senftleber (US-20120234731-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hong discloses a fine object separation device (particle separation apparatus; see Abstract) comprising: a first channel (first input flow path; see Abstract) in which a subject solution including a plurality of different fine objects having a size of 1 micrometer or less flows (plurality of particles may be nanoparticles; see [0070]) in from one side and flows to the other side (through which a first fluid containing a plurality of particles of different sizes is introduced; see [0008] and Fig. 1, Part In_P1); and a second channel (a second input flow path; see [0009]) that communicates with a first wall surface of the first channel at an angle greater than 00, parallel to a flow direction of the subject solution, and less than 900, perpendicular to the flow direction of the subject solution (see Fig. 1 Parts In_P1 and In_P2), wherein the second channel merges a buffer solution (second fluids may comprise… phosphate buffer saline; see [0032]) with the first channel (connection flow path is connected to the first input flow path and the second input flow path so that the first fluid and the second fluid are mixed; see [0010]); and an output channel that has one side communicating with the other side of the first channel and has a width greater than a width of the first channel (L3 coming out from the connection channel; see [0094] and Annotated Fig. 1 below) to allow the fine objects to be classified and discharged (particles discharged through the connection flow path according to the size of the particles; see [0092]), wherein the buffer solution supplied through the second channel separates the fine objects (plurality of particles of the first fluid move toward the first side of the connection path by the second fluid; see [0078]) according to size in a direction intersecting with the flow direction of the subject solution (when passing through the connection path (CP), they move separately from one another according to the particle size; see [0086] and Fig. 2), wherein the output channel includes: an inclined portion extending from the other side of the first channel and configured to communicate with the first channel, a horizontal portion extending from the inclined portion to communicate with the inclined portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below), and a plurality of outlets configured to communicated with the horizontal portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below) and to classify the fine objects according to size to be discharged (The plurality of discharge flow path can separate and discharge a plurality of particles… according to the size of the particles; see [0132]), the plurality of outlets being formed to be spaced apart from each other in the direction intersecting with the flow direction of the subject solution (plurality of discharge flow paths may be spaced apart from each other in a direction crossing the flow direction of the third fluid on the other end of the connection flow path; see [0024]), wherein the plurality of outlets includes: a first outlet disposed on the same side of the fine object separation devices as the first wall surface of the first channel (see Fig. 1), and a second outlet disposed on the same side of the fine object separation device as the second wall surface of the first channel (see Fig. 1).
Regarding the limitation claiming “the fine objects are separated such that the smaller fine objects are disposed closer to the first wall surface and the larger fine objects are disposed closer to a second wall surface that is spaced apart from and is opposite to the first wall surface” this is a functional limitation. The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)). The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). Hence, the limitation of the direction of degree of separation does not further define the actual structure of the separation device, but merely sets forth a manner of operating the separation device. Functional limitations that do not limit the structure need not be given further due consideration in determining patentability of an apparatus.
Hong does not explicitly teach varying outlet sizes. However, Hou discloses wherein a first outlet has a smaller diameter than a second outlet (the smaller outlet channel is designed to collect smaller particles while larger particles are collected at the larger outlet; see Col. 26 Lines 58-60).
Hong and Hou are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fine particle separation. Using outlets of varying size would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Hou discloses that it would allow small particles to be collected in the smaller outlet, and vice versa (see Col. 26 Lines 58-60).
Hong modified by Hou does not explicitly disclose that larger fine objects are prevented from discharging through a first outlet. However, Maynard discloses wherein the outlets are configured to allow the smaller fine objects to be discharged through a first outlet while preventing the larger fine objects from being discharged through the first outlet (large particle outlet for collecting large particulate… small particle outlet for collecting small particulate… mesh screen as a mesh size such that the small particulate has a small particle dimension less than the mesh size so as to pass through said mesh and leaving the larger particulate with a large particulate dimension larger than the mesh size within said mesh; see Claims 2-4).
Hong and Maynard are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fine particle separation. Preventing larger particles from discharging through the smaller outlet would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Maynard discloses the motivation of achieving high throughput separation of particulate from debris and foreign metallic matter; see [0005]).
Hong does not explicitly disclose a temperature control device. However, Senftleber discloses a temperature control device (control is typically preserved by cycling the heaters on and off using a temperature regulator or computer controlled system; see [0128] and “thermoelectric or thermoacoustic devices, heat pumps, heat exchanger, or similar methods”; see [0130]), the temperature control device being configured to: control a temperature of a first wall surface to be higher than a temperature of a second wall surface (the temperature differential between the top interior surface and bottom interior surface may be produced using thermoelectric or thermoacoustic devices,…; see [0130]), and increase a distance between the smaller fine objects and the larger fine objects by forming a temperature gradient between the first wall surface and the second wall surface (aggregates sample particles initially to a smaller volume in the slower moving fluid and can result in significantly greater separation resolution… enables discrimination on the bases of size and charge… In some modes of FFF, the force is developed by imposing a gradient across the channel as in thermal (ThFFF); see [0021]).
Hong and Senftleber are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fine object separation. Incorporating a temperature control device configured to create a temperature gradient would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Senftleber discloses the motivation of further enhancing the selectivity of the apparatus to separate and isolate specific fractions of particles from complex sample mixtures (see [0021]).
Regarding Claim 3, Hong, Hou, Maynard, and Senftleber together disclose the fine object separation device of claim 1, wherein the inclined portion includes a first inclined portion extending obliquely from the first wall surface of the first channel and a second inclined portion extending obliquely from the second wall surface of the first channel (see annotated Fig. 1 below); and the horizontal portion includes first and second horizontal portions extending parallel to the first wall surface and the second wall surface, respectively (see annotated Fig. 1 below).
Regarding Claim 6, Hong, Hou, Maynard, and Senftleber together disclose the fine object separation device of claim 1, wherein the fine objects comprise fine particles (nanoparticles such as… fine dusts; see [0051]).
Regarding Claim 7, Hong, Hou, Maynard, and Senftleber together disclose the fine object separation device of claim 1, wherein the fine objects comprise bio-molecules (the present example can be applied to … a DNA array; see [0141]; it is well known in the art that a DNA array consists of biomolecules).
Regarding Claim 8, Hong discloses a fine object separation method (particle separating method; see [0001]) comprising: a subject solution flowing step in which a subject solution including a plurality of different fine objects having a size of 1 micrometer (plurality of particles may be nanoparticles; see [0070]) or less flows in a first channel (Introducing a first fluid containing a plurality of particles having different particles sizes into a first input flow path; see [0035]); a buffer solution merging step in which a buffer solution (second fluids may comprise… phosphate buffer saline; see [0032]) merges into the first channel through a second channel (passing the first fluid and the second fluid through a connection flow path which is connected to outlet parts of the first input flow path and the second input flow path; see [0037]) that communicates with a first wall surface of the first channel at an angle greater than 00, parallel to a flow direction of the subject solution, and less than 900, perpendicular to the flow direction of the subject solution (see Fig. 1 Parts In_P1 and In_P2); and a fine object separating step in which the buffer solution supplied through the second channel separates the fine objects (plurality of particles of the first fluid move toward the first side of the connection path by the second fluid; see [0078]) according to size in a direction intersecting with the flow direction of the subject solution (when passing through the connection path (CP), they move separately from one another according to the particle size; see [0086] and Fig. 2), and a discharging step in which the separated fine objects are classified and discharged via an output channel (the plurality of particles coming out of the other end of the connection flow path are separated and discharged according to the size of the particle; see [0011]).
Regarding the limitation claiming, “the fine objects are separated such that the smaller fine objects are disposed closer to the first wall surface and the larger fine objects are disposed closer to a second wall surface that is spaced apart from and is opposite to the first wall surface”, this is a consequential limitation that appears as a result of the claimed method and the claimed structural limitations of an associated device. Therefore, because the method steps are disclosed by Hong, and the structural limitations are disclosed by Hong, then the consequential direction and degree of particle separation should occur.
The remaining structural limitations of claim 8 do not exceed those of claim 1. Please refer to the claim 1 rejection as the rejection of these structural limitations follows the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 16, Hong, Hou, Maynard, and Senftleber together disclose the fine object separation device of claim 3. Hong further discloses wherein the first outlet is disposed closer to the first horizontal portion and the second outlet is disposed closer to the second horizontal portion (see Fig. 1, wherein Ex9 is considered the first outlet and Ex1 is considered the second outlet).
Regarding Claim 17, Hong, Hou, Maynard, and Senftleber together disclosethe fine object separation method of claim 8. The remaining limitations of claim 17 do not exceed those of claim 3. Please refer to the claim 3 rejection as the rejection of claim 17 follows the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 18, Hong, Hou, Maynard, and Senftleber together disclosethe fine object separation device of claim 17. The remaining limitations of claim 18 do not exceed those of claim 16. Please refer to the claim 16 rejection as the rejection of claim 18 follows the same rationale.
Conclusion
/A.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774