Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 7/9/2026 has been entered into the prosecution for the application. Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9, 12-13 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 10-11 are pending consideration.
Applicant’s amendment necessitate the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the precise sequence of the claimed steps solves a technical problem existing in the prior art that is not addressed by the combination of references in the final rejection filed 4/1/2026. Applicant argues that the performing of Step (K) prior to Step (L) would not result in the same materials characteristics as a method which applies Step (K) after Step (L). Applicant further states that the combination of references represents impermissible hindsight.
These arguments are not compelling, as the central fact is that the combination of references applied demonstrates facts known to the person of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the present invention (2145 X A). Accordingly, the combination of references is deemed proper. Namely, because the inventive subject matter applicant is arguing the claim language and present application teach to is expressly disclosed in the applied prior art. Specifically, Applicant argues that their sequence of steps is unique above the prior art for the results produced thereby, namely, “the concurrent achievement of excellent high-frequency characteristics, high adhesion reliability, and high insulation reliability in fine-pitch wiring, by, inter alia, combining the specific surface roughness (40-80 nm), the specific peel strength (0.2-0.7 kN/m), and the fine-pitch wiring (0.5-20 pm) presently claimed, based on the premise of the specific process order (performing the second surface treatment before heating).” However, the combination of references applied teaches to all of the minutiae necessary to produce these results. Critically, these results are the consequence of either (A, being the surface roughness and peel strength) the use of GLiCAP as per instant specification [0065, 0069, 0070, 0073; and Pg. 19, line 22 to Pg. 20, Line 10], which has already been addressed by incorporation of Nothdruft (et. al. “Copper/Epoxy Joints in Printed Circuit Boards: Manufacturing and Interfacial Failure Mechanisms.” Materials, 2019, 12, 550) or (B, the fine-pitch writing) conventional optimization techniques known in the art, such as by the incorporation of the line widths as shown within Ueki (US 20130326874 A1). Thus, as all of the individual components required to teach to the invention have been recited, it is understood that any results effective from a rearrangement of their steps would necessarily be disclosed by the prior art. That is, applicant argues that the formation of the calcination layer after the second surface treatment is critical to the results. However, this is not compelling as it defies logic that the result of the calcination layer would be effected by the reversal of Steps K and L. It is clear that the calcination layer forms between the second insulation layer and the wiring part. It is also understood that the purpose of the second surface treatment is to remove any exposed residues of the first surface treatment layer which is not covered by the second insulating layer. Therefore, one would expect that the reversal of steps (K) and (L) to produce the same result, as the first surface treatment layer, which is GLiCAP as per Nothdruft, adheres the second insulating layer to the wiring part, will always be (A) calcined by the heat treatment process and (B) cannot be removed by exposure to a second surface treatment, as the first surface treatment will not be exposed so as to be removeable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akai ( US 20100122839 A1) further in view of Nothdruft et. al. “Copper/Epoxy Joints in Printed Circuit Boards: Manufacturing and Interfacial Failure Mechanisms.” Materials, 2019, 12, 550 further in view of Ueki (US 20130326874 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Akai teaches a method for producing a multilayer printed wiring board comprising:
A copper clad laminate is formed by laminating copper foil (Element 18, Fig. 2a) onto an epoxy resin (Element 11, Fig. 2a), corresponding to a supporting substrate. [0053]
On the substrate is formed interlayer resin insulation layer (Element 12, Fig. 2G), corresponding to a first insulating layer. [0058]
Opening portions (Element 16, Fig. 3A) are formed on the insulation layer 12 using a CO2 gas laser. [0059]
An electroless copper plated film (Element 22, Fig. 3B) is formed on the insulation layer, including the inner-wall surfaces of the opening portions, corresponding to forming a seed layer on the first insulation layer. [0061]
A photosensitive dry film was laminated on electroless copper plated film, and a mask was placed thereon, exposed and developed. The plating resist (Element 13, Fig. 3D) was 25 microns thick, corresponding to a resist pattern for the writing part on a surface of the seed layer. [0061]
An electrolytic copper film was plated in areas where the plating resist was not formed, corresponding to forming a wiring part [0062] The plating resist was then removed by etching away the electroless copper-plated film, thereby forming conductive circuit (Element 14 Fig. 4A) [0063], corresponding to removing the resist pattern and the seed layer exposed by removal of the resist layer. These steps can be repeated multiple times to form multilayer circuit board, where in the outermost layer the conductive circuit includes via conductors (understood to be wiring) and solder pads (Element 34, Fig. 4B-5A), thus teaching that the outer conductive circuit includes a wiring part and a pad part. [0064]
Onto the surface of the solder pads are applied a solution of Y-amino propyltriethoxysilane [0068], in order to provide “notable adhesiveness” between the solder pad and the subsequent solder resist layer, corresponding to the first surface treatment and the second insulating layer.
A solder resist layer (element 24, Fig. 6a) is then formed on the surface of the surface of the solder pads, [0069] in which the photomask contains patterns for providing openings (element 28, Fig. 6A), corresponding to the formation of the second insulating layer and forming an opening in said second insulating layer.
Akai states that after phototreatment, solder-bump openings are formed [0070]. Subsequently, that is, while there are openings in the solder resist composition layer, the solder resist composition layer was cured through heat treatment, such as at 150 °C for 1 hour [0070], which corresponds to heating the second insulating material to the glass transition temperature or higher. Notably, applicant indicates that the required glass transition can be a temperature between 30 and 250 °C (Specification of the instant application, [0050]). The pad surface was exposed to an etching solution, containing nitric acid and hydrogen peroxide, to remove residue remaining in the opening (element 28), corresponding to a second surface treatment [0071].
The instant claim requires that the second surface treatment precede the heat treatment. The instant specification demonstrates that the second surface treatment is performed to remove organic components from the surface of the pad [0014]. The courts have held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the sequence of steps are reversed and no other distinction is found (see MPEP 2144.05 IV C). As the second surface treatment of Akai performs the same function as the second surface treatment of the instant application, barring a demonstration of critically regarding the arrangement of steps, it is understood that Akai teaches the sequence of steps in the instant claim.
However, Akai does not teach that the first surface treatment is a surface-treated layer including an organic compound. Akai does not teach that the line width of the rest pattern has a groove-shaped opening with a line width of 0.5 to 20 micron. Akai does not teach the process of forming a calcined layer between the second insulating layer and the wiring part nor forming a peel strength of 0.2 to 0.7 kN/m corresponding to the second insulating material with respect to the wiring; nor having a surface roughness of 40 to 80 nm of the wiring part after exposure to the first surface treatment; nor the amelioration of the conductivity decrease after the second surface treatment step.
Nothdruft teaches a plurality of methods for promoting adhesion between a Cu surface and an epoxy layer in printed circuit boards [abstract].
Nothdruft teaches a method of promoting interfacial adhesion wherein azole based (that, an organic compound), specifically “GliCap” [see Sec. 2.2.2], which is the same as used by applicant [instant specification para. 0068], can be substituted for “silanol groups”, understood the be descriptive of the method which uses silanes [see Sec. 2.2.1], in order to create adhesion between a copper surface and an epoxy resin.
Ueki teaches a method for producing a multilayer substrate, [0120], thus being in the same field of endeavor as Akai. Ueki teaches that the interconnect pattern had a line width of 15 micron and a line-to-line spacing of 15 microns [0251].
Prior to the filing of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the use of a silanol based adhesion promoter, as per Akai, could be substituted for the use of GliCap azole based derivatives, as per Nothdruft, in order to arrive at a method of producing a printed circuit board using an organic compound as a first surface treatment with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have incorporated the teachings of Ueki into Akai in view of Nothdruft to produce patterned features with 15-micron line widths as one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to try (MPEP 2143 I E). Additionally, as the combined method for forming a printed circuit board as per Akai in view of Nothdruft features the same process steps including the use of the same of second surface treatment agent as the instant application, and applicant teaches that the peel strength and surface roughness result from the “fine etching” of the GLiCAP [see 0044] and the conductivity increase results from removing the first surface treatment from the surface of the exposed wiring part [see 0012 and 0048], it is understood that the process of forming a calcined layer; forming a peel strength of 0.2 to 0.7 kN/m; having a surface roughness of 40 to 80 nm the wiring part after exposure to the GLiCAP; and the amelioration of the conductivity decrease as taught as a matter of inherency (see MPEP 2112).
Regarding Claim 4, Akai teaches a “desmear treatment” [0041] is applied to “remove residue remaining in the opening portions formed in the solder resist layer” (corresponding to the second surface treatment) in which a “silane coupling agent” [0039] (corresponding to the first surface treatment) is being removed.
Regarding Claim 7, as demonstrated above, Akai in view of Nothdruft teaches a multilayer printed circuit board that meets the limitations required by Claim 1.
However, Akai in view of Nothdruft does not teach a step of removing residues between the steps of forming the first insulating layer and the step of depositing a metallic seed layer.
Ueki teaches a method for producing a multilayer circuit board, featuring a desmear method. After boring holes on a supporting substrate, forming an insulating layer, and depositing a metal layer, a desmear treatment using plasma etching and an acidic solution can remove the metal or metal ion on the insulating layer and resin residues deposited on the bottom of the holes [0023 and 0243-0244]. Following the removal of the residues by the desmear method, an electroless plating step is employed [0246]. Doing a desmear method improves the adhesion of the metal film and the insulating layers [0006-0007]. Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have incorporated the teachings of Ueki into Akai in view of Nothdruft in order that the base device of the printed circuit board would be improved in a predictable and obvious way by the addition of the desmearing method taught by Ueki to improve the reliability of the printed circuit board performance. (MPEP 2144 I C).
Regarding Claim 8, Akai teaches a photosensitive resin was used to create the solder resist layer and subsequent openings, after a photomask was applied and UV radiation was exposed to develop the layer. [0069-0070].
Regarding Claim 10, Akai teaches that the interlayer resin, corresponding to the first insulating layer, may be a thermosetting resin [0028] and that solder resist layer may be formed of a thermosetting resin [0097]. As applicant notes in their specification (Pg. 15), the first insulating material layer may be a “thermosetting resin” which is understood to be equivalent to the teaching of Akai.
However, Akai does not teach that the first and second insulating layers are the same material.
Prior to the filing of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that of the list of materials from which the first and second insulating materials may be selected choosing both the first and second insulating layers to both be a thermosetting resin would have been obvious to try, as it would result in the predictable formation of a multi-layered circuit board with multiple layers of insulating material (see MPEP 2143 E).
Regarding Claim 11, Akai teaches that after forming the openings in the second insulating layer, the solder resist composition layer was cured through heat treatment, such as at 150 °C for 1 hour [0070]. Notably, applicant indicates that the required glass transition can be a temperature between 30 and 250 °C (Specification of the instant application, [0050]). As the device taught by Akai is the same as the instant claim, it is understood that under the principle of inherency, as Akai teaches the same method of heating above a glass temperature after exposing a pad surface, Akai inherently discloses that a calcined layer will form at the interface between the wiring part and the second insulating layer material (see MPEP 2112.02 I).
Conclusion
NATHANAEL JASON. DOWNES
Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/NATHANAEL JASON DOWNES/
Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759