Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application (371 of PCT/GB2021/051965, filed 07/29/2021) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority (GB2011836.0, filed 07/30/2020) under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed 11 May 2026 have been entered. Claims 15, 22, 28, 31, 32, and 40 have been amended; Claims 1-6, 9, 12, 24, 78, 81-83, and 90 have been withdrawn; and Claims 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25-27, 29, 30, 33-39, 41-77, 79, 80, 84-89, 91, and 92 have been canceled. Claims 1-7, 9, 12, 15, 18, 20, 22, 24, 28, 31, 32, 40, 78, 81-83, and 90 are pending.
Regarding the Claim Objections of Claims 15 and 40, Applicant’s amendments are sufficient; these objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections of Claims 22, 28, 31, and 32 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, Applicant’s amendments are sufficient; these rejections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections of Claim(s) 15, 18, 20, 22, 28, and 40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAKKER et al. (US 2006/0182808 A1) in view of WILLIAMS et al. (WO 2019/092461 A1), Applicant’s amendments are insufficient; these rejections have been maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 May 2026 (Remarks, pg. 14-20) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding “Claim Rejections 35 USC §103”, specifically the rejections of Claims 15, 18, 20, 22, 28, and 40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAKKER et al. (US 2006/0182808 A1) in view of WILLIAMS et al. (WO 2019/092461 A1) (pg. 14-18), Applicant makes the following statements:
“The teaching of Bakker focusses on achieving high purities in bulk crystallisation. This contrasts with the present invention which is focussed on creating bioavailable versions of sparingly soluble species” (pg. 15, par. 1);
“the timescales utilised by Bakker seem to be very long, e.g. up to 24 hours” (pg. 15, par. 4);
“the method of the present invention provides a surprising improvement in particle size distribution (span)… [t]his contrasts with a significantly higher particle size distribution (span) achieved by Bakker of from 1.5 to 3” (pg. 16, par. 2-3);
“Bakker does not teach the importance of laminar flow, characterised by Reynolds number, nor does Bakker provide the inner diameter of the membrane used… in contrast with the teaching of the present invention where laminar mixing of liquid phase is achieved” (pg. 17, par. 1-2);
“the present invention allows for the use of an insert, either a straight or a tapered insert” (pg. 17, par. 3), i.e., straight or tapered inserts would provide “effective laminar mixing” and assist in providing consistent mixing at higher flowrates; and
“Williams does not teach the effectiveness of the disclosed membrane emulsification equipment for laminar mixing of miscible liquids” (pg. 18, par. 1).
For these reasons, Applicant argues the rejections be withdrawn (pg. 18, par. 2).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claimed invention requires a method of preparing solid particles; no limitation addresses preparing “bioavailable versions of sparingly soluble species”. At best, dependent claims require pharmaceutically active compounds, bioactive agents, nutraceuticals, and polymers, of which BAKKER discloses steroid hormones. Similarly, no claim limitation addresses “timescales”, particle size distributions, or laminar flow.
Even further, the claims do not require an insert, much less “a straight or a tapered insert”. Claim 15 only optionally claims an insert.
Finally, the statement regarding WILLIAMS not teaching laminar mixing is irrelevant. The rejections of Claims 15, 18, 20, 22, 28, and 40 relied on WILLIAMS teaching the structure of the membrane module, not whether the membrane module provides laminar flow. And, as noted earlier, no limitation is directed to or requires laminar flow be achieved in the module. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding “Claim Rejections 35 USC §103”, specifically the rejections of Claims 31 and 32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAKKER et al. (US 2006/0182808 A1) in view of WILLIAMS et al. (WO 2019/092461 A1) and KOILKONDA (US 2006/0111417) (pg. 18-19), Applicant makes the following statements:
Regarding the combination of KOILKONDA with the previously cited art, “there is no motivation for the person skilled in the art to consider alternative methods, including the membrane emulsification techniques of the present invention” (pg. 18, par. 7); and
“the disclosure of Koilkonda teaches away from the present invention” (pg. 18, par. 8), i.e., KOILKONDA does not disclose nor teach amorphous telmisartan because KOILKONDA disclose preparation of amorphous telmisartan by spray drying or agitated thin film drying techniques” (par. spanning pg. 18-19).
For these reasons, Applicant argues KOILKONDA does not disclose a process for preparing amorphous telmisartan in congruence with the claimed invention.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant cited p0026 of KOILKONDA as supposedly teaching away from the claimed invention. However, it is noted that KOILKONDA cites a process of producing amorphous telmisartan as a preferred embodiment, i.e., “such as by spray drying or agitated thin film drying techniques”. There is no requirement by KOILKONDA to prepare amorphous telmisartan in such a disclosed manner. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments (In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971)). “A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use” (In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994); MPEP §2123 II).
Even further, as noted in the rejection, BAKKER discloses an improved process for addressing conventional morphological instabilities commonly observed in conventional precipitation methods, such as those suggested by KOILKONDA (p0003). Thus, any one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare amorphous telmisartan by removing antisolvent as taught by KOILKONDA in the process disclosed or made obvious by BAKKER.
For these reasons, Applicant’s arguments requesting withdrawal of the rejections are insufficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 18, 20, 22, 28, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAKKER et al. (US 2006/0182808 A1) in view of WILLIAMS et al. (WO 2019/092461 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, BAKKER discloses an antisolvent solidification process (abstract) to produce solid particles of pharmaceutical compounds in amorphous form (p0025). The process entails a first liquid medium comprising at least one dissolved organic or inorganic compound being forced through a membrane into antisolvents (or vice versa) to yield the desired solid particles (i.e., dispersing a first liquid phase in a second liquid phase; said first liquid phase comprises a solution of the compound and said second liquid phase comprises an antisolvent phase; or said first liquid phase comprises an antisolvent and said second liquid phase comprises a solution of the compound; p0068).
BAKKER further discloses the membrane is preferably in tubular shape (p0045) and is positioned inside a membrane module between one or more inlets for the liquid medium comprising the at least one dissolved organic or inorganic compound and one or more inlets for the antisolvents and further comprises an outlet for the produced solid particles (i.e., a crossflow emulsification apparatus; an outer tubular sleeve provided with a first inlet at a first end; a particle outlet; and a second inlet, distal from… the first inlet; p0046). The membrane is further porous so as to allow for the liquid medium to form droplets (i.e., a tubular membrane provided with a plurality of pores and adapted to be positioned inside the tubular sleeve; p0047). BAKKER further discloses that among other factors, the size of the droplets is dependent on the liquid medium flow rate and the antisolvent flowrate (i.e., controlling provision of the first liquid phase to the tubular membrane; and controlling provision of a second liquid phase to the tubular membrane via the plurality of pores to form solid particles of the compound.; p0048).
However, BAKKER is deficient in disclosing further specifics of the membrane module, i.e., wherein the second inlet of the outer tubular sleeve is distal from and inclined relative to the first inlet, an optional insert adapted to be located inside the tubular membrane, said insert comprising an inlet end and an outlet end, each of the inlet end and an outlet end being provided with chamfered region; the chamfered region is provided with a plurality of orifices and a furcation plate.
WILLIAMS discloses a cross-flow apparatus for producing an emulsion or dispersion by dispersing a first phase in a second phase (abstract) for pharmaceutical products (pg. 1, lines 24-25). The apparatus comprises an outer tubular sleeve 2 provided with a first inlet 3 at a first end 4; an emulsion outlet 5; and second inlet 7, distal from and inclined relative to the first inlet (i.e., a second inlet, distal from and inclined relative to the first inlet; pg. 5, lines 1-5; FIG. 1(a)). The apparatus further optionally includes an insert 10 adapted to be located inside a tubular membrane that is provided inside the tubular sleeve, said insert comprising an inlet end and an outlet end, each of the inlet end and an outlet end being provided with a chamfered region 12 and 13; the chamfered region is provided with a plurality of orifices 17a, b and a furcation plate (i.e., optionally an insert adapted to be located inside the tubular membrane, said insert comprising an inlet end and an outlet end, each of the inlet end and an outlet end being provided with chamfered region; the chamfered region is provided with a plurality of orifices and a furcation plate; pg. 5, lines 8-11; FIGs. 2-4).
Advantageously, the positioning of the second inlet at an incline relative to the first inlet in that at the start of injection, the dispersed phase can steadily displace the continuous phase rather than mix due to density differences (pg. 8, lines 6-15). Advantageously, the optional insert allows for a variance in the spacing between the insert and the tubular membrane to control the desired size of the droplets formed (pg. 6, lines 9-11). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to position the second inlet inclined from the first inlet and to provide an optional insert as taught by WILLIAMS for the antisolvent solidification process of pharmaceutical compounds disclosed by BAKKER.
Regarding Claims 18 and 20, modified BAKKER makes obvious the method of Claim 15. BAKKER further discloses the method prepares solid particles of pharmaceutical compounds in amorphous form (p0025).
Regarding Claims 22 and 28, modified BAKKER makes obvious the method of Claim 15. BAKKER further discloses the method prepares pharmaceutical compounds including pharmaceutically active compounds (p0075), including, e.g., steroid hormones (p0027).
Regarding Claim 40, modified BAKKER makes obvious the method of Claim 15. As noted in the rejection of Claim 15, WILLIAMS further teaches an insert for the cross-flow apparatus.
Claim(s) 31 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAKKER et al. (US 2006/0182808 A1) in view of WILLIAMS et al. (WO 2019/092461 A1), as applied to Claim 28 above, and further in view of KOILKONDA et al. (US 2006/0111417 A1).
Regarding Claims 31 and 32, modified BAKKER makes obvious the method of Claim 28. Modified BAKKER is deficient in disclosing the pharmaceutically active compound is an antihypertensive agent, e.g., telmisartan, or that the antihypertensive agent is in amorphous form.
KOILKONDA discloses a process for preparing amorphous telmisartan (abstract; p0013-0014). The process involves dissolving a solution of telmisartan in a suitable organic solvent (p0027) such that the telmisartan is uniformly admixed and shaped into a desired form (p0038). While KOILKONDA discloses other methods of preparing amorphous telmisartan, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to apply the method of modified BAKKER for preparing amorphous pharmaceutical active ingredients to the preparation of amorphous telmisartan as disclosed by KOILKONDA. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective, individual functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP §2143.01 A). Even further, as noted by BAKKER, the disclosed antisolvent solidification process advantageously addresses morphological instabilities commonly observed in conventional methods of precipitation taught by KOILKONDA (p0003); thus, BAKKER discloses a solidification process that improves on the preparation of amorphous pharmaceutical active ingredients (p0025), such as telmisartan disclosed by KOILKONDA. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2143.01 D).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777