DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 15 there are several instances of a range within range, e.g. “from 5 to 35 weight % (or from 10 to 30 weight %)”. This renders the claim indefinite as it is not clear if the more narrow range is required.
Claim 15 recites 5-70 weight % sodium feldspar, but the claim on which it depends does not require sodium feldspar, thus it is unclear if claim 15 refers to the same feldspar or if others are present.
Claim 19 contains a trademark. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4,5,8,12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terashi et al. (US 6,232,251).
Terashi et al. discloses a glass ceramic material comprising a crystalline phase which comprises diopside crystal phase, a quartz phase and a glass phase. See claim 1.
Claim(s) 1,10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111170641 A.
CN 111170641 A discloses a white glass ceramic stone which comprises a diopside phase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,6,7,19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terashi et al. (US 6,232,251).
Terashi et al. discloses a quartz phase in an amount of 1-50% which overlaps claimed “unavoidable impurity” amount of less than 3 w%. (col.4, line 23) and discloses the glass phase is present at less than 30%
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05 I.
Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the material discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terashi et al. (US 6,232,251) as applied to claims ) 3,6,7,19 and 20 above, and further in view of Seneschal-Merz et al. (US 2007/0281851).
Seneschal-Merz et al. teaches that denser bodies can be produced when particles to be sintered have a bimodal particle size distribution [0096][0097]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to create particles with a bimodal distribution in order to produce an article with desired properties.
With respect to claimed particle sizes, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In this particular case it is submitted that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum particle sizes. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05 II A
Claim(s) 13,15,16,17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3075714 A1.
EP 3075714 A1 discloses a method for forming a glass ceramic material comprising: providing dolomite, quartz and feldspar to form a mixture; and heating the mixture to a temperature of from 980 to 1280°C.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05 I.
With respect to the claimed heating temperature, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05 I.
With respect to claim the claimed ingredient amounts and heating time, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In this particular case it is submitted that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum heating time. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05 II A
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3075714 A1 as applied to claims 13,15,16,17 and 18 above, and further in view of CN 102746031.
CN 102746031 teaches adding sodium silicate to glass ceramic raw materials as a water reducer (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add this ingredient to the raw materials of EP 3075714 A1 in view of this teaching.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A FIORILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731