Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McPherson (PGPub No. 20180206359) in further view of Beaupre (US Patent No. 8076696) and Lindemann (DE 10122837).
Regarding claim 13, McPherson teaches a power semiconductor module, comprising: a power semiconductor circuit including a first contact electrode and a second contact electrode which are each electrically conductively connected to the power semiconductor circuit (Fig. 10 and [0109] point to one or more edge power contacts 608 (first contact electrode; second contact electrode) which may be soldered, ultrasonically welded, or the like (electrically conductively connected) directly to a power substrate 606 (power semiconductor circuit).); and a housing which at least partially surrounds the power semiconductor circuit, the first and second contact electrodes each being guided outward through the housing through a recess in the housing (Figs. 4a, 4b, and 10 point to a housing comprised of sidewalls 612, a lid 618, and unlabeled recesses through which the power contacts 608 (first contact electrode; second contact electrode) are guided through and out of the housing.); wherein the housing includes a first contacting region, a second contacting region and a third contacting region (Figs. 4a and 4b point to terminal 106 (first contacting region), terminal 108 (third contacting region), and terminal 110 (second contacting region).).
McPherson fails to teach wherein the first contact electrode is contactable in the first contacting region and the second contact electrode is contactable in the second contacting region, the first contact electrode and the second contact electrode being contactable together in the third contacting region; wherein the housing includes a recess in each of the contacting regions into which a threaded part is inserted, wherein the recesses, and the threaded part, are configured to receive a screw to contact the contact electrodes in each contacting region with an external voltage/current source, on an outer face of the housing; and wherein the contact electrodes also have a recess for receiving the screw.
Beaupre teaches wherein the first contact electrode is contactable in the first contacting region and the second contact electrode is contactable in the second contacting region, the first contact electrode and the second contact electrode being contactable together in the third contacting region (Fig. 15 points to a power module 300 comprising a first flange 390 (first contact electrode), a positive terminal 342 (first contacting region), a second flange 392 (second contact electrode), a negative terminal 344 (second contacting region) and an output terminal 346 (third contacting region).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McPherson and Beaupre, such that the first and second contact electrodes are contactable in the third contacting region in order to reduce parasitic inductance by minimizing the distance(s) between the contact electrodes.
McPherson et al. still fails to teach wherein the housing includes a recess in each of the contacting regions into which a threaded part is inserted, wherein the recesses, and the threaded part, are configured to receive a screw to contact the contact electrodes in each contacting region with an external voltage/current source, on an outer face of the housing; and wherein the contact electrodes also have a recess for receiving the screw.
Lindemann teaches wherein the housing includes a recess in each of the contacting regions into which a threaded part is inserted, wherein the recesses, and the threaded part, are configured to receive a screw to contact the contact electrodes in each contacting region with an external voltage/current source, on an outer face of the housing; and wherein the contact electrodes also have a recess for receiving the screw (Figs. 3 and 4 point to a power semiconductor comprising nuts 14 and 15 (threaded part) which serve as screw connections for screws 22 and 23 respectively.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McPherson et al. and Lindemann, such that each contact between a contact electrode and a respective contacting region is aided by a screw in order to improve the physical stability of the contact and ensure a stable electrical connection.
Regarding claim 14, McPherson teaches wherein the power semiconductor module has an integer multiple of first and second contact electrodes and an integer multiple of three contacting regions; and wherein the contact electrodes and the contacting regions are each configured on the housing according to claim 13 (Figs. 4a, 4b, and 10 point to one or more edge power contacts 608 (first contact electrode; second contact electrode), terminal 106 (first contacting region), terminal 108 (third contacting region), terminal 110 (second contacting region), and a housing comprised of sidewalls 612 and a lid 618.).
Regarding claim 15, McPherson teaches wherein the first contact electrode and the second contact electrode are each bendable around two edges of the housing (Fig. 10 and [0109] point to one or more edge power contacts 608 (first contact electrode; second contact electrode).).
Regarding claim 16, McPherson teaches wherein the first contact electrode and the second contact electrode are each bendable around two edges of the housing (Fig. 10 and [0109] point to one or more edge power contacts 608 (first contact electrode; second contact electrode).).
Regarding claim 17, McPherson teaches wherein the edges have a rounding to facilitate bending of the contact electrodes (Fig. 4b and 10 point to edge power contacts 608 contact electrodes) corresponding to terminals 106 and 110 which are shown with rounded edges.).
Regarding claim 18, McPherson teaches wherein the contact electrodes in a region of the recesses, through which the contact electrodes are guided outward through the housing, are surrounded by an electrically insulating material (Fig. 10 and [0113] point to the housing sidewalls 612, which may provide electrical insulation.).
Regarding claim 19, McPherson teaches wherein the recesses in the contact electrodes are each configured as a longitudinally extended hole (Figs. 4a, 4b, and 10 point to a housing comprised of sidewalls 612, a lid 618, and unlabeled recesses through which the power contacts 608 (first contact electrode; second contact electrode) are guided through and out of the housing.).
Regarding claim 20, McPherson teaches wherein the housing in the third contacting region, in which the first contact electrode and the second contact electrode is contactable, has a smaller thickness than in the first contacting region and in the second contacting region (Figs. 4a and 4b point to terminal 106 (first contacting region), terminal 108 (third contacting region), and terminal 110 (second contacting region). The disclosure does not appear to lend any criticality or significance to the third contacting region having a smaller thickness than the other regions and, as such, is deemed a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, said configuration is deemed a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).).
Regarding claim 21, McPherson teaches wherein the housing in the first contacting region has a thickness which differs from a thickness in the second contacting region (Figs. 4a and 4b point to terminal 106 (first contacting region) and terminal 110 (second contacting region). The disclosure does not appear to lend any criticality or significance to the first and second contacting regions having differing thicknesses and, as such, is deemed a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, said configuration is deemed a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).).
Regarding claim 22, Lindemann teaches wherein the housing is configured substantially rectangular with four large-area longitudinal sides and two smaller-area end faces; and wherein the contacting regions are located in a central region of one side of the four large-area longitudinal sides (Figs. 1 and 2 point to a housing 2 and connection elements 3, 4, and 5 (contacting regions).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McPherson et al. and Lindemann, such that the housing is configured into a rectangular shape with a central region in order to provide physical stability and protection for the contacting regions and/or the underlying circuitry.
Regarding claim 23, McPherson teaches a housing for a power semiconductor module, wherein the power semiconductor module is configured according to one of claim 13 (Figs. 4a, 4b, and 10 point to a power module 100 and a housing comprised of sidewalls 612 and a lid 618.).
Regarding claim 24, McPherson teaches a power semiconductor module system with a plurality of power semiconductor modules, configured according to claim 13 (Fig. 20 points to a partial exemplary implementation (power semiconductor module system) comprising three power modules 100.).
Regarding claim 25, McPherson teaches a method for producing a power semiconductor module, comprising: a) producing a power semiconductor circuit including a first contact electrode and a second contact electrode which are each electrically conductively connected to the power semiconductor circuit (Fig. 10 points to a power module 100 comprising a circuit made up of a substrate 606, power devices 302, and switches 104, and one or more edge power contacts 608 (first contact electrode; second contact electrode).); b) connecting a first contact electrode and a second contact electrode with the power semiconductor circuit via soldering or ultrasound welding (Fig. 10 and [0109] point to the one or more edge power contacts 608 (first contact electrode; second contact electrode) which may be soldered, ultrasonically welded, or the like directly to the power substrate 606 (power semiconductor circuit).); and c) surrounding at least partially the power semiconductor circuit with a housing, the first and second contact electrodes each being guided outward through the housing through a recess in the housing (Figs. 4a, 4b, and 10 point to a housing comprised of sidewalls 612, a lid 618, and unlabeled recesses through which the power contacts 608 (first contact electrode; second contact electrode) are guided through and out of the housing.), and the housing including a first contacting region, a second contacting region, and a third contacting region (Figs. 4a and 4b point to terminal 106 (first contacting region), terminal 108 (third contacting region), and terminal 110 (second contacting region).); wherein the first contact electrode is bent and contacted with an external voltage/current source in the first contacting region or in the third contacting region (Figs. 7 and 10 point to the edge power contact 608 (first contact electrode) and the V+ terminal 106 (first contacting region).); and wherein the second contact electrode is bent and contacted with an external voltage/current source in the second contacting region or in the third contacting region (Id. points to the edge power contact 608 (second contact electrode) and the output terminal 110 (second contacting region)).
McPherson fails to teach wherein the first contact electrode is contactable in the first contacting region and the second contact electrode is contactable in the second contacting region, the first and second contact electrodes being contactable together in the third contacting region; wherein the housing includes a recess in each of the contacting regions into which a threaded part is inserted; wherein the recesses, and the threaded part, are configured to receive a screw to contact the contact electrodes in each contacting region with the external voltage/current source, on an outer face of the housing; wherein the contact electrodes also have a recess for receiving the screw; and wherein each contact occurs aided by the screw.
Beaupre teaches wherein the first contact electrode is contactable in the first contacting region and the second contact electrode is contactable in the second contacting region, the first contact electrode and the second contact electrode being contactable together in the third contacting region (Fig. 15 points to a power module 300 comprising a first flange 390 (first contact electrode), a positive terminal 342 (first contacting region), a second flange 392 (second contact electrode), a negative terminal 344 (second contacting region) and an output terminal 346 (third contacting region).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McPherson and Beaupre, such that the first and second contact electrodes are contactable in the third contacting region in order to reduce parasitic inductance by minimizing the distance(s) between the contact electrodes.
McPherson et al. still fails to teach wherein the housing includes a recess in each of the contacting regions into which a threaded part is inserted; wherein the recesses, and the threaded part, are configured to receive a screw to contact the contact electrodes in each contacting region with the external voltage/current source, on an outer face of the housing; wherein the contact electrodes also have a recess for receiving the screw; and wherein each contact occurs aided by the screw.
Lindemann teaches wherein the housing includes a recess in each of the contacting regions into which a threaded part is inserted; wherein the recesses, and the threaded part, are configured to receive a screw to contact the contact electrodes in each contacting region with the external voltage/current source, on an outer face of the housing; wherein the contact electrodes also have a recess for receiving the screw; and wherein each contact occurs aided by the screw (Figs. 3 and 4 point to a power semiconductor comprising nuts 14 and 15 (threaded part) which serve as screw connections for screws 22 and 23 respectively.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McPherson et al. and Lindemann, such that each contact between a contact electrode and a respective contacting region is aided by a screw in order to improve the physical stability of the contact and ensure a stable electrical connection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13 and 25 (along with any dependent claims) under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of McPherson et al. in further view of Beaupre (US Patent No. 8076696).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK CULLEN/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899