DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0048245 A1 (herein “Knafl”).
Regarding claim 1. Knafl discloses a heat exchanger process (Figs. 3 and 4) using a heat exchanger (Figs. 3 and 4 – 100), the process comprising: contacting a surface of a heat exchanger with a fluid by transporting the fluid (Fig. 3 shows transporting of exhaust gas fluid) through the heat exchanger (shown in Fig. 3); and transferring heat between the surface and the fluid (inherent function of a heat exchanger); wherein the transporting is at a rate of less than 2 m/s ([0041]), and wherein the process is capable of being practiced with a heat exchanger having a surface that includes a silicon-containing fouling-resistant coating.
Regarding claim 5. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the fluid includes particles known to cause fouling (exhaust gas includes particles known to cause fouling).
Regarding claim 6. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the fluid includes corrosion products known to cause fouling (exhaust gas includes corrosion products known to cause fouling).
Regarding claim 7. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the fluid includes crystals known to cause fouling ([0026] diesel exhaust gas includes crystals known to cause fouling).
Regarding claim 9. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the fluid includes non-homogenous materials known to cause fouling (exhaust gas includes non-homogenous materials known to cause fouling).
Regarding claim 10. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the fluid includes impure materials known to cause fouling (exhaust gas includes impure materials known to cause fouling).
Regarding claim 11. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the fluid flows at a first rate, then a second rate, the first rate differing from the second rate by at least 1 m/s ([0041] discloses a flow rate of 1 m/s and [0040] discloses employing short periods of negative flow which would constitute a change of at least 1 m/s).
Regarding claim 12. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, which can be practiced with a heat exchanger having a surface which has a roughness that causes fouling in the absence of a fouling-resistant coating.
Regarding claim 13. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, which can be practiced with a heat exchanger having a shell and one or more tubes with said surface within the shell.
Regarding claim 14. Knafl discloses the process of claim 13, which can be practiced with a shell heat exchanger having segmented baffles arranged at a distance of less than one fifth of a diameter of the shell.
Regarding claim 15. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, which can be practiced with a low-finned tube heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 16. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, which can be practiced with a plate heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 17. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, wherein the fluid is a gas (exhaust gas).
Regarding claim 19. Knafl discloses the process of claim 1, which can be practiced with a fouling-resistant coating of amorphous silicon, hydrogen, and carbon.
Regarding claim 20. Knafl discloses a heat exchanger process (Figs. 3 and 4) using a heat exchanger (Figs. 3 and 4 – 100), the process comprising: contacting a surface with a fluid by transporting the fluid (Fig. 3 shows transporting of exhaust gas fluid) through the heat exchanger (shown in Fig. 3); and transferring heat between the surface and the fluid (inherent function of a heat exchanger); wherein the process is capable of being practiced with a heat exchanger having a surface that includes a silicon-containing fouling-resistant coating; and wherein the fluid includes particles known to cause fouling (exhaust gas includes particles known to cause fouling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knafl in view of US 2013/0140006 A1 (herein “Johnson”).
Regarding claims 2-4. Knafl does not explicitly disclose the use of laminar and turbulent flows.
Johnson discloses a heat transfer process transporting a fluid contacting a surface (Figs. 1 and 2) utilizing one or more of laminar and turbulent flow ([0011]). Johnson also discloses fluid velocity has a significant effect on heat transfer, laminar flows having a lower heat transfer than turbulent flows, and that turbulent heat transfer is preferred over laminar if the material can withstand turbulent flow without degradation and if turbulent flow is economically feasible ([0006]).
Johnson establishes that laminar flow is more economically feasible than turbulent flow, but that turbulent flow provides improved heat transfer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Knafl with the teachings of Johnson to perform routine experimentation on the fluid flow profiles including laminar flow, turbulent flow, and laminar and turbulent flow, in an attempt to provide an improved heat exchange process.
Regarding claim 2. The combined teachings of Knafl and Johnson disclose the process of claim 1, wherein the transporting includes the fluid having laminar and turbulent flow (Johnson – routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 3. The combined teachings of Knafl and Johnson disclose the process of claim 1, wherein the transporting consists of laminar flow (Johnson – routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 4. The combined teachings of Knafl and Johnson disclose the process of claim 1, wherein the transporting consists of the fluid having turbulent flow (Johnson – routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 8. Knafl does not disclose the use of biological material known to cause fouling.
Johnson discloses that the heat exchange process can be performed with a fluid comprising biological materials ([0097], [0191]) which are known to cause fouling.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the heat exchange process of Knafl with the biological material fluid teachings of Johnson in order to provide the improved fouling heat exchange process to fluids beyond just exhaust gases.
Regarding claim 18. Knafl does not disclose the use of a liquid fluid.
Johnson discloses that the heat exchange process can be performed with a fluid that either a gas or liquid (abstract, [0031], [0032]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the heat exchange process of Knafl with the liquid fluid teachings of Johnson in order to provide the improved fouling heat exchange process to fluids beyond just exhaust gases.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s arguments that the Knafl reference fails to disclose the claimed heat exchanger process, the Examiner disagrees.
Applicant’s arguments are drawn to the structural limitation “wherein the surface includes a silicon-containing fouling-resistant coating”. The claimed process does involve positioning of the surface structure, but none of the claimed steps specifically involve the coating structure. As currently claimed, the presence of the coating does not materially alter the claimed process steps, and the process disclosed by Knafl is capable of being performed on a surface having a silicon-coating fouling-resistant coating. The process being performed is identical even if the structural limitation – “wherein the surface includes a silicon-containing fouling-resistant coating” – is omitted.
MPEP 2106.03 I.
A process defines "actions", i.e., an invention that is claimed as an act or step, or a series of acts or steps. As explained by the Supreme Court, a "process" is "a mode of treatment of certain materials to produce a given result. It is an act, or a series of acts, performed upon the subject-matter to be transformed and reduced to a different state or thing."
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763