DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Paragraph [0101] of the published version of the specification teaches that the humidification treatment and the drying treatment can be performed under the same temperature and humidity, and in this case, the humidification treatment and the drying treatment can be performed at the same time. For the purposes of examination, it is considered that the hardening treatment and drying treatment can occur at the same time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO2007/077970 (SHIBATA).
SHIBATA teaches at pg. 19, lines 23-28 teaches the use of low humidity and high temperature to produce a solid milk product. The humidity is 0%RH-30%RH. The temperature can be 20°C-150°C. This overlaps the temperature of the humidification and drying treatments. No other parameters for the drying treatment are recited. Paragraph [0101] of the published version of the specification teaches that the humidification treatment and the drying treatment can be performed under the same temperature and humidity, and in this case, the humidification treatment and the drying treatment can be performed at the same time. For the purposes of examination, it is considered that the hardening treatment and drying treatment can occur at the same time. The recited humidification treatment occurs at “a temperature of higher than 100oC and 330oC or lower” and drying treatment”. The drying treatment occurs “a temperature of higher than 80oC and 330oC or lower”. Thus, treatments can occur at the same temperature and would include performing a hardening treatment and a drying treatment on the humidified molded body.
Moreover, the manner in which the solid food or solid milk of the claims is obtained by is a product-by-process recitation. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.).
In the alternative, any slight differences in the solid milk composition of SHIBATA as a result of the recited process steps would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and well within the ordinary level of skill to have produced.
It is also noted that the Patent Office does not have the facilities to measure the claimed hardening index. Applicant has chosen to use parameters that cannot be measured by the Office, for the purpose of prior art comparison, because the office is not equipped to manufacture prior art products and compare them for patentability. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, as a prima facia case of obviousness has been properly established, the burden is shifted to the applicant to show that the prior art product is different.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
CHAURIN is no longer recited.
The applicant argues that Para. [0094] of the specification states that the humidification treatment and the drying treatment can be performed at the same time in some cases. But argues that this does not mean that any drying treatment necessarily also serves as a humidification treatment. It is argued that claim 1 clearly recites a hardening treatment comprising "a humidification treatment on the molded body to obtain a humidified molded body" and "a drying treatment on the humidified molded body".
Paragraph [0101] of the published version of the specification teaches that the humidification treatment and the drying treatment can be performed under the same temperature and humidity, and in this case, the humidification treatment and the drying treatment can be performed at the same time. For the purposes of examination, it is considered that the hardening treatment and drying treatment can occur at the same time. The recited humidification treatment occurs at “a temperature of higher than 100oC and 330oC or lower” and drying treatment”. The drying treatment occurs “a temperature of higher than 80oC and 330oC or lower”. Thus, treatments can occur at the same temperature and would include performing a hardening treatment and a drying treatment on the humidified molded body. Given the breadth of the claims and applicant’s own specification indicates that they can occur at the same time, SHIBATA is revisited.
The applicant also argues that the solid milk of claim 1 recites the two structural features of (i) a hardening index IF represented by Formula (1) of "0.477 mm² or more", and (ii) a content ratio FF of free fat in the solid milk is "1.23% by weight or less". As explained in the Amendment filed July 23, 2025, the comparative experimental results in the specification demonstrate that a humidification treatment on the molded body at a temperature of "higher than 100°C" is a process step that creates the IF and FF structural properties of the claimed solid milk. Accordingly, the process steps recited in claim 1, including the "humidification treatment", impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final solid milk product.
However, the claims recite a particular hardening index “when the solid milk” recites these two structural features. They are only structural requirements for purposes of determining the hardening index.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791