DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites an increase in total crystallization at the surface of the solid food relative to the total crystallization in “an inner part of the solid” food/milk. It is unclear from the claims or applicant’s specification where the “inner part of the solid” food/milk is located such that one of ordinary skill in the art could reproducibly evaluate whether a solid food/milk reads on the scope of the claims.
Claim 3 recites “the inner part of the solid milk refers to a region in which the total crystallization rate does not vary or does not substantially vary before and after the hardening treatment”. It is not possible to determine the total crystallization rate of the solid milk from before the hardening treatment by inspection of the final product recited in claim 3. It is also unclear how much the total crystallization rate may vary in order to “not substantially vary before and after the hardening treatment”. As such, it is not clear what region of the solid milk must be analyzed to determine the crystal ratio in an inner part of the solid milk. Therefore, it is not clear how the value of Yb recited in claim 3 can be reproducibly determined. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shibata USPGPub 20090175998.
Regarding claims 1-4, Shibata teaches a solid milk formed by compression molding. [0053-0065] Shibata is silent regarding the increase in total crystallization rate conforming to the equation recited in claim 3.
Regarding the increase in total crystallization rate, [0022] of applicant’s specification states:
The total crystallization rate is a crystal ratio (% by weight) with respect to the total weight. The increase in total crystallization rate is defined as a difference obtained by subtracting a crystallization rate of crystals present before the hardening treatment from a crystallization rate of the sum of the crystals present before the hardening treatment and crystals increased according to a magnitude of the influence of humidification received in the hardening treatment. The crystallization rate of the crystals present before the hardening treatment corresponds to a crystallization rate of crystals in the inner part of the solid milk having no or substantially no influence of humidification in the present embodiment in the hardening treatment.
[0088] states:
The humidification treatment is a step of subjecting the compression molded body of the powdered milk obtained by the compression molding step to the humidification treatment. When the compression molded body of the powdered milk is humidified, tackiness is generated on the surface of the compression molded body of the powdered milk. As a result, some of the powder particles in the vicinity of the surface of the compression molded body of the powdered milk become a liquid or a gel and are cross-linked to each other. Then, by performing drying in this state, the strength in the vicinity of the surface of the compression molded body of the powdered milk can be increased as compared to the strength of the inner part.
Applicant’s specification discloses performing the humidification treatment at a relative humidity of 100% or less to an amount of humidification of 0.5-3wt%. ([0090,0095] of applicant’s specification)
Shibata teaches “By humidifying the compressed powdered milk, a part of the particle in the vicinity of the surface of the compressed powdered milk melts to be bridged. Thus the strength in the vicinity of the surface of the compressed powdered milk is increased”. [0067] Shibata teaches performing humidification at a relative humidity of 100% or less to an amount of humidification of 0.5-3wt%. [0068-0069]
Given that Shibata teaches a solid milk formed by compression molding powdered milk followed by humidification treatment at the same relative humidity to the same amount of humidification identified by applicant as yielding the increase in total crystallization rate claimed, it necessarily follows that the solid milk of Shibata meets the functional limitations of claim 3, or in the alternative, the disclosure of Shibata is sufficient to render claim 3 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s assertions on page 3 of the remarks are addressed in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above.
Applicant’s assertions on page 4 of the remarks have been considered, however, it is noted that “the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record”, In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). It is the examiner’s position that the arguments provided by the applicant regarding the differences between the claims and Shibata must be supported by a declaration or affidavit. As set forth in MPEP 716.02(g), “the reason for requiring evidence in a declaration or affidavit form is to obtain the assurances that any statements or representations made are correct, as provided by 35 U.S.C. 24 and 18 U.S.C. 1001”. As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. [citation omitted] Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793