DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I invention (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 09/02/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5 and 6 are thus withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/02/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation of “between 30 °C and 80 °C” and the claim also recites “preferably between 50 °C and 70 °C”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 4 recites “the phosphogypsum is obtained from an attack of natural phosphate by sulfuric acid”, such recited language of “an attack of natural phosphate by sulfuric acid” is generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. Therefore, such limitation renders confusion for one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hansen et al. (EP2149542) (for applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been used for citations hereof) in view of Sakharov (SU709533) (for applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been used for citations hereof).
Hansen et al. teaches a process of preparing obtaining calcium carbonate and ammonium sulfate comprising introducing ammonia and carbon dioxide gases into an aqueous gypsum suspension to form an aqueous ammonium sulfate solution containing calcium carbonate, separating and removing of insoluble precipitated calcium carbonate crystals via (claim 1, 4, 6, Fig. 1, para. [0006], [0026]-[0028] ) by sedimentation and/or filtration from the ammonium sulfate solution (obtaining a filtrate containing ammonium sulfate is expected), concentrating the ammonium sulfate solution to the saturation limit by heating and/or creating a vacuum, e.g. by evaporating water components in the ammonium sulfate solution (para.[0006], [0029],[0032], [0033]), drying of the separated insoluble calcium carbonate and/or insoluble ammonium sulfate to obtain ammonium sulfate and calcium carbonate product.
Hansen et al. also teaches liquid phase of organic waste from fermenter (item B1) being fed into the feed tank (item B3, Fig. 1), pumped into filter combination (item F2, F3) filtering out the residue solid, then going through heat exchanging, the liquid phase being evaporated in evaporator (item R1, R2) thus evaporated gases NH3, CO2 and water vapor together with dried phase of NH3 gas entering the reactor K1 at the bottom of the reactor which contains aqueous gypsum suspension which is pumped into the reactor from top of the reactor K1 from C1 (para. [0009]-[0021]). As for the claimed mixing the ammonia gas and carbon dioxide gas in a mixer, since Hansen et al. already teaches ammonia gas and carbon dioxide gas both being evaporated out of both evaporator R1 and evaporator R2 and such gases are combined (i.e. already mixed in the evaporator R1 and R2), before entering reactor K1, therefore, mixing the ammonia gas and carbon dioxide gas in a mixer as that of instantly claimed is expected. Additionally, adopting a mixer to mix two gases before them entering reactor only involves routine skill for one of ordinary skill in the art. Since such gases of ammonia and carbon dioxide being introduced from the bottom of the reactor into a liquid suspension of gypsum and gas is less dense than the liquid, therefore, ammonia and carbon dioxide gases would rise, i.e. bubble to the surface of the liquid, i.e. sparging into the liquid suspension.
Regarding claim 1, Hansen et al. already teaches forming an aqueous gypsum suspension wherein dispersing gypsum into water thus obtaining a gypsum liquid suspension is expected. However, Hansen et al. does not expressly teach the gypsum being phosphogypsum.
Sakharov teaches gypsum or phosphogypsum can be treated with dispersed ammonia and carbon dioxide to form ammonium sulfate and calcium carbonate (para [0002], [0004], [0008], example).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute gypsum (as shown by Hansen et al.) with phosphogypsum as shown by Sakharov for producing ammonium sulfate and calcium carbonate with improved filtering properties as suggested by Sakharov because substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 06).
Regarding claim 4, Sakharov already teaches a phosphogypsum obtained from sulfuric acid processing apatite (a natural phosphate) (para. [0009]). Furthermore, the claimed limitation “obtained from an attack of natural phosphate by sulfuric acid” is a product by process limitation, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (See § MPEP §2113). In this case, Sakharov already teaches a same or substantially the same phosphogypsum as that of instantly claimed.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hansen et al. (EP2149542) in view of Sakharov (SU709533) as applied above, and further in view of Ma (CN108408751) (for applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been used for citations hereof).
Hansen et al already teaches using certain flow rate of ammonia gas and carbon dioxide gas.
Regarding claim 2, Hansen et al. in view of Sakharov does not expressly teach gaseous ammonia and carbon dioxide being introduced into the phosphogypsum liquid suspension at a flow rate between 0.5 and 1.5 L/min.
Ma teaches a process of preparing high-purity calcium carbonate using ammonia and carbon dioxide treating phosphogypsum comprising using flow rate of carbon dioxide gas of 150 to 300 mL/min ( i.e. 0.15 to 0.3 L/min) with certain ratio of ammonia being used thereof (page 2 3rd para., example 1-3, claim 1).
Since Hansen et al. already teaches using certain amount of ammonia gas, therefore, the flow rate of ammonia and carbon dioxide gas can be greater than 0.3 L/min, wherein such range overlaps with that of instantly claimed range thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a flow rate of ammonia and carbon dioxide gas (greater than 0.3 L/min), i.e. a same flow rate of ammonia and carbon dioxide gas as that of instantly claimed via routine experimentation (see MPEP §2144. 05 II) for help obtaining desired high purity calcium carbonate and ammonium sulfate as suggested by Ma (page 2 3rd para., example 1-3, claim 1).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hansen et al. (EP2149542) in view of Sakharov (SU709533) as applied above, and further in view of Zhang (CN110877914) (for applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been used for citations hereof).
Hansen et al. already teaches drying the calcium carbonate.
Regarding claim 3, Hansen et al. in view of Sakharov does not expressly the drying temperature being between 30 °C and 80 °C.
Zhang teaches calcium carbonate obtained from using carbon dioxide treating phosphorous gypsum ( i.e. phosphogypsum) can be dried under temperature 60 °C (page 3 section “(3) preparing CaCO3 phosphorus gypsum and CO2 pressurized carbonation”, page 5 section “(3) preparing CaCO3 phosphorus gypsum and CO2 pressurized carbonation” ).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known calcium carbonate drying temperature of 60 °C as shown by Zhang to practice the drying of Hansen et al. in view of Sakharov because applying a known technique of such calcium carbonate drying temperature of 60 °C to a known method of obtaining dried calcium carbonate product for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732