Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot, please refer to rejection below for details .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1, and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 23.700-07 v0.4.0 (2020-06); 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services an stem Aspects; Study on enhanced support of non-public networks (Release 17), 158 pages hereinafter 3GPP in view of Anand (US 11,188,719 B1) and further in view of ZHU (WO 2021/063298 A1).
As per claim 1, 3GPP teaches a method performed by a first core network node of a core network of a wireless communication system for authenticating a user equipment, UE, to the core network (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, a method performed by AUSF (i.e. first core network node) of wireless communication system for authenticating the UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a second core network node, a first authentication request to authenticate the UE to the core network (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, step 9, receiving from AMF (i.e. second core network node) authentication request for authenticating the UE), the first authentication request identifying the UE (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, authentication request with onboarding SUPI (i.e. subscriber permanent identity of the UE or UE ID));
transmitting an authentication get request to a third core network node in response to receiving the first authentication request (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, sending an authentication service request to the DCS (i.e. third core network node) in response to receiving the first authentication request); and receiving an authentication get response from the third core network node comprising an authentication profile for the UE, wherein the authentication profile for the UE indicates that the UE should be authenticated by an external authentication entity (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, receiving an authentication response from DCS comprising SUPI (i.e. authentication profile for the UE) that indicates that the UE should be authenticated by PS); transmitting a second authentication request toward the external authentication entity (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, step 11, sending or transmitting another authentication request toward PS), the second authentication request identifying the UE (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, another authentication request with onboarding SUPI (i.e. subscriber permanent identity of the UE or UE ID)).
However, 3GPP does not explicitly teach determining that the UE should be authenticated by the external authentication entity that is external to the wireless communication system based on the authentication profile for the UE from the third core network node.
In the same field of endeavor, Anand teaches determining that the UE should be authenticated by the external authentication entity that is external to the wireless communication system based on the authentication profile for the UE from the third core network node (Col.5, lines 39-46, determining that mobile device 102 authenticated with the external server based on account or profile of the mobile device provided by an operating system for authentication status with a third-party).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Anand into 3GPP invention of in order to authenticate the user with respect to an organization such as a financial institution to reduce risk of unauthorized transmission and accesses.
However, 3GPP in view of Anand does not explicitly teach receiving, from the external authentication entity, a first authentication response verifying authenticity of the UE and including a key for securing communications with the UE; and transmitting a second authentication response to the second core network node, the second authentication response identifying the UE and including the key for securing communications with the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHU teaches receiving, from the external authentication entity, a first authentication response verifying authenticity of the UE and including a key for securing communications with the UE (Fig.5, S212, receiving from the external entity authentication result/response authenticating the UE which include anchor key used for establishing security context (i.e. securing communications)); and transmitting a second authentication response to the second core network node, the second authentication response identifying the UE and including the key for securing communications with the UE (Fig.5, S212, external entity returns the external authentication result/response to the AUSF, and the AUSF returns the external authentication result to the AMF (i.e. second core network node) and AUSF further returns the external authentication result and anchor key to AMF. The anchor key is used for Establish a security context).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of ZHU into 3GPP and Anand invention of in order for implementing external authentication, a communication device and a communication system, which are used to implement the authentication of externally subscribed terminals to access exclusive base stations or frequency bands, and ensure the exclusive use of resources for vertical industry customers.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 1 above, 3GPP further teaches, wherein the core network comprises a 5GC core network (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, 5GS network), and wherein the third core network node implements a Unified Data Management, UDM, Function (page 108, UDM).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, 3GPP further teaches wherein the core network comprises a 5GC core network (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, 5GS network), wherein the first core network node implements an Authentication Server Function, AUSF (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, AUSF), and wherein the second core network node implements an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, AMF).
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, 3GPP further teaches wherein the wireless communication system comprises a standalone non-public network (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, SNPN or standalone non-public network).
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 1 above, 3GPP further teaches wherein the first authentication request includes a subscriber concealed identity, SUCI, of the UE (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, authentication request includes SUCI of the UE), the method further comprising: determining a subscriber permanent identity, SUPI, of the UE, wherein determining that the UE should be authenticated by the external authentication entity is performed based on the SUCI or the SUPI of the UE, wherein the second authentication request includes the SUPI of the UE (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, determining SUPI of the UE and UE should be authenticated by the DCS performed based on the SUPI or SUCI and another authentication request includes the SUPI of the UE).
B) Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Anand (US 11,188,719 B1) and further in view of YING (US 2020/0374139 A1).
As per claim 18, 3GPP teaches a method performed by a first core network node of a core network of a wireless communication system for authenticating a user equipment, UE, to the core network ((page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, a method performed by AUSF (i.e. first core network node) of wireless communication system for authenticating the UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a second core network node, a first authentication request to authenticate the UE to the core network ((page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, step 9, receiving from AMF (i.e. second core network node) primary authentication request for authenticating the UE), the first authentication request identifying the UE ((page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, first authentication request with SUPI (i.e. UE ID)); transmitting an authentication get request to a third core network node in response to receiving the first authentication request (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, sending an authentication service request to the DCS (i.e. third core network node) in response to receiving the first authentication request); and receiving an authentication get response from the third core network node comprising an authentication profile for the UE, wherein the authentication profile for the UE indicates that the UE should be authenticated by an external authentication entity (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, receiving an authentication response from DCS comprising SUPI (i.e. authentication profile for the UE) that indicates that the UE should be authenticated by PS); transmitting a second authentication request toward the external authentication entity (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, step 11, sending or transmitting another authentication request toward PS), the second authentication request identifying the UE (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, another authentication request with onboarding SUPI (i.e. subscriber permanent identity of the UE or UE ID)).
However, 3GPP does not explicitly teach determining that the UE should be authenticated by the external authentication entity that is external to the wireless communication system based on the authentication profile for the UE from the third core network node.
In the same field of endeavor, Anand teaches determining that the UE should be authenticated by the external authentication entity that is external to the wireless communication system based on the authentication profile for the UE from the third core network node (Col.5, lines 39-46, determining that mobile device 102 authenticated with the external server based on account or profile of the mobile device provided by an operating system for authentication status with a third-party).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Anand into 3GPP invention of in order to authenticate the user with respect to an organization such as a financial institution to reduce risk of unauthorized transmission and accesses.
However, 3GPP in view of Anand does not explicitly teach wherein the external authentication entity implements as external Authentication Server Function, AUSF, that is outside the core network.
In the same field of endeavor, YING teaches wherein the external authentication entity implements as external Authentication Server Function, AUSF, that is outside the core network (¶106, security function entity may be an independent physical device (i.e. external entity) for example, may be an existing network element such as an authentication server function (AUSF) entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of YING into 3GPP and Anand invention of in order to implement independent physical entity as a security function entity that generate and maintain the key to implement secure transmission of the data or information.
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 18 above, 3GPP further teaches, wherein the third core network node implements a unified data management, UDM, function of the core network (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, sending an authentication service request to the UDM (i.e. third core network node) in response to receiving the primary authentication request).
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 18 above, 3GPP further teaches wherein the core network comprises a 5GC core network (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, 5GS network), wherein the first core network node implements an Authentication Server Function, AUSF (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, AUSF), and wherein the second core network node implements an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF (page 106-108, section 6.27.3.2.1, AMF).
As per claim 21 as applied to claim 18 above, 3GPP further teaches wherein the first authentication request includes a subscriber concealed identity, SUCI, of the UE (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, authentication request includes SUCI of the UE), the method further comprising: determining a subscriber permanent identity, SUPI, of the UE, wherein determining that the UE should be authenticated by the external authentication entity is performed based on the SUCI or the SUPI of the UE, wherein the second authentication request includes the SUPI of the UE (page 106, section 6.27.3.2.1, determining SUPI of the UE and UE should be authenticated by the DCS performed based on the SUPI or SUCI and another authentication request includes the SUPI of the UE).
C) Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Anand (US 11,188,719 B1) and further in view of ZHU (WO 2021/063298 A1) and GUO (US 2022/0174497 A1).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, 3GPP in view of Anand and ZHU does not explicitly teach wherein the first authentication request comprises a serving network name, SNN, associated with the UE, and wherein the second authentication request includes the SNN.
In the same field of endeavor, GUO teaches wherein the first authentication request comprises a serving network name, SNN, associated with the UE, and wherein the second authentication request includes the SNN (¶0519 and ¶0523, the first authentication request comprises a serving network name SN name associated with the UE, and wherein the second authentication request includes the SN name).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of GUO into 3GPP, Anand, and ZHU invention of in order to lower a security risk posed by removal of a SIM card from a communications device and improve security of a communications network.
D) Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Anand (US 11,188,719 B1) and further in view of ZHU (WO 2021/063298 A1) and PALANIGOUNDER (US 2023/0231708 A1).
As per claim 8 as applied to claim 1 above, 3GPP in view of Anand and ZHU teaches wherein the first core network node implements an Authentication Server Function, AUSF (section 6.X.3.2 and fig 6.X.3.2.2-1, AUSF).
However, 3GPP in view of ZHU does not explicitly teach the key for securing communications with the UE comprises a security anchor function, SEAF, security key, KSEAF.
In the same field of endeavor, PALANIGOUNDER teaches the key for securing communications with the UE comprises a security anchor function, SEAF, security key, KSEAF (¶0031 and ¶0042, securing communication for the user device includes security anchor function, SEAF, security key, K.sub.SEAF or KSEAF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of PALANIGOUNDER into 3GPP, Anand, and ZHU invention of in order to efficiently establish and maintain a security context with more than one wireless network.
E) Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Anand (US 11,188,719 B1) and further in view of YING (US 2020/0374139 A1) and GUO (US 2022/0174497 A1).
As per claim 22 as applied to claim 18 above, 3GPP in view of Anand and YING does not explicitly teach wherein the first authentication request comprises a serving network name, SNN, associated with the UE, and wherein the second authentication request includes the SNN.
In the same field of endeavor, GUO teaches wherein the first authentication request comprises a serving network name, SNN, associated with the UE, and wherein the second authentication request includes the SNN (¶0519 and ¶0523, the first authentication request comprises a serving network name SN name associated with the UE, and wherein the second authentication request includes the SN name).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of GUO into 3GPP, Anand, and YING invention of in order to lower a security risk posed by removal of a SIM card from a communications device and improve security of a communications network.
Conclusion
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643