DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 18, the term “the pre-compressed dimension is the compressed dimension” is contradictory.
In claim 19, it is unclear if all of the limitations following “and/or” in line 11 are optional.
Claim 20 recites: “K-F is greater than 0 and less than 2” but fails to recite the associated units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10 – 12, and 14 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishii (US 8,237,403).
As for claim 1, Ishii discloses an elastic member (5b, column 7, lines 53 – 57), wherein, the elastic member is fixed an outer side wall of a quick-change battery box (1) of an electric automobile (100), the elastic member is used for elastically limiting the movement of the quick-change battery box in the quick-change support.
As for claim 10, Ishii discloses a limiting member (15a), wherein, the limiting member is used to cooperate with the elastic member according to claim 1,the elastic member is disposed to one between the inner side wall of the quick-change support and the outer side wall of the quick-change battery box, and the limiting member is arranged to the other one between the inner side wall of the quick-change support and the outer side wall of the quick- change battery box.
As for claim 11, Ishii discloses a positioning surface (15a) and a guide surface (recessed portions above and below the positioning surface labeled 15a), the positioning surface is used to abut against the elastic member, and the guiding surface extends and protrudes outward from the positioning surface.
As for claim 12, Ishii discloses at least two guide surfaces surface (recessed portions above and below the positioning surface labeled 15a), two of the guide surfaces are respectively oppositely disposed to the two sides of a positioning surface, and extend along the vertical direction, and a sliding passage is formed between the guide surface and the positioning surface for the elastic member to slide into.
As for claims 14 – 17, Ishii discloses a limiting guide device (Fig. 5), quick change support (Fig. 5), quick change battery box (Fig. 5) and electric vehicle (Fig. 2), each comprising one of the elastic members and one of the limiting members set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 9, 13, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (US 8,237,403) alone.
As for claim 2, Ishii discloses protruded portions (5b), but is silent with respect to the means by which the protruded portions are mounted to the outer side wall. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a mounting portion for the purpose of affixing and removing the terminals 5b to and from the battery box.
As for claims 3 and 4, Ishii discloses an upper inclined surface and a lower inclined surface (see Fig. 1 and “tapered guiding portion”, column 6, line 30). While the figures do not clearly show left and right inclined surfaces, such surfaces are suggested by the term “tapered guiding portion”. Even if Ishii did not envision left and right inclined surfaces, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include left and right inclined portions to facilitate lateral alignment and well as vertical alignment of the battery box and quick change support.
As for claims 5 and 6, Ishii et al. disclose a pair of protruded portions (5b), with a space therebetween for mounting to the outer side wall.
As for claims 8 and 9, it would have been obvious to select a well-known fastener, such as a snap-fit portion of threaded member for fastening the elastic member to the outer side wall as a matter of obvious engineering choice.
As for claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the connecting surface between the guide surfaces and positioning surfaces in a curved shape to maximize contact between the limiting member and elastic member.
As for claims 18 and 20, Ishii discloses an elastic member which is compressed when the quick change battery box is loaded into the quick change support and a gap between the outer side wall of the battery box and the inner side wall of the quick change support. It has been held that, where the only difference between the claimed device and the prior art device is a recitation of the dimensions of the claimed device, and the claimed device would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not teach or suggest a distance between guide surfaces as a function of battery swapping stroke or the claimed locking elements arranged with respect to the elastic member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Katy M Ebner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613